DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 5/29/26, the following has occurred: Claim 8 has been amended.
Claims 1-14 are pending. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 5/29/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200127255 A1 (“US’255”) in view of US 20200395643 A1 (“US’643”).
As to Claim 1:
US’255 discloses:
a battery module (1000); at least one battery cell stack (100) each comprising a plurality of battery cells (110); a module housing (200) accommodating the at least one battery cell stack therein disposed in an overall length direction (X) ([0023]–[0026], [0033], [0054]);
at least one high voltage (HV) connector (515) electrically connecting the battery cell stacks to each other (e.g., connecting a first protrusion 512 and second protrusion 514 to respective stack sets) ([0048]–[0052], [0145-0149]);
a low voltage (LV) assembly (517) configured to sense voltage and temperature of the plurality of battery cells (specifically disclosing signal connection parts configured as LV terminals connected to a control unit that recognizes temperature and voltage) ([0053]–[0056], [0105]); and
a module housing including a cooling channel (300) under a floor surface configured to accommodate a flow of coolant ([0036]–[0038], [0233-0247]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose an insulating oil configured to cool the plurality of battery cells, a cooling port configured to allow the insulating oil to be introduced and discharged therethrough, and wherein the module housing directs cooling of the cells by the insulating oil while it flows through the housing.
US’643 discloses a battery module (10) including a cell stack (100) formed by stacking battery cells (110) and a module housing (20) configured to accommodate the stack ([0025], [0028], [0046-0056]]); an insulating oil configured to cool the plurality of battery cells (specifically disclosing a structure that uses an insulating oil for cooling) ([0045], [0047]); and a cooling port (comprising a supply tube 230 and a discharge tube 240) configured to allow the insulating oil to be introduced and discharged therethrough into the module ([0049]–[0051]); wherein the battery module is configured to direct cooling of the plurality of battery cells by the insulating oil while the insulating oil flows through the module housing (specifically teaching a direct-contact cooling structure where oil is supplied to empty spaces S1, S2 within the housing to directly contact the cells) ([0050]–[0055], [0075]).
US’255 and US’643 are analogous arts because both are directed to the field of high-capacity secondary battery modules for vehicles and address technical challenges related to modular electrical architecture and thermal management efficiency.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the direct-contact insulating oil cooling system and ports of US’643 into the modular battery housing of US’255. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to reduce contact thermal resistance and maximize cooling efficiency, thereby preventing safety accidents such as ignition and explosion, as explicitly taught by the secondary reference ([0006], [0007]).
As to Claim 2:
US’255 discloses the battery module according to claim 1; wherein the module housing (200) comprises an upper surface (provided by a module cover coupled to the opened upper surface of the module housing) ([0031]–[0033]), a lower surface (floor surface 260) ([0036]), a first side surface (first wall 211), and a second side surface (second wall 212) ([0029]–[0031]); and the at least one HV connector (electrical connection parts 515, 535) comprises a first HV connector (male connector 510/515) located at the first side surface (first wall 211) and a second HV connector (female connector 530/535) located at the second side surface (second wall 212) ([0048]–[0052]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose the insulating oil cooling port and direct cooling flow requirements recited in Claim 1, from which Claim 2 depends.
US’643 discloses a battery module cooling structure utilizing an insulating oil. Specifically, US’643 teaches a module housing (20) configured to receive at least one battery cell stack and an insulating oil configured to cool the plurality of battery cells ([0025], [0045]–[0047]). US’643 further teaches a cooling port (comprising supply tube 230 and discharge tube 240) configured to allow the insulating oil to be introduced and discharged therethrough into the housing to directly contact the cells ([0049]–[0052], [0055]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the direct-contact insulating oil cooling ports and flow channels taught by US’643 into the modular housing and electrical connector architecture of US’255. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve cooling efficiency and safety by reducing contact thermal resistance between the cooling medium and the cells, as explicitly suggested by US’643 ([0006]–[0007]).
