DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
The specification is objected to because the drawings are indicated by “Figure” rather than “FIG.” as required by 37 C.F.R § 1.84 (u)(1) (see also MPEP § 608.02 (V)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings are indicated by “Figure” rather than “FIG.” as required by 37 C.F.R § 1.84 (u)(1) (see also MPEP § 608.02 (V)). The different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1, independent of the numbering of the sheets and, if possible, in the order in which they appear on the drawing sheet(s). Partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter. View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “FIG.” Where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation “FIG.” must not appear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-14, 16-17, 21, 23, 27, 29, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the inventor was in possession of the claimed genus. See, e.g., Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1340, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2010); University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed. Cir. 1997) at 1406; Juno Therapeutics, Inc. v. Kite Pharma, Inc., 10 F.4th 1330, 1337, 2021 USPQ2d 893 (Fed. Cir. 2021) ("[T]he written description must lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand that the inventor possessed the entire scope of the claimed invention. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1353–54 ('[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor's contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.' (internal quotation marks omitted).").
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014). The issue is whether the skilled artisan would understand inventor to have invented, and been in possession of, the invention as claimed.
The Federal Circuit has clarified the application of the written description requirement to inventions in the field of biotechnology. See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568,43 USPQ2d l398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The Court stated that a written description of an invention requires a precise definition, one that defines the structural features of the chemical genus that distinguishes it from other chemical structures. A definition by function does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the genus does, rather than what it is. Further, the Court held that to adequately describe a claimed genus, an applicant must describe a representative number of species of the claimed genus, and that one of skill in the art should be able to “visualize or recognize the identity of the members of the genus.”
Instant claims 1, 3-14, 16-17, 21, 23, 27, 29, and 31-32 broadly encompasses an immunogenic composition comprising at least one isolated influenza HA stem polypeptide. An immunogenic composition inherently requires the function of immune stimulation/modulation.
Instant claim 17 further recites that the isolated influenza HA stem polypeptide has at least 90% identity, 95% identity, 98% identity, or 99% identity with SEQ ID NOs 1-4.
The Specification defines an ‘isolated influenza HA stem polypeptide’ a polypeptide comprising a full-length influenza HA stem region or an immunogenic fragment or variant of an influenza HA stem region.
The Specification has failed to sufficiently describe the structural features that must be retained by the members of the claimed genus as to establish a structure-function relationship with respect to the vaccine and immune stimulation.
“[A]t least one isolated influenza HA stem polypeptide” encompasses a large pool of variant polypeptides when accounting for immunogenic fragments and variants and the Specification does not adequately describe the necessary epitope that must remain for the fragments and variants to be immunogenic.
An amino acid sequence having at least 90% identity with SEQ ID NOs: 1-4 encompasses a large pool of variant polypeptides when allowing for changes of up to 10% of the amino acid residues.
While the instant claims are drawn to a genus that comprises innumerable permutations of sequences and HA stem polypeptides, the Specification has only adequately described and successfully reduced to practice specific sequences/HA stem polypeptides, SEQ ID NOs: 1-4, 6-9, and 13-16. As such, the Specification reasonably demonstrates that Applicant was in possession of vaccine compositions consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-4, 6-9, and 13-16. However, this is not representative of the extremely large genus of sequences/HA stem polypeptides claimed since these sequences only encompass 4 flu strains and not the innumerable sequences contained within a genus of sequences comprising up to 10% of amino acid substitutions and within a genus of HA stem polypeptides comprising the innumerable fragments and variants thereof.
The data generated for SEQ ID NOs: 1-4, 6-9, and 13-16 described in the Specification cannot reasonably be extrapolated and applied to support possession of the entire claimed genus of variants and fragments because no one species, combination, or variant accounts for the variability amongst the claimed genus. As in Ariad, merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials consisting the genus and showing that one has invented a genus and not just a species. “A patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.” Brenner v. Manson, 383 U.S. 519, 536 (1966).
Gomez Lorenzo, et al. (Chest. 2013 Feb 1;143(2):502-510., hereinafter “Gomez Lorenzo”) provides a review of the state of the art in influenza HA stem vaccines. Influenza vaccine that use the HA stem region do not use portions of this region, rather the intact HA stem region is used (Steps Toward Development of a Universal Influenza Vaccine, pg. 505 column 2). While Applicant may have described fragments or variants of these proteins, as the fragments/variants have not been shown to be immunogenic, these fragments would not reasonably be considered an immunogenic composition.
Accordingly, the claims as currently written are not adequately described and one of skill in the art would readily appreciate that Applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus at the time of filing.
Claims 16-17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 is drawn to a composition, but the claim language includes method and use claims which are not compositions. Use claims are not allowed as well as method claims dependent on composition claims. Deletion of the phrase “or use or method” would fix the stated issue.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the linker" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because the linker is not previously mentioned in claims 1, 6, or 16.
The phrase “an amino acid sequence” in claim 17 is indefinite. The phrase is not defined in the claim or specification. One of ordinary skill would not be able to reasonably ascertain the invention. For example, “A sequence that is at least 90% identical” may include sequences 10 residues long with 9/10 residues being identical to the claimed sequence. “[The] sequence” is the appropriate terminology which would fix the indefiniteness of the claims.
