Claim Status
In response to a preliminary amendment filed 9/21/2023, claims 4-10, 12-16, 18, 22-28, 30-34 and 37-38 have been amended. Claims 1-37 are pending and under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “an HVAC” in line 1 should read “a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3, 4, 21, and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “20.1-20-n” in line 4 should read “20.1-20.n”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 17 and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “a human interaction device HID” in line 2 should read “a human interaction device (HID)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“adhesive and/or fastening means” in claim 4.
“a processing device” in claim 14
“a mechanical performance device” in claim 14
“a controller device” in claim 14
“a communication device” in claim 14
“an energy storage device” in claim 14
“a sensor device” in claim 14
An HVAC interface device” in claim 14
“a position feedback device” in claim 14
“an electrical power supply device” in claim 14
“a monitoring/service device” in claim 14
“a display device” in claim 14
“a human interaction device HID” in claim 17
“adhesive and/or fastening means” in claim 22.
“a processing device” in claim 32
“a mechanical performance device” in claim 32
“a controller device” in claim 32
“a communication device” in claim 32
“an energy storage device” in claim 32
“a sensor device” in claim 32
“an HVAC interface device” in claim 32
“a position feedback device” in claim 32
“an electrical power supply device” in claim 32
“a monitoring/service device” in claim 32
“a display device” in claim 32
“a human interaction device HID” in claim 35
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 22 require an “adhesive means” which in interpreted under 35 USC 112 (f).The invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) does not exempt an applicant from compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first and second paragraphs. See Donaldson, 16 F.3d at 1195, 29 USPQ2d at 1850; In re Knowlton, 481 F.2d 1357, 1366, 178 USPQ 486, 493 (CCPA 1973) ("[The sixth paragraph of section 112] cannot be read as creating an exception either to the description requirement of the first paragraph … or to the definiteness requirement found in the second paragraph of section 112. Means-plus-function language can be used in the claims, but the claims must still accurately define the invention.").
In this case, the Specification describes a “adhesive and/or fastening means” in p. 9, ll. 18. The Specification does not describe what structures define the heat dissipating device, but merely repeats substantially the claimed language. As a result, claims 5 and 22 contains subject matter which was not described in the Specification in such a way to reasonably convey to one skilled in the art that the inventor or joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected as it recites the phrase “such as” in line 4. The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the same reason, dependent claims 2 & 14 which recite the limitation “such as”, and all other claims 3-13 & 15-18, thereof are rejected as well by virtue of their dependencies.
In a similar manner and for the same reason, independent claim 19 which recites the limitation “such as”, dependent claims 20, 32, & 37 which recite the limitation “such as”, and all dependent claims 21-31 & 33-36 thereof are rejected as well by virtue of their dependencies.
Claim 1 is rejected as it recites the limitation “and/or” in lines 7 and 10. The limitation “and/or” renders the scope of the claim unclear because it is ambiguous whether the feature, namely the motor and sensor, is a required limitation or merely an optional non-limiting feature despite there being functional language. Both motor and sensor recite functional language “to drive an actuated part” and “to measure an environmental parameter”, respectfully. For the same reason, independent claim 19 which recites the limitation “and/or”, and all dependent claims 2-18 & 20-37, respectfully, thereof are rejected as well by virtue of their dependencies.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “of the second type of adjacent HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1 -n)” in the last line. The adjacent HVA device block (10) renders the claim indefinite because claim 1 does not explicitly require the base HVAC device block 10 to have the second type. For the same reason, independent claim 19 and all dependent claims thereof are rejected as well.
Claim 5 is rejected as it recites the phrase "in particular" in lines 2-3. The phrase “in particular” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the same reason, claims 13, 23, and 31 are rejected for reciting the phrase “in particular”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the respective electronic circuit (12)” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation as the claim has introduced 22.1-n but not 12. It is noted that FIG. 6 illustrates the circuit 12 being a part of the housing 11, but does not explicitly define it as such in the claims yet. For the same reason, claims 7, 24, and 25 are therefore rejected for reciting the limitation.
Claim 10 is rejected as it recites the limitations “storing configuration data in the electronic circuit of a first of a plurality of HVAC device blocks… to transmit configuration data through the electrical interface of the first of the plurality of HVAC device blocks” in lines 3-6. The limitation, as recited above, renders the scope of the claim indefinite as it ambiguous whether the feature is interpreted as:
The first of the plurality of HVAC device block transmits configuration data (of a different HVAC device block) through the first of plurality of HVAC device block’s electrical interface
The first of the plurality of HVAC device block transmits configuration data of the first of plurality of HVAC device blocks (in other words, its own data) through the electrical interface
In a similar manner, the claim also recites the limitations “configuring the electronic circuit of a second of a plurality of HVAC device blocks… to receive configuration data through the electrical interface of the second of the plurality of HVAC device blocks” in lines 7-10. The limitation, as recited above, renders the scope of the claim indefinite as it ambiguous whether the feature is interpreted as:
The second of the plurality of HVAC device block receives configured data (of a different HVAC device block) through the second of plurality of HVAC device block’s electrical interface
The second of the plurality of HVAC device block receives configured data of the second of plurality of HVAC device blocks (in other words, its own data) through the electrical interface
Also, claim 10 is reject as it recites the limitation “configuration data” in lines 5. The limitation is indefinite because it is unclear whether “configuration data” refers to “configuration data” in line 3 or another new configuration data.
As such, it is not clear how the claimed limitation is intended to be interpreted. For the purpose of this office action, the claim has been examined, as best understood, to encompass any of the potential reasonable interpretations noted above. For the same reason, dependent claim 11 therefore is rejected as well by virtue of its dependency and recitations of the limiting language.
Also, claim 28 reads onto a similar limitation as stated above and is not clear how the claimed limitation is intended to be interpreted. For the purpose of this office action, the claim has been examined, as best understood, to encompass any of the potential reasonable interpretations noted above. For the same reason, dependent claim 29 therefore is rejected as well by virtue of its dependency and recitations of the limiting language.
