DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US9570207B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Park teaches an electrical contact material comprising:
A mixture of Ni and Ag, and an Ag/C composite material of carbon nanotubes (a carbon-based nanofiller) coated with Ag particles (See Claim 1)
Regarding Claim 4, the product is formed by sintering (Col. 9, Lines 5-20)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US9570207B2).
Regarding Claims 2-3, the mixed composite is considered to read on the limitation of incorporating and dispersing the nanofiller in the Ag powder; the mixture of Ag powder (density of 10.48 g/cm3); Ni (8.9 g/cm3) and CNT powder (around 1.3 g/cm3) in a weight ratio of 55-65% Ag powder overlapping with the claimed range of 60-70% Ag powder: 35-45% Ni powder and 0.1-5% nAgCNT (See claim 1) yields a calculated density of 9.3-9.9, overlapping with the claimed range of 8.4-9.5 g/cm3. In the case where a claimed range overlaps with a range taught by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05(I))
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Park teaches a Vickers hardness of 85-152 (Table 1); encompassing the claimed range of 91-95 HV; an IACS of 50% or greater (Table 1) overlapping with the claimed range of 46-52%; and a density 9.3-9.9, overlapping with the claimed range of 9.55-9.84 (See Table 1) In the case where a claimed range overlaps with or lies inside of a range taught by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05(I))
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art is silent regarding the claimed thermal conductivity, however since the prior art product is substantially identical the claimed product of claim 4, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the prior art property to be similar under the expectation that similar products have similar properties. (See MPEP 2112.01(I))
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US9570207B2) in view of Hoon et al. (KR20150103569A)
Regarding Claims 7, Park teaches an electrical contact material comprising:
A mixture of Ni and Ag, and an Ag/C composite material of carbon nanotubes (a carbon-based nanofiller) coated with Ag particles (See Claim 1);
Where the material is made by sintering (Col. 9, Lines 5-20);
the mixture of Ag powder (density of 10.48 g/cm3); Ni (8.9 g/cm3) and CNT powder (around 1.3 g/cm3) in a weight ratio of 55-65% Ag powder overlapping with the claimed range of 60-70% Ag powder: 35-45% Ni powder and 0.1-5% nAgCNT (See claim 1) yields a calculated density of 9.3-9.9, overlapping with the claimed range of 8.4-9.5 g/cm3. In the case where a claimed range overlaps with a range taught by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP 2144.05(I));
Park is silent regarding heat treatment; however, Hoon teaches a method of making an electrical contact of Ag/C composite [0013] where heat treatment is performed [0019] for the purpose of removing defects from the part surface [0034]; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method of Park to include a heat treatment step for the purpose of removing surface defects and impurities from sintering.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Park et al. (US9570207B2) in view of Hoon et al. (KR20150103569A) as used above; while Hoon teaches ball milling may be used, the prior art does not teach or suggest low energy ball milling followed by high energy ball milling as required by claim 8.
/RICARDO D MORALES/Examiner, Art Unit 1738