DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 4-17, in the reply filed on 08/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Fukuoka et al. ‘805 reference is not used in any of the obviousness rejections in the Office action mailed on 04/23/2026, and the Examiner should reconsider the lack of unity holding in view of the claim amendments and remarks below, and since claim 18 also shares an additional special technical feature with the elected invention in terms of the claimed pressure regulating valve. This is not found persuasive because Groups I-III lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of an aromatic branched polycarbonate, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Fukuoka et al. (WO 2005/123805 A1, cited in IDS, made of record on 09/21/2023, US 2007/0148055 A1, cited in IDS, is English language equivalent, and is used for citation). Fukuoka teaches an aromatic polycarbonate comprising a branched structure [0162], which reads on an aromatic branched polycarbonate. Group I does not require a pressure regulating valve, does not require method steps, and does not require an apparatus.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-3 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/14/2026.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komiya et al. (US 5,840,826) in view of Namba et al. (WO 2012/005250 A1, machine translation in English or untranslated patent used for citation as indicated) and Komiya et al. (US 6,320,015 B1).
Regarding claim 4, Komiya 5,840,826 teaches a method for producing an aromatic polycarbonate which comprises subjecting to a transesterification reaction in a polymerizer at least one polymerizable material that is (4:36-39; 6:16-20, 49-52) a molten prepolymer obtained by a process comprising reacting an aromatic dihydroxy compound with a diaryl carbonate, wherein the polymerizable material is present in the form of a liquid mass in the polymerizer and wherein the liquid mass of polymerizable material being transesterified in the polymerizer has an exposed surface (4:42-49; 6:23-30, 55-61), wherein the transesterification reaction of the liquid mass of polymerizable material is performed in a wetting fall mode such that the liquid mass of polymerizable material is caused to fall along and in contact with a surface of a solid object that is a guide provided in the polymerizer (7:9-16; 12:30-35), wherein the shape of the guide used in such a polymerizer is a plate, a cylinder that is a column, or a cone (16:17-18; 17:47), wherein the polymerizer is heated to and kept at an elevated temperature by means of a heater or a jacket (17:35-37; 18:23-25; 19:20-22), wherein a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer (17:2-4, 56-58; 18:46-48), where in the method, it is preferable to employ a method in which an inert gas which does not adversely affect the reaction, such as nitrogen, is introduced so that the by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound is entrained by the inert gas, and the inert gas entraining the aromatic monohydroxy compound is withdrawn to remove the aromatic monohydroxy compound (21:14-23), wherein the preferred reaction pressure may vary depending on the type of the aromatic polycarbonate to be produced, the molecular weight of the molten prepolymer, and the polymerization temperature (21:25-30), where in the case of a reaction in which an aromatic polycarbonate is produced in which an aromatic polycarbonate is produced form bisphenol A and diphenyl carbonate, when the number average molecular weight of the molten prepolymer is less than 1,000, the reaction pressure is preferably 6,600 Pa to atmospheric pressure (21:29-36), which reads on a method for manufacturing an aromatic polycarbonate, comprising the steps of: supplying an aromatic branched polycarbonate prepolymer to a guide-contact flow-down type polymerization type polymerization apparatus constituting an aromatic polycarbonate manufacturing apparatus such that a pressure thereof is kept at 6.600 kPa to 101.32501 kPa, and allowing the prepolymer to flow down along an external surface of a guide having no heating source itself to evaporate a low-boiling substance.
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the aromatic polycarbonate is an aromatic branched polycarbonate, that the aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer is an aromatic branched polycarbonate prepolymer, and that the aromatic polycarbonate manufacturing apparatus is an aromatic branched polycarbonate manufacturing apparatus, wherein the aromatic branched polycarbonate satisfies the <condition (i)> to <condition (iii)>. However, Namba teaches a branched polycarbonate having a repeating unit represented by a general formula (1) that is (translation [0011])
(1) (untranslated [0012]) on the main chain and branched chains and comprising a branched structured (a) derived from polyfunctional compounds directly bonded to the main chain and branched chains and a branched structure (b) including at least one selected from the group consisting of branched structures represented by general formulas (2), (3), and (4) that are (translation [0011])
(2),
(3), and
(4) (untranslated [0013]), wherein the total amount of substance with branched structure (a) and branched structure (b) with respect to the amount of substance of the repeating unit represented by the general formula (1) is 0.2-1.0 mol% (translation [0011], [0025]), wherein total amount of branched structures (a) and (b) greater than 1.0 mol% will lead to increase fisheyes and reduce impact resistance and mechanical strength (translation [0025]), wherein an amount of branched structures (a) and (b) less than 0.2 mol% will tend to lower the improving effect on moldability such that the effect of the invention may not be exhibited (translation [0025]), wherein the ratio of the amount of substance with branched structure (b) with respect to the total amount of substance with branched structure (a) and branched structure (b) is 0.1-0.6 (translation [0011], [0027]), wherein the ratio of the amount of substance with the branched structure represented by general formula (2) with respect to the amount of substance with branched structure (b) is 0.5 or greater (translation [0011]), wherein Ar represents a divalent aromatic residue, and Ar’ represents a trivalent aromatic residue (translation [0013]), wherein a molten prepolymer is first produced, and the obtained molten prepolymer is further polymerized to produce the branched polycarbonate (translation [0052]), wherein the branched polycarbonate is produced by transesterification from an aromatic dihydroxy compound, a carbonic acid diester, and a polyfunctional compound having in the molecule at least 3 functional groups that are reactive with the carbonic acid diester (translation [0023]). Komiya 5,840,826 and Namba are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a method for manufacturing an aromatic polycarbonate. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Namba’s molten prepolymer that is a branched polycarbonate having a repeating unit represented by a general formula (1) that is
(1) on the main chain and branched chains and comprising a branched structured (a) derived from polyfunctional compounds directly bonded to the main chain and branched chains and a branched structure (b) including at least one selected from the group consisting of branched structures represented by general formulas (2), (3), and (4) that are
(2),
(3), and
(4), wherein Ar represents a divalent aromatic residue, and Ar’ represents a trivalent aromatic residue, to substitute for Komiya 5,840,826’s molten prepolymer in Komiya 5,840,826’s method, such that in the resulting aromatic polycarbonate, the total amount of substance with branched structure (a) and branched structure (b) with respect to the amount of substance of the repeating unit represented by the general formula (1) is optimized to be 0.2-0.5 mol%, total amount of branched structures (a) and (b) greater than 1.0 mol% will lead to increase fisheyes and reduce impact resistance and mechanical strength, an amount of branched structures (a) and (b) less than 0.2 mol% will tend to lower the improving effect on moldability such that the effect of the invention may not be exhibited, the ratio of the amount of substance with branched structure (b) with respect to the total amount of substance with branched structure (a) and branched structure (b) is 0.1-0.6, wherein the ratio of the amount of substance with the branched structure represented by general formula (2) with respect to the amount of substance with branched structure (b) is 0.5 or greater. The proposed modification would read on the aromatic polycarbonate is an aromatic branched polycarbonate, the aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer is an aromatic branched polycarbonate prepolymer, and the aromatic polycarbonate manufacturing apparatus is an aromatic branched polycarbonate manufacturing apparatus, wherein the aromatic branched polycarbonate satisfies the following <condition (i)> to <condition (iii)>: <condition (i)> having a repeat unit represented by the general formula (1) in a main chain and a branched chain, and having one or more kinds of branched structures represented by the general formulas (2), (3), and (4) in the main chain and the branched chain, wherein a ratio of a total amount of substance of the branched structures to an amount of substance of the repeat unit represented by the general formula (1) is from 0.2% by mol to 0.5% by mol, wherein Ar represents a divalent aromatic group, and Ar’ represents a trivalent aromatic group, <condition (ii)> containing one or more kinds of oligomers represented by the general formulas (5), (6), and (7), wherein a ratio of a total mass of the oligomers to a mass of the aromatic branched polycarbonate is less than 0.6% by mass, wherein Ar represents a divalent aromatic group, and Ar’’ represents an aromatic terminal group, and <condition (iii)> a ratio of a total amount of substance of the oligomers represented by the general formula (5) and (6) to a total amount of substance of the oligomers is 60% by mol or less as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Namba teaches that the molten prepolymer is beneficial for being useful for producing a branched polycarbonate by first producing the molten prepolymer, and further polymerizing the obtained molten prepolymer (translation [0052]), wherein the branched polycarbonate has a repeating unit represented by a general formula (1) that is (translation [0011])
(1) (untranslated [0012]) on the main chain and branched chains and comprising a branched structured (a) derived from polyfunctional compounds directly bonded to the main chain and branched chains and a branched structure (b) including at least one selected from the group consisting of branched structures represented by general formulas (2), (3), and (4) that are (translation [0011])
(2),
(3), and
(4) (untranslated [0013]), wherein the total amount of substance with branched structure (a) and branched structure (b) with respect to the amount of substance of the repeating unit represented by the general formula (1) is 0.2-1.0 mol% (translation [0011], [0025]), wherein total amount of branched structures (a) and (b) greater than 1.0 mol% will lead to increase fisheyes and reduce impact resistance and mechanical strength (translation [0025]), wherein an amount of branched structures (a) and (b) less than 0.2 mol% will tend to lower the improving effect on moldability such that the effect of the invention may not be exhibited (translation [0025]), wherein the ratio of the amount of substance with branched structure (b) with respect to the total amount of substance with branched structure (a) and branched structure (b) is 0.1-0.6 (translation [0011], [0027]), wherein the ratio of the amount of substance with the branched structure represented by general formula (2) with respect to the amount of substance with branched structure (b) is 0.5 or greater (translation [0011]), wherein Ar represents a divalent aromatic residue, and Ar’ represents a trivalent aromatic residue (translation [0013]), and because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the method for producing an aromatic polycarbonate comprises subjecting to a transesterification reaction in a polymerizer at least one polymerizable material that is (4:36-39; 6:16-20, 49-52) the molten prepolymer (4:42-49; 6:23-30, 55-61), which means that the proposed modification would have been beneficial for modifying impact resistance and mechanical strength of the aromatic polycarbonate produced by the method, and for optimizing modifying impact resistance and mechanical strength of the aromatic polycarbonate produced by the method.