Claim 12 is rejected as it recites the limitation “and/or” in line 8. The limitation “and/or” renders the scope of the claim unclear because it is ambiguous whether the feature, namely the plurality of HVAC device blocks and the external electrical interface of respective HVAC device blocks, is a required limitation or merely an optional non-limiting feature despite there being functional language. Both HVAC blocks and interfaces of the HVAC blocks recite “to be powered with electricity”. For the same reason, claim 30 which recites the limitation “and/or” is rejected as well.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the electric motor" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the claim to which it is dependent on, claim 19, recites the limitation “and/or” when comprising the motor and sensor. Thus, the scope of claim 37 is unclear because claim 19 recites a base HVAC device block such that it is uncertain whether the motor is present in all embodiments. Furthermore, claim 37 recites the actuated part driven by the motor, but is unclear whether and where the motor is structurally present within the claimed system.
For the same reason, the recited limitation “an actuated part” in line 3 is therefore also rejected for insufficient antecedent basis. Claim 19 recites the limitation “and/or” when comprising the motor with the actuated part and the sensor. Thus, it is ambiguous if it refers to the actuated part (80) from claim 19 or is a new actuated part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Uhlik (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20200096216 A1) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kimata et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20200363092 A1) hereinafter Kimata.
Regarding claim 1, Uhlik discloses a method of manufacturing an HVAC field device (1) (Title: Modular Room Air Treatment System) from a plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) (basic module 2, ¶25), comprising the steps:
a) providing a base HVAC device block (10) (first air-treatment unit 4 ¶25) comprising:
- a housing (11) (housing 12, ¶36);
- an electric motor (M) (fan wheel stepper motor, ¶29) arranged within the housing (11) to drive an actuated part (80) (fan wheel, ¶29; fan & motor integrated into housing 12 of a basic module 2, as depicted in FIG. 4) - such as a valve or damper (the limitation “valve or damper” does not have patentable weight, as described above in the 112(b) rejections, supra, as it can be interpreted to be a list of alternative examples, or the like) -, and/or a sensor (S) configured to measure an environmental parameter of an HVAC system (100) (¶29, “room-air parameter detected by an environmental sensor installed in the first air-treatment unit 4”);
- a connection interface (15A) of a first-type (circumferential rim, ¶42);
- an electronic circuit (12) (control device 6, ¶25) connected to the electric motor (M) and/or the sensor (S) (¶29, “the control device 6 can control all air-treatment units 4 & 8 synchronously or individually”);
b) providing one or more add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) (at least one second air-treatment unit 8, ¶25), each comprising:
- a housing (21.1-n) (housing 12, ¶36);
- a connection interface (25A.1-n) of the first-type (circumferential rim, ¶42);
- a connection interface (25B.1-n) of a second-type (circumferential edge, ¶42), wherein the connection interfaces (15A, 25A. in) of the first-type and the connection interface(s) (25B.1-n) of the second-type are configured to be mechanically connectable with each other (¶42, “A circumferential edge is formed on the bottom side of the second air-treatment unit 8 and on the bottom side of the first air-treatment unit 4, said edge engaging in each case with a circumferential rim formed on the upper side of the first air-treatment unit 4 and on the upper side of the socket unit 10 and thus aligns and laterally surrounds the air-treatment units 4, 8 and the socket unit 10 with respect to each other, so that the air-treatment units 4, 8 and the socket unit 10 stacked on top of each other do not shift relative to each other. Mechanical coupling (form closure) between the air-treatment units 4, 8 also allows any orientation”); and
c) stacking the base HVAC device block (10) and the one or more add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n), thereby mechanically connecting the connection interface (15A, 25A.1-n) of the first type to the connection interface (25B.1-n) of the second type of adjacent HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1 -n) (¶42, circumferential rim and edge depicted in FIG. 6 to align when stacking).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 1 requires the base HVAC device block comprising either the motor or the sensor. Uhlik discloses the claimed sensor. Thus, Uhlik anticipates claim 1. Alternatively, in case the phrase “and/or” is interpreted to require both motor or the sensor, the combination of Uhlik and Kimata teaches the limitations in claim 1, namely, the actuated part that is located outside the housing while still being connectable to the HVAC field device.
Kimata discloses an HVAC field device (Title: Indoor System and Indoor Unit of Air-Conditioning Apparatus) wherein an HVAC field device (indoor system 100, ¶28) comprising a base HVAC device block (indoor unit 10 comprised of main body 20 and decorative panel 30, ¶28) comprising an electric motor (fan 26, ¶31, a fan within HVAC technology inherently requires the use of a driving mechanism, and that mechanism is conventionally a motor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an HVAC fan necessarily requires a motor to drive rotation of the fan).
Kimata also discloses another electric motor (lifting mechanism 56 comprised of wires, spools, and motor, ¶48) arranged within the housing (housing of expansion unit 50, ¶47; the expansion base unit 50 could also be identified as part of the base HVAC device block) to drive an actuated part (air inlet grille 31, ¶47) located outside the housing (¶29 and FIG. 1 disclose air inlet 31 provided in decorative panel 30) and mechanically connectable to the HVAC field device (as depicted in FIG. 4) (¶48, “the drive processing unit 56 drives the lifting mechanism 56… thereby moving the air inlet grille 31 up or down”) (Though Kimata’s base HVAC device block is 20 & 30 while the add-on HVAC device block is 40 & 50, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to swap components between the plurality of bodies through rearrangement of parts),
Kimata also discloses a sensor (sensor 71, 72, & 73, ¶35) configured to measure an environmental parameter of an HVAC system (¶35 discloses sensors 71, 72, & 73 detecting radiation temperature, air temperature, and humidity, respectively).
