DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 10, 2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohnishi (US 20170028742 A1) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 20020154182 A1), hereinafter Takahashi, and further in view of Komamiya et al. (JP 2016221832 A), hereinafter Komamiya. Regarding Komamiya, paragraph numbers referred to herein are drawn from the previously attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Ohnishi teaches an inkjet printer comprising M inkjet heads, M being 1 or more, that have a plurality of nozzles capable of ejecting ink toward a print medium; a carriage carrying the M inkjet heads mounted thereon; a carriage drive mechanism that moves the carriage in a main scanning direction; and a feeding mechanism that feeds the print medium in a sub-scanning direction perpendicular to a vertical direction and the main scanning direction, relative to the carriage, wherein the inkjet printer repeatedly carrying out an operation of moving the carriage to one side in the main scanning direction, an operation of feeding the print medium in the sub-scanning direction relative to the carriage, an operation of moving the carriage to the other side in the main scanning direction, and an operation of feeding the print medium in the sub-scanning direction relative to the carriage, thereby performing printing on the print medium by a multi-path method, wherein each of the inkjet heads has a nozzle row composed of a plurality of the nozzles arranged in the sub-scanning direction, wherein the M inkjet heads mounted on the carriage have N nozzle rows in total, N being 2 or more, wherein the N nozzle rows are lined up in the main scanning direction and are arranged at the same position in the sub-scanning direction, wherein each of the nozzle row is composed of a plurality of N or more path rows segmented at a given bandwidth in the sub-scanning direction, and is composed of ink-ejecting path rows that are the path rows that eject ink when printing is performed on the print medium, wherein when printing is performed on the print medium, the feeding mechanism feeds the print medium by a distance equal to the bandwidth in the sub-scanning direction, relative to the carriage, wherein the N nozzle rows each have the same number of the ink-ejecting path rows, wherein when the N nozzle rows each have a plurality of the ink-ejecting path rows, the ink-ejecting path rows are entirely arranged as a string of path rows in the sub-scanning direction in each of the N nozzle rows, and wherein when the ink-ejecting path row disposed at an end on one side in the sub-scanning direction in each of the N nozzle rows is defined as a one-end-side path row, respective one-end-side path rows of the N nozzle rows are located shifted to each other in the sub- scanning direction (figs. 1 and 7a-b, ink dot former 12, main scan driver 14, sub scan driver 16, inkjet heads 202, see paragraphs [0071]-[0081] and [0135]-[0140]).
However, Ohnishi fails to teach or fairly suggest the nozzle rows comprising no-ink-ejecting path rows that are the path rows that do not eject ink when printing is performed on the print medium, and, in at least two different nozzle rows, the ink-ejecting path row with the highest volume of ejection is shifted for each nozzle.
Takahashi teaches a controller capable of controlling multiple printheads born on a carriage, wherein the controller controls the widths and positions of active and inactive nozzle groups, wherein inactive nozzle groups are no-ink-ejecting groups (figs. 5A-D, 6A-B, 15, and 16, first print head H1, second print head H2, see paragraphs [0084]-[0099] and [0164]-[176]).
Further, Komamiya teaches an inkjet printer comprising a controller wherein, in at least two different nozzle rows, the ink-ejecting path row with the highest volume of ejection is shifted for each nozzle (figs. 1, 2, 14, 15a-f, 16, see paragraphs [0011]-[0013], [0091]-[0097], [0105]-[0110]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the controllers of Takahashi and Komamiya into the inkjet printer of Ohnishi to improve the image quality by smoothing color transitions between printing bandwidths.
Regarding claim 2, Ohnishi as modified by Takahashi and Komamiya teaches the inkjet printer of claim 1, wherein the nozzle row is composed of N+2 or more of the path rows and each of the N nozzle rows include three or more of the ink-ejecting path rows (see Takahashi, figs. 5A-D, first printhead H1, paragraphs [0084]-[0099]).