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer is a nitrogen-absorbed aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, that the pressure of the aromatic polycarbonate manufacturing apparatus is such that a pressure thereof within a melted prepolymer piping from an inert gas absorption apparatus to the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is kept at 15 kPa to 200 kPa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately before the entrance of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus. However, Komiya 6,320,015 teaches treating a molten aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, obtained by reacting an aromatic dihydroxy compound with a diaryl carbonate, with an inert gas under a predetermined pressure to thereby cause the molten prepolymer to absorb the inert gas (5:49-53) in a method for producing an aromatic polycarbonate (5:45-48), wherein the method further comprises (5:45-48) subjecting the resultant molten prepolymer having the inert gas absorbed therein to polymerization under, a pressure Pp, to thereby polymerize the prepolymer (5:54-59), wherein the inert gas is nitrogen (7:5-6), wherein a system for producing an aromatic polycarbonate comprises an inert gas absorption device for causing a molten aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, obtained by reacting an aromatic dihydroxy compound with a diaryl carbonate, to absorb an inert gas under a predetermined pressure Pg to thereby obtain a molten prepolymer having the inert gas absorbed therein, a polymerizer device for polymerizing the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer under a pressure Pp, and a pipe for transferring the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer from the absorption device to the prepolymer device, wherein the absorption device and the polymerizer device are arranged in this order and are connected to each other through the pipe (7:16-36), wherein the pressure Pg employed in the step for inert gas absorption is generally 2×107 Pa or less, preferably 1×107 Pa or less, more preferably 5×106 Pa or less (17:1-5). Komiya 5,840,826 and Komiya 6,320,015 are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a method for manufacturing an aromatic polycarbonate. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to carry out a step of treating the molten prepolymer in Komiya 5,840,826’s method with Komiya 5,840,826’s inert gas that is nitrogen to thereby cause the molten prepolymer in Komiya 5,840,826’s method to absorb the inert gas that is nitrogen before Komiya 5,840,826’s step of subjecting to a transesterification reaction in a polymerizer at least one polymerizable material that is the molten prepolymer, and to use Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe to transfer the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer from Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer at a pressure that is optimized to be from 1.5×104 Pa to 2×105 Pa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately at the exit of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe, which is the entrance of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, as suggested by Komiya 6,320,015. The proposed modification would read on the aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer is a nitrogen-absorbed aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, and the pressure of the aromatic polycarbonate manufacturing apparatus is such that a pressure thereof within a melted prepolymer piping from an inert gas absorption apparatus to the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is kept at 15 kPa to 200 kPa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately before the entrance of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Komiya 6,320,015 teaches that treating a molten aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, obtained by reacting an aromatic dihydroxy compound with a diaryl carbonate, with an inert gas under a predetermined pressure to thereby cause the molten prepolymer to absorb the inert gas (5:49-53), wherein the inert gas is nitrogen (7:5-6), before subjecting the resultant molten prepolymer having the inert gas absorbed therein to polymerization to thereby polymerize the prepolymer (5:54-59) in a method for producing an aromatic polycarbonate (5:45-48), wherein a system for producing an aromatic polycarbonate comprises an inert gas absorption device for causing a molten aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, obtained by reacting an aromatic dihydroxy compound with a diaryl carbonate, to absorb an inert gas under a predetermined pressure Pg to thereby obtain a molten prepolymer having the inert gas absorbed therein, a polymerizer device for polymerizing the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer under a pressure Pp, and a pipe for transferring the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer from the absorption device to the prepolymer device, wherein the absorption device and the polymerizer device are arranged in this order and are connected to each other through the pipe (7:16-36), wherein the pressure Pg employed in the step for inert gas absorption is generally 2×107 Pa or less, preferably 1×107 Pa or less, more preferably 5×106 Pa or less (17:1-5), is beneficial for producing a high quality aromatic polycarbonate, which is colorless and has excellent mechanical properties, at high polymerization rate, is beneficial for maintaining the molecular weight of the produced aromatic polycarbonate at a desired level, and for stably producing for a prolonged period of time the aromatic polycarbonate (4:37-49), which would have been desirable for Komiya 5,840,826’s method because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the method for producing an aromatic polycarbonate which comprises subjecting to a transesterification reaction in a polymerizer the at least one polymerizable material that is (4:36-39; 6:16-20, 49-52) the molten prepolymer (4:42-49; 6:23-30, 55-61), and that in the method, it is preferable to employ a method in which an inert gas which does not adversely affect the reaction, such as nitrogen, is introduced (21:14-23), which means that a pressure at which the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer is transferred from Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer in Pa through Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe would have affected effectiveness of the transfer and the ability of the inert gas that is nitrogen to remain absorbed by the molten prepolymer, which means that optimizing the pressure would have been beneficial for optimizing effectiveness of the transfer and the ability of the inert gas that is nitrogen to remain absorbed by the molten prepolymer. Also, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there is always a pressure drop through a pipe, and the lowest pressure is always at the exit of the pipe, which means that placing the pressure regulating valve immediately at the exit of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe, which is the entrance of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, would have been beneficial for regulating the pressure through the entirety of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe.
Regarding claim 6, Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer (17:2-4, 56-58; 18:46-48), and that in an example, the total amount of phenol and the like evaporated from a polymerizer during a 25-hour polymerization reaction (23:54-56) is 10 kg (23:62), which reads on wherein the amount of the liquid subjected to evaporation treatment is 0.00044 ton per hour.
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the amount of the liquid subjected to evaporation treatment is 1 or more ton per hour. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the amount of molten prepolymer that is used in Komiya 5,840,826’s method such that the total amount of phenol and the like evaporated from Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer in 1 hour of polymerization is 1 or more ton. The proposed modification would read on wherein the amount of the liquid subjected to evaporation treatment is 1 or more ton per hour as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for optimizing productivity of Komiya 5,840,826’s method because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer (17:2-4, 56-58; 18:46-48), and that in an example, the total amount of phenol and the like evaporated from a polymerizer during a 25-hour polymerization reaction (23:54-56) is 10 kg (23:62), which means that the amount of molten prepolymer that is used in Komiya 5,840,826’s method and the total amount of phenol and the like evaporated from Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer in 1 hour of polymerization in tons would have affected optimizing productivity of Komiya 5,840,826’s method.
Claims 5 and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komiya et al. (US 5,840,826) in view of Namba et al. (WO 2012/005250 A1, cited in IDS, made of record on 09/21/2023, machine translation in English or untranslated patent used for citation as indicated) and Komiya et al. (US 6,320,015 B1) as applied to claim 4, and further in view of Fukuoka et al. (US 2008/0196840 A1, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 5, Komiya 5,840,826 in view of Namba and Komiya 6,320,015 renders obvious the method for manufacturing the aromatic branched polycarbonate according to claim 4 as explained above. Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the transesterification reaction of the liquid mass of polymerizable material is performed in a wetting fall mode such that the liquid mass of polymerizable material is caused to fall along and in contact with a surface of a solid object that is a guide provided in the polymerizer (7:9-16; 12:30-35), that the shape of the guide used in such a polymerizer is a plate (16:17-18; 17:47), and that a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer (17:2-4), which reads on wherein the evaporation of the low-boiling substance is performed using the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus as claimed. Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), the prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes and is distributed by a distributing plate to a plurality of plate-shaped guides (16:65-67), that prepolymer is allowed to fall along and in contact with both opposite flat surfaces of each plate-shaped guide (16:67-17:2), that a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer (17:2-4), and that the prepolymer is molten prepolymer (4:42-49; 6:23-30, 55-61), which reads on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (1): condition (1) having a liquid feed port, a liquid supply zone for supplying a liquid to a guide of am evaporation zone through a porous plate, the evaporation zone provided with a plurality of guides extending downward from the porous plate in a space surrounded by the porous plate as claimed. Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the polymerizer comprises a side casing and a bottom casing (FIG. 3 (a); 16:57), which reads on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (1): condition (1) having a side casing, and a bottom casing as claimed. Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the polymerizer comprises (16:57) a vent through which the evaporated by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound, the like, and an inert gas are discharged (17:2-8), which reads on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (1): condition (1) having a vent disposed in the evaporation zone. Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), polymer which has had its molecular weight increased during the guide-wetting fall thereof is discharged through an outlet (17:8-10) that is disposed in a lowermost part of the bottom casing of the polymerizer (FIG. 3 (a), 16:57; 17:10), which reads on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (1): condition (1) having a liquid discharge port disposed in a lowermost part of the bottom casing.
