DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In regards to claim 4, “boron nitride pieces” are being interpreted as a piece or section of a boron nitride particle that is within the agglomerate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ashiba (JP2018115275A).
In regards to claim 1, Ashiba teaches a boron nitride powder that is an aggregate of boron nitride particles (Para. 0006, “As a method for reducing the anisotropy of the thermal conductivity of hexagonal boron nitride and improving its thermal conductivity in the thickness direction, it has been proposed to use secondary agglomerated particles (boron nitride agglomerated particles) formed by agglomerating primary particles of hexagonal boron nitride”). In regards to the nitride powder being crushed and having a ratio of the average value of displacement amounts to an average particles diameter of 0.20 or more, Ashiba teaches that the boron nitride particles are not crushed and are compressed to a 30% particle size displacement at a load rate of 0.67 mN/second [0142-0143]. Therefore, the ratio of the average value of the amount of displacement of the boron nitride particles in the direction where load is applied before the particle is crushed to the average particle size of the boron nitride powder is greater than 0.3, which is greater than the 0.20 ratio as required by the claim.
In regards to claim 2, Ashiba teaches that the average value of the displacement amount is 14 µm or more. Ashiba teaches an average particle diameter of 70 µm (Para. 0149, “Example 2 (1) Preparation of Boron Nitride Agglomerated Particles 2 Boron nitride primary particles having an average major axis of 3.3 μm and an aspect ratio of 12.7 were agglomerated by a spray-drying method to an average particle diameter of 70 μm”). When the particles are at 30% compression, the particle displacement is calculated to be 21 µm, which fulfills the claim of the average displacement amount being at least 14 µm or more.
In regards to claim 4, Ashiba teaches a boron nitride powder where the boron nitride particle is composed of a plurality of boron nitride pieces, and the pieces of boron nitride are chemically bonded to each other. For example, the figure in Ashiba as shown below has a boron nitride particle (12) that can be thought of as two pieces, a top and bottom half, wherein the top and bottoms halves of the boron nitride particle are chemically bonded to each other.
In regards to claim 5, Ashiba teaches a resin composition comprising the boron nitride powder and a resin (Para. 0006, “The following Patent Documents 1 to 3 disclose resin compositions using agglomerated particles of boron nitride).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashiba (JP2018115275A).
In regards to claim 3, Ashiba teaches that the average value of crushing strength is 8 MPa or higher, where the compressive strength is the amount of strength required before failure (Para. 0029, “There is no particular upper limit to the compressive strength of the agglomerated particles of boron nitride contained in the hardenable material when compressed to 30%. The boron nitride agglomerated particles contained in the hardenable material may have a compressive strength of 15 MPa or less when compressed by 30%”). This presents an overlapping range with the instant claim and overlapping ranges are prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
/JAANZEB C RAJA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736