DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 21-28 in the reply filed on 11/18/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the European examiner did not require restriction and that the claims are novel over prior art. This is not found persuasive because the examiner cannot comment on the quality of work done by an examiner in another Patent office which has different examining standards. Furthermore, as noted below claims 21-28 are rejected over prior art, and thus do not contain an inventive concept.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 22, 23, 25 and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 25 teaches “The noni-ionic emulsifier”, while parent claim 21 teaches “at least one non-ionic emulsifier”. Claim 25 should be amended to indicate that there is at least one non-ionic emulsifier.
Claims 26 teaches “The water soluble polymers”, while parent claim 21 teaches “at least one water soluble polymer”. Claim 26 should be amended to indicate that there is at least one water soluble polymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23, 27 and 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 teaches “a composition X”. It is not clear if this is the same or different from the composition X taught in parent claim 21.
Claim 27 depends upon itself, thus the scope of the claim is not clear. Note also claim 28, which depend from claim 27.
Claim 28 teaches “wherein R1 , R2 and n have the meaning as defined, however neither claim 28 or parent claim 27 defines these terms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Sandor US 2002/0062006).
Regarding claim 21, Sandor teaches a powder composition which comprises a polymer P which can be styrene-butadiene (see claims 9 and 14). The composition may comprise a drying assist of phenol sulfonic acid-formaldehyde condensate or naphthalene sulfonic acid formaldehyde condensate (claim 7 and claim 14). The composition may further comprise a non-ionic emulsifier at a level up 10% (claim 14, part iv). From the percentages in claim 14, the styrene-butadiene would be at levels from 38.5 to about 98.5%, which would render the 50 to 98.5% claimed instantly envisaged by one of ordinary skill in the art. Since the powder is formed by the dispersion method of claim 1, the styrene-butadiene would clearly be covered or embedded in the drying assist.
Regarding claims 22 and 23,Sandor teaches the non-ionic emulsifier is also added to the dispersion used to make the powder, and thus would meet being comprised in the composition X (0033).
Regarding claim 24, Sandor teaches the powder composition can contain from 0.5 to 15 wt% of an anti-caking agent (anti-blocking agent), such as silica or talc (0081-0082).
Regarding claim 25, Sandor teaches the use of ethoxylated alcohols (thus R2 is H) encompassing the values for n and R1.
Regarding claim 26, Sandor teaches the drying aid can be phenol sulfonic acid formaldehyde condensate (claim 7).
Regarding claims 27 and 28, as noted for claim 21, from the percentages in claim 14, the styrene-butadiene would be at levels from 38.5 to about 98.5%, which would render the 60 to 96% or 70 to 90% claimed instantly envisaged by one of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, the drying assist (equivalent to polymer B, can be phenol sulfonic acid formaldehyde and be at a level of up to 50% (claim 14). The non-ionic emulsifier can be at a level of up to 10% (claim 14). The anti-blocking agent can be at a level of up to 15%.
Applicant’s intended use in a subterranean formation does not distinguish.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandor US 2002/0062006 .
Sandor is discussed above with respect to claims 21-26. To the extent that it is considered that Sandor does not teach the percentages in claims 27 and 28 with sufficient specificity, the percentages in Sandor overlap the current ranges, thus rendering the current ranges obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05), and there would be a reasonable expectation of success in using these overlapping percentages.
Claim(s) 21-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidtke ((WO 2018/224519) utilizing US 2020/0207671 as equivalent translation.
Regarding claims 21-23, Schmidtke teaches the formation of a re-dispersible powder composition which can comprise styrene-butadiene (0066), a water soluble co-polymer comprising an ethylenically unsaturated monomer having a sulfonic acid group and an ethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acid (see in particular 0084), and a polyethoxylated alcohol non-ionic emulsifier (0126-0133). It is noted that components can be added at different stages of the formation of the powder, such that co-polymer would cover or embed the styrene-butadiene polymer (0035-0039). While schmidtke does not specifically teach the percentages of the current claims, there are taught percentages which overlap the currently claimed ranges (see 0104, 0114, 0156), such that the use of the current percentages would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and there would be a reasonable expectation of success in using these overlapping percentages.
With regard to claim 24, an anti-blocking agent is taught as being used at a level of up to 4%.
With regard to claim 25, non-ionic emulsifiers within the scope of the claim are taught (0147 wherein R2 is H).
With regard to claim 27, overlapping ranges are disclosed as previously taught.
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745