As to Claim 3:
US’255 discloses the battery module according to claim 2; wherein the at least one battery cell stack comprises a first battery cell stack and a second battery cell stack (disclosing receiving parts 220 disposed to form a first column and a second column, where cell stacks 100 in the first column are electrically separated from cell stacks in the second column) ([0033]–[0035]); a first electrode terminal (terminal bus bar 176) of the first battery cell stack and a second electrode terminal (terminal bus bar 176) of the second battery cell stack are connected to the first HV connector (specifically teaching that the electrical connection part 515/male connector includes a first protrusion 512 connected with cell stacks of the first column and a second protrusion 514 connected with cell stacks of the second column) ([0048]–[0051]); and a second electrode terminal of the first battery cell stack and a first electrode terminal of the second battery cell stack are connected to the second HV connector (specifically teaching that the second electrical connection part 535/female connector includes a first accommodating part 532 and a second accommodating part 534 for connecting respectively with the stacks of the first and second columns) ([0049]–[0052]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose the insulating oil and direct cooling flow requirements of Claim 1, from which Claim 3 ultimately depends.
US’643 discloses a battery module (10) including a cell stack (100) and a module housing (20) ([0025], [0028]); an insulating oil configured to cool the plurality of battery cells (specifically disclosing a structure that uses an insulating oil for cooling) ([0045]–[0047]); and a cooling port (comprising supply tube 230 and discharge tube 240) configured to allow the insulating oil to be introduced and discharged therethrough into the module ([0049]–[0051]); wherein the battery module is configured to direct cooling of the cells by the insulating oil while the insulating oil flows through the module housing (teaching that the oil directly contacts the cells while flowing through empty spaces S1, S2 inside the housing) ([0052]–[0055], [0075]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the direct-contact insulating oil cooling and associated ports of US’643 into the modular stack and terminal connector architecture of US’255. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these features to improve thermal safety and performance by reducing contact thermal resistance through the use of a circulating insulating oil in direct contact with the cell stacks, as explicitly suggested by US’643 ([0006]–[0007]).
As to Claim 4:
US’255 discloses the battery module according to claim 2; wherein the lower surface (floor surface 260) of the module housing (200) is provided under connection portions (e.g., where terminal bus bars 176 extend from stack columns to the electrical connection parts 515, 535) ([0036], [0042]–[0044]); and at which the first HV connector (male electrical connection part 515) and the second HV connector (female electrical connection part 535) are connected to the first battery cell stack and the second battery cell stack (disclosing a first set of cell stacks in a first column and a second set of cell stacks in a second column electrically connected to the respective HV terminals) ([0033]–[0035], [0048]–[0052]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose the lower surface of the module housing having through-holes extending therethrough under the connection portions, each of the through-holes having a sealing member attached thereto and configured to seal the respective through-hole.
US’643 discloses a battery module (10) comprising a module housing (20) with a lower housing (200) and a base plate (210) ([0028], [0041]); wherein the lower surface (base plate 210) of the module housing has through-holes (hole regions 213 and openings O) extending therethrough to form a channel for a cooling medium ([0048]–[0050], [0075]); and a sealing member (adhesive functioning as a gasket) is attached to each of the through-holes/openings, the sealing member being configured to seal the respective through-hole to prevent leakage of the cooling medium ([0056]–[0058]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the lower-surface through-holes and sealing members taught by US’643 into the modular housing structure of US’255. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide through-holes under the connection portions of the HV terminals to facilitate targeted thermal management at points of electrical contact and heat generation, while utilizing the sealing members of US’643 to ensure the housing remains sealed against leakage of cooling fluids, thereby improving the overall safety and cooling efficiency of the modular battery system ([0006]–[0007]).
As to Claim 5:
US’255 discloses the battery module according to claim 1; wherein the module housing (200) has connection portions (e.g., walls 211 and 212 with male/female connector interfaces) extending therethrough to which the at least one HV connector (electrical connection parts 515, 535) and the LV assembly (signal connection parts 517, 537) are connected ([0029]–[0031], [0048]–[0053]); and each of the connection portions (specifically the interface between coupled connectors) has a respective sealing member (522) attached thereto ([0054]–[0056]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose a cooling port connection portion with a sealing member configured to prevent leakage of insulating oil.
US’643 discloses a battery module (10) utilizing an insulating oil for cooling. US’643 teaches a cooling port (comprising a supply tube 230 and a discharge tube 240) connected to the module housing ([0049]–[0051]). US’643 further teaches providing sealing properties to solve the leakage of the cooling medium (insulating oil) at housing interfaces, specifically disclosing a leakage prevention protrusion P and an adhesive interposed between components (spacer, cell stack, base plate) to function as a gasket and prevent the insulating oil from leaking ([0056]–[0058], [0075]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the cooling port and sealing mechanisms of US’643 into the modular battery system of US’255. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide sealing members at all connection portions extending through the module housing, including the cooling ports, to improve product reliability and enhance safety by preventing the leakage of insulating oil from the sealed module housing, as taught by the explicit reliability and safety objectives of US’643 ([0006]–[0007]).
