DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application: Claims 1-9, 12-20, 45, AND 47 are present for examination at this time.
Claims 1-8, 13-19, 45, and 47 are rejected.
Please refer to Forms 892 of record in this application and/or submitted IDSes to resolve any possible discrepancies in the listed reference numbers, titles, and/or author or inventor names.
Applicant is reminded that claim mapping is provided as a courtesy to the applicant, but applicant should consider a reference as a whole, as the entire reference gives context to mapped sections.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for foreign/domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119/120 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 3/17/2026 has/have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 12, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1-8, 13-19, 45, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by “Methods For Indicating Polarization Capabilities Of User Equipment In A Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN)”, by Liberg, WO2021/05567 (“Liberg”).
With regard to Claims 1, 13, 45, and 47 Liberg discloses, an information transmission method, performed by a first base station (Liberg at page 8 ll. 30-32 and Liberg at page 1 line 32-page 2 line 3 “As specified by 3GPP, E-UTRAN 100 is responsible for all radio-related functions in the network, including radio bearer control, radio admission control, radio mobility control, scheduling, and dynamic allocation of resources to UEs (e.g., UE 120) in uplink and downlink, as well as security of the communications with UEs. These functions reside in the eNBs, such as eNBs 105, 110, and 115. Each of the eNBs can serve a geographic coverage area including one more cells, including cells 106, 111, and 116 served by eNBs 105, 110, and 115, respectively.” )
and comprising: sending first polarization configuration information to a first user equipment (UE) (Liberg at page 17 ll 27-32 where the UE receives from the network node, i.e., the eNB which is a type of base station, indication of the polarization capabilities of the first cell) , wherein the first polarization configuration information is configured to indicate an antenna polarization configuration associated with a data transmission (Id. and for the same reason and page 2 ll. 10-14 where the information is data flowing between the eNB and the UEs).
Differences in Claim 13: Claim 13 is a broader version of claim 1, and is read on with the same art.
Claims 45 and 47 are the apparatuses with a processor, memory, and instructions that execute the steps of claims 1 and 13 respectively. This is disclosed in Liberg at page 24 ll. 8-28
“Processing circuitry 870 can comprise a combination of one or more of a microprocessor, controller, microcontroller, central processing unit, digital signal processor, application-specific integrated circuit, field programmable gate array, or any other suitable computing device, resource, or combination of hardware, software and/or encoded logic operable to provide various functionality of network node 860, either alone or in conjunction with other network node 860 components (e.g., device readable medium 880). Such functionality can include any of the various wireless features, functions, or benefits discussed herein.
For example, processing circuitry 870 can execute instructions stored in device readable medium 880 or in memory within processing circuitry 870. In some embodiments, processing circuitry 870 can include a system on a chip (SOC). As a more specific example, instructions (also referred to as a computer program product) stored in medium 880 can include instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry 870, can configure network node 860 to perform operations corresponding to various exemplary methods (e.g., procedures) described herein.”
wherein the method further comprises:
receiving second polarization configuration information from at least one second UE (“In some embodiments, the network can control radio resources for the UE based on the UE’s indicated polarization capabilities. In other words, the network can control radio resources differently for UEs that indicate different polarization capabilities, such as different types, different supported polarization modes, different supported polarization correspondence, and/or different numbers of antenna panels and associated polarization modes” page 15:12-16, emphasis added. This is a repetition of steps. One of ordinary skill in the art would read the following paragraph and understand that the techniques of Liberg are not single use, and that the system performs the polarization estimation techniques for multiple UEs in the system.):
determining an antenna polarization capability of the at least one second UE according to the second polarization configuration information (“In some embodiments, the transmitting and/or receiving operations in block 630 can include the operations of sub-blocks 631-633. In sub-block 631, the UE can receive a downlink signal or channel in the first cell according to a first polarization mode. In sub-block 632, the UE can determine a second polarization mode for an uplink signal or channel based on the first polarization mode and between uplink and downlink signals that is indicated as supported by the UE (e.g., in block 620). In sub-block 633, the UE can transmit the uplink signal or channel in the first cell according to the second polarization mode.” Page 18: 15-21);
determining the antenna polarization configuration based on the antenna polarization capability reported by the at least one second UE in a cell associated with the first base station (“In some embodiments, the transmitting and/or receiving operations in block 630 can include the operations of sub-blocks 631-633. In sub-block 631, the UE can receive a downlink signal or channel in the first cell according to a first polarization mode. In sub-block 632, the UE can determine a second polarization mode for an uplink signal or channel based on the first polarization mode and between uplink and downlink signals that is indicated as supported by the UE (e.g., in block 620). In sub-block 633, the UE can transmit the uplink signal or channel in the first cell according to the second polarization mode.” Page 18: 15-21);
wherein receiving the second polarization configuration information from the at least one second UE comprises:
receiving a second initial access message carrying the second polarization configuration information from the at least one second UE (“In some embodiments, a network can bar UEs (e.g., of a particular type or capability) that do not support polarization correspondence or polarization modes indicated by the network (e.g., broadcast as system information in a cell) from accessing a cell. This barring can apply to all UEs of a particular type, and/or to all UEs lacking a particular capability. Such an access restriction can apply to one or more cells, e.g., a single cell, all cells in a tracking area, all cells in a PLMN, etc. Such an access restriction can be valid for a configured duration, until removed, or indefinitely.” Page 16: 20-26 and
“The exemplary method illustrated in Figure 6 can include the operations of block 610, where the UE can send, to a network node, an indication of one or more polarization capabilities of the UE. The exemplary method can also include the operations of block 630, where the UE can transmit and/or receive one or more signals or channels in a first cell of the NTN according to the indicated polarization capabilities of the UE.” page 17:11-15).
