DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 13, 16, 87 have been amended. The status of claims 1-16, 87-90 remains pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 4, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the 102 rejection of claim 1, the Applicant argued that “Xi does not teach this base station-side beam determination. Rather, Xi teaches a UE-side default beam assumption mechanism. In Xi, when a scheduling offset is below a threshold, the WTRU (not the base station) "may assume a default QCL/spatial filter/beam" for receiving the PDSCH (Xi, 1 [0117]). Xi's base station simply transmits on the indicated beam; Xi's WTRU independently decides whether to receive using the indicated beam or a default beam based on whether the WTRU has sufficient time to switch beams.
This is a fundamental architectural distinction. In Xi's framework, there is a potential mismatch between the beam on which the base station transmits and the beam on which the UE receives when the UE applies its default beam assumption. Xi addresses this by having the UE fall back to a default reception beam when timing is insufficient as a UE-side adaptation strategy.
In contrast, claim 1 requires the base station to actively determine the actual beam for each transmission and then perform the transmission using that determined actual beam. This ensures coordination between the transmission beam and the reception beam. The base station's determination of the "actual beam" allows the base station to account for UE timing constraints before transmission, rather than relying on the UE to independently apply a fallback beam assumption at reception.
Because Xi teaches only a UE-side default beam assumption, and not a base station determining and transmitting on a respective actual beam for each downlink transmission, Xi does not anticipate claim 1. Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection. Claims 11-15 recite subject matter parallel to claims 1-5 from the UE perspective. Claim 11 recites the UE "determining a respective actual beam for each of the plurality of downlink transmissions" and "receiving a respective downlink transmission of the plurality of downlink transmissions using the determined respective actual beam."
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments as stated above because initial the base station scheduling the UE on the PDCCH via a DCI that indicates beams (e.g., initial and new beam indications) for DSCH transmissions (section 0087, 0110-0111).
The act of determining a respective actual beam for each of the plurality of downlink transmissions” is collaborative act that is jointly performed between the base station and the UE because the UE first receive the DCI indicating the potentially beams that can be used for data transmissions (section 0184-0185, 0117).
Xi contemplates the base station/network that can determine the beam to be used PDSCH/NR-PDSCH transmission to a WTRU (section 0185, 0200-0202) as evidence by the one or more TCI states associated with DL beams (section 0189).
Moreover, Xi further discloses threshold values in relation to scheduled slots with respect to the WTRU receiving scheduling in a DCI (section 0116-0118), and indicated beams in the aggregation Factor DL slots are from same TRP/base station or different TRPs (section 0123).
In view of the reasons and analysis, it is clear that the base station/TRP determines the beams to be used for data transmissions.
The rejection is respectfully maintained as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xi et al (US 2020/0288479 A1, IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Xi et al (US 2020/0288479 A1) discloses an electronic device(noted: the base station may comprise a processor in association with software/computer-readable readable medium for use in the base station, noted: the abse station may be a transceiver, controller or implicitly processor by virtue of transmitting and processing of receive signals from the WTRU, section 0022, 00360220) used at a base station (fig. 1A to fig. 1C, see, base station/eNodeB 114 that is coupled to a WTRU 102), section 0021-0024), the electronic device comprising: processing circuitry (noted: the base station may comprise a processor in association with software/computer-readable readable medium for use in the base station, section 0220) configured to perform operations of: sending a single DCI to a user equipment (UE) (fig. 4, fig. 8, see, the single DCI that schedules multiple PDSHs with scheduling offset and Beam indication to the WRTU 102, section 0116-0120) , the single DCI used for scheduling a plurality of downlink transmissions associated with the UE (fig. 4, see, the single DCI that schedules multi-slots PDSCHs, and beam indication (i.e., default beam), section 0116-0118) , the single DCI indicating a respective scheduled beam for each of the plurality of downlink transmissions (fig. 4, see, one beam per PDSCH slot, there are three PDSCHs associated with beams via a DCI, section 0116-0118, 0120-for the PDSCH, the CQL reference is dynamically indicated by the TCI field in the DCI); determining a respective actual beam for each of the plurality of downlink transmissions (see, the WTRU obtains and applied the indicated in relation to the multi-slot PDCSH including applying a default beam, and an indicated beam may be used for each PDSCH section 0116-0118); and performing a respective downlink transmission of the plurality of downlink transmissions using the determined respective actual beam (fig. 4, shows the WTRU uses the PDCHS via the indicated beam in the DCI and TCI, section 0117-0119, 00136-the use of the indicated beam by the UE).
