DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and Species A in the reply filed on 4/9/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that WO2014/061989A1 no longer teaches the technical feature as amended. This is not found persuasive because while WO2014/061989A1 alone does not disclose all the limitations of the technical feature as amended; WO2014/061989A1 in view of Wenz et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0122359) teaches the technical feature as explained in the rejection of claim 1 below; and therefore the technical feature is not a special technical feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant has not identified which claims read on the elected species A of figures 1-5C. Claims 11-19 and 29 are further identified as reading on non-elected species. In particular, the limitations of the mixer rod moving helically as set forth in claims 11-18 is shown and described in figures 18 and 25, 28 and 29 and not shown in the elected figures 1-5C of Species A; and he mixer element and mixer rod being separately displaceable relative to each other as set forth in claim 19 is not shown or described in the elected figures 1-5C of Species A and is only described as an alternative option in paragraph [0071] of the published application; and the hand-operated reciprocating pump as set forth in claim 29 is not shown or described in the elected figures 1-5C of Species A and is only described as an alternative option in paragraphs [0047] and [0312] of the published application. Accordingly claims 11-19 and 29 are withdrawn to non-elected species embodiments.
Claims 1-5, 8 and 43 are taken up for examination upon the elected invention and species. Claims 31, 32, 41 and 42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 11-19 and 29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/9/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the seal" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-5, 8 and 43 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the opening" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-5, 8 and 43 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation: “a proximal end of the piston” in line 2. It is unclear whether “a proximal end” of claim 2 is the same or different as “a proximal end” as recited in claim 1, line 3. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention. Claims 3 and 8 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Claim 2 recites the limitation, “a distal end of the piston” in line 3. It is unclear whether “a distal end” of claim 2 is the same or different as “a distal end” as recited in claim 1, line 4. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention. Claims 3 and 8 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (WO2014061989A1) (with paragraph numbers referring to machine translation) in view of Wenz et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0122359).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a capsule for mixing substances (figures 6-10e; [0017]), comprising:
a chamber having a first end and a second end (mixing vessel 20 with body 21 having first end at top and second end at bottom; [0053]);
a piston fitted in the chamber, the piston having a proximal end facing the first end, and a distal end facing the second end (figures 6 and 10a-10e, ampoule mounting portion body 42 shown fitted in chamber 20; [0050]; [0061];
a mixer element arranged within the chamber between the piston and the second end (rotary vane 44); [0066]), wherein the mixer element is disposed at a distal end of a mixer rod ( rotary shaft 45), and the piston has an aperture through which the mixer rod passes (shaft coupling hole 43a), and wherein the piston and the mixer element are separately displaceable relative to the first and second ends and relative to each other (compare figures 10a-10e; [0066]-[0067]; [0071]); and
a plurality of cavities within the piston, such that one cavity is separated from another cavity and filled with a different ingredient substance (ampoule insertion holes 41; or ampoules 30 which are cavities for storing material; [0060]-[0065]).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose a sharp tip arranged at a distal end of the mixer element to penetrate the seal closing the opening, to permit dispensing of mixed formulation from the chamber.
Wenz et al. teaches another apparatus for mixing two components (title) comprising a sharp tip arranged at a distal end of the mixer element to penetrate the seal closing the opening, to permit dispensing of mixed formulation from the chamber (figure 1, mandrel 24 on distal end of mixing disk 22 to penetrate closure membrane 3; [0055]; [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to provide the sharp tip on the distal end of the mixer element of Lee as taught by Wenz et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach apparatuses for mixing two components. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a sharp tip on the distal end of the mixier element to penetrate the seal closing the opening, to permit dispensing of mixed formulation from the chamber because it permits the mixer element to mix the materials in the mixing space, while the closure membrane contains the materials in the mixing space and prevents the extrusion of material before the mixing is complete by the mixer element and permits the mixer element to perforate the closure membrane with the mixing process is ended and the mixture is to be extruded (Wenz et al. [0029]; [0055]; [0060]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Wenz et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Lee as modified by Wenz et al. further discloses wherein each of the plurality of cavities is a cylindrical aperture having a proximal opening at a proximal end of the piston and a distal opening at a distal end of the piston (see figures 7-10a, ampoule insertion holes 41 all shown as being cylindrical apertures having a proximal opening at a proximal end of the piston and a distal opening at a distal end of the piston; or see figures 6, 7, 10a-10e, container ampoules 30 all shown as being cylindrical apertures having a proximal opening at a proximal end of the piston and a distal opening at a distal end of the piston).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Wenz et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Lee as modified by Wenz et al. further discloses wherein at least one of the proximal opening and the distal opening of each of the plurality of cavities is sealed by a frangible seal ([0062]; [0064]; [0068]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Wenz et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Lee as modified by Wenz et al. further discloses wherein the mixer rod having an adapter disposed at a proximal end thereof which is adapted to connect to an arm of a mixer device and transfer motion from the mixer device to the mixer rod (shaft coupling portion 154 of fourth motor 152; [0018]; [0066]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Wenz et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Lee as modified by Wenz et al. further discloses wherein each cavity comprises a frangible container containing an ingredient substance and arranged within the cavity (container ampoules 30; [0062]; [0064]; [0068]).
Claim(s) 5 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Wenz et al. as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Reidt et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0084094).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Wenz et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. While Lee as modified by Wenz et al. further discloses a proximal piston arrangement closer to the first end than the piston (pressure plate 156; [0065]; [0071]; [0073]), wherein the proximal pistons arrangement comprises a plurality of proximal pistons (first plate 156a and second plate 156b; [0073]), Lee does not explicitly disclose each proximal piston aligned with a respective cavity, such that depression of the proximal pistons relative to the piston causes the proximal pistons to enter the cavities.
Reidt et al. teaches another capsule with piston and mixer for mixing two component materials (abstract); wherein the proximal pistons arrangement comprises a plurality of proximal pistons (pistons 19 and 20), each proximal piston aligned with a respective cavity, such that depression of the proximal pistons relative to the piston causes the proximal pistons to enter the cavities (figures 10-13, 15 and 17, pistons 19 and 20 enter cavities/chambers 13 and 14; [0227]-[0230]; [0240]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the piston arrangement of Lee to comprise a plurality of proximal pistons, each proximal piston aligned with a respective cavity, such that depression of the proximal pistons relative to the piston causes the proximal pistons to enter the cavities as taught by Reidt et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach capsules with piston and mixer for mixing two component materials. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have each individual piston align with a respective cavity to cause each piston to enter the cavity because it ensures a piston is in contact with each and every cavity to ensure the material in each cavity is extracted.
Regarding claim 43, Lee in view of Wenz et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. However Lee discloses a sharp tip on the cavity (blade 41a provided on ampoule insertion port 41; [0062]) instead of on the proximal end of the mixer element. In view of Reidt et al.’s recognition that the sharp tip may be located either on the cavity or the proximal end of the mixer element ([0241]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the location of the sharp tip to be on the proximal end of the mixer element instead of on the cavity housing of Lee. Mere substitution of an equivalent is not an act of invention; where equivalency is known to the prior art, the substitution of one equivalent for another is not patentable. See In re Ruff 118 USPQ 343 (CCPA 1958). Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH INSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774