As to Claim 6:
US’255 discloses the battery module according to claim 1; wherein the low voltage (LV) assembly (comprising signal connection parts 517, 537) is configured to sense voltage and temperature of the plurality of battery cells (specifically disclosing that the signal connection parts recognize a temperature and a voltage of the cell stack) ([0053]–[0056]); and wherein the LV assembly comprises an LV connector (disclosing that the male connector includes a first signal connection part 517 and the female connector includes a second signal connection part 537 into which the first is inserted to transfer management control signals) ([0048]–[0052], [0053]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose an insulating oil configured to cool the plurality of battery cells, a cooling port configured to allow the insulating oil to be introduced and discharged therethrough, and wherein the module housing directs cooling of the cells by the insulating oil while it flows through the housing as recited in Claim 1 from which Claim 6 depends.
US’643 discloses a battery module (10) utilizing an insulating oil for cooling ([0045]–[0047]); a cooling port (comprising a supply tube 230 and a discharge tube 240) configured to allow the insulating oil to be introduced and discharged therethrough into the module housing ([0049]–[0051]); and wherein the battery module is configured to direct cooling of the plurality of battery cells by the insulating oil while the insulating oil flows through the module housing (specifically teaching that the cooling medium directly contacts the battery cells while flowing through empty spaces S1, S2 within the housing) ([0052]–[0055], [0075]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the direct-contact insulating oil cooling system and ports of US’643 into the modular battery housing and connector architecture of US’255. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to reduce contact thermal resistance and effectively emit heat through direct fluid contact to prevent safety accidents such as thermal runaway, while utilizing the integrated LV connectors of US’255 to maintain efficient modular signal management across the cooled modules, as taught by the combined objectives of both references ([0006]–[0007]).
As to Claim 8:
US’255 discloses a battery pack (disclosing a “large pack” formed by coupling battery modules) comprising a plurality of battery modules each being the battery module according to claim 1 ([0008], [0010], [0023]); the plurality of battery modules disposed such that side surfaces (disclosing first and second walls of a module housing) of the module housings are disposed adjacent to each other (specifically teaching that modules are arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the length direction) ([0029]–[0031], [0033]); and wherein each of the plurality of battery modules is electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of battery modules adjacent thereto via one of the at least one HV connector (disclosing a connector configured to electrically connect the module housing of the first module to the module housing of the second module via high voltage terminals) ([0048]–[0052]). US’255 also discloses a control unit which generalizes and manages/controls the large pack ([0053]–[0056]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose a battery disconnect unit (BDU) disposed at one side of the plurality of battery modules and a battery pack frame enveloping the plurality of battery modules and the BDU.
US’643 discloses a battery pack implemented by connecting a plurality of battery modules ([0025], [0028]) and teaches that the battery module includes a module housing having multiple housing components (including a lower housing, side housings, front/rear housings, and an upper housing) for respectively covering the lower, side, front/rear, and upper portions of the cell stack ([0039]–[0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide a battery disconnect unit (BDU) as the physical implementation of the control unit used to manage the electrical functions of the large pack in US’255, and to provide a battery pack frame to envelope the modular assembly. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize a BDU to manage the high-voltage connections of the adjacent modules as suggested by the control management needs of US’255 ([0053]–[0056]), and to incorporate a pack frame—as an extension of the module-level housing components taught by US’643—to provide a safe, sealed, and structurally rigid enclosure for the vehicle battery system ([0039]–[0042]).
As to Claim 9:
US’255 discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules each being the battery module according to claim 1 (specifically disclosing a “large pack” formed by coupling multiple battery modules) ([0008], [0010], [0023]); wherein each of the module housings (200) comprises a respective screw fastening portion provided at each of a first side surface (first wall 211) and a second side surface (second wall 212) (specifically teaching a coupling part 400 that includes a guide protrusion 550 having a fastening recess 555 on the first wall and a guide recess 570 having a fastening hole 575 on the second wall) ([0060]–[0064]); and adjacent ones of the battery modules are connected to each other by a screw (fastening member 580, such as a bolt) coupled to the respective screw fastening portions (specifically teaching that the guide protrusion is coupled to the guide recess through the fastening member inserted into the fastening recess) ([0061]–[0064]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose the battery disconnect unit (BDU) and a battery pack frame enveloping the plurality of battery modules and the BDU as required by the parent Claim 8.