With regard to Claims 2 and 14 Liberg discloses, the method according to claim 1 (and related Claim 13), wherein the first polarization configuration information is configured to indicate at least one of: an antenna polarization configuration for a downlink data transmission; or an antenna polarization configuration for an uplink data transmission (Liberg at page 2 ll 10-14 where the information is data flowing between the eNB and the UEs).
With regard to Claims 3 and 17 Liberg discloses, the method according to claim 1 (and related Claim 13), wherein the antenna polarization configuration comprises at least one of: linear polarization; left hand circular polarization (LHCP); right hand circular polarization (RHCP); or circular polarization (Liberg at page 5 line 25 through page 6 line where the system can send information about many types of polarization).
With regard to Claims 4 and 18 Liberg discloses, the method according to claim 1 (and related Claim 13), wherein sending the first polarization configuration information to the first UE comprises one of: sending a main information block (MIB) carrying the first polarization configuration information to the first UE (Liberg at page 17 line 33-page 18 line 2 where the configuration information can be in an MIB) ; sending a system message carrying the first polarization configuration information to the first UE; sending a high-layer signaling carrying the first polarization configuration information to the first UE; sending a first initial access message carrying the first polarization configuration information to the first UE; or sending a physical layer signaling carrying the first polarization configuration information to the first UE. Also see Liberg at page 6 ll. 4-7 for further support of the notion that a second network node could perform this function , as it is not limited to just one node in the system.
With regard to Claims 5 and 19 Liberg discloses, the method according to claim 4 (and related Claim 18), wherein the first polarization configuration information is configured to indicate antenna polarization configurations of one or more service beams (Liberg at page 13 ll. 25-30 “For example, in an NTN, there may be UEs with different antenna types. Some UEs may be equipped with linearly polarized antennas, while some other UEs may be equipped with circularly polarized antennas. On the other hand, satellite transmitters typically use circular polarization. However, a UE (such as the device shown in Figure 4A) that is unaware that a particular satellite (or cell/spotbeam) is associated with a specific polarization mode will not adapt its receiver accordingly” and page 15 ll. 26-29 “For example, if the UE indicates support for a particular polarization mode (e.g., LHCP), the network node can select a cell (or spotbeam) supporting the indicated polarization mode for handing over the UE, or as a secondary cell for the UE.”)
With regard to Claim 6 Liberg discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining an antenna polarization configuration of a cell associated with the first base station based on an antenna polarization configuration of a cell associated with a second base station in response to the cell associated with the first base station having overlapping coverage areas with the cell associated with the second base station. (Liberg at page 15 line 30 – page 16 line “In some cases, a network node may communicate with a UE supporting multiple polarization modes using multiple beams, e.g., one configured for RHCP and one for LHCP. In one example, the UE may be in an overlapping region between two spotbeams where the UE could experience similar signal strength in the two spot beams. Considering the example illustrated by Figures 4A-B, a UE can be near the overlapping region of spotbeams 1 and 2, which are both on carrier frequency FA but on different polarization modes (e.g., PA in spotbeam 1, PB in spotbeam 2). In this scenario, the UE can benefit from receiving PDSCH concurrently from both spotbeams 1 and 2. For example, this can enable the UE to receive two layers of data, with one scheduled on each PDSCH. To facilitate this capability, a UE can be equipped with two antenna panels, with one being arranged to receive PA (e.g., from spotbeam 1) and the other being arranged to receive PB (e.g., from spotbeam 2).”)
