DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claims are interpreted as a detergent and method of using the same comprising hydroxyl compound a1-a10 in proportions; an optional component and method of using the same with the additional water immiscible component or fragrance. It is recommended that applicant choose to open or close the claim by using “comprising or consisting of.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, 12 and 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The aforementioned claim 4 states “anionic, cationic, non-ionic and/or amphoteric or zwitterionic surfactants.” The claims is confusing because it fails to define what applicant is claiming in the Markush group. Is applicant claiming 3 surfactants and/or two surfactant mixtures? An appropriate claim should read “anionic, cationic, non-ionic, amphoteric, zwitterionic surfactants and mixtures thereof .” Corrections are required.
Claims 8, 12 and 13 state the phrase in component (b) “adding to said detergent composition” however, said claims do not include a detergent compositions or are the claims depended from the detergent compositions of claim 1. Therefore, it is unclear what detergent composition the claims are referencing and thereby rendering said claims indefinite. Clarification and/or corrections are required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 8, 12 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: The aforementioned claims state “amounts from 0.001 to about 2,0 wt. percent” or “0.005 to 1,55 wt. percent”. The percentages have a “,” within the numerals and should comprise a “.” for continuity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Schmaus et al (2010/0196504).
Schmaus et al disclose a detergent composition for antibacterial and disinfecting capabilities wherein said compositions comprising cationic surfactants alkyltrimethyl ammonium salts (same as tetraalkyl ammonium salt; a quaternary Page 3 ammonium softening agent) or didecyldimethyl ammonium chloride in amounts of 0.1 15 w%; [170, claim 2], b)- antimicrobial agents such as 1,2-decanediol, 1, 2 pentanediol, 1,2 hexanediol, 1,2-octanediol in amounts of 0.5-2 wt%; [23, 112, pg.12: table 3], and ; c)- water in amounts added to 100 W% of composition; [pg. 13; table 3]. Schmaus teaches anionic surfactants of alkyl (alkane) sulfonates, alkyl ether sulfates and fatty acid ether sulfates; [88, 157, 159], nonionic surfactants such as alkyl polyglucoside and amine oxide; [170, 177, 179]. Composition further comprises components perfume and colorants; [112-113].
Schmaus teaches organic solvents such as ethylene glycol, propylene glycol and glycerol; [70], chelating agents such as ethylene diaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA); [123], dye transfer inhibiting agent as polyvinyl pyrrolidone; [112], foam inhibitors and suds control agent as waxes, and siloxane polymers; [119-120], thickener as polyacrylates and polysaccharides; [72], inorganic salts such as silicates; [pg.13: table 3].
Table 3 exemplifies at example 2, o.5% 1,2 Decanediol; 0.1% ethoxylated fatty alcohol; 0.2% fragrance and balance being water. In example 7 of Table 3, Schmaus et al exemplifies 2% 1,2 Decanediol; fragrance; 5% cocamidopropyl betaine; balance water.
As this reference teach all of the instantly required it is considered anticipatory.
Claim(s) 8, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Schmaus et al ((2010/0196504).
Schmaus et al is relied upon as set forth above. Specifically, Schmaus et al teaches a method for making (i.e. stabilizing) antibacterial detergent composition by providing; a cationic surfactant alkyltrimethyl ammonium salts (same as tetraalkyl ammonium salt; a quaternary ammonium softening agent; a textile softening agent) or didecyldimethyl ammonium chloride in amounts of 0.1-15 w%; [170, 62]; anionic, nonionic and amphoteric surfactants; [62], and 1-2 alkanediols such as 1,2-decanediol, 1, 2-pentanediol, 1,2 hexanediol, 1,2 octanediol; in amounts of 0.5-2 wt% [23, 112, pg. 12: table 3], added to a detergent composition for cleaning microbial contamination; [17-18, 27, 29, 212-214, pg.12: table 3]. Composition further comprises component such as perfume and colorants; [112-113]. See Table 3 and examples 2 and 7 as stated above.
As this reference teaches all of the instantly required it is considered anticipatory.
In the alternative, Schmaus et al teaches the method of stabilizing but is silent with respect to the additional characteristics of the method claims such as improving solubility, or increasing viscosity, foaming, wetting or reducing surface tension.
It would have nonetheless been inherent to the composition to comprise the characteristics as claimed in the methods given since Schmaus et al teach the same compositions within their requisite proportions of detergents and hydroxy compounds with fragrance components that are used for the method of detergency or cleansing that would have resulted in the same or similar claimed methods, absent criticality to the contrary.
Conclusion
/NECHOLUS OGDEN JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761