Claim 23 recites the broad recitation at least 0.4 mg, and the claim also recites 0.4 to 9.5 mg which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-14,16-18, 21, 23, 27, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and a(2) as being anticipated by Nabel, et al. (WO 2019/195284 A1, FOR-IDS, filed, 09/22/2023, hereinafter “Nabel”).
Regarding claim 1, Nabel discloses a vaccine comprising an isolated HA stem polypeptide and the AF03 (squalene based) adjuvant (¶0061 and Figure 25A-C).
Regarding claim 3, Nabel discloses administering the HA stem polypeptide and adjuvant vaccine to Cynomolgus Macaques to elicit an immune response (¶0061 and Figure 25A-C).
Regarding claim 4, Nabel discloses that the stem polypeptides are engineered stabilized stem antigens (¶0028).
Regarding claims 6-10, Nabel discloses that the HA stem polypeptide is presented on a ferritin nanoparticle, where the ferritin is H. pylori ferritin or Trichoplusia ferritin (¶0068, ¶0071, ¶0053).
Regarding claims 11-12, Nabel discloses that the composition is composed of two different Influenza A proteins, selected from H1, H3, H7, and H10 (¶0028).
Regarding claims 13-14, Nabel discloses a single nanoparticle with the first HA stem fused with an insect ferritin heavy chain and a second HA stem fused with an insect ferritin light chain (¶00107 and ¶00111-00112)
Regarding claim 16, Nabel discloses a linker which comprises SGG (Table 1 Description and SEQ ID NO: 43).
Regarding claims 17-18, Nabel discloses SEQ ID NO: 43 which comprises an amino acid sequence with 100% identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (SEQ ID NO: 43).
Regarding claims 21, 23, 27, and 29, Nabel discloses using the AS03 adjuvant (¶0208). AS03 consists of squalene, DL-α-tocopherol, and 4.86 mg of polysorbate 801 as evidenced by Yam, et al. (Front Immunol. 2015 Apr 29;6:207.) (pg. 2 column 1).
Regarding claim 31, Nabel discloses administering the HA stem polypeptide and adjutant vaccine to Cynomolgus Macaques to elicit an immune response that is 2-fold higher than the immune response to the vaccine without the adjuvant (¶0061 and Figure 25A-C).
Accordingly, Nabel anticipates the claimed inventions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabel as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 6-14,16-18, 21, 23, 27, 29, and 31 above, and further in view of Impagliazzo, et al. (MY 182440 A, hereinafter “Impagliazzo”).
As discussed above claim 1 is anticipated by Nabel.
Regarding claim 5, Nabel teaches a synthetically stable stem polypeptide. Nabel does not teach that the stabilization is achieved by forming a homotrimer. However, Impagliazzo teaches that protein trimers increase stability of the protein. The native HA of influenza exists as a trimer on the cell surface, but most of the interactions between the monomers are located in the head domain. When the head is removed for HA stem immunogenic compositions, the protein destabilizes and modifications are required to reform the homotrimer which restabilizes the protein (pg. 37 lines 15-20).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Nabel of synthetically stabilized stem polypeptide and the teachings of Impagliazzo of an HA stem synthetically stabilized into a homotrimer. Impagliazzo provides motivation by teaching that the configuration of a homotrimer increases stability as compared to the monomer (pg. 37 lines 15-20). One of skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success at combining Nabel and Impagliazzo because they both teach HA stem influenza vaccines.
Accordingly, the claimed inventions were prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabel as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 6-14,16-18, 21, 23, 27, 29, and 31 above, and further in view of Rueckl, et al. (US 8778275 B2, hereinafter “Rueckl”) and Godeaux, et al. (Vaccine. 2015 Apr 27;33(18):2189-95., hereinafter “Godeaux”).
As discussed above claim 1 is anticipated by Nabel.
Regarding claim 31, Nabel teaches a kit containing the HA stem antigenic polypeptide particle and the squalene adjuvant in a single container (¶00195). Nabel does not teach keeping the antigen and adjuvant in two separate containers. However, Rueckl teaches a kit containing an influenza antigen in one container and the squalene adjuvant in a separate container. These containers can then be stored separately and mixed immediately before administration (¶129).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Nabel of a kit containing the HA stem antigenic polypeptide particle and the squalene adjuvant in a single container and the teachings of Rueckl of a kit containing an influenza antigen and squalene adjuvant in separate containers. Godeaux provides motivation by teaching that the shelf-life for antigens kept separately from adjuvants is longer than the shelf-life for pre-mixed antigens/adjuvants (Discussion ¶3). One of skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success at combining Nabel, Rueckl, and Godeaux because they all teach influenza vaccines.
Accordingly, the claimed inventions were prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pieters, et al. (Chem. Soc. Rev. 2016, 45, 24-39
Pieters teaches proteins forming a homo-oligomeric assembly, like a homotrimer have many benefits including increasing stability (Introduction ¶1).
NO CLAIMS ARE ALLOWED
/CASSANDRA SENN GRIZER/Examiner, Art Unit 1672
/THOMAS J. VISONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1672
1 For claim 27, Examiner is interpreting consists essentially of following guidelines laid out in MPEP 2111.03. Adding D/L-α-tocopherol to the squalene emulsion adjuvant does not materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of the adjuvant as claimed.