Regarding claim 2, Xi ‘479 discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein: each of the plurality of downlink transmissions is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (fig. 4, see, multiple PDSCHs , see, M candidate states used for PDSCH reception, section 0181): or each of the plurality of downlink transmissions is an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (AP CSI-RS) transmission (section 0181, see, each aperiodic-CSI-RS (AP-CSI-RS) resource associated with each triggering state in relation to PDSCH reception).
Regarding claim 3, Xi ‘479 discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein determining the respective actual beam comprises: determining, based on a first parameter associated with a capability of the UE (see, for default beam determination, in certain configurations, parameter or variable Threshold-Sched-Offset may be determined by a reported WTRU capability, section 0123-0124), that the respective actual beams for each of the plurality of downlink transmissions are a same beam (see, fig. 4, see, beam 402 or the indicated beam associated with the PDSCHs may be the same or identical by virtue of the aggregation factor DL consecutive slots are from the same TRP, section 0123).
Regarding claim 4, Xi ‘479 discloses the electronic device of claim 3, wherein determining the respective actual beam further comprises: determining a respective default beam that is associated with an earliest downlink transmission of the plurality of downlink transmissions as said same beam (fig. 4, see, beam 402 in the first scheduled slots of the PDSCHS, the WTRU may use the default beam for substantially all scheduled slots, section 0115-0116).
Regarding claim 5, Xi ‘479 discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein determining the respective actual beam comprises: determining, based on a second parameter associated with a capability of the UE (see, for default beam determination, in certain configurations, parameter or variable Threshold-Sched-Offset may be determined by a reported WTRU capability, section 0123-0124), that respective actual beams for each of the plurality of downlink transmissions include different beams (fig. 4, 406 beam, section 0115-0118, the multi-slot PDSCH, the WTRU applies a default beam for PDSCH reception and the indicated beam for all subsequent scheduled slots).
Regarding claim 10, Xi ‘479 discloses a method executed at a base station (fig. 4, fig. 8, see, the WTRU receives of DCI scheduling PDSCHs with scheduling offset and beam indication from the base station, section 0021, 0023, 0093, 00107, 016-0019 , fig. 1B, the WTRU 102 comprises a processor 118 coupled to transceiver 120, the WTRU uses the transceiver to receive and transmit signals from the base station, section 0034-043, comprising:
sending a single DCI to a user equipment (UE) (fig. 4, fig. 8, see, the single DCI that schedules multiple PDSHs with scheduling offset and Beam indication to the WRTU 102, section 0116-0120) , the single DCI used for scheduling a plurality of downlink transmissions associated with the UE (fig. 4, see, the single DCI that schedules multi-slots PDSCHs, and beam indication (i.e., default beam), section 0116-0118) , the single DCI indicating a respective scheduled beam for each of the plurality of downlink transmissions (fig. 4, see, one beam per PDSCH slot, there are three PDSCHs associated with beams via a DCI, section 0116-0118, fig. 4, see, one beam per PDSCH slot, there are three PDSCHs associated with beams via a DCI, section 0116-0118, 0120-for the PDSCH, the CQL reference is dynamically indicated by the TCI field in the DCI); determining a respective actual beam for each of the plurality of downlink transmissions (see, the WTRU obtains and applied the indicated in relation to the multi-slot PDCSH including applying a default beam, an indicated beam may be used for each PDSCH section 0116-0118); and performing a respective downlink transmission of the plurality of downlink transmissions using the determined respective actual beam (fig. 4, shows the WTRU receives of the PDCHS via the indicated beam in the DCI and TCI, section 0117-0119, Abstract-discloses when the scheduling offset of the PDSCH is less than a threshold, a default beam of TCI state may be used to receive the scheduled PDSCH) .
