DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 7-8, 12, 16, and 19) in the reply filed on 12/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-8, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by anticipated by Takatsu ("Control Method of Mobile Communication System, Mobile Communication System, and Proxy Server", Nabitsuku Kk, JP2019169747A, pub. date 2019-10-03).
Regarding Claim 7, Takatsu teaches a communication management server ([0015], “HSS (Home Subscriber Server) 15 ... The HSS 15 is an example of a subscriber information database, and manages authentication information and location information (location information)”) comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions ([0015], “HSS (Home Subscriber Server) 15 ... The HSS 15 is an example of a subscriber information database, and manages authentication information and location information (location information)”, wherein the HSS 15 comprises at least one memory storing instructions); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions ([0015], “HSS (Home Subscriber Server) 15 ... The HSS 15 is an example of a subscriber information database, and manages authentication information and location information (location information)”, wherein the HSS 15 comprises at least one processor configured to execute the instructions) to:
receive first connection destination information being information about a first connection destination to which user equipment requests connection ([0027], “MS 20 outputs an attach request. This attach request is transmitted from the MS 20 to the MME 14 via the eNB 11 (step S201)”; [0017], “MS 20 outputs an attach request. The attach request includes, for example, identification information recorded in the SIM 29 and an APN (Access Point Name) ... APN is an identifier that specifies a connection destination in data communication, and is described in a domain name format such as “abc.bb.yy”, for example. The APN is stored in advance in the MS 20. This attach request is transmitted from the MS 20 to the MME 14 via the eNB 11 (~control apparatus)( (step S101)”), and
position information of the user equipment, from a control apparatus configured to control connection of the user equipment ([0027], “MME 14 transmits a location registration request to the HSS (~control apparatus) 31 (step S202). This location registration request includes location information of the MS 20 and identification information of the SIM 29”);
acquire second connection destination information being information about a connection destination of the user equipment associated with the position information ([0028], “HSS 31 receives the location registration request. When receiving the location registration request, the HSS 31 transmits an authentication request to the HSS (HSS 25 in this example) of the operator (in this example, the operator B)”; [0030], “HSS 31 receives the authentication response ... the HSS 31 sends an authentication response to which the information (APN notification) specifying (~acquire) the P-GW 32 as the APN is added (~second connection destination information about a connection destination of the user equipment associated with the position information (~location)) to the MME 14. Transmit (step S206). The information specifying the APN may be a character string such as a domain name indicating the APN itself”);
determine whether the second connection destination information is different from the first connection destination information (HSS 31 (~communication management server) determines for it to send an authentication response which specifies the APN is added and changed (~second connection destination information is different from the first connection destination information); [0030-0031], “HSS 31 sends an authentication response to which the information (APN notification) specifying the P-GW 32 as the APN is added to the MME 14. Transmit (step S206). The information specifying the APN may be a character string such as a domain name indicating the APN itself ... Upon receiving this command, the MME 14 transmits the received information and authentication response to the MS 20 (step S207) ... MS 20 receives information specifying an APN and an authentication response. When the authentication result included in the authentication response indicates that the user of the SIM 29 is authenticated as valid, the MS 20 sets (changes) the APN to the one specifying the P-GW 32 (step S208)”); and
transmit the second connection destination information to the control apparatus in a case where the second connection destination information is different from the first connection destination information ([0030], “HSS 31 sends an authentication response to which the information (APN notification) specifying the P-GW 32 as the APN is added to the MME (~control apparatus) 14”, wherein HSS 31 (~communication management server) determines for it to send an authentication response which specifies the APN is added and changed (~second connection destination information is different from the first connection destination information)).