US’643 discloses a battery pack implemented by connecting a plurality of battery modules ([0025], [0028]) and teaches that the battery module includes a module housing having multiple housing components (including a lower housing, side housings, front/rear housings, and an upper housing) for respectively covering the lower, side, front/rear, and upper portions of a cell stack ([0039]–[0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide a battery disconnect unit (BDU) as a physical control unit and to provide a battery pack frame as a comprehensive housing—based on the module-level housing components taught by US’643—to envelope the modular assembly of US’255. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the screw fastening portions and screws of US’255 to connect the modules within such an enveloped pack frame to provide a structurally rigid and securely connected battery system suitable for the high-power demands and mechanical stresses of a vehicle environment, as suggested by the integrated pack goals of both references ([0060]–[0064]; US’643 [0039]–[0042]).
As to Claim 10:
US’255 discloses a battery pack (specifically disclosing a “large pack” formed by coupling multiple battery modules) ([0008], [0010], [0023]); wherein each battery module has an LV assembly (disclosing signal connection parts 517/537 or LV terminals) ([0048]–[0053]); and the LV assembly of each of the plurality of battery modules is connected to a control unit (disclosing that the management control signals collected from sensors of each module housing are transmitted to a control unit through the signal connection parts to generalize and manage the whole pack) ([0053]–[0056]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose the battery disconnect unit (BDU) and pack frame required by parent Claim 8, nor does it explicitly name the control unit a “Battery Management System (BMS)” or detail the physical coupling of the sensor assembly to the stack leads.
US’643 discloses a battery module (10) including a cell stack (100) and a module housing (20) ([0025], [0028]); and further discloses that the module includes a sensor assembly 510 (LV assembly) disposed at an upper portion of the cell stack and electrically connected to the electrode leads 111 (terminal leads) of the cells in the stack to sense voltage and temperature ([0058]–[0061]). US’643 further teaches that a battery pack including such modules may incorporate a battery management system (BMS) as the specific device for managing the modules ([0003], [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide a BDU and pack frame for the assembly of US’255 as discussed in previous claims, and to physically couple the sensor electronics (LV assembly) of US’255 directly to the cell stack leads as taught by US’643. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to connect the module-level sensors to a standard battery management system (BMS) to recognize temperature and voltage as suggested by the control management needs of US’255 ([0053]–[0056]), and to achieve a structurally robust and intelligently managed modular system as predictably implemented in the vehicle battery industry, as further supported by US’643 ([0003], [0005]).
As to Claim 11:
US’255 discloses the battery pack according to claim 8 (specifically disclosing a “large pack” formed by coupling multiple battery modules) ([0008], [0010], [0023]); and further discloses a cooling channel (300) having a flow space (310) configured to accommodate a flow of coolant for thermal management of the modular assembly ([0036]–[0038]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose an insulating oil introduction and discharge channel comprising at least one of a series connection structure or a parallel connection structure extending the plurality of battery modules.
US’643 discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules and teaches using an insulating oil for cooling ([0025], [0045]–[0047]). US’643 further teaches an introduction and discharge channel (hole region 213) formed in the housing/base plate ([0048]–[0050]); and explicitly discloses a series connection structure (teaching connecting the outlet of the hole region of any one battery module to the inlet of the hole region of another battery module) or a parallel connection structure extending among the plurality of battery modules to manage cooling medium flow ([0075]–[0076]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the insulating oil introduction and discharge channel architecture taught by US’643 into the modular battery pack framework of US’255. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the series or parallel connection structures of US’643 to extend the cooling path across the plurality of modules, thereby ensuring uniform thermal management and maximizing the cooling efficiency of the entire modular assembly as suggested by the technical goals of both references ([0006]–[0007]).