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the vent disposed in the evaporation zone is a vacuum vent. However, Komiya 6,320,015 teaches a vacuum vent in a polymerizer casing for adjusting the pressure in the polymerization reaction zone (7:58-60). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Komiya 6,320,015’s vacuum vent to substitute for Komiya 5,840,826’s vent through which the evaporated by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound, the like, and an inert gas are discharged in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer. The proposed modification would read on the vent disposed in the evaporation zone is a vacuum vent as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for improving an ability of the vent for discharging the evaporated by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound, the like, and an inert gas in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer because Komiya 6,320,015 teaches a vacuum vent in a polymerizer casing for adjusting the pressure in the polymerization reaction zone (7:58-60), and because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the polymerizer comprises (16:57) a vent through which the evaporated by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound, the like, and an inert gas are discharged (17:2-8).
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (2): condition (2) a flow path control component having a function by which a liquid to be supplied from the liquid feed port to the porous plate flows in a direction from a peripheral part of the porous plate toward a central part in the liquid supply zone is placed in the liquid supply zone. However, Fukuoka teaches a flow path controlling member having a function of making liquid fed onto a perforated plate from a liquid receiving port flow mainly from a peripheral portion toward a central portion of the perforated plate, wherein the flow path controlling member is provided in a liquid feeding zone, wherein a liquid receiving port is provided in a top of the liquid feeding zone [0041], wherein the flow path controlling member is present in [0041] an evaporation apparatus [0040], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Komiya 5,840,826 and Fukuoka are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a method for manufacturing a polycarbonate. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Fukuoka’s flow path controlling member having a function of making liquid fed onto a perforated plate from a liquid receiving port flow mainly from a peripheral portion toward a central portion of the perforated plate to modify the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where the prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes. The proposed modification would read on the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (2): condition (2) a flow path control component having a function by which a liquid to be supplied from the liquid feed port to the porous plate flows in a direction from a peripheral part of the porous plate toward a central part in the liquid supply zone is placed in the liquid supply zone as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that the flow path controlling member having a function of making liquid fed onto a perforated plate from a liquid receiving port flow mainly from a peripheral portion toward a central portion of the perforated plate, wherein the flow path controlling member is provided in a liquid feeding zone [0041], and that the flow path controlling member is beneficial for preventing the liquid from residing for a prolonged period of time in a space between holes in the perforated plate and an internal sidewall surface of the liquid feeding zone [0041], which would have been desirable for the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where the prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), the prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes and is distributed by a distributing plate to a plurality of plate-shaped guides (16:65-67).
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (3): condition (3) internal cross-sectional area A (m2) on a horizontal plane of the side casing of the evaporation zone satisfies the following formula (I): 0.7 ≤ A ≤ 300 formula (I). However, Fukuoka teaches that an internal section area A (m2) taken through a horizontal plane of a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone satisfies the following formula: 0.7 ≤ A ≤ 300 [0012], wherein the evaporation zone is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an internal section area A (m2) taken through a horizontal plane of a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone to satisfy the following formula: 0.7 ≤ A ≤ 300 in the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (3): condition (3) internal cross-sectional area A (m2) on a horizontal plane of the side casing of the evaporation zone satisfies the following formula (I): 0.7 ≤ A ≤ 300 formula (I) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that an internal section area A (m2) taken through a horizontal plane of a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone satisfying the following formula: 0.7 ≤ A ≤ 300 is beneficial for being suitable for an evaporation zone [0012] that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010] that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer (17:2-4).
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (4): condition (4) a ratio between the internal cross-sectional area A (m2) and internal cross-sectional area B (m2) on a horizontal plane of the liquid discharge port satisfies the following formula (III): 20 ≤ A/B ≤ 1000 formula (II). However, Fukuoka teaches that a ratio between an A (m2) [0013] that is an internal sectional area A (m2) taken through a horizontal plane of a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone [0012] and an internal sectional area B (m2) taken through a horizontal plane of a liquid discharge port satisfies the following formula: 20 ≤ A/B ≤ 1000 [0013], wherein the liquid discharge port is provided in a lowermost portion of a bottom-wall casing in an evaporation apparatus [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a ratio between an A (m2) that is an internal sectional area A (m2) taken through a horizontal plane of a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone and an internal sectional area B (m2) taken through a horizontal plane of a liquid discharge port to satisfy the following formula: 20 ≤ A/B ≤ 1000 in the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer and the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where polymer which has had its molecular weight increased during the guide-wetting fall thereof is discharged through an outlet that is disposed in a lowermost part of the bottom casing of the polymerizer, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (4): condition (4) a ratio between the internal cross-sectional area A (m2) and internal cross-sectional area B (m2) on a horizontal plane of the liquid discharge port satisfies the following formula (III): 20 ≤ A/B ≤ 1000 formula (II) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that a ratio between an A (m2) [0013] that is an internal sectional area A (m2) taken through a horizontal plane of a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone [0012] and an internal sectional area B (m2) taken through a horizontal plane of a liquid discharge port satisfying the following formula: 20 ≤ A/B ≤ 1000 is beneficial for being suitable for a liquid discharge port [0013] and an evaporation zone [0012], wherein the liquid discharge port is present in a lowermost portion of a bottom-wall casing in an evaporation apparatus, and the evaporation zone is present in the evaporation apparatus [0010] that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer and the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where polymer which has had its molecular weight increased during the guide-wetting fall thereof is discharged through an outlet that is disposed in a lowermost part of the bottom casing of the polymerizer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer (17:2-4), and polymer which has had its molecular weight increased during the guide-wetting fall thereof is discharged through an outlet (17:8-10) that is disposed in a lowermost part of the bottom casing of the polymerizer (FIG. 3 (a), 16:57; 17:10).
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (5): condition (5) the bottom casing constituting the bottom of the evaporation zone is connected to the upper side casing at an angle of C degrees (°) with respect to the inside thereof, wherein the angle of C degrees satisfies the following formula (III): 110 ≤ C ≤ 165 formula (III). However, Fukuoka teaches that the bottom-wall casing constituting the bottom portion of an evaporation zone is connected at an internal angle C (°) to a side-wall casing on a bottom-wall casing, wherein said angle C (°) satisfies the following formula: 110 ≤ C ≤ 165 [0014], wherein the evaporation zone is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a bottom-wall casing constituting the bottom portion of an evaporation zone to be connected at an internal angle C (°) to a side-wall casing on said bottom-wall casing and to satisfy the following formula: 110 ≤ C ≤ 165 in the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (5): condition (5) the bottom casing constituting the bottom of the evaporation zone is connected to the upper side casing at an angle of C degrees (°) with respect to the inside thereof, wherein the angle of C degrees satisfies the following formula (III): 110 ≤ C ≤ 165 formula (III) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that the bottom-wall casing constituting the bottom portion of an evaporation zone being connected at an internal angle C (°) to a side-wall casing on a bottom-wall casing, and said angle C (°) satisfying the following formula: 110 ≤ C ≤ 165 is beneficial for being suitable for an evaporation zone [0014] that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010] that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer (17:2-4).
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (6): condition (6) length h (cm) of the guide satisfies the formula (IV): 150 ≤ h ≤ 5000. However, Fukuoka teaches a length h (cm) of each guides satisfying the following formula: 150 ≤ h ≤ 5000 [0015], wherein the guides are a plurality of guides that are present in an evaporation zone that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a length h (cm) of each guides to satisfy the following formula: 150 ≤ h ≤ 5000 for Komiya 5,840,826’s plurality of plate-shaped guides in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (6): condition (6) length h (cm) of the guide satisfies the formula (IV): 150 ≤ h ≤ 5000 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that a length h (cm) of each guides satisfying the following formula: 150 ≤ h ≤ 5000 is beneficial for being suitable for guides [0015] that are a plurality of guides that are present in an evaporation zone that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010] that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for Komiya 5,840,826’s plurality of plate-shaped guides in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), the prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes and is distributed by a distributing plate to a plurality of plate-shaped guides (16:65-67).
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (7): condition (7) total external surface area S (m2) of all the plurality of guides satisfies the formula (V) 2 ≤ S ≤ 50000 formula (V). However, Fukuoka teaches a total external surface area S (m2) of guides satisfying the following formula: 2 ≤ S ≤ 50000 [0016], wherein the guides are a plurality of guides that are present in an evaporation zone that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a total external surface area S (m2) of guides to satisfy the following formula: 2 ≤ S ≤ 50000 for Komiya 5,840,826’s plurality of plate-shaped guides in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (7): condition (7) total external surface area S (m2) of all the plurality of guides satisfies the formula (V) 2 ≤ S ≤ 50000 formula (V) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that a total external surface area S (m2) of guides satisfying the following formula: 2 ≤ S ≤ 50000 is beneficial for being suitable for guides [0016] that are a plurality of guides that are present in an evaporation zone that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010] that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for Komiya 5,840,826’s plurality of plate-shaped guides in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), the prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes and is distributed by a distributing plate to a plurality of plate-shaped guides (16:65-67).