Regarding Claim 8, Takatsu teaches the communication management server ([0015], “HSS (Home Subscriber Server) 15 ... The HSS 15 is an example of a subscriber information database, and manages authentication information and location information (location information)”) according to claim 7,
wherein, the at least one processor ([0015], “HSS (Home Subscriber Server) 15 ... The HSS 15 is an example of a subscriber information database, and manages authentication information and location information (location information)”, wherein the HSS 15 comprises at least one processor) is further configured to,
in a case where the position information is first position information, acquire third connection destination information associated with the first position information as the second connection destination information (based on position (first country) of MS 20, HSS 31 acquires appropriate connection destination information (~APN corresponding to a first P-GW of a first mobile communication network) related to the position (see [0017] and [0027-0031]); claim 4, “first communication carrier is a carrier in a first country, and the second carrier is a carrier in a second country different from the first country”; [0013], a country Y different from the country X; [0017], “MS 20 outputs an attach request. The attach request includes, for example, identification information recorded in the SIM 29 and an APN (Access Point Name). This identification information is, for example, IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity), and includes MCC (Mobile Country code), MNC (Mobile Network code), and MSIN (Mobile Subscriber Identification Number). The MCC is a code that identifies a country”; [0027-0031], The MS 20 outputs an attach request. This attach request is transmitted from the MS 20 to the MME 14 via the eNB 11 (step S201) ... When receiving the attach request, the MME 14 selects a transmission destination of the attach request using the identification information included in the attach request. The MME 14 or the like is set so that the attach request from the mobile communication terminal into which the SIM issued by the operator B in Y country is inserted is transmitted to the HSS 31 by the contract between the operator A and the operator C. The MME 14 transmits a location registration request to the HSS 31 (step S202). This location registration request includes location information of the MS 20 (~in a case where the position information is first position information) and identification information of the SIM 29 ... HSS 31 receives the location registration request. When receiving the location registration request, the HSS 31 transmits an authentication request to the HSS (HSS 25 in this example) of the operator (in this example, the operator B) specified by the identification information recorded in the SIM 29 (step S203). ) ...
HSS 25 transmits an authentication response including the authentication result to the HSS 31 ... HSS 31 receives the authentication response ... the HSS 31 sends an authentication response to which the information (APN notification) specifying the P-GW 32 as the APN is added to the MME 14 ... The information specifying the APN may be a character string such as a domain name indicating the APN itself (~acquire third connection destination information associated with the first position information as the second connection destination information) ... Upon receiving this command, the MME 14 transmits the received information and authentication response to the MS 20 (step S207) ... MS 20 receives information specifying an APN and an authentication response. When the authentication result included in the authentication response indicates that the user of the SIM 29 is authenticated as valid, the MS 20 sets (changes) the APN to the one specifying the P-GW 32”; [0024], “HSS 31 includes a reception unit 311, a request unit 312, and a processing unit 313. The receiving unit 311 receives a location registration request (roaming request) from the MS 20. The request unit 312 requests authentication of the identification number recorded in the SIM 29 to the HSS (HSS 25 in this example) managed by the business operator that issued the SIM 29 inserted in the MS 20. When the identification number is authenticated in the HSS 25, the processing unit 313 performs processing for establishing a bearer from the MS 20 to the P-GW 32. Here, the process for establishing a communication path from the MS 20 to the P-GW 32 is, for example, a process of changing the APN from the one that designates the P-GW 23 to the one that designates the P-GW 32”), and
in a case where the position information is second position information, acquire fourth connection destination information associated with the second position information as the second connection destination information (based on position (second country) of MS 20, HSS 31 acquires appropriate connection destination information (~APN corresponding to a second PG-W of a second mobile communication network) related to the position (see [0017] and [0027-0031]); claim 4, “first communication carrier is a carrier in a first country, and the second carrier is a carrier in a second country different from the first country”; [0013], a country Y different from the country X; [0017], “MS 20 outputs an attach request. The attach request includes, for example, identification information recorded in the SIM 29 and an APN (Access Point Name). This identification information is, for example, IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity), and includes MCC (Mobile Country code), MNC (Mobile Network code), and MSIN (Mobile Subscriber Identification Number). The MCC is a code that identifies a country”; [0027-0031], The MS 20 outputs an attach request. This attach request is transmitted from the MS 20 to the MME 14 via the eNB 11 (step S201) ... When receiving the attach request, the MME 14 selects a transmission destination of the attach request using the identification information included in the attach request. The MME 14 or the like is set so that the attach request from the mobile communication terminal into which the SIM issued by the operator B in Y country is inserted is transmitted to the HSS 31 by the contract between the operator A and the operator C. The MME 14 transmits a location registration request to the HSS 31 (step S202). This location registration request includes location information of the MS 20 (~in a case where the position information is second position information) and identification information of the SIM 29 ... HSS 31 receives the location registration request. When receiving the location registration request, the HSS 31 transmits an authentication request to the HSS (HSS 25 in this example) of the operator (in this example, the operator B) specified by the identification information recorded in the SIM 29 (step S203). ) ... HSS 25 transmits an authentication response including the authentication result to the HSS 31 ... HSS 31 receives the authentication response ... the HSS 31 sends an authentication response to which the information (APN notification) specifying the P-GW 32 as the APN is added to the MME 14 ... The information specifying the APN may be a character string such as a domain name indicating the APN itself (~acquire fourth connection destination information associated with the first position information as the second connection destination information) ... Upon receiving this command, the MME 14 transmits the received information and authentication response to the MS 20 (step S207) ... MS 20 receives information specifying an APN and an authentication response. When the authentication result included in the authentication response indicates that the user of the SIM 29 is authenticated as valid, the MS 20 sets (changes) the APN to the one specifying the P-GW 32”; [0024], “HSS 31 includes a reception unit 311, a request unit 312, and a processing unit 313. The receiving unit 311 receives a location registration request (roaming request) from the MS 20. The request unit 312 requests authentication of the identification number recorded in the SIM 29 to the HSS (HSS 25 in this example) managed by the business operator that issued the SIM 29 inserted in the MS 20. When the identification number is authenticated in the HSS 25, the processing unit 313 performs processing for establishing a bearer from the MS 20 to the P-GW 32. Here, the process for establishing a communication path from the MS 20 to the P-GW 32 is, for example, a process of changing the APN from the one that designates the P-GW 23 to the one that designates the P-GW 32”).
