Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they fail to show the second grease retainer 42 as configured to collide with one or more of the inner race 21 and the ball cage 32 during an articulation between the outer race 11 and the inner race 21 as recited in claim 8. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 8 recites, “the second grease retainer is configured to collide with one or more of the inner race and the ball cage during an articulation between the outer race and the inner race”. However, the specification fails to disclose or suggest the second grease retainer 42 as configured to collide with one or more of the inner race 21 and the ball cage 32 during an articulation between the outer race 11 and the inner race 21.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 7, line 15 recites the limitation, “the grease retainer”. It is unclear which of the previously recited grease retainers is “the grease retainer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 & 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Disser, US 7,806,773.
Claim 1 & 7: Disser discloses a constant velocity joint (1) comprising:
an outer race (3, 8) provided with a first through-hole (nominally indicated by reference numeral 9) extending along a longitudinal axis and forming a plurality of outer ball grooves (3a);
an inner race (2) provided with a second through-hole (nominally indicated by reference numeral 6) extending along a longitudinal axis and forming a plurality of inner ball grooves (2a) that are respectively pair with the outer ball grooves;
a plurality of balls (5) arranged respectively in a space (see the figure) formed by the pair of the outer ball grooves and the inner ball grooves;
a ball cage (4) that accommodates the plurality of balls;
a first grease retainer (10) coupled to the outer race to block (see “seals” at col. 4, line 25) the first through-hole in order to prevent grease filled into a space where the balls and the ball cage are placed from leaking out; and
a second grease retainer (see the unnumbered lid to the right of the radially innermost portion of the lid 10) coupled to the inner race to block the second through-hole in order to prevent grease filled into a space where the balls and the ball cage are placed from leaking out,
wherein the first grease retainer has a convex shape (11) protruding towards the ball and the ball cage (col. 4, lines 29-30).
Claim 2: At col. 5, lines 3-5, Disser discloses the first grease retainer (10) is configured (11) to collide with the inner race (2) during an articulation between the outer race (3) and the inner race, thereby inherently limiting rotation of the ball cage (4).
Claim 3. The figure shows the convex shape comprises a spherical shape (11).
Claim 4. The figure shows the convex shape comprises a cylindrical shape (see the unnumbered the radially outermost portion of the lid 10).
Claim 6. See claims 3 & 4.
Claims 1, 3-4 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacob, US 5,797,801.
Claim 1: At Fig. 1, Jacob shows a constant velocity joint comprising:
an outer race (1) provided with a through-hole (5) extending along a longitudinal axis (2) and forming a plurality of outer ball grooves (3);
an inner race (7) forming a plurality of inner ball grooves (14) that are respectively pair with the outer ball grooves;
a plurality of balls (19) arranged respectively in a space (see the figure) formed by the pair of the outer ball grooves and the inner ball grooves;
a ball cage (15) that accommodates the plurality of balls; and
a grease retainer (22, 28) coupled to the outer race to prevent grease, which fills a space where the ball and the ball cage are placed, from leaking through the through-hole,
wherein the grease retainer has a convex shape (23, 30) protruding towards the ball and the ball cage.
Claim 3. The convex shape comprises a spherical shape (23).
Claim 4. The convex shape comprises a cylindrical shape (30).
Claim 6. See claims 3 & 4.
Claims 1-2, 5 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cull, US 3,186,189.
Claim 1 & 7: At Figs. 2-3, Cull discloses a constant velocity joint (col. 1, lines 10-11) comprising:
an outer race (59) provided with a first through-hole extending along a longitudinal axis and forming a plurality of outer ball grooves (44);
an inner race (40) provided with a second through-hole (55) extending along a longitudinal axis and forming a plurality of inner ball grooves (43) that are respectively pair with the outer ball grooves;
a plurality of balls (39) arranged respectively in a space formed by the pair of the outer ball grooves and the inner ball grooves;
a ball cage (47) that accommodates the plurality of balls;
a first grease retainer (45, 60) coupled to the outer race to block the first through-hole in order to prevent grease filled into a space where the balls and the ball cage are placed from leaking out; and
a second grease retainer (57) coupled to the inner race to block the second through-hole in order to prevent grease filled into a space where the balls and the ball cage are placed from leaking out,
wherein the first grease retainer has a convex shape (48) protruding towards the ball and the ball cage.
Claim 2: At Fig. 2 and col. 3, lines 63-67, Cull discloses the first grease retainer (45, 60) is configured (45) to collide with the ball cage (47) during an articulation between the outer race (59) and the inner race, thereby limiting rotation of the ball cage.
Claim 5. At Fig. 2 and col. 3, lines 63-65, Cull discloses the convex shape (47) comprises a a cone shape or modified cone shape.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
At Fig. 6, Universal Joint and Driveshaft Design Manual shows a constant velocity joint comprising a grease retainer with a convex projection.
At Figs. 6-7, Oh shows a constant velocity joint comprising a convex projection 100.
At Figs. 2 & 6, Girguis shows a constant velocity joint comprising conical and cylindrical projections 28 & 20, respectively.
/Greg Binda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679