Komamiya further teaches a serial inkjet printer wherein, in each of the N nozzle rows, among the plurality of ink-ejecting path rows, an ink-ejecting path row disposed at an end on the other side in the sub-scanning direction being defined as an other-end-side path row and a given ink-ejecting path row disposed between the one-end-side path row and the other-end-side path row in the sub-scanning direction being defined as a specific path row, in each of the N nozzle rows, an amount of ink ejected by the specific path row is larger than an amount of ink ejected by each of the other ink-ejecting path rows not including the specific path row and an amount of ink ejected by the ink-ejecting path row increases gradually as it goes from the one-end-side path row toward the specific path row but the amount of ink ejected by the ink-ejecting path row decreases gradually as it goes from the specific path row toward the other-end- side path row (figs. 1, 2, 14, 15a-f, see paragraphs [0011]-[0013], [0091]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 3, Ohnishi as modified by Takahashi and Komamiya teaches the inkjet printer of claim 1. Ohnishi further teaches, when a side to which the print medium moves relative to the carriage is defined as a first direction side, the M inkjet heads have, as the nozzle rows, a dark ink nozzle row that ejects color ink of a relatively dark color and a light ink nozzle row that ejects color ink of a relatively light color, and wherein the one-end-side path row of the dark ink nozzle row is disposed closer to the first direction side than the one-end-side path row of the light ink nozzle row (figs. 7a-b, yellow printhead 202y disposed farther from the “first direction side” than the magenta printhead 202m, paragraphs [0135]-[0140]).
Regarding claim 4, Ohnishi as modified by Takahashi and Komamiya teaches the inkjet printer of claim 1. Ohnishi further teaches, when a side to which the print medium moves relative to the carriage is defined as a first direction side, the M inikjet heads have, as the nozzle rows, a dark ink nozzlerow that ejects color ink of a relatively dark color and a light ink nozzle row that ejects color ink of a relatively light color, and wherein the one-end-side path row of the light ink nozzle row is disposed closer to the first direction side than the one-end-side path row of the dark ink nozzle row (figs. 7a-b, magenta printhead 202m disposed farther from the “first direction side” than the cyan printhead 202c, paragraphs [0135]-[0140]).
Regarding claim 5, Ohnishi teaches an inkjet printer comprising: M inkjet heads, M being 1 or more, that have a plurality of nozzles capable of ejecting ink toward a print medium; a carriage carrying the M inkjet heads mounted thereon; a carriage drive mechanism that moves the carriage in a main scanning direction; and a feeding mechanism that feeds the print medium in a sub-scanning direction perpendicular to a vertical direction and the main scanning direction, relative to the carriage, the inkjet printer repeatedly carrying out an operation of moving the carriage to one side in the main scanning direction, an operation of feeding the print medium in the sub-scanning direction relative to the carriage, an operation of moving the carriage to the other side in the main scanning direction, and an operation of feeding the print medium in the sub-scanning direction relative to the carriage, thereby performing printing on the print medium by a multi-path method, wherein each of the inkjet heads has a nozzle row composed of a plurality of nozzles arranged in the sub-scanning direction, wherein the M inkjet heads mounted on the carriage have N nozzle rows in total, N being 2 or more, wherein the N nozzle rows are lined up in the main scanning direction and are arranged at the same position in the sub-scanning direction, wherein each of the nozzle rows has three or more ink- ejecting path rows that are the path rows that eject ink when printing is performed on the print medium, wherein when printing is performed on the print medium, the feeding mechanism feeds the print medium by a distance equal to the bandwidth in the sub-scanning direction, relative to the carriage, wherein in each of the N nozzle rows, when, among the plurality of ink-ejecting path rows, and wherein respective specific path rows of the N nozzle rows are located shifted to each other in the sub-scanning direction (figs. 1 and 7a-b, ink dot former 12, main scan driver 14, sub scan driver 16, inkjet heads 202, see paragraphs [0071]-[0081] and [0135]-[0140]).
However, Ohnishi fails to teach or fairly suggest each of the nozzle rows is composed of a plurality of N+2 or more path rows segmented at a given bandwidth in the sub-scanning direction, and an ink-ejecting path row disposed at an end on one side in the sub-scanning direction is defined as a one-end-side path row, an ink-ejecting path row disposed at an end on the other side in the sub-scanning direction is defined as an other-end-side path row, and a given ink-ejecting path row disposed between the one-end-side path row and the other- end-side path row in the sub-scanning direction is defined as a specific path row, in each of the N nozzle rows, an amount of ink ejected by the specific path row is larger than an amount of ink ejected by each of the other ink-ejecting path rows not including the specific path row and an amount of ink ejected by the ink-ejecting path row increases gradually as it goes from the one-end-side path row toward the specific path row but the amount of ink ejected by the ink-ejecting path row decreases gradually as it goes from the specific path row toward the other-end-side path row, and wherein in at least two different nozzle rows, the ink-ejecting path row with the highest volume of ejection is shifted for each nozzle.