Regarding Claim 12, Takatsu teaches a communication management method to be executed by a communication management server ([0015], “HSS (Home Subscriber Server) 15 ... The HSS 15 is an example of a subscriber information database, and manages authentication information and location information (location information)”), the method comprising:
receiving first connection destination information being information about a first connection destination to which user equipment requests connection ([0027], “MS 20 outputs an attach request. This attach request is transmitted from the MS 20 to the MME 14 via the eNB 11 (step S201)”; [0017], “MS 20 outputs an attach request. The attach request includes, for example, identification information recorded in the SIM 29 and an APN (Access Point Name) ... APN is an identifier that specifies a connection destination in data communication, and is described in a domain name format such as “abc.bb.yy”, for example. The APN is stored in advance in the MS 20. This attach request is transmitted from the MS 20 to the MME 14 via the eNB 11 (~control apparatus)( (step S101)”), and
position information of the user equipment, from a control apparatus configured to control connection of the user equipment ([0027], “MME 14 transmits a location registration request to the HSS (~control apparatus) 31 (step S202). This location registration request includes location information of the MS 20 and identification information of the SIM 29”);
acquiring second connection destination information being information about a connection destination of the user equipment associated with the position information ([0028], “HSS 31 receives the location registration request. When receiving the location registration request, the HSS 31 transmits an authentication request to the HSS (HSS 25 in this example) of the operator (in this example, the operator B)”; [0030], “HSS 31 receives the authentication response ... the HSS 31 sends an authentication response to which the information (APN notification) specifying (~acquire) the P-GW 32 as the APN is added (~second connection destination information about a connection destination of the user equipment associated with the position information (~location)) to the MME 14. Transmit (step S206). The information specifying the APN may be a character string such as a domain name indicating the APN itself”), and
determining whether the second connection destination information is different from the first connection destination information (HSS 31 (~communication management server) determines for it to send an authentication response which specifies the APN is added and changed (~second connection destination information is different from the first connection destination information); [0030-0031], “HSS 31 sends an authentication response to which the information (APN notification) specifying the P-GW 32 as the APN is added to the MME 14. Transmit (step S206). The information specifying the APN may be a character string such as a domain name indicating the APN itself ... Upon receiving this command, the MME 14 transmits the received information and authentication response to the MS 20 (step S207) ... MS 20 receives information specifying an APN and an authentication response. When the authentication result included in the authentication response indicates that the user of the SIM 29 is authenticated as valid, the MS 20 sets (changes) the APN to the one specifying the P-GW 32 (step S208)”); and
transmitting the second connection destination information to the control apparatus in a case where the second connection destination information is different from the first connection destination information ([0030], “HSS 31 sends an authentication response to which the information (APN notification) specifying the P-GW 32 as the APN is added to the MME (~control apparatus) 14”, wherein HSS 31 (~communication management server) determines for it to send an authentication response which specifies the APN is added and changed (~second connection destination information is different from the first connection destination information)).
