DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 10, and the HER2-recognizing protein of SEQ ID NO: 2, in the reply filed on 6/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9 and 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/29/2026.
Note that the restriction requirement inadvertently included claims 11-12 with Group I. This was a typographical error as the kit of claim 11 corresponds to Group III. In addition, claim 12 depends upon claim 11 and properly belongs with Group III.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 5/12/206 has been entered.
The replacement sequence listing submitted 5/12/206 and adding SEQ ID NOS: 28-31 is acknowledged.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The brief description of the drawings in the specification at paragraph [0008] does not describe subparts A-C in Figure 6, subparts A-B in Figure 7, and subparts A-D in Figure 9. In addition, the description of Figure 15 references “Fig. 5B” which appears to be an error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
It appears that applicant submitted replacement drawings on 10/20/2023 (12 pages). (See by comparison 9/21/2023 drawings (10 pages).) The 10/20/2023 drawings are confusing in having bracketed references [Figs.], [Fig. 1], and so forth where the drawings have duplicate references to the figure number. See for example Figures 6-9. The drawings are not clearly marked as replacement drawings. See MPEP 608.02(p). Furthermore, many of the drawings are faint and blurry/illegible. They are difficult to read and interpret. See in particular Figures 1-4.
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are requested in this application for the reasons set forth above. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukagoshi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0382435, of record) in view of Sugiyama et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0145063, of record) and Carlsson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,993,650).
Tsukagoshi et al. (of record) fuses a mutant streptavidin (referenced as Cupid and V2122) to a probe where the probe can be a peptide (i.e. which would have a molecular weight of 20,000 or less) which targets antigens such as HER2 (an antigen expressed in a cancer cell). See at least paragraphs [0007 and 0066]. SEQ ID NO: 4 ("Cupid" or V2122) is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 with no polyhistidine tag (i.e. where the last six amino acids of SEQ ID NO: 28 have been deleted). See at least paragraph [0121]. Use of polyhistidine tags for purification is disclosed. See at least paragraph [0058]. A fusion protein can include a linker. See at least paragraph [0072]. A specific HER2 binding peptide is not disclosed.
Sugiyama et al. discloses using Gly/Ser linkers such as (G4S)4 (SEQ ID NO: 35) for fusions of V2122 (see instant claims 6-7). See at least paragraphs [0318 and 0332-0334]. The V2122 sequence can have a six histidine tag attached to the C-terminus (i.e. have the entirety of instant SEQ ID NO: 1). See for example amino acids 273-282 of SEQ ID NO: 2 for the Gly/Ser linker (SG4)2, amino acids 283-409 of SEQ ID NO: 30 for V2122, and amino acids 410-415 of SEQ ID NO: 30 for the six histidine tag.
Carlsson et al. discloses SEQ ID NO: 12, a 58 amino acid peptide that has binding affinity to HER2. SEQ ID NO: 12 corresponds to instant SEQ ID NO: 2 except for a conservative substitution of isoleucine (I in instant SEQ ID NO: 2) for leucine (L in SEQ ID NO: 12) at amino acid 34. See at least Figure 1A. HER2 is found on the surface of some tumor cells. Carlsson et al. discloses making up to about 20 amino acid substitutions. See at least the abstract, the paragraph bridging columns 1-2, the paragraph bridging columns 3-4, and column 12, lines 49-54.
It would have been obvious to fuse SEQ ID NO: 12 of Carlsson et al. to SEQ ID NO: 4 of Tsukagoshi et al. using a conventional Gly/Ser linker such as (G4S)4 as disclosed by Sugiyama et al. The six histidine tag in instant SEQ ID NO: 28 could have been included or excluded as suggested by the prior art. One would have been motivated to do so as Tsukagoshi et al. suggests such fusion proteins for treating cancer. The 58 amino acid peptide of SEQ ID NO: 12 of Carlsson et al. would have a molecular weight of less than 20,000. The cancer therapeutic agent or cancer diagnostic agent of instant claim 10 requires nothing more than the fusion protein of instant claim 1. With respect to instant claim 5 which recites instant SEQ ID NO: 2, Carlsson et al. suggests that additional mutations could be made. It would have been obvious to make a conservative substitution of I for L in SEQ ID NO: 12 thereby arriving at instant SEQ ID NO: 2. Isoleucine and leucine are both aliphatic amino acids. Note that SEQ ID NO: 12 has six conservative substitutions and six other substitutions as compared to SEQ ID NO: 1 and Carlsson et al. permits up to about 20 amino acid substitutions.