Regarding claim 11, Xi ‘479 discloses an electronic device (fig. 1B, WTRU 102 that includes a processor 118 coupled to transceiver 120, memory 130/132, the WTRU 102 communicates with gNBs/base station 180a, section 0061-0065) used at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1B, the WTRU 102 comprises a processor 118 coupled to transceiver 120, the WTRU uses the transceiver to receive and transmit signals from the base station, section 0034-043), the electronic device comprising: processing circuitry (fig. 1B, the WTRU 102 comprises a processor 118 coupled to transceiver 120, the WTRU uses the transceiver to receive and transmit signals from the base station, section 0034-043) configured to perform operations of: receiving a single DCI (fig. 4, fig. 8, see, the single DCI that schedules multiple PDSHs with scheduling offset and Beam indication to the WRTU 102, section 0116-0120 from a base station (the WTRU uses the transceiver to receive and transmit signals from the base station, section 0034-043, fig. 1A, WTRU 102a coupled to the base station/gNB 114A, section 0021-0024), the single DCI used for scheduling a plurality of downlink transmissions associated with the UE (fig. 4, see, the single DCI that schedules multi-slots PDSCHs, and beam indication (i.e., default beam), for the slot where in the first symbol of the scheduled PDSCH is less than a threshold value, section 0117-0118, noted: for PDSCH, the QCL reference may be dynamically indicated by a TCI field in the DCI, section 0125), the single DCI indicating a respective scheduled beam for each of the plurality of downlink transmissions (fig. 4, see, one beam per PDSCH slot, there are three PDSCHs associated with beams via a DCI, section 0116-0118); determining a respective actual beam for each of the plurality of downlink transmissions (see, the WTRU obtains and applied the indicated in relation to the multi-slot PDCSHS including applying a default beam, section 0116-0118);; and receiving a respective downlink transmission of the plurality of downlink transmissions using the determined respective actual beam (fig. 4, shows the WTRU receives of the PDCHS via the indicated beam in the DCI and TCI, section 0117-0119, section 0117-0119).
Regarding claim 12, Xi ‘479 discloses the electronic device of claim 11, wherein: each of the plurality of downlink transmissions is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission (fig. 4, see, multiple PDSCHs , see, M candidate states used for PDSCH reception, section 0181):: or each of the plurality of downlink transmissions is an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (AP CSI-RS) transmission (section 0181, see, each aperiodic-CSI-RS (AP-CSI-RS) resource associated with each triggering state in relation to PDSCH reception).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), Xi ‘479 discloses the electronic device of claim 11, determining the respective actual beam comprises: wherein determining that the respective actual beams for each of the plurality of downlink transmissions are a same beam (see, fig. 4, see, beam 402 or the indicated beam associated with the PDSCHs may be the same or identical by virtue of the aggregation factor DL consecutive slots are from the same TRP, section 0123).
Regarding claim 14, Xi ‘479 discloses the electronic device of claim 13, wherein determining the respective actual beam further comprises: determining a respective default beam (see, for default beam determination, in certain configurations, parameter or variable Threshold-Sched-Offset may be determined by a reported WTRU capability, section 0123-0124) that is associated with an earliest downlink transmission of the plurality of downlink transmissions as said same beam (fig. 4, see, beam 402 in the first scheduled slots of the PDSCHS, the WTRU may use the default beam for substantially all scheduled slots, section 0115-0116).
Regarding claim 15, Xi ‘479 discloses the electronic device of claim 11, wherein determining the respective actual beam comprises: determining that respective actual beams (see, for default beam determination, in certain configurations, parameter or variable Threshold-Sched-Offset may be determined by a reported WTRU capability, section 0123-0124) for each of the plurality of downlink transmissions include different beams (fig. 4, 406 beam, section 0115-0118, the multi-slot PDSCH, the WTRU applies a default beam for PDSCH reception and the indicated beam for all subsequent scheduled slots, noted: the indicated beam or the beam default are used by WTRU based on a threshold value, section 0116-0117, 0123, 0136 ).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9, 16, 87-90 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fail to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “wherein determining the respective actual beam further comprises: determining, based on a third parameter associated with a capability of the UE, a time threshold; determining, from the plurality of downlink transmissions, a first set of downlink transmissions that are scheduled before the time threshold and a second set of downlink transmissions that are scheduled after the time threshold; for each downlink transmission in the first set of downlink transmissions, using a default beam, instead of the respective scheduled beam as indicated by the single DCI, as the respective actual beam for that downlink transmission; and for each downlink transmission in the second set of downlink transmissions, using the respective scheduled beam as indicated by the single DCI as the respective actual beam for that downlink transmission” recited in claim 6.
The closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fail to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “wherein determining the respective actual beam further comprises: determining, based on a parameter reported by the UE indicating a duration required for the UE to prepare a scheduled beam indicated by the single DCI, a time threshold; determining, from the plurality of downlink transmissions, a first set of downlink transmissions that are scheduled before the time threshold and a second set of downlink transmissions that are scheduled after the time threshold; for each downlink transmission in the first set of downlink transmissions, using a default beam instead of the respective scheduled beam as indicated by the single DCI, as the respective actual beam for that downlink transmission” recited in claim 16.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473