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (8): condition (8) average number N of pores per m2 of the porous plate (number/m2) satisfies the formula (VI): 50 ≤ N ≤ 3000 formula (VI). However, Fukuoka teaches an average number of holes N per 1 m2 of a perforated plate (number/m2) satisfying the following formula: 50 ≤ N ≤ 3000 [0017], wherein the perforated plate is present in an evaporation apparatus comprising a liquid feeding zone for feeding liquid via the perforated plate to a guide provided in an evaporation zone [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an average number of holes N per 1 m2 of a perforated plate (number/m2) to satisfy the following formula: 50 ≤ N ≤ 3000 for Komiya 5,840,826’s distributing plate having holes in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer. The proposed modification would read on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (8): condition (8) average number N of pores per m2 of the porous plate (number/m2) satisfies the formula (VI): 50 ≤ N ≤ 3000 formula (VI) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that the average number of holes N per 1 m2 of a perforated plate (number/m2) satisfying the following formula: 50 ≤ N ≤ 3000 is beneficial for being suitable for a perforated plate [0017] that is present in an evaporation apparatus comprising a liquid feeding zone for feeding liquid via the perforated plate to a guide provided in an evaporation zone that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010] that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for Komiya 5,840,826’s distributing plate having holes in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), the prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes and is distributed by a distributing plate to a plurality of plate-shaped guides (16:65-67).
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (9): condition (9) a ratio between upper area T (m2) of the porous plate including upper areas of the pores of the porous plate and total effective cross-sectional area Q (m2) of the pores satisfies the following formula (VIII): 50 ≤ T/Q ≤ 3000 formula (VIII). However, Fukuoka teaches a ratio between an upper surface area T (m2) of a perforated plate including an upper surface area of holes therein, and a total effective sectional area Q (m2) of said holes satisfying the following formula: 50 ≤ T/Q ≤ 3000 [0018], wherein the perforated plate is present in an evaporation apparatus comprising a liquid feeding zone for feeding liquid via the perforated plate to a guide provided in an evaporation zone [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a ratio between an upper surface area T (m2) of a perforated plate including an upper surface area of holes therein, and a total effective sectional area Q (m2) of said holes to satisfy the following formula: 50 ≤ T/Q ≤ 3000 for Komiya 5,840,826’s distributing plate having holes in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer. The proposed modification would read on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfies the following condition (9): condition (9) a ratio between upper area T (m2) of the porous plate including upper areas of the pores of the porous plate and total effective cross-sectional area Q (m2) of the pores satisfies the following formula (VIII): 50 ≤ T/Q ≤ 3000 formula (VIII) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that the ratio between an upper surface area T (m2) of a perforated plate including an upper surface area of holes therein, and a total effective sectional area Q (m2) of said holes satisfying the following formula: 50 ≤ T/Q ≤ 3000 is beneficial for being suitable for a perforated plate [0018] that is present in an evaporation apparatus comprising a liquid feeding zone for feeding liquid via the perforated plate to a guide provided in an evaporation zone that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010] that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for Komiya 5,840,826’s distributing plate having holes in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), the prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes and is distributed by a distributing plate to a plurality of plate-shaped guides (16:65-67).
Regarding claim 7, Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that angle E degrees (°) formed by an internal sidewall face of the liquid supply zone and the porous plate satisfies the following formula (VIII): 100 ≤ E < 180 formula (VIII). However, Fukuoka teaches that an angle E (°) between an internal sidewall surface of said liquid feeding zone and said perforated plate satisfies the following formula: 100 ≤ E < 180 [0020], wherein the li quid feeding zone and the perforated plate are present in an evaporation apparatus, wherein the liquid feeding zone is for feeding a liquid via the perforated plate [0010]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an angle E (°) between an internal sidewall surface of a liquid feeding zone and a perforated plate to satisfy the following formula: 100 ≤ E < 180 in the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where the prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes and is distributed by a distributing plate to a plurality of plate-shaped guides, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein angle E degrees (°) formed by an internal sidewall face of the liquid supply zone and the porous plate satisfies the following formula (VIII): 100 ≤ E < 180 formula (VIII) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that an angle E (°) between an internal sidewall surface of said liquid feeding zone and said perforated plate satisfying the following formula: 100 ≤ E < 180 is beneficial for being suitable of a liquid feeding zone and a perforated plate [0020] that are present in an evaporation apparatus [0010] that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], and that the liquid feeding zone is for feeding a liquid via the perforated plate [0010], which would have been desirable for the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where the prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes and is distributed by a distributing plate to a plurality of plate-shaped guides because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), the prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes and is distributed by a distributing plate to a plurality of plate-shaped guides (16:65-67).
Regarding claim 8, Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that distance K (cm) between the guide closet to an internal wall face of the side casing of the evaporation zone and the internal wall face satisfies the following formula (IX): 5 ≤ K ≤ 50 formula (IX). However, Fukuoka teaches that a distance K (cm) between an internal wall of a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone and a guide closest to said internal wall satisfies the following formula: 5 ≤ K ≤ 50 [0021], wherein the side-wall casing, the evaporation zone, and the guide are present in an evaporation apparatus [0010], wherein said evaporation zone has a plurality of guides that extend downward within a space enclosed by a perforated plate, a side-wall casing, and a bottom-wall casing [0010]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a distance K (cm) between an internal wall of a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone and a guide closest to said internal wall to satisfy the following formula: 5 ≤ K ≤ 50 in the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where prepolymer is allowed to fall along and in contact with both opposite flat surfaces of each plate-shaped guide, and a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein distance K (cm) between the guide closet to an internal wall face of the side casing of the evaporation zone and the internal wall face satisfies the following formula (IX): 5 ≤ K ≤ 50 formula (IX) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that a distance K (cm) between an internal wall of a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone and a guide closest to said internal wall satisfying the following formula: 5 ≤ K ≤ 50 is beneficial for being suitable for a side-wall casing, an evaporation zone, and a guide [0021] in an evaporation apparatus [0010] that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], and that said evaporation zone has a plurality of guides that extend downward within a space enclosed by a perforated plate, a side-wall casing, and a bottom-wall casing [0010], which would have been desirable for the location in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer where prepolymer is allowed to fall along and in contact with both opposite flat surfaces of each plate-shaped guide, and a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), prepolymer is allowed to fall along and in contact with both opposite flat surfaces of each plate-shaped guide (16:67-17:2), and a by-produced aromatic monohydroxy compound and the like are evaporated from an evaporation surface of the prepolymer (17:2-4).
Regarding claim 9, Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the polymerizer comprises a side casing that is in a cylindrical shape (FIG. 3 (a); 16:57), which reads on wherein the side casing of the evaporation zone is in a cylindrical shape with internal diameter D (cm) and length L (cm) as claimed. Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the polymerizer comprises a bottom casing that is connected to an underpart of the side casing, and that the bottom casing is in a cone shape (FIG. 3 (a); 16:57), which reads on wherein the bottom casing connected to an underpart of the side casing is in a cone shape as claimed. Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), polymer which has had its molecular weight increased during the guide-wetting fall thereof is discharged through an outlet (17:8-10) that is disposed in a lowermost part of the bottom casing of the polymerizer, that the bottom casing is in a cone shape, and that the outlet is in a cylindrical shape (FIG. 3 (a), 16:57; 17:10), which reads on wherein the liquid discharge port at the lowermost part of the bottom casing in a cone shape is in a cylindrical shape with internal diameter d (cm) as claimed.
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that D satisfies the following formula (X): 100 ≤ D ≤ 1800 formula (X). However, Fukuoka teaches that a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone is cylindrical with an inside diameter D (cm) and a length L (cm), that a bottom-wall casing connected at a bottom portion of said side-wall casing is conical and a liquid discharge port, which is in the lowermost portion of the conical bottom-wall casing, is cylindrical with an inside diameter d (cm), wherein D satisfies the following formula: 100 ≤ D ≤ 1800 [0022], wherein the evaporation zone, the bottom-wall casing, and the liquid discharge port are present in an evaporation apparatus [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an inside diameter D (cm) to satisfy the following formula: 100 ≤ D ≤ 1800 for an inside diameter of a side casing of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein D satisfies the following formula (X): 100 ≤ D ≤ 1800 formula (X) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that D satisfying the following formula: 100 ≤ D ≤ 1800 is beneficial for being suitable for an inside diameter D (cm) of a side-wall casing that is cylindrical in an evaporation zone [0022] that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010] that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for an inside diameter of a side casing of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the polymerizer comprises a side casing that is in a cylindrical shape (FIG. 3 (a); 16:57).