As to Claim 12:
US’255 discloses the battery pack according to claim 8; wherein each of the plurality of battery modules has an upper surface (provided by a module cover coupled to the opened upper surface of the module housing) and a bottom (lower) surface (floor surface 260) of the respective module housing ([0026], [0033], [0036]); and teaches that connectors for electrically coupling modules can be disposed on the upper and bottom surfaces (disclosing electrical connection parts and signal connection parts arranged to interface between adjacent modules and external components) ([0048]–[0053], [0056]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose that the upper surface and lower surface of the respective module housing are exposed through respective openings in the battery pack frame.
US’643 discloses a battery pack implemented by connecting a plurality of battery modules ([0025]); and teaches that each battery module includes a module housing having multiple housing components (including a lower housing 200, side housings 300, 400, and an upper housing 500) for respectively covering the lower, side, and upper portions of a cell stack within a pack assembly ([0038]–[0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide openings in the battery pack frame of US’255 to expose the upper and lower surfaces of the module housings. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to facilitate access to the top and bottom connection points taught by US’255 for modular coupling and to improve thermal management efficiency by allowing the module-level housing surfaces—which directly contain the cell stacks—to be exposed for better heat dissipation through the pack frame, using the structural housing arrangement and pack integration teachings of US’643 ([0006]–[0007]).
As to Claim 13:
US’255 discloses the battery pack according to claim 10 (disclosing multiple battery modules coupled to form a large pack managed by a control unit) ([0008], [0010], [0023]); and further discloses that each battery module includes at least one HV connector (electrical connection part 515) and an LV assembly (signal connection part 517) configured for electrical and signal communication ([0048]–[0053]); and specifically teaches a “communicating hole” (opening) extending through the housing wall through which an internal side and an external side of the module communicate, allowing connectors to be accessed ([0046]–[0047]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose a battery pack frame (enveloping the modules and a BDU) having connection openings located at positions corresponding to the HV connectors and the LV assembly of each battery module.
US’643 discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules ([0025]); and teaches a housing structure for the modules/pack comprising multiple housing components (including a lower housing, side housings, and an upper housing) that enclose the internal components ([0038]–[0042]); and explicitly discloses providing openings and tube connections through the housing to facilitate electrical and fluid communication between the interior and exterior of the sealed module ([0049]–[0051], [0053]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate connection openings into the pack frame of US’255 at positions corresponding to the module connectors. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allow external wiring and signal management to access the internal module connection points within a protective pack enclosure—as suggested by the module-level “communicating holes” of US’255 and the comprehensive housing arrangement of US’643—to ensure a simplified and reliable connection interface for a high-power vehicle battery system ([0006]–[0007]).
As to Claim 14:
US’255 discloses the battery pack according to claim 8 (specifically disclosing a “large pack” formed by coupling multiple battery modules) ([0008], [0010], [0023]); and teaches that each module housing comprises a first wall (211) and a second wall (212) disposed to be opposite each other, and a third wall (213) and a fourth wall (214) disposed to be opposite each other and disposed to cross the first and second walls; wherein these walls (housing members) are connected to each other to form a rectangular parallelepiped shape ([0026]–[0028], [0033]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose a battery pack frame (enveloping the plurality of modules and the BDU) that comprises a first member, a second member, a third member, and a fourth member connected to each other, the first and third members being oriented perpendicularly to the second and fourth members.
US’643 discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules ([0025]); and teaches a housing/frame structure comprising multiple housing components, including a lower housing (200), side housings (300, 400), front and rear housings, and an upper housing (500), which together form a closed enclosure for the pack ([0038]–[0042]). US’643 further teaches that these structural members are connected to each other to form a rigid enclosure surrounding the internal components ([0040]–[0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide a battery pack frame for the modular assembly of US’255 comprising four structural members connected perpendicularly. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to provide a standardized, structurally robust, and rectangular enclosure—as taught by the module-level geometry of US’255 and the pack-level components of US’643—to facilitate the safe mounting and protection of the high-voltage battery modules and disconnect units within a vehicle chassis ([0006]–[0007]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200127255 A1 (“US”643”) in view of US 20200395643 A1 (“US’643”), and further in view of WO 2009002096 A1 (“WO’096”).
