DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US 2010/0248033), and further in view of Natsui (US 2019/0198861).
As to claim 1, Kumar discloses positive electrode active material for a Li-ion secondary battery ([0008], discussed throughout), comprising a Li-transition metal composite oxide ([0017], discussed throughout), and is represented by: a formula (1): (1−x)Li2RuO3−xLiMnO2, wherein Mn is trivalent Mn, and x is a real number satisfying 0<x<1 ([0017], discussed throughout).
Kumar is silent to wherein the Li-transition metal composite oxide has a layered rock salt crystal structure. Natsui discloses a positive electrode active material ([0004], discussed throughout) comprising a lithium oxide comprising Mn and Ru ([0014], discussed throughout), wherein, the positive electrode active material has a rock salt type crystal ([0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to have Kumar use a rock salt type crystal as Natsui because elements with different ionic radii may mix together easily ([0041], Natsui) and/or as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I).
As to claim 2, modified Kumar discloses wherein, x in the formula (1) satisfies 0.1≤x≤0.9 ([0017], discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claims 3 and 10, modified Kumar discloses wherein, a primary particle size of the Li-transition metal composite oxide is 1 μm or more and 50 μm or less ([0020]-[0021]). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claims 4, 11 and 12, modified Kumar discloses wherein, wherein the Li-transition metal composite oxide has part of Ru and/or Mn replaced with a metal M, and is represented by: a formula (2): (1−y−z)Li2RuO3 —yLiMnO2—zLiaMOb: wherein the metal M is any one of Ti, Nb, Y, Zr, Hf, and Ta; y and z are real numbers satisfying 0<y+z<1; and regarding a, b and c, a=1 and b=4 for M of a monovalent metal, a=2 and b=3 for M of a tetravalent metal, and a=3 and b=4 for M of a pentavalent metal ([0017], this is because M is one or more).
As to claim 5, modified Kumar discloses wherein, y+z in the formula (2) satisfies 0.1≤y+z≤0.9 ([0017], this is because M is one or more). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claims 6-7 and 13-15, modified Kumar is discloses to wherein, a method for producing the positive electrode active material for a Li-ion secondary battery defined in claim 1, comprising: a mixing step of mixing a Li compound, a Ru compound, and a trivalent Mn compound to produce a precursor substance ([0032]-[0034], discussed throughout); and a firing step of heating the precursor substance at 700° C. or more (700 degrees for claims 6, 13, and 14 and 800 degrees for claims 7 and 15) and 1100° C. or less to generate the Li-transition metal composite oxide ([0032]-[0034], discussed throughout). Should it be considered that Kumar is silent to the instant claimed method, because while Kumar discloses the method Kumar does for specific examples. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the same methods within the examples within the components discloses within the specification as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
Modified Kumar is silent to wherein the firing step is performed in a non-oxidizing atmosphere. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use a non-oxide atmosphere given a finite number of options i.e. oxides or non-oxidized (see MPEP 2143). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use a non-reactive gas such as argon to reduce side reaction.
As to claims 8 and 16-19, modified Kumar discloses a positive electrode for a Li-ion secondary battery, comprising the positive electrode active material for a Li-ion secondary battery ([0008], discussed throughout).
As to claim 9, modified Kumar discloses a Li-ion secondary battery, comprising the positive electrode for a Li-ion secondary battery ([0008], discussed throughout).
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724