Takahashi teaches an inkjet printer comprising a carriage, wherein the carriage comprises several printheads, each printhead comprising twelve nozzle path rows (figs. 5A-D, 6A-B, first print head H1, second print head H2, see paragraphs [0084]-[0099]).
Komamiya teaches an inkjet printer comprising an ink-ejecting path row disposed at an end on one side in the sub-scanning direction is defined as a one-end-side path row, an ink-ejecting path row disposed at an end on the other side in the sub-scanning direction is defined as an other-end-side path row, and a given ink-ejecting path row disposed between the one-end-side path row and the other- end-side path row in the sub-scanning direction is defined as a specific path row, in each of the N nozzle rows, an amount of ink ejected by the specific path row is larger than an amount of ink ejected by each of the other ink-ejecting path rows not including the specific path row and an amount of ink ejected by the ink-ejecting path row increases gradually as it goes from the one-end-side path row toward the specific path row but the amount of ink ejected by the ink-ejecting path row decreases gradually as it goes from the specific path row toward the other-end-side path row, and wherein in at least two different nozzle rows, the ink-ejecting path row with the highest volume of ejection is shifted for each nozzle. (figs. 1, 2, 14, 15a-f, 16 see paragraphs [0011]-[0013], [0091]-[0097], [0105]-[0110]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the printhead nozzle arrangement taught by Takahashi and the ink-ejection amount control method taught by Komamiya into the inkjet printer of Ohnishi in order to improve the versatility and image quality of the printer.
Regarding claim 6, Ohnishi as modified by Takahashi and Komamiya teaches the inkjet printer of claim 1. Ohnishi further teaches the M inkjet heads mounted on the carriage having four of the nozzle rows in total, the nozzle rows ejecting color inks different in color from each other (figs. 7a-b, four printheads 202, paragraphs [0135]-[0140], particularly [0140]).
Regarding claim 7, Ohnishi as modified by Takahashi and Komamiya teaches the inkjet printer of claim 2. Ohnishi further teaches, when a side to which the print medium moves relative to the carriage is defined as a first direction side, the M inkjet heads have, as the nozzle rows, a dark ink nozzle row that ejects color ink of a relatively dark color and a light ink nozzle row that ejects color ink of a relatively light color, and wherein the one-end-side path row of the dark ink nozzle row is disposed closer to the first direction side than the one-end-side path row of the light ink nozzle row (figs. 7a-b, yellow printhead 202y disposed farther from the “first direction side” than the magenta printhead 202m, paragraphs [0135]-[0140]).
Regarding claim 8, Ohnishi as modified by Takahashi and Komamiya teaches the inkjet printer of claim 2. Ohnishi further teaches, when a side to which the print medium moves relative to the carriage is defined as a first direction side, the M inikjet heads have, as the nozzle rows, a dark ink nozzlerow that ejects color ink of a relatively dark color and a light ink nozzle row that ejects color ink of a relatively light color, and wherein the one-end-side path row of the light ink nozzle row is disposed closer to the first direction side than the one-end-side path row of the dark ink nozzle row (figs. 7a-b, magenta printhead 202m disposed farther from the “first direction side” than the cyan printhead 202c, paragraphs [0135]-[0140]).
Regarding claim 9, Ohnishi as modified by Takahashi and Komamiya teaches the inkjet printer of claim 5. Ohnishi also teaches a printer comprising four printheads ejecting different colors, and printheads each comprising a single row of nozzles (fig. 7a-b, yellow printhead 202y, magenta printhead 202m, cyan printhead 202c, black printhead 202k, see paragraphs [0135]-[0140]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-12 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed August 29, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3, 4, and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Ohnishi as modified by Takahashi further in view of Komamiya, as described above in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Applicant's arguments regarding claims 2, 5, and 7-9 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Komamiya teaches the claim limitations added in amendment as described above, therefore the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained. Specifically, Komamiya teaches an inkjet printer comprising a controller wherein, in at least two different nozzle rows, the ink-ejecting path row with the highest volume of ejection is shifted for each nozzle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/Leslie J Evanisko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853