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 1 (Qy) of Carlsson et al. with SEQ ID NO: 12 (Db) of Carlsson et al:
Qy 1 VDNKFNKEQQNAFYEILHLPNLNEEQRNAFIQSLKDDPSQSANLLAEAKKLNDAQAPK 58
|||||||| :||::|| ||||| :|: |||:|| |||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 VDNKFNKEMRNAYWEIALLPNLNNQQKRAFIRSLYDDPSQSANLLAEAKKLNDAQAPK 58
The claimed fusion proteins would have been obvious over the prior art.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsukagoshi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0382435, of record) in view of Sugiyama et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0145063, of record) and Carlsson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,993,650) as applied to claims 1-7 and 10 above, and further in view of Rueger et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0140683) and Gerber et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0132978)
Tsukagoshi et al., Sugiyama et al., and Carlsson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,993,650) are applied as above. They do not disclose a fusion protein of instant SEQ ID NO: 4 as recited in instant claim 8.
Instant SEQ ID NO: 4 is 211 amino acids. The first amino acid is an N-terminal methionine (M). Amino acids 2-59 of SEQ ID NO: 4 correspond to instant SEQ ID NO: 2. Amino acids 60-78 of SEQ ID NO: 4 correspond to a S-(G5S)3 linker. Amino acids 79-211 of SEQ ID NO: 4 correspond to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 where amino acids 123-133 of SEQ ID NO: 1 match instant SEQ ID NO: 28.
Rueger et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0140683) discloses conventional fusion protein linkers such as (G5S)3. At the amino- and/or carboxy-terminal ends of the multimeric units up to six additional arbitrary, naturally occurring amino acids may be added. See at least paragraphs [0132 and 0186].
Gerber et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0132978) discloses that an N-terminal methionine (encoded by the initiation codon of an open reading frame) can be present in a polypeptide produced recombinantly in cell culture. See at least paragraph [0183].
It would have been obvious to make a conservative amino acid substitution of I for L at amino acid 34 of the SEQ ID NO: 12 HER2 binding peptide of Carlsson et al. to result in the peptide sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 2. Amino acid substitutions are suggested by Carlsson et al. as discussed above. It would have been obvious to fuse this peptide to SEQ ID NO: 4 of Tsukagoshi et al. using a flexible linker as disclosed by Rueger et al. and as suggested by Sugiyama et al. Tsukagoshi et al. suggests making such fusion proteins. A six histidine tag could be included or omitted (i.e. the six histidines in instant SEQ ID NO: 28). Using a (G5S)3 linker with an additional serine (S) at the N-terminus of the linker would meet the linker limitations of instant SEQ ID NO: 4. Rueger et al. discloses (G5S)3 linkers and suggests inclusion of additional amino acids in the linkers. As evidenced by Gerber et al., when polypeptides are produced recombinantly they may retain an N-terminal methionine as in instant SEQ ID NO: 4. The prior art when taken as a whole suggests the fusion protein comprising instant SEQ ID NO: 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is confusing in reciting “amino acid sequence of as set forth.” This appears to be a word processing error. The claim further recites “bound, via a linker sequence, to the N-terminal and/or C-terminal side of” SEQ ID NO: 1. The claim as written requires a single linker sequence and it is unclear in the “and” embodiment if two antigen-binding molecules are each bound through a linker, the first to the N-terminal end and the second to the C-terminal end of SEQ ID NO: 1. It is unclear if the two antigen binding molecules are the same in this embodiment. It is unclear if the linkers are the same in this embodiment.
Claim 2 is confusing in reciting “is optionally partially or entirely deleted, in this order from the N-terminal side to the C-terminal side.” It is unclear what is meant by “in this order from the N-terminal side to the C-terminal side” and what may or may not be deleted, particularly as this is optional.
Claim 3 is confusing in reciting “binds to an antigen expressing in a cancer cell.” It appears that applicant may have intended “binds to an antigen that is expressed in a cancer cell” but this is not clear. See for example paragraph [0014] of the specification.
Claim 8 recites that the fusion protein comprises SEQ ID NO: 4 while also stating that SEQ ID NO: 28 (which is contained in SEQ ID NO: 4) may be partially or entirely deleted. This is inconsistent and confusing. If SEQ ID NO: 28 is deleted, the fusion protein will not comprise SEQ ID NO: 4 as recited in the claim. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 10 depends upon claim 1. The cancer therapeutic agent or cancer diagnostic agent of instant claim 10 requires nothing more than the fusion protein of instant claim 1. Claim 10 does not further limit the subject matter of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/619,761 (7/3/2024 amended claim set). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-pending claims are directed to fusion proteins of a VHH against HER2 (i.e. an antigen binding molecule) and SEQ ID NO: 1 (identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1) with linkers that correspond to those of the instant claims. See instant and co-pending claims 6-7. The VHH of SEQ ID NO: 2 in the co-pending claims is 116 amino acids and would have a molecular weight of less than 20,000.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
While paragraph [0082] of the specification references Lofbloom et al. (2010, of record) for instant SEQ ID NO: 2, none of the sequences in Figure 2 of Lofbloom et al. match instant SEQ ID NO: 2. The bottom sequence in this figure does have isoleucine (I) instead of leucine (L) at amino acid position 34.
Conclusion
/Marianne P Allen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647
mpa