While Uhlik discloses the physical features of the HVAC field device as claimed, having a base HVAC device block and at least one additional HVAC device blocks that have connection interfaces to connect, mechanically and electrically, a plurality of device blocks together in a stacked configuration to prevent misalignment, Uhlik does not explicitly disclose the actuated part located outside the housing and an electronic circuit that is included in each of the add-on units. In the alternative, Kimata also discloses an HVAC field device that utilizes the plurality of a stacked body configuration, comprised of a fan and a motor that actuates an actuated part, namely the grille, wherein the actuated part is located within a separate body from the motor itself. Though, Uhlik discloses the use of sensors to adjust the motor fan speed depending on environmental conditions to control the effectiveness of the HVAC system by providing with greater or reduced airflow, a grille provided outside the main body of the system would also allow for additional control of inlet/outlet airflow. Also, as described above, it is obvious to swap components between the plurality of bodies in terms of rearrangement of parts. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the motor and grille components of Kimata and implement them into the HVAC system of Uhlik to provide a secondary alternative method in controlling airflow through the system.
Regarding claim 2, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 1 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses the connection interfaces (15A, 25A.1-n) of the first-type comprise a mechanical interface (17A, 27A.1-n) of a first-type (circumferential rim, ¶42) and the connection interface(s) (25B.1-n) of the second-type comprise a mechanical interface(s) (27B.1-n) of a second-type (circumferential edge, ¶42), configured such as to align and/or mutually interlock adjacent HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1 -n) upon the HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) being stacked (¶42, circumferential rim and edge depicted in FIG. 6 to align when stacking).
Regarding claim 3, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 2 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses the mechanical interfaces (17A, 27A.1- n, 27B.1-n) are configured to mutually interlock by an interface-fit upon the HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) being stacked to thereby fixedly attach the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1 - 20-n) to each other (¶42, circumferential rim and edge depicted in FIG. 6 to align when stacking).
Regarding claim 4, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 2 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses the step of providing an adhesive and/or fastening means to the mechanical interfaces (17A, 27A.1-n,27B.1-n) for fixedly attaching the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1 - 20-n) to each other upon being stacked (coupling elements 13 and 15, ¶40).
Regarding claim 5, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 2 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
- the mechanical interfaces (17A, 27A.1-n) of the first-type comprise a protrusion, in particular a circumferential protrusion arranged on a first side (11Top, 21Top. 1-n) of the housing (11, 21.1-n) of the respective HVAC device block (10, 20.1-n) and the mechanical interface(s) (27B.1-n) of the second-type comprise(s) a recess, in particular a circumferential recess arranged on a second side (18, 28.1-n) of the housing (21.1-21.n) of the respective HVAC device block (20.1-n), OR
- the mechanical interfaces (17A, 27A.1-n) of the first-type comprise a recess, in particular a circumferential recess arranged on a first side (11Top, 21Top. 1-n) of the housing (11, 21.1-n) of the respective HVAC device block (10, 20.1-n) and the mechanical interface(s) (27B.1-n) of the second-type comprise(s) a protrusion, in particular a circumferential protrusion arranged on a second side (28.1-n) of the housing (21.1-21.n) of the respective HVAC device block (20.1-n). (¶42, Uhlik discloses the interface of the first-type utilizing a circumferential rim while the interface of the second-type utilizing a circumferential edge).
Regarding claim 6, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 2 as detailed above, Uhlik further discloses:
- the add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) further comprise an electronic circuit (22.1-2) (¶25, Uhlik discloses the usage of a controller as well as the air-treatment units connected to said controller. An electronic circuit is known to be a closed loop or pathway through which electrons flow); and
- Uhlik discloses the connection interface (15A) of the first-type of the base HVAC device block (10) and the connection interface(s) (25B.1-n) of the second-type of the add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) comprise electrical interfaces (16A, 26B.1-n) electrically connected to the respective electronic circuit (12, 22.1-n), configured to be electrically connectable to each other ((electrically) coupling element 13 & 15, ¶40).
Regarding claim 7, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 2 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
- the add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) each further comprise an electronic circuit (22.1-n) (¶25, Uhlik discloses the usage of a controller as well as the air-treatment units connected to said controller. An electronic circuit is known to be a closed loop or pathway through which electrons flow); and
- the connection interface (15A) of the first-type of the base HVAC device block (10) and the connection interface(s) (25B.1-n) of the second-type of the add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) comprise electrical interfaces (16A, 26B.1-n) configured to be electrically connectable to each other ((electrically) coupling element 13 & 15, ¶40).
Regarding claim 8, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 6 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses stacking the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) (first air-treatment units 4 & at least one second air-treatment unit 8, ¶25) further comprises electrically connecting the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) (¶26, “the at least one second air-treatment unit 8 can be connected electrically (mechanically and/or electrically) to the first air-treatment unit 4”) to each other via the electrical interfaces (16A, 26A.1-n,26B.1-n) ((electrical) coupling elements 13 & 15, ¶40) of adjacent HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1 -n) to thereby allow transfer of data and/or electric energy therebetween (as depicted in FIGS. 2 & 6).
Regarding claim 9, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 6 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
- the electrical interface(s) (16A, 26A.1-n) ((electrical) coupling element 15, ¶40) of the connection interface(s) (15A, 25A.1- n) of the first-type (circumferential rim, ¶42) comprise(s) an electrical connector of a first-type ((electrical) coupling element 15, ¶40; ¶26 discloses that the coupling element can be mechanical and/or electrical) arranged at a first side (11 Top, 21Top.1-n) of the respective HVAC device block (10, 20.1-n) (FIG. 6 depicts element 15 located on the first side);
- the electrical interface(s) (26B.1-n) ((electrical) coupling element 13, ¶40) of the connection interface(s) (25B. 1-n) of the second-type (circumferential edge, ¶42) comprise(s) an electrical connector of a second type ((electrical) coupling element 13, ¶40; ¶26 discloses that the coupling element can be mechanical and/or electrical) arranged at a second side (21Bot.1-n) of the respective HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) (FIG. 6 depicts element 15 aligning and connecting to element 13 (not shown), element 13 being located on the bottom side of unit 8).
