DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 10-12, 15, 18, 29, 30, 32, 35, 36, 44, 48-51, 80 and 81 are currently pending. Claims 1, 29, 35, 36, 44, 48-51 and 80 are currently rejected. Claims 2, 7, 8, 10-12, 15, 18, 30 and 32-34 are indicated as having allowable subject matter. New claim 81 is allowed. A response to Applicant’s arguments can be found at the end of this Office action. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 29, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hawley (US 0,889,368).
Referring to Claim 1: Hawley discloses a terminal, comprising:
a railcar transfer apparatus (2, 4), the railcar transfer apparatus configured to move a railcar at least in a direction generally normal to a length of the railcar (page 1, lines 11-17) (Fig. 1),
the railcar transfer apparatus at least comprising:
two rail tracks (3) being positioned generally parallel to each other and at a distance from each other at a first elevation, each rail track from the two rail tracks at least including two rails (Fig. 4); and
rail track segments (1) being positioned, at a second elevation (Fig. 4), along a length of at least one outer rail track from the two rail tracks, the rail track segments being further positioned generally perpendicular to the at least one outer rail track (Fig. 1), the rail track segments being generally planar (tracks 1 may be reasonably interpreted as “generally planar” with the exception of the upwardly bent ends 1’) (see Fig. 4 and page 2, lines 25-28);
the second elevation of the rail track segments (1) being disposed higher than the first elevation of the two rail tracks (3) (see annotated Fig. 4 below).
Referring to Claim 29: Hawley discloses the terminal of claim 1, further comprising:
a terminal building (A or B) comprising a hollow interior and a plurality of loading docks along a wall of the terminal building (page 1, lines 68-73 and 85-93) (Fig. 1);
a first rail track (1) at one end of the terminal building (A or B) (Fig. 1); and
a second rail track (6) at an opposite end of the terminal building (A or B) (see annotated Fig. 1 below);
the wall extending between the one end and the opposite end (Fig. 1);
the railcar transfer apparatus (2, 4) being in a railcar exchange, at least through the two rail tracks (3) and the rail track segments (1) with each of the terminal building (A or B), the first rail track and the second rail track (see annotated Fig. 1 below).
Referring to Claim 35: Hawley discloses the terminal of claim 1, wherein the railcar transfer apparatus further comprises an automated transfer shuttle or bridge (4), the automated transfer shuttle or bridge comprising:
four wheeled (13) bogeys (Fig. 7) (page 2, lines 76-85);
a drive motor (30) attached to one wheeled bogey from the four wheeled bogeys (Fig. 3) (page 2, lines 102-103);
a controller (26-29) (Fig. 3) (page 2, lines 104-109);
a power source;
a frame supported on four wheeled bogeys (21, 23) (Fig. 3) (page 2, lines 89-92); and
two rail track segments (10) disposed, at a distance from each other, on the frame (Fig. 3) (page 2, lines 85-89).
Claim(s) 80 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Myers (US 0,000,189).
Referring to Claim 80: Myers discloses a terminal (200), comprising:
a railcar transfer apparatus (260, 270, 280), the railcar transfer apparatus configured to move a railcar at least in a direction generally normal to a length of the railcar (page 1, lines 11-24) (see “Top View”), the railcar transfer apparatus at least including an oval-shaped rail track (the rail track pit being oval-shaped), the oval-shaped rail track including four rail tracks (L), or an automated rotating transfer arm, or an automated rotating transfer carousel (C) (page 1, lines 11-24) (see “Top View”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawley in view of Chase (US 2012/00312295 A1).
Referring to Claim 36: Hawley does not specifically teach that the railcar transfer apparatus further comprises an automated guided vehicle.
However, Chase teaches a train yard classification system, wherein the railcar transfer apparatus (22) (Para. [0076]) comprises an automated guided vehicle (Para. [0073]) (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Hawley to automate the guided vehicle, as taught by Chase, in order to provide automated control of railcar transfer processes with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958). See MPEP § 2144.04(III).
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawley.
Referring to Claim 44: Hawley further teaches the terminal of claim 1, wherein the railcar transfer apparatus further comprises:
two wheeled (13) bogeys disposed at a distance from each other so as to move on the two rail tracks (3) (Figs. 3, 4, and 7);
one or two drive motors (30) (page 2, lines 102-103) (Fig. 3),
a platform (21, 23) attached to the two wheeled bogeys, a length of the platform being designed sufficient to receive the railcar or a railcar mover (“locomotive”, page 3, lines 5-12) (Fig. 3); and
a rail track portion (10) disposed on the platform to receive wheels of the railcar (Fig. 3) (page 2, lines 85-89);
the railcar transfer apparatus configured to be remotely operable to align the rail track portion (10) with a rail track (1, 6) in a railcar staging (page 2, lines 14-37).
