Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 & 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Disser, US 7,806,773.
Claim 1 & 7: Disser discloses a constant velocity joint (1) comprising:
an outer race (3, 8) provided with a first through-hole (nominally indicated by reference numeral 9) extending along a longitudinal axis and forming a plurality of outer ball grooves (3a);
an inner race (2) provided with a second through-hole (nominally indicated by reference numeral 6) extending along a longitudinal axis and forming a plurality of inner ball grooves (2a) that are respectively pair with the outer ball grooves;
a plurality of balls (5) arranged respectively in a space (see the figure) formed by the pair of the outer ball grooves and the inner ball grooves;
a ball cage (4) that accommodates the plurality of balls;
a first grease retainer (10) coupled to the outer race to block (see “seals” at col. 4, line 25) the first through-hole in order to prevent grease filled into a space where the balls and the ball cage are placed from leaking out; and
a second grease retainer (see the unnumbered lid to the right of the radially innermost portion of the lid 10) coupled to the inner race to block the second through-hole in order to prevent grease filled into a space where the balls and the ball cage are placed from leaking out,
wherein the first grease retainer has a convex shape (11) protruding towards the ball and the ball cage (col. 4, lines 29-30).
At col. 5, lines 3-5, Disser discloses the first grease retainer (10) is configured (11) to collide with the inner race (2) during an articulation between the outer race (3) and the inner race, thereby inherently limiting rotation of the ball cage (4).
Claim 3. The figure shows the convex shape comprises a spherical shape (11).
Claim 4. The figure shows the convex shape comprises a cylindrical shape (see the unnumbered the radially outermost portion of the lid 10).
Claim 6. See claims 3 & 4.
In the reply filed April 27, 2026, applicant argues that Disser discloses at claim 5 that the first grease retainer (10) is not configured (11) to collide with the inner race (2) during an articulation between the outer race (3) and the inner race. However, Disser expressly discloses that such collision is only precluded when deflection is limited to 10-20 degrees (col. 3, lines 26-32), but when deflection angle is greater, such collision occurs (col. 5, lines 3-5).
Claims 1, 5 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cull, US 3,186,189.
Claim 1 & 7: At Figs. 2-3, Cull discloses a constant velocity joint (col. 1, lines 10-11) comprising:
an outer race (59) provided with a first through-hole extending along a longitudinal axis and forming a plurality of outer ball grooves (44);
an inner race (40) provided with a second through-hole (55) extending along a longitudinal axis and forming a plurality of inner ball grooves (43) that are respectively pair with the outer ball grooves;
a plurality of balls (39) arranged respectively in a space formed by the pair of the outer ball grooves and the inner ball grooves;
a ball cage (47) that accommodates the plurality of balls;
a first grease retainer (45, 60) coupled to the outer race to block the first through-hole in order to prevent grease filled into a space where the balls and the ball cage are placed from leaking out; and
a second grease retainer (57) coupled to the inner race to block the second through-hole in order to prevent grease filled into a space where the balls and the ball cage are placed from leaking out,
wherein the first grease retainer has a convex shape (48) protruding towards the ball and the ball cage.
At Fig. 2 and col. 3, lines 63-67, Cull discloses the first grease retainer (45, 60) is configured (45) to collide with the ball cage (47) during an articulation between the outer race (59) and the inner race, thereby limiting rotation of the ball cage.
Claim 5. At Fig. 2 and col. 3, lines 63-65, Cull discloses the convex shape (47) comprises a cone shape or modified cone shape.
In the reply filed April 27, 2026, applicant argues that the elements 45 & 60 do not constitute a grease retainer because Cull does not describe them as such. However, Fig. 2 shows that the elements 45 & 60 close the left side of the constant velocity joint. Therefore any grease inside the joint would be retained by those elements, just as the first grease retainer 41 of the instant invention retains grease.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Greg Binda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679