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that D and d satisfy the following formula (XI): 5 ≤ D/d ≤ 50 formula (XI). However, Fukuoka teaches that a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone is cylindrical with an inside diameter D (cm) and a length L (cm), that a bottom-wall casing connected at a bottom portion of said side-wall casing is conical and a liquid discharge port, which is in the lowermost portion of the conical bottom-wall casing, is cylindrical with an inside diameter d (cm), wherein D and d satisfy the following formula: 5 ≤ D/d ≤ 50 [0022], wherein the evaporation zone, the bottom-wall casing, and the liquid discharge port are present in an evaporation apparatus [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an inside diameter D (cm) of a side casing of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer and an inside diameter d (cm) of Komiya 5,840,826’s outlet through which Komiya 5,840,826’s polymer which has had its molecular weight increased during the guide-wetting fall thereof is discharged to satisfy the following formula: 5 ≤ D/d ≤ 50, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein D and d satisfy the following formula (XI): 5 ≤ D/d ≤ 50 formula (XI) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that an inside diameter D (cm) and an inside diameter d (cm) satisfying the following formula: 5 ≤ D/d ≤ 50 is beneficial for being suitable for the inside diameter D (cm) of a side-wall casing that is cylindrical and of an evaporation zone and for the inside diameter d (cm) of a liquid discharge port, which is in the lowermost portion of the conical bottom-wall casing, and that is cylindrical [0022], wherein the evaporation zone, the bottom-wall casing, and the liquid discharge port are present in an evaporation apparatus [0010] that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for an inside diameter D (cm) of a side casing of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer and an inside diameter d (cm) of Komiya 5,840,826’s outlet through which Komiya 5,840,826’s polymer which has had its molecular weight increased during the guide-wetting fall thereof is discharged because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the polymerizer comprises a side casing that is in a cylindrical shape (FIG. 3 (a); 16:57), and that in the polymerizer (16:57), polymer which has had its molecular weight increased during the guide-wetting fall thereof is discharged through an outlet (17:8-10) that is disposed in a lowermost part of the bottom casing of the polymerizer, that the bottom casing is in a cone shape, and that the outlet is in a cylindrical shape (FIG. 3 (a), 16:57; 17:10).
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that L and d satisfy the following formula (XII): 0.5 ≤ L/D ≤ 30 formula (XII). However, Fukuoka teaches that a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone is cylindrical with an inside diameter D (cm) and a length L (cm), that a bottom-wall casing connected at a bottom portion of said side-wall casing is conical and a liquid discharge port, which is in the lowermost portion of the conical bottom-wall casing, is cylindrical with an inside diameter d (cm), wherein D and L satisfy the following formula: 0.5 ≤ L/D ≤ 30 [0022], wherein the evaporation zone, the bottom-wall casing, and the liquid discharge port are present in an evaporation apparatus [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an inside diameter D (cm) and a length L (cm) of a side casing of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer to satisfy the following formula: 0.5 ≤ L/D ≤ 30, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein L and d satisfy the following formula (XII): 0.5 ≤ L/D ≤ 30 formula (XII) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that an inside diameter D (cm) a length L (cm) of a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone that is cylindrical satisfying the following formula: 0.5 ≤ L/D ≤ 30 is beneficial for being suitable for a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone [0022] that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010] that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for an inside diameter D (cm) and a length L (cm) of a side casing of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the polymerizer comprises a side casing that is in a cylindrical shape (FIG. 3 (a); 16:57),
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that L satisfies the following formula (XIII): h – 20 ≤ L ≤ h + 300 formula (XIII), wherein in the formula (XIII), h (cm) represents the length of the guide. However, Fukuoka teaches that a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone is cylindrical with an inside diameter D (cm) and a length L (cm), that a bottom-wall casing connected at a bottom portion of said side-wall casing is conical and a liquid discharge port, which is in the lowermost portion of the conical bottom-wall casing, is cylindrical with an inside diameter d (cm), wherein L satisfies the following formula: h – 20 ≤ L ≤ h + 300 [0022], wherein the evaporation zone, the bottom-wall casing, and the liquid discharge port are present in an evaporation apparatus [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a length L (cm) of a side casing of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer and a length h (cm) of Komiya 5,840,826’s guide of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer to satisfy the following formulae: h – 20 ≤ L ≤ h + 300, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein L satisfies the following formula (XIII): h – 20 ≤ L ≤ h + 300 formula (XIII), wherein in the formula (XIII), h (cm) represents the length of the guide as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that an inside diameter d (cm) of a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone and h satisfying the following formula: h – 20 ≤ L ≤ h + 300 is beneficial for being suitable of a side-wall casing of an evaporation zone that is cylindrical [0022], wherein the evaporation zone is present in an evaporation apparatus and further comprises a plurality of guides that extend downward within a space enclosed by a perforated plate [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for a side casing of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer and Komiya 5,840,826’s guide of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the polymerizer comprises a side casing (FIG. 3 (a); 16:57), that the transesterification reaction of the liquid mass of polymerizable material is performed in a wetting fall mode such that the liquid mass of polymerizable material is caused to fall along and in contact with a surface of a solid object that is a guide provided in the polymerizer (7:9-16; 12:30-35), and that the shape of the guide used in such a polymerizer is a plate (16:17-18; 17:47).
Regarding claim 10, Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that space volume V (m3) where a liquid can exist in the liquid supply zone from the liquid feed port to an upper face of the porous plate, and upper area T (m2) of the porous plate including upper areas of the pores of the porous plate satisfy the following formula (XIV): 0.02 (m) ≤ V/T 0.5 (m) formula (XIV). However, Fukuoka teaches that a volume V (m3) of a space in which the liquid is able to be present in a liquid feeding zone from a liquid receiving port to an upper surface of a perforated plate, and an upper surface area T (m2) of the perforated plate including the upper surface are of holes therein satisfy the following formula: 0.02 (m) ≤ V/T ≤ 0.5 (m) [0023], wherein an evaporation apparatus comprises the liquid receiving port, and the liquid feeding zone for feeding a liquid via a perforated plate [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a volume V (m3) of a space in which the liquid is able to be present in which Komiya 5,840,826’s prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes and is distributed by a distributing plate to a plurality of plate-shaped guides and an upper surface area T (m2) of Komiya 5,840,826’s distributing plate having holes to satisfy the following formula: 0.02 (m) ≤ V/T ≤ 0.5 (m), as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein space volume V (m3) where a liquid can exist in the liquid supply zone from the liquid feed port to an upper face of the porous plate, and upper area T (m2) of the porous plate including upper areas of the pores of the porous plate satisfy the following formula (XIV): 0.02 (m) ≤ V/T 0.5 (m) formula (XIV) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that a volume V (m3) of a space in which the liquid is able to be present in a liquid feeding zone from a liquid receiving port to an upper surface of a perforated plate, and an upper surface area T (m2) of the perforated plate including the upper surface are of holes therein satisfying the following formula: 0.02 (m) ≤ V/T ≤ 0.5 (m) is beneficial for being suitable for a liquid feeding zone from a liquid receiving port to an upper surface of a perforated plate and a perforated plate [0023], wherein an evaporation apparatus comprises the liquid receiving port, and the liquid feeding zone for feeding a liquid via a perforated plate [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for a space in which the liquid is able to be present in which Komiya 5,840,826’s prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes and is distributed by a distributing plate to a plurality of plate-shaped guides and Komiya 5,840,826’s distributing plate having holes because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), the prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes and is distributed by a distributing plate to a plurality of plate-shaped guides (16:65-67).
Regarding claim 11, Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the transesterification reaction of the liquid mass of polymerizable material is performed in a wetting fall mode such that the liquid mass of polymerizable material is caused to fall along and in contact with a surface of a solid object that is a guide provided in the polymerizer (7:9-16; 12:30-35), and that the shape of the guide used in such a polymerizer is a cylinder that is a column (16:17-18; 17:47; 15:36-38), which reads on wherein at least one of the guides is in a columnar form with external diameter r (cm).
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the external diameter r satisfies the following formula (XV): 0.1 ≤ r ≤ 1 formula (XV). However, Fukuoka teaches that one of guides is cylindrical, or pipe-shaped and made to be such that the liquid and/or gaseous material cannot enter therein, with an outside diameter r (cm), wherein r satisfies the following formula: 0.1 ≤ r ≤ 1 [0024], wherein the plurality of guides is present in an evaporation zone that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select an outside diameter r (cm) of Komiya 5,840,826’s guide that is a column in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer to satisfy the following formula: 0.1 ≤ r ≤ 1, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein the external diameter r satisfies the following formula (XV): 0.1 ≤ r ≤ 1 formula (XV) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that an outside diameter r (cm) of one of guides satisfying the following formula: 0.1 ≤ r ≤ 1 is beneficial for being suitable for one of guides that is cylindrical, or pipe-shaped and made to be such that the liquid and/or gaseous material cannot enter therein [0024], wherein the plurality of guides is present in an evaporation zone that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010] that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for an outside diameter r (cm) of Komiya 5,840,826’s guide that is a column in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the transesterification reaction of the liquid mass of polymerizable material is performed in a wetting fall mode such that the liquid mass of polymerizable material is caused to fall along and in contact with a surface of a solid object that is a guide provided in the polymerizer (7:9-16; 12:30-35), and that the shape of the guide used in such a polymerizer is a cylinder that is a column (16:17-18; 17:47; 15:36-38).
