DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed September 9, 2025 has been received, Claims 1-10 are currently pending, with Claims 6-10 remaining withdrawn from prosecution at this time.
Claim Interpretation
1. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “outsole side mounting arrangement portions” and “upper side mounting arrangement portions” in Claims 1, 2 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lilienfeldt (US 1,463,514).
Regarding Claim 1, Lilienfeldt discloses footwear comprising at least an outsole (12), an upper side (5,9), screw receiving seats (8,10,17), and coupling screws (15) screwed thereinto (Pg.1, line 101-Pg.2, line 21), wherein the outsole has a plurality of outsole side mounting arrangement portions (i.e. apertures in 12) provided at predetermined intervals for mounting and arranging the screw receiving seats or the coupling screws, the upper side has a plurality of upper side mounting arrangement portions (i.e. apertures in 5 or 9) provided at predetermined intervals, corresponding to the outsole side mounting arrangement portions, for mounting and arranging the screw receiving seats or the coupling screws (as seen in Fig.1-3), the outsole and the upper side are configured to be separably integrated by screwing together the coupling screws and the screw receiving seats mounted and arranged in pairs on the outsole side mounting arrangement portions and the upper side mounting arrangement portions (Pg.2, lines 39-61), and a misalignment region (i.e. toe region of shoe portions) in which spacings between outsole side mounting arrangement portions (of 17) differ (i.e. the spacing of 17 from the perimeter edge of 12 is different from the spacing of 8 and/or 10 from the perimeter edges of 5 and/or 9) from spacings between corresponding upper side mounting arrangement portions (of 8 & 10) in a direction along perimeter edges of the outsole and the upper side (as seen in Fig.3) to cause, by screw-coupling the outsole and the upper side (i.e. securing 12, 5, & 9 together with 15), a curvature of the outsole and the upper side upward from a plane (See annotated Figure below), formed in the misalignment region (as seen in Fig.1-3).
Regarding Claim 2, Lilienfeldt discloses footwear according to claim 1, wherein the outsole side mounting arrangement portions (i.e. apertures in 12) are disposed at predetermined intervals along an outer periphery of an outsole of the outsole (as seen in Fig.1), the upper side mounting arrangement portions (i.e. apertures in 9) provided corresponding to the outsole side mounting arrangement portions are disposed at predetermined intervals along an outer periphery of an insole (9) of the upper side, an upper (5) of the upper side has seating holes (i.e. apertures in 5) provided at a bottom portion thereof corresponding to the upper side mounting arrangement portions (Pg.1, line 101-Pg.2, line 21), and the coupling screws and the screw receiving seats mounted and arranged in pairs on the outsole side mounting arrangement portions provided at the outsole and the upper side mounting arrangement portions provided at the insole are screwed together through the seating holes in the upper, whereby the outsole and the insole are separably integrated with the bottom portion of the upper sandwiched therebetween (Pg.2, lines 39-61; as seen in Fig.1-3).
Regarding Claim 3, Lilienfeldt discloses footwear according to claim 2, wherein the insole (9) and the upper (5) of the upper side are not coupled to each other except for the screw coupling with the coupling screws and the screw receiving seats (Pg.2, lines 39-61; as seen in Fig.1-3).
Regarding Claim 5, Lilienfeldt discloses footwear according to claim 1, wherein the outsole side mounting arrangement portions (i.e. apertures in 12) are disposed at predetermined intervals along an outer periphery of an outsole (12) in the outsole, the upper side mounting arrangement portions (i.e. apertures in 5) provided corresponding to the outsole side mounting arrangement portions are disposed at predetermined intervals along an outer periphery of a bottom portion of an upper (5) of the upper side, and the coupling screws and the screw receiving seats mounted and arranged in pairs on the outsole side mounting arrangement portions provided at the outsole and the upper side mounting arrangement portions provided at the upper are screwed together, whereby the outsole and the upper are separably integrated (Pg.2, lines 39-61; as seen in Fig.1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lilienfeldt (US 1,463,514) in view of MacNamara (US 6,092,311).
Regarding Claim 4, Lilienfeldt discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Lilienfeldt does not disclose wherein the insole and the upper of the upper side are coupled to each other with an adhesive, besides the screw coupling with the coupling screws and the screw receiving seats. However, MacNamara teaches footwear layers being coupled to each other with an adhesive (Col.6, lines 19-21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper and insole of Lilienfeldt to be coupled with releasable adhesive, as taught by MacNamara, in order to provide enhanced securement of the upper to the insole so that their apertures are aligned during securement of the outsole for easier attachment of the outsole to the upper and insole.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and newly modified grounds of rejection have been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but, as they are drawn solely to the newly amended limitations, are moot in view of the newly modified ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732