DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gad WO 2020/043256 in view of Fernandez Gomez US 9,890,510.
Regarding claim 10, Gad teaches an operations and maintenance arrangement for floating wind turbines, the operations and maintenance arrangement comprising:
a floating sub-structure 104 (foundation can be floating- page 8, lines 28-33) on which at least one wind turbine unit is situated;
a service operation vessel 100 comprising a ship crane 332;
a portable crane 300;
the floating sub-structure having an interface 400 capable of receiving and fixedly locking the portable crane to the floating sub-structure;
wherein the ship crane and the portable crane are operable independently of one another;
wherein the ship crane 332 is capable of lifting the portable crane from the service operation vessel and onto the floating sub-structure; and
a support 124 to receive components to be installed on the wind turbine.
Figure 1- Gad Figure 3
Gad does not teach that the support comprises an interface to mate and fixedly lock with an interface on the floating sub-structure. Fernandez Gomez teaches an operations and maintenance arrangement for floating wind turbines, the operations and maintenance arrangement comprising a support 14 to receive components 7 to be installed on the wind turbine, the support having an interface 21, 18 to mate and fixedly lock with an interface on the floating sub-structure 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the operations and maintenance arrangement as taught by Gad with a separate support which can be attached to the floating sub-structure as taught by Fernandez Gomez in order to free up deck space on the operation vessel during installation, or enable installation to continue in the absence of the operation vessel by locally storing components.
Figure 2- Fernandez Gomez Figure 9
Regarding claim 14, Gad and Fernandez Gomez teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 10. Gad teaches that the floating sub-structure comprises a pontoon with interfaces to receive the portable crane and (as modified) the support, but does not teach that the floating sub-structure comprises at least two pontoons. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the support as separate pontoons in order to simplify manufacturing or provide redundancy, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. As modified into separate pontoons, each of the at least two pontoons has an interface to receive a respective one of the portable crane and the support.
Claims 10, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandez Gomez US 9,890,510 in view of Gad WO 2020/043256.
Regarding claim 10, Fernandez Gomez teaches an operations and maintenance arrangement for floating wind turbines, the operations and maintenance arrangement comprising:
a floating sub-structure 1’ on which at least one wind turbine unit 16 is situated; and
a support 14 to receive components 7, 16 to be installed on the wind turbine, the support having an interface 21, 18 to mate and fixedly lock with an interface on the floating sub-structure.
Fernandez Gomez does not teach a service operation vessel comprising a ship crane; a portable crane; or the floating sub-structure having an interface capable of receiving and fixedly locking the crane to the sub-structure, the service operation vessel having a ship crane capable of lifting the portable crane from the vessel and onto the sub-structure. Gad teaches an operations and maintenance arrangement for floating wind turbines, the operations and maintenance arrangement comprising:
a floating sub-structure 104 (foundation can be floating- page 8, lines 28-33) on which at least one wind turbine unit is situated;
a service operation vessel 100 comprising a ship crane 332;
a portable crane 300;
the floating sub-structure having an interface 400 capable of receiving and fixedly locking the portable crane to the floating sub-structure;
wherein the ship crane and the portable crane are operable independently of one another;
wherein the ship crane 332 is capable of lifting the portable crane from the service operation vessel and onto the floating sub-structure; and
a support 124 to receive components to be installed on the wind turbine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the operations and maintenance arrangement as taught by Fernandez Gomez with a service operation vessel with a ship crane and a portable crane that can be attached to the floating platform by a crane on the vessel as taught by Gad in order to simplify the use of a crane during construction.
Regarding claim 14, Fernandez Gomez and Gad teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 10. Fernandez Gomez teaches that the floating sub-structure comprises a pontoon with interfaces to receive the portable crane (as modified) and the support, but does not teach that the floating sub-structure comprises at least two pontoons. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the support as separate pontoons in order to simplify manufacturing or provide redundancy, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. As modified into separate pontoons, each of the at least two pontoons has an interface to receive a respective one of the portable crane and the support.
Regarding claim 17, Fernandez Gomez and Gad teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 10. Fernandez Gomez also teaches that the received components are wind turbine blades or gear units (see figure 15).
Claims 11-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandez Gomez US 9,890,510 in view of Gad WO 2020/043256 and Kastrup US 10,890,163.
Regarding claim 11, Fernandez Gomez and Gad teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 10. Fernandez Gomez does not explicitly teach that the support comprises at least one set of cradles to receive at least one wind turbine blade. Kastrup teaches a set of cradles 10, 20 to receive wind turbine blades 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the supports of Fernandez Gomez with blade cradles as taught by Kastrup in order to enable the supports to hold a wider range of assembly components.
Regarding claim 12, Fernandez Gomez, Gad and Kastrup teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 11. Kastrup also teaches that at least three wind turbine blades 1 are stacked in cradles 10, 20 on the support. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the supports of Fernandez Gomez with blade cradles as taught by Kastrup in order to enable the supports to hold a wider range of assembly components, and to hold at least three stacked blades in order to better utilize space on the platform.
Regarding claim 13, Fernandez Gomez and Gad teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 10. Fernandez Gomez does not explicitly teach that the support comprises a truss beam. Kastrup teaches a set of cradles 10, 20 to receive wind turbine blades 1 which comprises a truss beam. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the supports of Fernandez Gomez with blade cradles comprising a truss beam as taught by Kastrup in order to enable the supports to rigidly hold a wider range of assembly components.
Regarding claim 17, Fernandez Gomez and Gad teach the invention as claimed as detailed above with respect to claim 10. In an alternate interpretation, Fernandez Gomez does not explicitly teach that the received components are wind turbine blades or gear units. Kastrup teaches a set of cradles 10, 20 to receive wind turbine blades 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the supports of Fernandez Gomez with blade cradles as taught by Kastrup in order to enable the supports to hold a wider range of assembly components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Gad’s “support structure 332 can be used to lift the crane 300 or the crane adapter 400 but cannot be used to lift other loads when the crane 300 is in use” (page 4), or that “the support structure 332 and the crane 300 are not operable independently of one another” (page 5), the examiner disagrees. Gad teaches that “The support structure 332 comprises a first adjustable arm 326 which is releasably engageable to a first side of the crane 300 and a second adjustable arm 500 (better viewed from Figure 6) releasably engageable to a second side of the crane 300” (page 18, lines 6-9). The support/crane 332 is also depicted in an unengaged state in figure 7. As such, there is nothing in Gad which shows that support/crane 332 is inoperable when crane 300 is in use.
In response to applicant’s argument that “Fernandez Gomez…does not involve floating structures in a body of water” (page 5), the examiner disagrees. As can be seen in Fernandez Gomez’s figures, many phases of installation involve floating structures, even if the final configuration is resting on the sea floor. That is, the crane could be installed when the service operation vessel and the sub-structure are floating. Figure 10 depicts that components are installed on the base 25 while it is still floating.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC BURGESS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615