Regarding Claim 18, Takatsu teaches the communication management server ([0015], “HSS (Home Subscriber Server) 15 ... The HSS 15 is an example of a subscriber information database, and manages authentication information and location information (location information)”) according to claim 7,
wherein the position information is information about a position registration area of a base station that accommodates the user equipment ([0027], “MS 20 outputs an attach request. This attach request is transmitted from the MS 20 to the MME 14 via the eNB 11 (step S201) ... MME 14 transmits a location registration request to the HSS 31 (step S202). This location registration request includes location (~position) information of the MS 20 and identification information of the SIM 29”, wherein the location (~position) information is information about a location (~position) registration area of eNB 11 that accommodates the MS (~user equipment) 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takatsu in view of Kim (US 2019/0349742 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Takatsu teaches the communication management server ([0015], “HSS (Home Subscriber Server) 15 ... The HSS 15 is an example of a subscriber information database, and manages authentication information and location information (location information)”) according to claim 8,
wherein the first position information indicates that the user equipment belongs to a predetermined network (MNC country information (~first position information) indicates a corresponding mobile communication network (~predetermined network) (see claim 4, [0013-0014], [0017], [0027-0031], and [0024]); [0013], “a country Y different from the country X”; [0013], “The mobile communication network 1 is a system for providing a mobile communication service in country X, and is managed by the operator A; [0014], “mobile communication network 1 includes an eNB (evolved Node B) 11, an S-GW (Serving Gateway) 12, a P-GW (Packet data network Gateway) 13, an MME (Mobility Management Entity) 14, and an HSS (Home Subscriber Server) 15. Have The eNB 11 is an example of a radio base station, and is a node that relays communication between the MS 20 and the core network), and
the second position information indicates that the user equipment belongs to a public network (MNC country information (~second position information) indicates a corresponding mobile communication network (~public network) (see claim 4, [0013-0014], [0017], [0027-0031], and [0024]); [0013], “a country Y different from the country X”; [0013], “The mobile communication network 2 is a system for providing a mobile communication service in a country Y different from the country X, and is managed by the operator B”; [0016], “mobile communication network 2 includes an eNB 21, an S-GW 22, a P-GW 23, an MME 24, and an HSS 25. These functions are the same as those of the eNB 11, the S-GW 12, the P-GW 13, the MME 14, and the HSS 15”)
Takatsu does not explicitly teach that the predetermined network is a predetermined closed network.
However, Kim teaches a predetermined closed network ([0127], “provide to the UE, based on local configuration about LADN (~Local Area Data Network), on UE location and on UE subscription information received from the UDM about subscribed DNN, the LADN Information for the LADNs available to the UE in that Registration Area in the Registration Accept message”; [0118], “access to a DN via a PDU Session for a LADN is only available in a specific LADN service area”; [0120], “usage of LADN DNN requires an explicit subscription to this DNN”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kim with the teaching of Takatsu in order to provide localized, high-performance connectivity within a specific, restricted geographic area, ensuring secure, low-latency, and high-bandwidth access for specific services within the area.
Regarding Claim 17, Takatsu teaches the communication management server ([0015], “HSS (Home Subscriber Server) 15 ... The HSS 15 is an example of a subscriber information database, and manages authentication information and location information (location information)”) according to claim 8.
Takatsu does not explicitly teach wherein a first communication service to be provided to the user equipment by a network indicated by the third connection destination information and a second communication service to be provided to the user equipment by a network indicated by the fourth connection destination information are different communication services.
However, Kim teaches wherein a first communication service to be provided to a user equipment by a network indicated by a connection destination information and a second communication service to be provided to the user equipment by a network indicated by another connection destination information are different communication services ([0126], For each LADN DNN configured in the AMF, the corresponding LADN service area information includes a set of Tracking Areas that belong to the current Registration Area of the UE (i.e. the intersection of the LADN service area and the current Registration Area)”; [0131-0132], “a) When the UE is out of a LADN service area, the UE: does not request to activate UP connection of a PDU Session for this LADN DNN (~connection destination information)”; wherein, a communication service of LADN DNN (~connection destination information) and a communication service of non-LADN DNN are different communication services (~[0131], ”UE is out of a LADN service area”)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kim with the teaching of Takatsu in order to facilitate specialized service delivery, improve efficiency through network resource optimization, and enable seamless service continuity across different access technologies.
Regarding Claim 19, Takatsu teaches the communication management server ([0015], “HSS (Home Subscriber Server) 15 ... The HSS 15 is an example of a subscriber information database, and manages authentication information and location information (location information)”) according to claim 7,
wherein the communication management server is a server ([0015], “HSS (Home Subscriber Server) 15 ... The HSS 15 is an example of a subscriber information database, and manages authentication information and location information (location information)”).
Takatsu does not explicitly teach that the server is according to Unified Data Management (UDM) of 5G standard.
However, Kim teaches a server according to Unified Data Management (UDM) of 5G standard ([0127], “UE location and on UE subscription information received from the UDM about subscribed DNN”, wherein the UDM is a critical, standardized network function within the 3GPP 5G Core (5GC) architecture. It acts as a cloud-native replacement for the Home Subscriber Server (HSS), managing user data, authentication, and subscription profiles).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kim with the teaching of Takatsu in order to centralize subscriber, policy, and session data, replacing fragmented 4G legacy systems to improve efficiency, security, and flexibility, and thus reducing operational costs and enabling faster, secure service deployment.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER J YI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643