Regarding claim 10, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 6 as detailed above, and Kimata further discloses the steps of:
- storing of configuration data in the electronic circuit (12, 22.1-n) of a first of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) (¶65, “the storage unit 24e stores data”) and configuring the electronic circuit (12, 22.1-n) to transmit configuration data through the electrical interface (16A, 26A.1-n, 26B.1-n) of the first of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) (¶73, “then, the operation instruction unit 24b transmits the generated operation instruction to the drive processing unit 44 in the expansion unit 40”; transmission through connection of wires 11,12, & 13; and
- configuring of the electronic circuit (12, 22.1-n) of a second of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n), different from the first of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10,20.1-n), to receive configuration data (¶73 discloses the drive processing unit 44 receiving data from unit 24) through the electrical interface (16A, 26A.1-n, 26B.1-n) of the second of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) (wires 11, 12, & 13, ¶49, wires are used to connect the HVAC device blocks).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 10 in the manner of utilizing a plurality of HVAC unit bodies and various locations of actuating/actuated components to control airflow through the HVAC system. Also, refer to the rejection of claim 6 in the manner of utilizing the interfaces, namely wires 11, 12, & 13 of Kimata, or similarly the (electrically) coupling elements 13 & 15 of Uhlik, to connect the plurality of HVAC units).
Regarding claim 11, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 10 as detailed above, and Kimata further discloses the step of causing configuration data of the first of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) to be transferred to the second of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) (¶73, “then, the operation instruction unit 24b transmits the generated operation instruction to the drive processing unit 44 in the expansion unit 40”; transmission through connection of wires 11,12, & 13) upon the HVAC field device (1) being supplied with electrical energy (power supply circuit 22, ¶44, “the power supply circuit 22 generates not only power required to drive the main body 20 and the decorative panel 30, but power required to drive the expansion unit 40 and the expansion unit 50”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 11 in the manner of utilizing a plurality of HVAC unit bodies and various locations of actuating/actuated components to control airflow through the HVAC system. Also, refer to the rejection of claim 6 in the manner of utilizing the interfaces, namely wires 11, 12, & 13 of Kimata, or similarly the (electrically) coupling elements 13 & 15 of Uhlik, to connect the plurality of HVAC units).
Regarding claim 12, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 6 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
d) providing an external electrical interface (18, 28.1-n) ((electrical) coupling elements 13 & 15, ¶40) to at least one of the HVAC device block(s) (10, 20.1-n) (air-treatment 4, ¶25), the external electrical interface (18, 28.1-n) being connected to the electronic circuit (12, 22.1-n) of the at least one of the HVAC device block(s) (10, 20.1-n) (control device 6, ¶25); and
e) configuring more than one of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) of the HVAC field device (1) to be powered with electrical energy and/or configured through the external electrical interface (18, 28.1-n) of the at least one of the HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) via their respective electrical interfaces (16A, 26A.1-n, 26B.1-n) (FIGS. 6 & 8 depicts power supply unit 28 connected to all units 4 & 8, supplying electrical energy through the (electrical) coupling elements 13 & 15; coupling elements as disclosed by Uhlik serve to mechanically and electrically connect units together as well as allow for units to gain supply of electrical power from power supply unit 28).
Regarding claim 13, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 6 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses the housing (21.1-n) of one or more of the add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) comprises:
- a first housing part (21.I.1-n) accommodating the connection interface (25B.1-n) of the second-type (bottom plate 14, ¶36);
- a second housing part (21.II.1-n) accommodating the connection interface (25A.1-n) of the first-type (top plate 16, ¶36),
wherein the electrical interface (26A.1-n) of the connection interface (25A.1-n) of the first- type is electrically connected to the electrical interface (26B.1-n) of the connection interface (25B.1-n) of the second-type by an electrical extension link (23.1-n) (FIG. 6 depicts the (electrically) coupling element 13 & 15 of bottom plate 14 and top plate 16, respectfully, electrically connecting), in particular a flexible electrical extension link (23.1-n) (¶41, “coupling elements 13 and 15 are located centrally and the electrical contacts are designed in such a way that the air-treatment units 6 and 8 can be oriented to each other as desired (in 90° steps)”; the term flexible can mean capable of adapting or adjusting to different positions and orientations allowing for freedom of movement. In this case, flexibility of the coupling elements 13 & 15 allows for various orientations of the units 4 & 8).
Regarding claim 14, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 1 as detailed above, and both further discloses the one or more add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) comprise one or more functional extension device(s) (24.1-n) selected the list comprising:
Uhlik discloses:
- a controller device, implementing HVAC control functions, such as a proportional P, a proportional-integral PI, a proportional-integral-derivative PID , an integral I and/or a neural network-based control (control device 6, ¶25);
- a communication device, comprising a wired communication interface and/or a radio communication device (external control device, ¶30, “this external control device can be a mobile terminal device… and can communicate with the control device 6 via a Bluetooth connection”);
- an energy storage device, comprising a capacitive storage device and/or an electro- chemical storage device (mobile energy sources, ¶55, “mobile energy sources such as batteries or accumulators can also be used as power supply unit 28”);
- a sensor device, comprising one or more sensors for the measurement of a parameter of an HVAC system (100) (environmental sensor, ¶29);
- an HVAC interface device, comprising an interface to a damper and/or pipe of an HVAC system (100) (interface unit, ¶30);
- an electrical power supply device, for providing external electrical power to the HVAC field device (power supply unit 28, ¶51);
- a display device (external control device… such as a smartphone, ¶30);
Kimata discloses:
- a processing device, such as a microcontroller for providing computing power to the HVAC field device (1) (processing unit 44, ¶45);
- a mechanical performance device (lifting mechanism 56 includes the wires & spool, ¶48);
- a position feedback device of the actuated part (80) (drive processing unit 54 and input terminal 55, ¶47);
- a monitoring/service device, for performing specific service and data logging function(s) (arithmetic unit 24d, ¶58);
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 14 in the manner of utilizing a plurality of HVAC unit bodies and various locations of actuating/actuated components to control airflow through the HVAC system).