As to Claim 7:
US’255 discloses the battery module according to claim 6; an LV assembly (signal connection parts 517, 537) configured to sense voltage and temperature of the plurality of battery cells (disclosing that signal connection parts transceive management control signals to recognize temperature and voltage of the cell stack) ([0053]–[0056]); and wherein the LV assembly comprises an LV connector (disclosing signal connection parts configured as male/female terminals for signal transmission) ([0048]–[0052]). US’255 further discloses a control unit for generalizing and managing/controlling the large pack ([0053]–[0056]).
However, US’255 does not explicitly disclose that the LV assembly further comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of a flexible printed circuit (FPC), a printed circuit board (PCB), or a cell management controller (CMC).
US’643 discloses a battery module (10) comprising a sensor assembly (510) mounted at an upper portion of the cell stack to facilitate the collection of cell data ([0056]–[0058]). WO’096 discloses that for large-capacity battery packs, it is required to measure and control voltage and temperature using a dedicated control member mounted to the module for receiving and processing operational information from the respective battery modules (see WO’096, p. 6–7). WO’096 further teaches that such a control member is integrated with the module assembly to manage voltage, current, and temperature information (see WO’096, p. 9–10).
US’255, US’643, and WO’096 are analogous arts because they all relate to high-capacity secondary battery modules and packs for electric vehicles and address technical challenges related to the integrated sensing, management, and thermal stability of modular battery cells.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the integrated sensor and control architecture of US’643 and WO’096 into the modular signal assembly of US’255. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to provide dedicated module-level management and data processing, thereby maximizing the safety and life of the battery pack through precise real-time monitoring of voltage and temperature as taught by the combination of the references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant traverses the rejection of independent Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over US Patent Application Pub. No. 2020/0127255 ("US’255" or "Moon") in view of US Patent Application Pub. No. 2020/0395643 ("US’643" or "Seo"). Specifically, Applicant argues that Moon "teaches away" from the proposed combination because Moon explicitly emphasizes keeping its coolant channel completely separated from the internal housing space to avoid an internal liquid leakage phenomenon.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's contention that Moon creates a proper legal "teaching away" that destroys the prima facie case of obviousness.
1. Technical Distinction in Fluid Properties (Conductive vs. Dielectric Media)
Applicant notes that Moon details an external cooling layout to "prevent the coolant from unintentionally leaking into the module housing 200". However, a closer look at Moon reveals that it specifically characterizes this hazard as a "water leakage possible region". Pumping conductive water or standard aqueous refrigerants directly into an internal compartment containing bare cell busbars would cause direct electrical short-circuits.
The modification does not propose introducing a hazardous, conductive water-jacket interface into Moon’s internal receiving parts. Instead, the rejection relies on the explicit teaching of Seo, which introduces an "insulating oil for cooling".
Because insulating oil is a non-conductive, dielectric fluid medium, it is specifically designed to safely immerse electrical components and battery cell terminals without any risk of shorting. By substituting or supplementing Moon’s bottom-plate cold channel with Seo’s internal fluid routing ports and non-conductive insulating oil, the specific risk of short-circuiting that Moon sought to avoid is entirely neutralized. A person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would recognize that utilizing a dielectric medium completely eliminates the technical barrier criticized by Moon.
2. Legal Standard for "Teaching Away" Under MPEP 2145
Per established legal precedent, a prior art reference does not "teach away" from a proposed combination simply by expressing a structural preference or by declaring that one configuration is optimal for its individual application (In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 1551).
Moon’s disclosure of an integrated external floor-plate cold channel represents a preferred structural embodiment for an application utilizing standard, external liquid-loop cooling plates. Moon does not state that internal immersion cooling with a dielectric fluid is impossible, inoperable, or physically undesirable. Rather, Seo demonstrates that routing insulating oil into direct contact with the pouch-type cells solves the compounding contact thermal resistance inherent in purely conductive plate arrangements.
3. Impermissible Attack on the References Individually
In arguing that the combination is improper, Applicant impermissibly attacks Moon in isolation rather than considering the collective state of the art at the time of the invention.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of the secondary reference can be bodily incorporated into the exact physical structure of the primary reference. Rather, the test is whether the combined teachings of the prior art would suggest the claimed technical solution to a PHOSITA.
Here, a person skilled in the art looking to maximize internal thermal dissipation inside a high-output modular frame (such as Moon's dual-column housing) would look to Seo's direct-contact dielectric scheme to completely eliminate the contact heat resistance that limits traditional indirect cooling channels.
For the reasons above, applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723