DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9, 11, 13, and 16-24, submitted 19 February 2026, are pending in the application. Claims 16-24 are withdrawn. Claims 1-9, 11, and 13 are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9, 11, and 13, as well as the elected species,
, in the reply filed on 19 February 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 16-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species or Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 19 February 2026.
The Examiner did not find prior art on the elected species, therefore, the elected species is free of the art. However, in the search of the claimed species, prior art which reads on the genus and subsequent compounds of the claimed invention was found. As detailed in the following art rejection, the generic claim encompassing the elected species was not found patentable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11,and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hallberg et al. (WO 02/096883).
Hallberg teaches a genus, shown below, which reads on the limitations taught by claim 1 of the instant application. Hallberg teaches a similar compound to that of the Applicant when X1 = -C(R1)-, wherein R1 = H; X2 = -N-; X3 = -C(R2)-,wherein R2 = H; X4 = -C(R3)-, wherein R3 = H; Y1, Y2, Y3, and Y4 = -CH- or -CF-; Z1 = -CH=CH-, -CH-, -O-, -N-, or -S-; Z2 = -CH-, -O-, -S-, or -N-, provided that Z1 and Z2 are not the same and when Z1 = -CH=CH-, then Z2 must = -CH-; R4 = -S(O)2N(H)C(O)R6, wherein R6 = C1-6 alkyl, C1-6 alkoxy, or C1-6 alkoxy-C1-6 alkyl; and wherein R5 = C1-6 alkyl, C1-6 alkoxy, or C1-6 alkoxy-C1-6 alkyl (pg. 4 and 5, lines 10-23 and 1-19, respectively).
Formula I taught by Hallberg
(pg. 4, Lines 10-15)
The Examiner acknowledges the proviso found in the prior art reference which teaches when X1 = -C(R1)-, X3 = -C(R2)- and X4 = -C(R3)-, R1 = H. However, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the hydrogen of R1 with a methyl (i.e., methylation) to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It is also noted that several decisions recognize the structural obviousness of compounds differing from the prior art merely in the addition of a methyl group (i.e. to replace a hydrogen substituent): In re Grunwell, 203 USPQ 1055; In re Magerlein, 202 USPQ 473; In re Wood, 199 USPQ 137; and In re Lohr, 137 USPQ 548.
With respect to claim 2, Hallberg teaches wherein the Z equivalent atom, when R4 is -S(O)2N(H)C(O)R6, is a C1-6 alkoxy or a C1-6 alkyoxy-C-1-6 alkyl (pg. 5, Lines 9-15) which would make the Z equivalent moiety an oxygen atom reading, in part, on the limitation of claim 2 wherein Z represents -O-. Additionally, the C1-4 alkoxy taught by Hallberg reads on the limitation of instant 5 when R4 is a C1-6 alkyl.
With respect to claim 3, as mentioned above, Hallberg teaches the X--1 moiety being -C(R1)- wherein R1 = H (pg. 4, Lines 15-21). Hallberg does not teach wherein the R1 equivalent could be a methyl. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the hydrogen of R1 with a methyl through the known process of methylation.
Regarding claim 4, Hallberg teaches wherein the X3 and X4 moieties are -C(R2)- and -C(R3)-, respectively wherein R2 and R3 both = H (pg. 4, Lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 6, Hallberg teaches wherein the R5 moiety is either a C1-4 alkyl (pg. 5, Line 12) which reads on the limitation wherein R5 is methyl, ethyl, n-propyl, n-butyl, or isobutyl.
Regarding claim 7, Hallberg teaches wherein Z1 = -CH=CH-, -CH-, -O-, -N-, or -S-; Z2 = -CH-, -O-, -S-, or -N-, provided that Z1 and Z2 are not the same and when Z1 = -CH=CH-, then Z2 must = -CH- (pg. 4-5, Lines 23 and Lines 1-8, respectively). Which reads on the claim limitation wherein X = CH and Y = CH=CH or X = N and Y = S.
With respect to claim 8, Hallberg teaches wherein R5, the R6 equivalent moiety, represents a C1-4 alkyl (pg. 5, Line 12) which reads on the limitations of the instant claim wherein R6 is n-propyl, n-butyl, or isobutyl.
Regarding claim 11, while Hallberg does not exemplify or explicitly teach the compounds of the instantly claimed invention, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have at least arrived the 4 compounds of the instantly claimed invention through the simple substitution of hydrogen for a methyl. For example, the following 4 compounds of the instant claim could be achieved through nothing more than the teachings of Hallberg and methylation of the R1 hydrogen. Compound names have been converted to structures to better convey the teachings of Hallberg.
With respect to claim 13, Hallberg teaches a pharmaceutical formulation comprising a compound of the invention and a pharmaceutically acceptable adjuvant, diluent or carrier (pg. 29, Lines 24-26).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/912,284 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claim 1 of App. No. 17/912,284 is drawn to a genus that renders obvious the instantly rejected claim. Independent claim 1 of ‘284 claims a compound of Formula I, shown below along with limitations, which are patentably indistinct from the genus taught by the Applicant.
Genus taught by ‘284
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The aforementioned claim of ‘284 obviates instant claim 1 because the genus and limitations taught but ‘284 have overlap and can teach identical compounds.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art is Hallberg, which teaches a similar genus and compound to that of the Applicant. However, Hallberg does not teach the R1 moiety, much less an R1 moiety substituted by one or more fluorine atoms and/or with OR7 which would lead to a similar compound as that of the Applicants.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
JUSTIN CHRISTOPHER SANCHEZ
Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622