Regarding claim 15, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 2 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
- providing one or more connection element(s) (19, 29.1-n) (bottom plate 14 & top plate 16, ¶40) carrying the mechanical interface (17A, 27A.1-n) of the first-type or the mechanical interface (27B.1-n) of the second-type (¶42 discloses the bottom and top plates, 14 & 16 respectively, can contain the coupling elements 13 & 15 with the circumferential rim/edge formed) and
- assembling one or more of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) by attaching the connection element(s) (19, 29.1-n) to the housing (11, 21.1-n) of the respective HVAC device block (10, 20.1-n) (¶40-42 and FIGS. 4 & 6 disclose the bottom and top plates with coupling elements and a circumferential rim/edge to properly stack and align air-treatment units 4 & 8).
Regarding claim 16, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 1 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
f) providing a cover HVAC device block (30) (top plate 16, ¶40; ¶43, “the upper side of the uppermost second air-treatment unit 8… can be closed with a top plate or a cover 16 in order to cover the interior”), comprising:
- a housing (31) (top plate 16, ¶40);
- a connection interface (35B) of the second-type (¶40, “top plate 16 and at least one (electrical) coupling element 13”);
g) stacking the cover HVAC device block (30) on an outermost add-on HVAC device block (20.1-n), thereby mechanically connecting the connection interface (35B) of the second type of the cover HVAC device block (30) to the connection interface (25A.1-n) of the first-type of the outermost add-on HVAC device block (20.1-n) (as depicted in FIG. 6) (¶40-43, as depicted in FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 17, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 16 as detailed above, and Kimata further discloses the cover HVAC device block (30) further comprises a human interaction device HID (33) (move-eye sensor 71, ¶62) electrically connected to an electronic circuit (32) of the cover HVAC device block (30) and/or to an electronic circuit (22.1-n) of one or more of the add-on HVAC block(s) (20.1-n) and/or to the electronic circuit (12) of the base HVAC block (10) (¶62, “detection data indicating the position of the human body form the move-eye sensor 71; FIG. 1 & 8 depicts the sensor 71 electrically connected to the circuits of units 20, 40, and 50).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 17 in the manner of utilizing a plurality of HVAC unit bodies and various locations of actuating/actuated components to control airflow through the HVAC system).
Regarding claim 18, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 1 as detailed above, and Kimata further discloses:
a1) providing a primary base HVAC sub-block (10.I) (expansion unit 50, ¶47), comprising the electric motor (M) (lifting mechanism 56 comprising the lifting drive motor, ¶48);
a2) providing a secondary base HVAC sub-block (10.II) (decorative panel 30, ¶29), comprising a mechanical drive (13) (lifting mechanism 56 comprising the wires, ¶48 discloses that the lifting mechanism 56 includes the wires, spools, and motor (not illustrated) that is then configured to be connected to the air inlet grille 31 at respective positions. Thus, a POSITA would understand that in order for this connection to occur, the wire is located at both the expansion unit 50 and the decorative panel 30); and
a3) connecting the primary base HVAC sub-block (10.I) and the secondary base HVAC sub-block (10.II) to thereby form the base HVAC device block (10), such that the mechanical drive (13) is arranged between the electric motor (M) and the actuated part (80) (FIG. 1 depicts expansion unit 50 and decorative panel 30 directly adjacent and connected in a stacked configuration).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 18 in the manner of utilizing a plurality of HVAC unit bodies and various locations of actuating/actuated components to control airflow through the HVAC system).
Regarding claim 19, Uhlik discloses an HVAC field device (1) (Title: Modular Room Air Treatment System) comprising:
-a base HVAC device block (10) (first air-treatment unit 1, ¶25) comprising:
- a housing (11) (housing 12, ¶36);
- an electric motor (M) (stepper motor, ¶29) arranged within the housing (11) to drive an actuated part (80) (fan wheel, ¶29) - such as a valve or damper (the limitation “valve or damper” does not have patentable weight, as described above in the 112(b) rejections, supra, as it can be interpreted to be a list of alternative examples, or the like) -, and/or a sensor (S) configured to measure an environmental parameter of an HVAC system (100) (¶29, “room-air parameter detected by an environmental sensor installed in the first air-treatment unit 4”)
- a connection interface (15A) of a first-type (circumferential rim, ¶42);
- an electronic circuit (12) (control device 6, ¶25) connected to the electric motor (M) and/or the sensor (S) (¶29, “the control device 6 can control all air-treatment units 4 & 8 synchronously or individually”);
- one or more add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) (at least one second air-treatment unit 8, ¶25), each comprising:
- a housing (21.1-n) (housing 12, ¶36);
- a connection interface (25A.1-n) of the first-type (circumferential rim, ¶42);
- a connection interface (25B.1-n) of a second-type (circumferential edge, ¶42), wherein the connection interfaces (15A, 25A.in) of the first-type and the connection interface(s) (25B.1-n) of the second-type are configured to be mechanically connectable with each other (¶42, “A circumferential edge is formed on the bottom side of the second air-treatment unit 8 and on the bottom side of the first air-treatment unit 4, said edge engaging in each case with a circumferential rim formed on the upper side of the first air-treatment unit 4 and on the upper side of the socket unit 10 and thus aligns and laterally surrounds the air-treatment units 4, 8 and the socket unit 10 with respect to each other, so that the air-treatment units 4, 8 and the socket unit 10 stacked on top of each other do not shift relative to each other. Mechanical coupling (form closure) between the air-treatment units 4, 8 also allows any orientation”); and
wherein, the base HVAC device block (10) and the one or more add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) are stacked such that the connection interface (15A, 25A.1-n) of the first type are mechanically connected to the connection interface (25B.1-n) of the second type of adjacent HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1 -n) (¶42, circumferential rim and edge depicted in FIG. 6 to align when stacking).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 19 requires the base HVAC device block comprising either the motor or the sensor. Uhlik discloses the claimed sensor. Thus, Uhlik anticipates claim 19. Alternatively, in case the phrase “and/or” is interpreted to require both motor or the sensor, the combination of Uhlik and Kimata teaches the limitations in claim 19, namely, the actuated part that is located outside the housing while still being connectable to the HVAC field device.
the actuated part that is located outside the housing while still being connectable to the HVAC field device.