Regarding claim 12, Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that in the polymerizer (16:57), the prepolymer is fed through an inlet onto a distributing plate having holes and is distributed by a distributing plate to a plurality of plate-shaped guides (16:65-67), that prepolymer is allowed to fall along and in contact with both opposite flat surfaces of each plate-shaped guide (16:67-17:2), and that polymer which has had its molecular weight increased during the guide-wetting fall thereof is discharged through an outlet (17:8-10), which reads on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus has the plurality of guides, and the plurality of guides are joined through a supporting material as claimed.
Regarding claim 13, Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the polymerizer has a plurality of guides (16:15-17).
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the plurality of guides are selected from the group consisting of grid-like or net-like guides in which the individual guides are fixed through a transverse supporting material, steric guides in which a plurality of grid-like or net-like guides are anteroposteriorly arranged and fixed through a transverse supporting material, and jungle gym-like steric guides in which a plurality of individual guides are anteroposteriorly and laterally fixed through a transverse supporting material. However, Fukuoka teaches a plurality of guides [00010], wherein one of said guides is cylindrical [0024], wherein said guides form one of a grid-like or mesh-like guide structure in which the guides are fixed together by transverse supports, a three-dimensional guide structure in which a plurality of grid-like or mesh-like guide structures are arranged in front of and behind one another and are fixed together by transverse supports, and a jungle-gym-like three-dimensional guide structure in which the guides are fixed together in front of and behind, and left and right or, one another by transverse supports [0026], wherein the guides are present in an evaporation zone that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010], wherein the evaporation apparatus is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Fukuoka’s plurality of guides, wherein one of said guides is cylindrical, wherein said guides form one of a grid-like or mesh-like guide structure in which the guides are fixed together by transverse supports, a three-dimensional guide structure in which a plurality of grid-like or mesh-like guide structures are arranged in front of and behind one another and are fixed together by transverse supports, and a jungle-gym-like three-dimensional guide structure in which the guides are fixed together in front of and behind, and left and right or, one another by transverse supports, to substitute for Komiya 5,840,826’s plurality of guides in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer. The proposed modification would read on wherein the plurality of guides are selected from the group consisting of grid-like or net-like guides in which the individual guides are fixed through a transverse supporting material, steric guides in which a plurality of grid-like or net-like guides are anteroposteriorly arranged and fixed through a transverse supporting material, and jungle gym-like steric guides in which a plurality of individual guides are anteroposteriorly and laterally fixed through a transverse supporting material as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that the plurality of guides [00010], wherein one of said guides is cylindrical [0024], wherein said guides form one of a grid-like or mesh-like guide structure in which the guides are fixed together by transverse supports, a three-dimensional guide structure in which a plurality of grid-like or mesh-like guide structures are arranged in front of and behind one another and are fixed together by transverse supports, and a jungle-gym-like three-dimensional guide structure in which the guides are fixed together in front of and behind, and left and right or, one another by transverse supports [0026], wherein the guides are present in an evaporation zone that is present in an evaporation apparatus [0010], are beneficial for being suitable in an evaporation apparatus [0010 that is used with production of a condensation polymer [0027] that is a polycarbonate [0028], which would have been desirable for Komiya 5,840,826’s plurality of guides in Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the polymerizer has a plurality of guides (16:15-17), and that the transesterification reaction of the liquid mass of polymerizable material is performed in a wetting fall mode such that the liquid mass of polymerizable material is caused to fall along and in contact with a surface of a solid object that is a guide provided in the polymerizer (7:9-16; 12:30-35).
Regarding claim 14, Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is further connected with at least one guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus that satisfies the condition (1) to condition (9), wherein the two or more guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatuses are connected in series, in parallel, or both in series and in parallel. However, Fukuoka teaches polymerization equipment for a condensation polymerization type polymer in which two industrial evaporation apparatuses each having a flow path controlling member and guides are arranged in series, wherein an aromatic polycarbonate is produced using this polymerization equipment [0114]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use two of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer arranged in series, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is further connected with one guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus that satisfies the condition (1) to condition (9), wherein the two guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatuses are connected in series as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that polymerization equipment for a condensation polymerization type polymer in which two industrial evaporation apparatuses each having a flow path controlling member and guides are arranged in series, wherein an aromatic polycarbonate is produced using this polymerization equipment [0114], is beneficial for progressively increasing the polymerization degree [0103], which would have been desirable for Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the method is for producing an aromatic polycarbonate (4:36-39; 6:16-20, 49-52), that when the prepolymer is one which is having its polymerization degree increased by the method, the prepolymer is referred to simply as polymer (11:67-12:3) that in the polymerizer (16:57), and that polymer which has had its molecular weight increased during the guide-wetting fall thereof is discharged through an outlet (17:8-10).
Regarding claim 15, Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is further connected with one guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus, wherein total external surface area S1 (m2) of the guides of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus, and total external surface area S2 (m2) of the guides of the further connected guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfy the following formula (XVI) 1 ≤ X1/S2 ≤ 20 (XVI). However, Fukuoka teaches polymerization equipment for a condensation polymerization type polymer in which two industrial evaporation apparatuses each having a flow path controlling member and guides are arranged in series, wherein an aromatic polycarbonate is produced using this polymerization equipment [0114], where in the case of using two polymerization apparatuses, it is preferable to use guides such that the total external surface area S1 (m2) of the guides in the first polymerization apparatus and the total external surface area S2 (m2) of the guides in the second polymerization apparatus satisfy the following formula: 1 ≤ S1/S2 ≤ 20 [0105]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use two of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer arranged in series, wherein the total external surface area S1 (m2) of Komiya 5,840,826’s guides in the first polymerization apparatus and the total external surface area S2 (m2) of the guides in Komiya 5,840,826’s second polymerization apparatus satisfy the following formula: 1 ≤ S1/S2 ≤ 20, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is further connected with one guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus, wherein total external surface area S1 (m2) of the guides of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus, and total external surface area S2 (m2) of the guides of the further connected guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus satisfy the following formula (XVI) 1 ≤ X1/S2 ≤ 20 (XVI) as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that polymerization equipment for a condensation polymerization type polymer in which two industrial evaporation apparatuses each having a flow path controlling member and guides are arranged in series, wherein an aromatic polycarbonate is produced using this polymerization equipment [0114], is beneficial for progressively increasing the polymerization degree [0103], that in the case of using two polymerization apparatuses, it is preferable to use guides such that the total external surface area S1 (m2) of the guides in the first polymerization apparatus and the total external surface area S2 (m2) of the guides in the second polymerization apparatus satisfy the following formula: 1 ≤ S1/S2 ≤ 20 [0105], that this is beneficial for preventing a problem of variation in the molecular weight increasing, for preventing prolonged stable production from becoming difficult, for preventing the flow rate of the molten prepolymer flowing down the guides in the second polymerization apparatus form becoming high, for preventing the residence time of the molten prepolymer becoming short, and for preventing it becoming to difficult to obtain the required molecular weight [0106], which would have been desirable for Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the method is for producing an aromatic polycarbonate (4:36-39; 6:16-20, 49-52), that when the prepolymer is one which is having its polymerization degree increased by the method, the prepolymer is referred to simply as polymer (11:67-12:3) that in the polymerizer (16:57), that polymer which has had its molecular weight increased during the guide-wetting fall thereof is discharged through an outlet (17:8-10), and that that the transesterification reaction of the liquid mass of polymerizable material is performed in a wetting fall mode such that the liquid mass of polymerizable material is caused to fall along and in contact with a surface of a solid object that is a guide provided in the polymerizer (7:9-16; 12:30-35).
