DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11-12, 15, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Masih (US 2024/0099366).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 15, Masih teaches an aerosol generating system comprising a case and an aerosol delivery device (vaporizer), the case having an authentication device adapted to enable removal of the vaporizer from the case only in an event of a positive authentication result and/or disable removal of the vaporizer from the case in the event of a negative authentication result (controller controls the locking mechanism such that the lid of the case can be locked under the control of the controller) [0064, 0080-0085]. An authentication interface is provided on a mobile device [0069, 0080]. The method of using the system thereby reads on the claimed method.
Regarding claim 3, Masih teaches the authentication interface is based on Bluetooth [0069].
Regarding claim 4, Masih teaches an electromagnetic locking mechanism [0064], i.e. removal of the vaporizer is disabled by an electric lock having at least one magnet adapted to actuate a lock by electric power being supplied or removed.
Regarding claims 5-6, Masih teaches a pivotable lid 12 [Fig. 1] which prevents removal of the vaporizer when the case is closed and locked. In other words, removal of the vaporizer is disabled by a pivotable blocking element that blocks movement of the vaporizer.
Regarding claims 11-12 and 20-21, Masih teaches disabling removal of the vaporizer via a mobile device [0080-0085], i.e. after insertion of the vaporizer This is interpreted as the authentication device being adapted to disable removal of the vaporizer after a predetermined time after detection of the vaporizer, wherein the predetermined time is set by a mobile device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masih as applied to claims 5 and 15 above, and further in view of Memari (US 2015/0245654).
Masih does not teach the vaporizer comprises a recess, and wherein the locking or blocking element is a pin arranged to enter the recess. However, this is a conventional means for locking a vaporizer within a case as taught by [0388] and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply to the system or method of Masih to achieve predictable results.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masih as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Niebling (US 20200288786).
Masih does not teach removal of the vaporizer is disabled by at least one pivotable second locking or blocking element engaging a door or lid associated with a chamber or recess accommodating the vaporizer and/or that blocks movement thereof. However, this is a conventional locking mechanism known in the art as taught by Niebling [0154] and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply to the system of Masih to achieve predictable results.
Claims 14, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masih as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of McKenzie (US 2020/0214341).
Masih teaches the vaporizer is nested in a recess 16 of the case [Fig. 1] but does not teach wherein a gap is provided at a lower end of the recess configured to allow a user to apply pressure at the lower end of the vaporizer for tilting the vaporizer about a step. However, this is a conventional mechanism for allowing removal of a vaporizer known in the art as taught by McKenzie [0065] and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply to the system or method of Masih to achieve predictable results. Thus, the movement for taking the vaporizer from the case starts with a tilting movement.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masih as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Cooper (US 2015/0102777).
Regarding claims 5-6, Masih teaches a pivotable lid 12 [Fig. 1] which prevents removal of the vaporizer when the case is closed and locked. In other words, a first blocking element is pivoted in order to enable removable of the vaporizer. A sliding lid is not disclosed. However, this is a conventional mechanism for opening a lid as taught by Cooper [0029] and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply to the method of Masih to achieve predictable results
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masih and Cooper as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Niebling (US 20200288786).
Modified Masih does not teach removal of the vaporizer is enabled by pivoting a second locking or blocking element. However, this is a conventional locking mechanism known in the art as taught by Niebling [0154] and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply to the method of Masih to achieve predictable results.
Conclusion
/ERIC YAARY/Examiner, Art Unit 1755