Kimata discloses an HVAC field device (Title: Indoor System and Indoor Unit of Air-Conditioning Apparatus) wherein an HVAC field device (indoor system 100, ¶28) comprising a base HVAC device block (indoor unit 10 comprised of main body 20 and decorative panel 30, ¶28) comprising an electric motor (fan 26, ¶31, a fan within HVAC technology inherently requires the use of a driving mechanism, and that mechanism is conventionally a motor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an HVAC fan necessarily requires a motor to drive rotation of the fan).
Kimata also discloses another electric motor (lifting mechanism 56 comprised of wires, spools, and motor, ¶48) arranged within the housing (housing of expansion unit 50, ¶47; the expansion unit 50 could also be identified as part of the base HVAC field device) to drive an actuated part (air inlet grille 31, ¶47) located outside the housing (¶29 and FIG. 1 disclose air inlet 31 provided in decorative panel 30) and mechanically connectable to the HVAC field device (as depicted in FIG. 4) (¶48, “the drive processing unit 56 drives the lifting mechanism 56… thereby moving the air inlet grille 31 up or down”) (Though Kimata’s base HVAC device block is 20 & 30 while the add-on HVAC device block is 40 & 50, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to swap components between the plurality of bodies through rearrangement of parts),
Kimata also discloses a sensor (sensor 71, 72, & 73, ¶35) configured to measure an environmental parameter of an HVAC system (¶35 discloses sensors 71, 72, & 73 detecting radiation temperature, air temperature, and humidity, respectively).
While Uhlik discloses the physical features of the HVAC field device as claimed, having a base HVAC device block and at least one additional HVAC device blocks that have connection interfaces to connect, mechanically and electrically, a plurality of device blocks together in a stacked configuration to prevent misalignment, Uhlik does not explicitly disclose the actuated part located outside the housing and an electronic circuit that is included in each of the add-on units. In the alternative, Kimata also discloses an HVAC field device that utilizes the plurality of a stacked body configuration, comprised of a fan and a motor that actuates an actuated part, namely the grille, wherein the actuated part is located within a separate body from the motor itself. Though, Uhlik discloses the use of sensors to adjust the motor fan speed depending on environmental conditions to control the effectiveness of the HVAC system by providing with greater or reduced airflow, a grille provided outside the main body of the system would also allow for additional control of inlet/outlet airflow. Also, as described above, it is obvious to swap components between the plurality of bodies in terms of rearrangement of parts. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the motor and grille components of Kimata and implement them into the HVAC system of Uhlik to provide a secondary alternative method in controlling airflow through the system.
Regarding claim 20, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 19 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses the connection interfaces (15A, 25A.1-n) of the first-type comprise a mechanical interface (17A, 27A.1-n) of a first-type (circumferential rim, ¶42) and the connection interface(s) (25B.1-n) of the second-type comprise a mechanical interface(s) (27B.1-n) of a second-type (circumferential edge, ¶42), configured such as to align and/or mutually interlock adjacent HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1 -n) upon the HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) being stacked (¶42, circumferential rim and edge depicted in FIG. 6 to align when stacking).
Regarding claim 21, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 20 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses the mechanical interfaces (17A, 27A.1-n, 27B.1-n) are configured to mutually interlock by an interface-fit upon the HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) being stacked to thereby fixedly attach the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1 - 20-n) to each other (¶42, circumferential rim and edge depicted in FIG. 6 to align when stacking).
Regarding claim 22, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 20 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1 - 20-n) are fixedly attached to each other by stacking by an adhesive and/or fastening means provided to the mechanical interfaces (17A, 27A.1-n, 27B.1-n) (coupling elements 13 and 15, ¶40).
Regarding claim 23, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 20 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
- the mechanical interfaces (17A, 27A.1-n) of the first-type comprise a protrusion, in particular a circumferential protrusion arranged on a first side (11Top, 21Top.1-n) of the housing (11, 21.1-n) of the respective HVAC device block (10, 20.1-n) and the mechanical interface(s) (27B.1-n) of the second-type comprise(s) a recess, in particular a circumferential recess arranged on a second side (21Bot.1-n) of the housing (21.1-21.n) of the respective HVAC device block (20.1-n), OR
- the mechanical interfaces (17A, 27A.1-n) of the first-type comprise a recess, in particular a circumferential recess arranged on a first side (11Top, 21Top.1-n) of the housing (11, 21.1-n) of the respective HVAC device block (10, 20.1-n) and the mechanical interface(s) (27B.1-n) of the second-type comprise(s) a protrusion, in particular a circumferential protrusion arranged on a second side (21Bot.1-n) of the housing (21.1-21.n) of the respective HVAC device block (20.1-n). (¶42, Uhlik discloses the interface of the first-type utilizing a circumferential rim while the interface of the second-type utilizing a circumferential edge).
Regarding claim 24, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 20 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
- the add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) further comprise an electronic circuit (22.1-n) (¶25, Uhlik discloses the usage of a controller as well as the air-treatment units connected to said controller. An electronic circuit is known to be a closed loop or pathway through which electrons flow); and
- the connection interface (15A) of the first-type of the base HVAC device block (10) and/or the connection interface(s) (25B.1-n) of the second-type of one or more of the add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) comprise electrical interfaces (16A, 26B.1-n) electrically connected to the respective electronic circuit (12, 22.1-n), configured to be electrically connectable to each other ((electrically) coupling element 13 & 15, ¶40).