Regarding claim 16, Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that an inert gas absorption apparatus for allowing an inert gas to be absorbed to a melted aromatic branched polycarbonate prepolymer before supply to the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is placed, and that the inert gas-absorbed melted prepolymer is supplied to the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus such that a pressure thereof within a melt prepolymer supply piping from the inert gas absorption apparatus to the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is kept at 15 kPa to 200 kPa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately before the entrance of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus. However, Komiya 6,320,015 teaches treating a molten aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, obtained by reacting an aromatic dihydroxy compound with a diaryl carbonate, with an inert gas under a predetermined pressure Pg to thereby cause the molten prepolymer to absorb the inert gas (5:49-53) in a method for producing an aromatic polycarbonate (5:45-48), wherein the method further comprises (5:45-48) subjecting the resultant molten prepolymer having the inert gas absorbed therein to polymerization, under a pressure Pp, to thereby polymerize the prepolymer (5:54-59), wherein the inert gas is nitrogen (7:5-6), wherein a system for producing an aromatic polycarbonate comprises an inert gas absorption device for causing a molten aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, obtained by reacting an aromatic dihydroxy compound with a diaryl carbonate, to absorb an inert gas under a predetermined pressure Pg to thereby obtain a molten prepolymer having the inert gas absorbed therein, a polymerizer device for polymerizing the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer under a pressure Pp, and a pipe for transferring the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer from the absorption device to the prepolymer device, wherein the absorption device and the polymerizer device are arranged in this order and are connected to each other through the pipe (7:16-36), wherein the pressure Pg employed in the step for inert gas absorption is generally 2×107 Pa or less, preferably 1×107 Pa or less, more preferably 5×106 Pa or less (17:1-5). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to carry out a step of treating the molten prepolymer in Komiya 5,840,826’s method with Komiya 5,840,826’s inert gas that is nitrogen to thereby cause the molten prepolymer in Komiya 5,840,826’s method to absorb the inert gas that is nitrogen before Komiya 5,840,826’s step of subjecting to a transesterification reaction in a polymerizer at least one polymerizable material that is the molten prepolymer, and to use Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe to transfer the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer from Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer at a pressure that is optimized to be from 1.5×104 Pa to 2×105 Pa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately at the exit of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe, which is the entrance of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, as suggested by Komiya 6,320,015. The proposed modification would read on wherein an inert gas absorption apparatus for allowing an inert gas to be absorbed to a melted aromatic branched polycarbonate prepolymer before supply to the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is placed, wherein the inert gas-absorbed melted prepolymer is supplied to the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus such that a pressure thereof within a melt prepolymer supply piping from the inert gas absorption apparatus to the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is kept at 15 kPa to 200 kPa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately before the entrance of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Komiya 6,320,015 teaches that treating a molten aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, obtained by reacting an aromatic dihydroxy compound with a diaryl carbonate, with an inert gas under a predetermined pressure to thereby cause the molten prepolymer to absorb the inert gas (5:49-53), wherein the inert gas is nitrogen (7:5-6), before subjecting the resultant molten prepolymer having the inert gas absorbed therein to polymerization to thereby polymerize the prepolymer (5:54-59) in a method for producing an aromatic polycarbonate (5:45-48), wherein a system for producing an aromatic polycarbonate comprises an inert gas absorption device for causing a molten aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, obtained by reacting an aromatic dihydroxy compound with a diaryl carbonate, to absorb an inert gas under a predetermined pressure Pg to thereby obtain a molten prepolymer having the inert gas absorbed therein, a polymerizer device for polymerizing the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer under a pressure Pp, and a pipe for transferring the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer from the absorption device to the prepolymer device, wherein the absorption device and the polymerizer device are arranged in this order and are connected to each other through the pipe (7:16-36), wherein the pressure Pg employed in the step for inert gas absorption is generally 2×107 Pa or less, preferably 1×107 Pa or less, more preferably 5×106 Pa or less (17:1-5), is beneficial for producing a high quality aromatic polycarbonate, which is colorless and has excellent mechanical properties, at high polymerization rate, is beneficial for maintaining the molecular weight of the produced aromatic polycarbonate at a desired level, and for stably producing for a prolonged period of time the aromatic polycarbonate (4:37-49), which would have been desirable for Komiya 5,840,826’s method because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the method for producing an aromatic polycarbonate which comprises subjecting to a transesterification reaction in a polymerizer the at least one polymerizable material that is (4:36-39; 6:16-20, 49-52) the molten prepolymer (4:42-49; 6:23-30, 55-61), and that in the method, it is preferable to employ a method in which an inert gas which does not adversely affect the reaction, such as nitrogen, is introduced (21:14-23), which means that a pressure at which the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer is transferred from Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer in Pa through Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe would have affected effectiveness of the transfer and the ability of the inert gas that is nitrogen to remain absorbed by the molten prepolymer, which means that optimizing the pressure would have been beneficial for optimizing effectiveness of the transfer and the ability of the inert gas that is nitrogen to remain absorbed by the molten prepolymer. Also, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there is always a pressure drop through a pipe, and the lowest pressure is always at the exit of the pipe, which means that placing the pressure regulating valve immediately at the exit of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe, which is the entrance of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, would have been beneficial for regulating the pressure through the entirety of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe.
Regarding claim 17, Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that a guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus further connected with the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is placed. However, Fukuoka teaches polymerization equipment for a condensation polymerization type polymer in which two industrial evaporation apparatuses each having a flow path controlling member and guides are arranged in series, wherein an aromatic polycarbonate is produced using this polymerization equipment [0114], where in the case of using two polymerization apparatuses, it is preferable to use guides such that the total external surface area S1 (m2) of the guides in the first polymerization apparatus and the total external surface area S2 (m2) of the guides in the second polymerization apparatus satisfy the following formula: 1 ≤ S1/S2 ≤ 20 [0105]. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use two of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer arranged in series, wherein the total external surface area S1 (m2) of Komiya 5,840,826’s guides in the first polymerization apparatus and the total external surface area S2 (m2) of the guides in Komiya 5,840,826’s second polymerization apparatus satisfy the following formula: 1 ≤ S1/S2 ≤ 20, as suggested by Fukuoka. The proposed modification would read on wherein a guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus further connected with the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is placed as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Fukuoka teaches that polymerization equipment for a condensation polymerization type polymer in which two industrial evaporation apparatuses each having a flow path controlling member and guides are arranged in series, wherein an aromatic polycarbonate is produced using this polymerization equipment [0114], is beneficial for progressively increasing the polymerization degree [0103], that in the case of using two polymerization apparatuses, it is preferable to use guides such that the total external surface area S1 (m2) of the guides in the first polymerization apparatus and the total external surface area S2 (m2) of the guides in the second polymerization apparatus satisfy the following formula: 1 ≤ S1/S2 ≤ 20 [0105], that this is beneficial for preventing a problem of variation in the molecular weight increasing, for preventing prolonged stable production from becoming difficult, for preventing the flow rate of the molten prepolymer flowing down the guides in the second polymerization apparatus form becoming high, for preventing the residence time of the molten prepolymer becoming short, and for preventing it becoming too difficult to obtain the required molecular weight [0106], which would have been desirable for Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the method is for producing an aromatic polycarbonate (4:36-39; 6:16-20, 49-52), that when the prepolymer is one which is having its polymerization degree increased by the method, the prepolymer is referred to simply as polymer (11:67-12:3) that in the polymerizer (16:57), that polymer which has had its molecular weight increased during the guide-wetting fall thereof is discharged through an outlet (17:8-10), and that that the transesterification reaction of the liquid mass of polymerizable material is performed in a wetting fall mode such that the liquid mass of polymerizable material is caused to fall along and in contact with a surface of a solid object that is a guide provided in the polymerizer (7:9-16; 12:30-35).
