Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 12, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0039219) and as evidenced by https://www.micro-epsilon.com/distance-sensors/inductive-sensors-eddy-current/eddyncdt-3001/.
Regarding claim 1, Imai discloses a turning tool comprising: a tool main body that extends along a tool axis and that has a pedestal at a tip portion (18); a cutting insert (20) that is detachably attached to the pedestal (figures 1 and 3); and a distance sensor (31/32) that is attached to the tool main body, Imai is silent about the sensor type. The previous Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of eddy current sensor is old and well known in the machining art for detecting proximity, displacement, positions etc has been and presents as evidence
https://www.micro-epsilon.com/distance-sensors/inductive-sensors-eddy-current/eddyncdt-3001/ (Please note: The eddyNCDT 3001 eddy current displacement sensor was released by Micro-Epsilon on August 3, 2015) that an eddy current sensor was a known non-contact distance/displacement sensor at the time of the invention. The website recites “The eddyNCDT 3001 is a new, efficient, inductive displacement sensor based on eddy currents whose compact dimensions have to date only been reserved for inductive proximity switches. The temperature-compensated design provides high stability even in fluctuating ambient temperatures. The eddyNCDT 3001 comes with integrated electronics, offering an outstanding price/performance ratio and easy operation”.
Regarding claim 2, Imai discloses wherein the distance sensor includes
a first distance sensor (31) that takes a radially outer side of the tool axis as a
measurement direction, and a second distance sensor (32) that takes an axial tip side of the tool axis as a measurement direction (figures 1-3 and paragraphs 74-84).
Regarding claims 7, 17, 18 and 20, Imai discloses a communication unit (5) that is configured to transmit measurement data measured by the distance sensor to an outside (paragraphs 133 and 138).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Imai discloses the claimed invention (i.e. distance sensor 31/32) except for distance sensor being fixed by a first bracket (instead of being embedded). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the sensor attached by another piece/bracket, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to attach Imai’s sensor with an external bracket for the purpose of allowing serviceability, adjustability, and replacement with ease thus reduced down time.
Claims 5, 6, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imai et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0039219) and as evidenced by https://www.micro-epsilon.com/distance-sensors/inductive-sensors-eddy-current/eddyncdt-3001/ and in view of Hashimoto et al. (WO 2020/171157).
Imai discloses all aspects of the invention as set forth in the rejection above. Imai fails to disclose having an imaging device that is attached to the tool main body and that is configured to capture an image. Hashimoto discloses a turning tool having a sensor (9) (figure 2). Hashimoto also discloses that “the sensor (9) is not limited to the above embodiment, and other elements not particularly described above may be used as long as it may be possible to measure the physical values of the base 5 illustrated above. Examples thereof may include a camera and a microphone” (see USP 12,103,088, col. 5, lines 62-67 for English translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an imaging device on Imai’s tool, as taught by Hashimoto for the purpose of having multimodal measuring means and visual confirmation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/3/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicants argument that “"In the present embodiment, the first distance sensor 31 and the second distance sensor 32 are optical distance sensors using a white coaxial and confocal method." Imai further teaches in [0076] as follows: [0076] The first distance sensor 31 and the second distance sensor 32 are not particularly limited as long as both of these can measure the distance to the object. However, the first distance sensor 31 and the second distance sensor 32 are preferably non-contact distance sensors, and more preferably optical distance sensors from a viewpoint of measurement accuracy. Accordingly, Imai teaches away from using an eddy current sensor by expressly preferring optical distance sensors for measurement accuracy”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Imai teaches selecting a non-contact distance sensor, with an optical sensor merly being a preferred implementation. Imai is not limiting itself to optical. It teaches a non-contact distance sensor and optical a preference.
The previous Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of eddy current sensor is old and well known in the machining art for detecting proximity, displacement, positions etc has been and presents as evidence https://www.micro-epsilon.com/distance-sensors/inductive-sensors-eddy-current/eddyncdt-3001/ (Please note: The eddyNCDT 3001 eddy current displacement sensor was released by Micro-Epsilon on August 3, 2015) that an eddy current sensor was a known non-contact distance/displacement sensor at the time of the invention. The website recites “The eddyNCDT 3001 is a new, efficient, inductive displacement sensor based on eddy currents whose compact dimensions have to date only been reserved for inductive proximity switches. The temperature-compensated design provides high stability even in fluctuating ambient temperatures. The eddyNCDT 3001 comes with integrated electronics, offering an outstanding price/performance ratio and easy operation”. This teaches that eddy current sensor is a known non-contact distance/displacement sensor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 6/27/26