Regarding claim 25, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 20 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
- the add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) each further comprise an electronic circuit (22.1-n) (¶25, Uhlik discloses the usage of a controller as well as the air-treatment units connected to said controller. An electronic circuit is known to be a closed loop or pathway through which electrons flow); and
- the connection interfaces (15A, 25A.1-n, 25B.1-n) each comprise an electrical interface (16A, 26A.1-n, 26B.1-n) electrically connected to the respective electronic circuit (12,22.1-n), the connection interfaces (15A, 25A.1-n, 25B.1-n) being configured to be electrically connectable to each other ((electrically) coupling element 13 & 15, ¶40).
Regarding claim 26, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 24 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) (first air-treatment units 4 & at least one second air-treatment unit 8, ¶25) are electrically connected (¶26, “the at least one second air-treatment unit 8 can be connected electrically (mechanically and/or electrically) to the first air-treatment unit 4”) to each other via the electrical interfaces (16A, 26A.1-n, 26B.1-n) ((electrical) coupling elements 13 & 15, ¶40) of adjacent HVAC device blocks (10,20.1 -n) to thereby allow transfer of data and/or electric energy therebetween (as depicted in FIGS. 2 & 6).
Regarding claim 27, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 24 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
- the electrical interface(s) (16A, 26A.1-n) ((electrical) coupling element 15, ¶40) of the connection interface(s) (15A, 25A.1- n) of the first-type (circumferential rim, ¶42) comprise(s) an electrical connector of a first-type ((electrical) coupling element 15, ¶40; ¶26 discloses that the coupling element can be mechanical and/or electrical) arranged at a first side (11 Top, 21Top.1-n) of the respective HVAC device block (10, 20.1-n) (FIG. 6 depicts element 15 located on the first side);
- the electrical interface(s) (26B.1-n) ((electrical) coupling element 13, ¶40) of the connection interface(s) (25B.1-n) of the second-type (circumferential edge, ¶42) comprise(s) an electrical connector of a second type ((electrical) coupling element 13, ¶40; ¶26 discloses that the coupling element can be mechanical and/or electrical) arranged at a second side (21Bot.1-n) of the respective HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) (FIG. 6 depicts element 15 aligning and connecting to element 13 (not shown), element 13 being located on the bottom side of unit 8).
Regarding claim 28, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 24 as detailed above, and Kimata further discloses:
- the electronic circuit (12, 22.1-n) of a first of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10,20.1-n) (controller 24, ¶43) is configured to transmit configuration data stored therein through the electrical interface (16A, 26A.1-n, 26B.1-n) of the first of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) (¶51 and FIG. 4 disclose the transmission of operation instructions from controller 24 to units 40 & 50 through wires 11, 12, & 13); and
- the electronic circuit (12, 22.1-n) of a second of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10,20.1-n), different from the first of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n), is configured to receive configuration data through the electrical interface (16A, 26A.1-n, 26B.1-n) of the second of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) (¶73 discloses the drive processing unit 44 receiving data from unit 24) through the electrical interface (16A, 26A.1-n, 26B.1-n) of the second of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) (wires 11, 12, & 13, ¶49, wires are used to connect the HVAC device blocks).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 19, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 28 in the manner of utilizing a plurality of HVAC unit bodies and various locations of actuating/actuated components to control airflow through the HVAC system. Also, refer to the rejection of claim 24 in the manner of utilizing the interfaces, namely wires 11, 12, & 13 of Kimata, or similarly the (electrically) coupling elements 13 & 15 of Uhlik, to connect the plurality of HVAC units).
Regarding claim 29, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 28 as detailed above, and Kimata further discloses the device configured to transfer configuration data of the first of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) to the second of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) (¶73, “then, the operation instruction unit 24b transmits the generated operation instruction to the drive processing unit 44 in the expansion unit 40”; transmission through connection of wires 11,12, & 13) upon the HVAC field device (1) being supplied with electrical energy (power supply circuit 22, ¶44, “the power supply circuit 22 generates not only power required to drive the main body 20 and the decorative panel 30, but power required to drive the expansion unit 40 and the expansion unit 50”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 19, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 29 in the manner of utilizing a plurality of HVAC unit bodies and various locations of actuating/actuated components to control airflow through the HVAC system. Also, refer to the rejection of claim 24 in the manner of utilizing the interfaces, namely wires 11, 12, & 13 of Kimata, or similarly the (electrically) coupling elements 13 & 15 of Uhlik, to connect the plurality of HVAC units).
Regarding claim 30, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 24 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
d) at least one of the HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) (air-treatment 4, ¶25) comprises an external electrical interface (18, 28.1-n) ((electrical) coupling elements 13 & 15, ¶40); and
e) more than one of the plurality of HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1-n) of the HVAC field device (1) are configured to be powered and/or configurable through the external electrical interface (18, 28.1-n) of the at least one of the HVAC device blocks (10, 20.1- n) via their respective electrical interfaces (16A, 26A.1-n, 26B.1-n) (FIGS. 6 & 8 depicts power supply unit 28 connected to all units 4 & 8, supplying electrical energy through the (electrical) coupling elements 13 & 15; coupling elements as disclosed by Uhlik serve to mechanically and electrically connect units together as well as allow for units to gain supply of electrical power from power supply unit 28).
Regarding claim 31, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 24 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses the housing (21.1-n) of one or more of the add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) comprises:
- a first housing part (21.I.1-n) accommodating the connection interface (25B.1-n) of the second-type (bottom plate 14, ¶36);
- a second housing part (21.II.1-n) accommodating the connection interface (25A.1-n) of the first-type (top plate 16, ¶36),
wherein the electrical interface (26A.1-n) of the connection interface (25A.1-n) of the first- type is electrically connected to the electrical interface (26B.1-n) of the connection interface (25B.1-n) of the second-type by an electrical extension link (23.1-n) (FIG. 6 depicts the (electrically) coupling element 13 & 15 of bottom plate 14 and top plate 16, respectfully, electrically connecting), in particular a flexible electrical extension link (23.1-n) (¶41, “coupling elements 13 and 15 are located centrally and the electrical contacts are designed in such a way that the air-treatment units 6 and 8 can be oriented to each other as desired (in 90° steps)”; the term flexible can mean capable of adapting or adjusting to different positions and orientations allowing for freedom of movement. In this case, flexibility of the coupling elements 13 & 15 allows for various orientations of the units 4 & 8).