With regard to Claim 7 Liberg discloses the method according to claim 6, further comprising: receiving, from the second base station, indication information indicating the antenna polarization configuration of the cell associated with the second base station. (Liberg page 1 ll. 25-30 “An overall exemplary architecture of a network comprising LTE and SAE is shown in Figure1. E-UTRAN 100 includes one or more evolved Node B’s (eNB), such as eNBs 105, 110, and 115, and one or more user equipment (UE), such as UE 120. As used within the 3GPP standards, “user equipment” or “UE” means any wireless communication device (e.g, smartphone or computing device) that is capable of communicating with 3GPP-standard-compliant network equipment, including E-UTRAN as well as UTRAN and/or GERAN, as the third-generation (“3G”) and second-generation (“2G”) 3GPP RANs are commonly known.”
and
Liberg page 2 ll. 6-13 “The eNBs in the E-UTRAN communicate with each other via the X2 interface, as shown in Figure 1. The eNBs also are responsible for the E-UTRAN interface to the EPC 130, specifically the SI interface to the Mobility Management Entity (MME) and the Serving Gateway (SGW), shown collectively as MME/S-GWs 134 and 138 in Figure 1. In general, the MME/S- GW handles both the overall control of the UE and data flow between the UE and the rest of the EPC. More specifically, the MME processes the signaling ( e.g ., control plane) protocols between the UE and the EPC, which are known as the Non-Access Stratum (NAS) protocols. The SGW handles all Internet Protocol (IP) data packets (e.g., data or user plane) between the UE and the EPC and serves as the local mobility anchor for the data bearers when UE 120 moves between eNBs, such as eNBs 105, 110, and 115.” )
With regard to Claim 8 Liberg discloses, the method according to claim 7, wherein receiving, from the second base station, the indication information indicating the antenna polarization configuration of the cell associated with the second base station comprises at least one of: receiving the indication information via an inter-base-station interface; or receiving the indication information via an inter-satellite communication link (ISL) associated with the first base station (Liberg at page 18, ll. 38-45 “The communication system of Figure 11 as a whole enables connectivity between the connected UEs 1191, 1192 and host computer 1130. The connectivity can be described as an over-the-top (OTT) connection 1150. Host computer 1130 and the connected UEs 1191, 1192 are configured to communicate data and/or signaling via OTT connection 1150, using access network 1111, core network 1114, any intermediate network 1120 and possible further infrastructure (not shown) as intermediaries. OTT connection 1150 can be transparent in the sense that the participating communication devices through which OTT connection 1150 passes are unaware of routing of uplink and downlink communications. For example, base station 1112 may not or need not be informed about the past routing of an incoming downlink communication with data originating from host computer 1130 to be forwarded ( e.g., handed over) to a connected UE 1191. Similarly, base station 1112 need not be aware of the future routing of an outgoing uplink communication originating from the UE 1191 towards the host computer 1130.” where the information for communicating configuration information to the eNBs is the same interface, OTT which is an inter-base station interface).
With regard to Claim 15 Liberg discloses, the method according to claim 14, further comprising: determining the antenna polarization configuration for the downlink data transmission as the antenna polarization configuration for the uplink data transmission (Liberg at page 5 ll. 25-30 “In various embodiments, the indicated polarization capabilities of the UE can include any of the following:• a UE type (e.g., associated with mandatory support of such polarization capabilities); • one or more polarization modes supported by the UE; • a polarization correspondence between uplink and downlink signals that is supported by the UE;”.
Response to Arguments
Examiner has read and considered Applicants’ arguments, and finds them to be unpersuasive. Applicants' arguments involve discussing why the previously cited prior art documents fail to disclose the amended limitations. Liberg, discloses the amendments, The applicability of the reference to the amended elements is discussed in the claim rejections above. Applicant argues at page 10 of their remarks that second polarization information for a second UE, a limitation, which when given a broadest reasonable interpretation, means that the system can determine a polarization for more than one UE in the system. This argument is not persuasive. First, Liberg, at no section indicates that this is a single use method for only one user equipment in the system. Second, Liberg discloses that the techniques therein are used for UEs (user equipments), plural, in the system, not just one UE. Applicant’s other argument is that the process as disclosed in Liberg does not take place in an initial access message as required by the claim. This too is unpersuasive. Figures 6 and 7 of Liberg alone disclose polarization messaging as the first, i.e., initial, step in the process.
Documents considered but not relied upon
“Polarization Beamforming Communication Method And Apparatus” by Bahng et al., US2016/0302082A1
¶15 reads on the amendments, specifically, at least the limitation that the process is performed on a second UE and that there is an initial access message.
“[0015] According to another exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the polarization beamforming communication method of a base station including a plurality of dual polarization antennas is provided. The polarization beamforming communication method includes estimating the azimuth and polarization of each of terminals using the reference signal of a terminal received through the plurality of dual polarization antennas, determining a stream to be transmitted based on the azimuth and polarization of the terminal, and sending the stream to be transmitted to the terminal through a polarization-matched beam formed in accordance with each of the plurality of dual polarization antennas using the azimuth and polarization of the terminal.” ¶15
“UE Capability Reporting For Dual-Polarization Wireless Communication” by Chakraborty US2018/0063693A1
Figure 6 and the paragraphs describing it, disclose the notion of a UE initially reporting its polarization configuration as part of initial cell access as in the independent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSHUA SCHWARTZ whose telephone number is (571)270-7494. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:30-5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuwen “Kevin” Pan can be reached at 571-272-7855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JOSHUA L SCHWARTZ/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649