DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the hub" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 are rejected due to their dependence upon claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the first ring" and “the second ring” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 line 3, the phrase “preferably” renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear if the applicant intends to require the recited subject matter.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the matrix" in line3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2,215,420 to Eksergian in view of US 2008/0135359 A1 to Basirico et al.
Re-claims 1, 6, 7 and 10, Eksergian teaches a brake disc for disc brake comprising: a braking band 9 rotating about a rotation axis; a bell 7 is rigidly and torsionally connected to a hub 8 of a vehicle and constrained to the braking band and adapted to transmit the rotational motion to the brake disc; the bell comprises at least one corrugated element (see figures 1 and 3 and corrugations as part of 7), the corrugations allow (i.e. transmit) a rotation of the bell which is integral with the hub about the rotation axis, a rotation of the disc 9 is constrained thereto, about an axis normal to the rotation axis through elastic deformation, and a translation along the rotation axis through elastic deformation (see page 1 column 2 lines 41-52). However, Eksergian fails to teach the bell or corrugated elements thereof made of a fiber-reinforced polymer or carbon ceramic material.
Basirico et al. teach a bell (hub or hat) of a brake disc made from a fiber-reinforced polymer or carbon ceramic material, and specifically carbon fibers (PAN, paragraph 19), ceramic fibers (paragraph 25) and mixtures thereof. This type of material replaces commonly used metal materials, thus reducing weight associated with the brake disc (see paragraphs 6 and 7) and thereby improving handling and fuel economy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the bell as part of the brake disc of Eksergian from one of a fiber-reinforced polymer or carbon ceramic material, such as carbon fibers or ceramic fibers as taught by Basirico et al., thus reducing weight which leads to improved fuel economy and handling.
Re-claim 2, the corrugated elements are torsionally rigid and yielding in bending, as Eksergian teaches the elements provide some flexibility.
Re-claim 3, the corrugated elements have a first ring with an extension direction parallel to the axis of rotation (see figure 3) and a radial thickness with respect to the axis.
Re-claim 4, the corrugation comprises a first ring that is radially external to the axis (such as the outermost ring having passages 18), and a second ring that is radially internal to the axis (see innermost ring, figure 3).
Re-claim 5, the first ring and the second ring are connected to each other by connecting sections (such as portions between the ring extensions).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eksergian in view of Basirico et al. as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US 2020/0247971 A1 to Cavalli et al.
Re-claims 8 and 9, Eksergian as modified by Basirico et al. teach the use of various fibers including silicon carbide, alumina. However, Eksergian as modified by Basirico et al. fail to suggest the first corrugated element made of a fiber-reinforced composite material of carbon-fiber-based with a siloxane matrix, or the matrix from siloxane.
Cavalli et al. teach a reinforced composite material that includes siloxane matrix, or silsequioxane resins. Each provides for high temperature operation (see paragraph 87), which is a desired feature for a brake disc bell section. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the fiber composition of Basirico et al. with siloxane matrix or silsequioxane resins as suggested by Cavalli et al., thus providing a material having high temperature operational ranges.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Goode, Simon, Clark, Finch, Schwiezer and Faulwasser each teach a brake disc bell portion having corrugations. Beer and Jouin each teach a brake disc and bell made of fiber-reinforced elements.
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128. The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW
December 10, 2025
/THOMAS J WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616