Regarding claim 32, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 19 as detailed above, and both further discloses the one or more add-on HVAC device block(s) (20.1-n) comprise one or more functional extension device(s) (24.1-n) selected the list comprising:
Uhlik discloses:
- a controller device, implementing HVAC control functions, such as a proportional P, a proportional-integral PI, a proportional-integral-derivative PID , an integral I and/or a neural network-based control (control device 6, ¶25);
- a communication device, comprising a wired communication interface and/or a radio communication device (external control device, ¶30, “this external control device can be a mobile terminal device… and can communicate with the control device 6 via a Bluetooth connection”);
- an energy storage device, comprising a capacitive storage device and/or an electro- chemical storage device (mobile energy sources, ¶55, “mobile energy sources such as batteries or accumulators can also be used as power supply unit 28”);
- a sensor device, comprising one or more sensors for the measurement of a parameter of an HVAC system (100) (environmental sensor, ¶29);
- an HVAC interface device, comprising an interface to a damper and/or pipe of an HVAC system (100) (interface unit, ¶30);
- an electrical power supply device, for providing external electrical power to the HVAC field device (power supply unit 28, ¶51);
- a display device (external control device… such as a smartphone, ¶30);
Kimata discloses:
- a processing device, such as a microcontroller for providing computing power to the HVAC field device (1) (processing unit 44, ¶45);
- a mechanical performance device (lifting mechanism 56 includes the wires & spool, ¶48);
- a position feedback device of the actuated part (80) (drive processing unit 54 and input terminal 55, ¶47);
- a monitoring/service device, for performing specific service and data logging function(s) (arithmetic unit 24d, ¶58);
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 14 in the manner of utilizing a plurality of HVAC unit bodies and various locations of actuating/actuated components to control airflow through the HVAC system).
Regarding claim 33, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 20 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
- the mechanical interface (17A, 27A.1-n) of the first-type or the mechanical interface (27B.1-n) of the second-type ((electrical) coupling elements 13 & 15, ¶40) is/are carried by one or more connection element(s) (19, 29.1-n) (bottom plate 14 & top plate 16, ¶40) (¶42 discloses the bottom and top plates, 14 & 16 respectively, can contain the coupling elements 13 & 15 with the circumferential rim/edge formed); and
- the connection element(s) (19, 29.1-n) are attached to the housing (11, 21.1-n) of the one or more HVAC device block(s) (10, 20.1-n). (¶40-42 and FIGS. 4 & 6 disclose the bottom and top plates with coupling elements and a circumferential rim/edge to properly stack and align air-treatment units 4 & 8).
Regarding claim 34, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 19 as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
- a cover HVAC device block (30) (top plate 16, ¶40; ¶43, “the upper side of the uppermost second air-treatment unit 8… can be closed with a top plate or a cover 16 in order to cover the interior”), comprising:
- a housing (31) (top plate 16, ¶40);
- a connection interface (35B) of the second-type (¶40, “top plate 16 and at least one (electrical) coupling element 13”);
wherein the cover HVAC device block (30) is stacked on an outermost add-on HVAC device block (20.1-n), the connection interface (35B) of the second type of the cover HVAC device block (30) being mechanically connected to the connection interface (25A.1-n) of the first-type of the outermost add-on HVAC device block (20.1-n) (as depicted in FIG. 6) (¶40-43, as depicted in FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 35, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 34 as detailed above, and Kimata further discloses the cover HVAC device block (30) further comprises a human interaction device HID (33) electrically connected to an electronic circuit (32) of the cover HVAC device block (30) and/or to an electronic circuit (22.1-n) of one or more of the add-on HVAC block(s) (20.1-n) and/or to the electronic circuit (12) of the base HVAC block (10) (move-eye sensor 71, ¶62, “detection data indicating the position of the human body form the move-eye sensor 71; FIG. 1 & 8 depicts the sensor 71 electrically connected to the circuits of units 20, 40, and 50).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 19, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 35 in the manner of utilizing a plurality of HVAC unit bodies and various locations of actuating/actuated components to control airflow through the HVAC system).
Regarding claim 36, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device of claim 19 as detailed above, and Kimata further discloses the base HVAC device block (10) comprises:
- a primary base HVAC sub-block (10.I) (expansion unit 50, ¶47), comprising the electric motor (M) (lifting mechanism 56 comprising the lifting drive motor, ¶48);
- a secondary base HVAC sub-block (10.II) (decorative panel 30, ¶29), comprising a mechanical drive (13) (lifting mechanism 56 comprising the wires, ¶48 discloses that the lifting mechanism 56 includes the wires, spools, and motor (not illustrated) that is then configured to be connected to the air inlet grille 31 at respective positions. Thus, a POSITA would understand that in order for this connection to occur, the wire is located at both the expansion unit 50 and the decorative panel 30); and
wherein the primary base HVAC sub-block (10.I) and the secondary base HVAC sub- block (10.II) are connected such that the mechanical drive (13) is arranged between the electric motor (M) and the actuated part (80) (FIG. 1 depicts expansion unit 50 and decorative panel 30 directly adjacent and connected in a stacked configuration).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 19, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 36 in the manner of utilizing a plurality of HVAC unit bodies and various locations of actuating/actuated components to control airflow through the HVAC system).
Regarding claim 37, Uhlik in view of Kimata teaches the HVAC device as detailed above, and Uhlik further discloses:
- an HVAC field device (1) (basic module 2, ¶25) according to claim 19; as detailed above, and
- an actuated part (80) (fan wheel, ¶29), such as a valve and/or a damper, drivingly connected to the electric motor (M) (fan wheel stepper motor, ¶29) of the base HVAC device block (10) (first air-treatment unit 4, ¶29) of the HVAC field device (1).
Conclusion
/E.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3729 /THOMAS J HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3729