Komiya 5,840,826 does not teach that an inert gas absorption apparatus for allowing an inert gas to be absorbed to a melted aromatic branched polycarbonate prepolymer before supply to each of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatuses is placed, and that the inert gas-absorbed melted prepolymer is supplied such that a pressure thereof within a melt prepolymer supply piping from the inert gas absorption apparatus to each of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatuses is kept at 15 kPa to 200 kPa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately before the entrance of each of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatuses. However, Komiya 6,320,015 teaches treating a molten aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, obtained by reacting an aromatic dihydroxy compound with a diaryl carbonate, with an inert gas under a predetermined pressure Pg to thereby cause the molten prepolymer to absorb the inert gas (5:49-53) in a method for producing an aromatic polycarbonate (5:45-48), wherein the method further comprises (5:45-48) subjecting the resultant molten prepolymer having the inert gas absorbed therein to polymerization, under a pressure Pp, to thereby polymerize the prepolymer (5:54-59), wherein the inert gas is nitrogen (7:5-6), wherein a system for producing an aromatic polycarbonate comprises an inert gas absorption device for causing a molten aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, obtained by reacting an aromatic dihydroxy compound with a diaryl carbonate, to absorb an inert gas under a predetermined pressure Pg to thereby obtain a molten prepolymer having the inert gas absorbed therein, a polymerizer device for polymerizing the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer under a pressure Pp, and a pipe for transferring the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer from the absorption device to the prepolymer device, wherein the absorption device and the polymerizer device are arranged in this order and are connected to each other through the pipe (7:16-36), wherein the pressure Pg employed in the step for inert gas absorption is generally 2×107 Pa or less, preferably 1×107 Pa or less, more preferably 5×106 Pa or less (17:1-5). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use two of Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to carry out a step of treating the molten prepolymer in Komiya 5,840,826’s method with Komiya 5,840,826’s inert gas that is nitrogen to thereby cause the molten prepolymer in Komiya 5,840,826’s method to absorb the inert gas that is nitrogen before each of Komiya 5,840,826’s step of subjecting to a transesterification reaction in a polymerizer at least one polymerizable material that is the molten prepolymer, and to use two of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe to transfer the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer from each of Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to each of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer at a pressure that is optimized to be from 1.5×104 Pa to 2×105 Pa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately at the exit of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe, which is the entrance of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, as suggested by Komiya 6,320,015. The proposed modification would read on wherein an inert gas absorption apparatus for allowing an inert gas to be absorbed to a melted aromatic branched polycarbonate prepolymer before supply to each of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatuses is placed, and that the inert gas-absorbed melted prepolymer is supplied such that a pressure thereof within a melt prepolymer supply piping from the inert gas absorption apparatus to each of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatuses is kept at 15 kPa to 200 kPa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately before the entrance of each of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatuses as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Komiya 6,320,015 teaches that treating a molten aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, obtained by reacting an aromatic dihydroxy compound with a diaryl carbonate, with an inert gas under a predetermined pressure to thereby cause the molten prepolymer to absorb the inert gas (5:49-53), wherein the inert gas is nitrogen (7:5-6), before subjecting the resultant molten prepolymer having the inert gas absorbed therein to polymerization to thereby polymerize the prepolymer (5:54-59) in a method for producing an aromatic polycarbonate (5:45-48), wherein a system for producing an aromatic polycarbonate comprises an inert gas absorption device for causing a molten aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, obtained by reacting an aromatic dihydroxy compound with a diaryl carbonate, to absorb an inert gas under a predetermined pressure Pg to thereby obtain a molten prepolymer having the inert gas absorbed therein, a polymerizer device for polymerizing the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer under a pressure Pp, and a pipe for transferring the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer from the absorption device to the prepolymer device, wherein the absorption device and the polymerizer device are arranged in this order and are connected to each other through the pipe (7:16-36), wherein the pressure Pg employed in the step for inert gas absorption is generally 2×107 Pa or less, preferably 1×107 Pa or less, more preferably 5×106 Pa or less (17:1-5), is beneficial for producing a high quality aromatic polycarbonate, which is colorless and has excellent mechanical properties, at high polymerization rate, is beneficial for maintaining the molecular weight of the produced aromatic polycarbonate at a desired level, and for stably producing for a prolonged period of time the aromatic polycarbonate (4:37-49), which would have been desirable for Komiya 5,840,826’s method because Komiya 5,840,826 teaches that the method for producing an aromatic polycarbonate which comprises subjecting to a transesterification reaction in a polymerizer the at least one polymerizable material that is (4:36-39; 6:16-20, 49-52) the molten prepolymer (4:42-49; 6:23-30, 55-61), and that in the method, it is preferable to employ a method in which an inert gas which does not adversely affect the reaction, such as nitrogen, is introduced (21:14-23), which means that a pressure at which the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer is transferred from Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer in Pa through Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe would have affected effectiveness of the transfer and the ability of the inert gas that is nitrogen to remain absorbed by the molten prepolymer, which means that optimizing the pressure would have been beneficial for optimizing effectiveness of the transfer and the ability of the inert gas that is nitrogen to remain absorbed by the molten prepolymer. Also, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there is always a pressure drop through a pipe, and the lowest pressure is always at the exit of the pipe, which means that placing the pressure regulating valve immediately at the exit of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe, which is the entrance of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, would have been beneficial for regulating the pressure through the entirety of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 15, filed 08/14/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 16 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 16 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the applicant’s argument that the Examiner asserts that it would be obvious to place a pressure regulating valve immediately before the entrance to the piper of Komiya et al. ‘015 to optimize pressure, and that the claimed invention recites placing the pressure regulating valve immediately before the entrance of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus, not at the entrance to the pipe (p. 18), before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to carry out a step of treating the molten prepolymer in Komiya 5,840,826’s method with Komiya 5,840,826’s inert gas that is nitrogen to thereby cause the molten prepolymer in Komiya 5,840,826’s method to absorb the inert gas that is nitrogen before Komiya 5,840,826’s step of subjecting to a transesterification reaction in a polymerizer at least one polymerizable material that is the molten prepolymer, and to use Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe to transfer the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer from Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer at a pressure that is optimized to be from 1.5×104 Pa to 2×105 Pa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately at the exit of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe, which is the entrance of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, as suggested by Komiya 6,320,015. The proposed modification would read on the aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer is a nitrogen-absorbed aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, and the pressure of the aromatic polycarbonate manufacturing apparatus is such that a pressure thereof within a melted prepolymer piping from an inert gas absorption apparatus to the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is kept at 15 kPa to 200 kPa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately before the entrance of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus as claimed.
In response to the applicant’s argument that this claimed placement achieves unexpectedly superior results because paragraphs [0054] and [0119] of the present specification explain that because the inside of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is maintained under relatively high vacuum, the prepolymer is subjected to a sudden pressure drop near the liquid feed port by aspiration in to the apparatus, and that this sudden pressure drop causes the previously absorbed inert gas to separate and aggregate prematurely before entering the apparatus (p. 18), the applicant’s arguments of unexpected results are not persuasive because the paragraphs [0054] and [0119] of the specification of the instant application do not show proof or evidence of unexpected results, i.e. data. Objective evidence which must be factually supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration to be of probative value includes evidence of unexpected results (MPEP 716.01(c)(I)). It is well settled that unexpected results must be established by factual evidence (MPEP 716.01(c)(I)). Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record (MPEP 716.01(c)(II)). Examples of statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration include statements regarding unexpected results (MPEP 716.01(c)(II)).
In response to the applicant’s argument that neither Komiya et al. ‘015 nor the other cited references recognize this problem of gas separation and aggregation at the apparatus entrance, and that since the problem itself has been unrecognized in the cited references, one of ordinary skill in the art has no proper reason, rationale, or motivation to strategically place the pressure regulating valve precisely immediately before the entrance of the polymerization apparatus to maintain the pressure at 15 to 200 kPa (p. 19), the Office recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe to transfer the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer from Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer at a pressure that is optimized to be from 1.5×104 Pa to 2×105 Pa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately at the exit of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe, which is the entrance of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, because there is always a pressure drop through a pipe, and the lowest pressure is always at the exit of the pipe, which means that placing the pressure regulating valve immediately at the exit of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe, which is the entrance of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, would have been beneficial for regulating the pressure through the entirety of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe.
In response to the applicant’s argument that the Examiner’s proposed modification of placing a valve at the pipe’s entrance would still expose the prepolymer to a pressure drop within the pipe, failing to solve the problem or achieve the uniform and continuous foaming phenomenon within the apparatus (p. 19), before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to carry out a step of treating the molten prepolymer in Komiya 5,840,826’s method with Komiya 5,840,826’s inert gas that is nitrogen to thereby cause the molten prepolymer in Komiya 5,840,826’s method to absorb the inert gas that is nitrogen before Komiya 5,840,826’s step of subjecting to a transesterification reaction in a polymerizer at least one polymerizable material that is the molten prepolymer, and to use Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe to transfer the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer from Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer at a pressure that is optimized to be from 1.5×104 Pa to 2×105 Pa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately at the exit of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe, which is the entrance of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, as suggested by Komiya 6,320,015. The proposed modification would read on the aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer is a nitrogen-absorbed aromatic polycarbonate prepolymer, and the pressure of the aromatic polycarbonate manufacturing apparatus is such that a pressure thereof within a melted prepolymer piping from an inert gas absorption apparatus to the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus is kept at 15 kPa to 200 kPa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately before the entrance of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus as claimed. Also, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there is always a pressure drop through a pipe, and the lowest pressure is always at the exit of the pipe, which means that placing the pressure regulating valve immediately at the exit of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe, which is the entrance of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, would have been beneficial for regulating the pressure through the entirety of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe.
In response to the applicant’s argument that the discovery of the source of the problem would have been unobvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (p. 19), it is noted that discovering the source of the problem referenced by the applicant are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). What is recited in the claims is a pressure regulating valve placed immediately before the entrance of the guide-contact flow-down type polymerization apparatus. The Office recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe to transfer the inert gas-absorbed molten prepolymer from Komiya 6,320,015’s inert gas absorption device to Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer at a pressure that is optimized to be from 1.5×104 Pa to 2×105 Pa by a pressure regulating valve placed immediately at the exit of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe, which is the entrance of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, because there is always a pressure drop through a pipe, and the lowest pressure is always at the exit of the pipe, which means that placing the pressure regulating valve immediately at the exit of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe, which is the entrance of Komiya 5,840,826’s polymerizer, would have been beneficial for regulating the pressure through the entirety of Komiya 6,320,015’s pipe.
In response to the applicant’s argument that Fukuoka ‘840 do not cure the fundamental deficiency of the cited references regarding the pressure regulating valve (p. 19), the cited references do not have the deficiency referenced by the applicant, and Fukuoka ‘840 is not cited in the rejection of claim 4.
In response to the applicant’s argument that the combination of the claimed structural conditions with the precise pressure control immediately before the apparatus entrance enables the production of the desired aromatic branched polycarbonate having unexpectedly excellent hue stability against heat, which constitutes an unexpected effect (p. 19), the applicant’s arguments of unexpected results are not persuasive because the applicant did not show proof or evidence of unexpected results, i.e. data. Objective evidence which must be factually supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration to be of probative value includes evidence of unexpected results (MPEP 716.01(c)(I)). It is well settled that unexpected results must be established by factual evidence (MPEP 716.01(c)(I)). Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record (MPEP 716.01(c)(II)). Examples of statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration include statements regarding unexpected results (MPEP 716.01(c)(II)).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/DAVID T KARST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767