As noted by strikethrough above, Hawley fails to teach that the drive motors are disposed on one wheeled bogey from the two wheeled bogeys. Instead, Hawley’s motor 30 is disposed on the platform extension (25) (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the motor on the wheeled bogey, in order to conserve space, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Hawley teaches that the length of the platform is designed to receive a railcar or locomotive (page 3, lines 5-12), but does not specifically teach a length sufficient for the railcar connected to the railcar mover, as claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to size the platform for both the railcar and locomotive, in order to increase the capacity of the transfer apparatus, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A).
Claim(s) 48-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawley in view of Chase and Blouin et al. (US 2019/0375257 A1).
Referring to Claim 48: Hawley does not specifically teach that the railcar transfer apparatus comprises an automated transfer shuttle and an automated railcar mover.
However, Chase teaches a train yard classification system, wherein the railcar transfer apparatus comprises an automated transfer shuttle (22) (Para. [0073]) and an automated railcar mover (“indexer”) [0077]) (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Hawley to automate the transfer shuttle, as taught by Chase, in order to provide automated control of railcar transfer processes with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958). See MPEP § 2144.04(III).
Further, Blouin teaches a traction system for railcar movers, wherein railcar mover functions are controlled automatically via a processor (62) (Para. [0029] and [0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Hawley to provide an automated railcar mover, as taught by Blouin, in order to provide automated control of railcar transfer processes with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958). See MPEP § 2144.04(III).
Referring to Claim 49: Hawley further teaches the terminal of claim 48, wherein the automated transfer shuttle comprises:
two wheeled (13) bogeys disposed at a distance from each other (Figs. 3, 4, and 7);
a controller (26-29) (Fig. 3) (page 2, lines 104-109);
a power source;
a platform (21, 23) attached to the two wheeled bogeys (Fig. 3); and
two rail track portions (10) disposed on the platform at a distance from each other to receive wheels of the railcar (Fig. 3) (page 2, lines 85-89).
As noted by strikethrough above, Hawley fails to teach two drive motors, each drive motor disposed on one wheeled bogey from the two wheeled bogeys. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Hawley to provide a duplicate motor for each wheeled bogie, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
Referring to Claim 50: Hawley does not specifically teach an automated railcar mover.
However, Blouin teaches a traction system for railcar movers, wherein the automated railcar mover (10) comprises:
two wheel (36) sets disposed at a distance from each other (Fig. 1)
a drive motor (24) coupled to one wheel set from the two wheel sets (Para. [0022]);
a controller (22) (Para. [0021]);
a power source (Para. [0023]);
a frame (14) supported on the two wheel sets (Fig. 1); and
a rail coupler (34) with a coupler knuckle and a coupler shank, the coupler knuckle extending outwardly from the frame (Para. [0022]) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Hawley to provide an automated railcar mover, as taught by Blouin, in order to provide automated control of railcar transfer processes with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958). See MPEP § 2144.04(III).
Referring to Claim 51: Hawley does not specifically teach an automated railcar mover.
However, Blouin teaches a traction system for railcar movers, wherein the automated railcar mover (10) comprises:
two wheel (36) sets disposed at a distance from each other (Fig. 1)
a drive motor (24) coupled to one wheel set from the two wheel sets (Para. [0022]);
a power source (Para. [0023]);
a frame (14) supported on the two wheel sets (Fig. 1); and
a driver cab (20) mounted on the frame, the driver cab configured with controls (22) to control, by a driver, an operation of the automated railcar mover (Para. [0021]); and
a rail coupler (34) with a coupler knuckle and a coupler shank, the coupler knuckle extending outwardly from the frame (Para. [0022]) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for Hawley to provide an automated railcar mover with a driver cab, as taught by Blouin, in order to provide automated control of railcar transfer processes with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958). See MPEP § 2144.04(III).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 81 is allowed.
Claims 2, 7, 8, 10-12, 15, 18, 30 and 32-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2 and depending claims 7, 8, 10-12 and 15, the prior art fails to teach “a terminal building comprising a floor positioned at a third elevation, a hollow interior and a wall including a plurality of dock bays; wherein the two rail tracks being positioned generally parallel to the wall; wherein each rail track segment from the rail track segments being further positioned between the at least one outer rail track and the wall to connect a respective dock bay to the railcar transfer apparatus; and wherein the second elevation being sufficient to position a floor of a railcar generally planar with the floor of the terminal building.” It would require an improper degree of hindsight reasoning to modify Hawley to meet the amended limitations.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art fails to teach “two additional rail tracks positioned at the first elevation and generally parallel to the two rail tracks; two additional tracks positioned at a third elevation and generally traverse to the two rail tracks, the third elevation being lower than the first elevation; and an automated railcar transfer shuttle, the automated railcar transfer shuttle being configured to translate on the two additional tracks positioned at the third elevation and being further configured to at least move a railcar transfer bridge between the two rail tracks and the two additional rail tracks positioned at the first elevation.” It would require an improper degree of hindsight reasoning to modify Hawley to meet the amended limitations.
Regarding claim 30, the prior art fails to teach “two additional rail tracks disposed, at a distance, parallel to each other at a third elevation and generally traverse to the two rail tracks, the third elevation being lower than the first elevation.” It would require an improper degree of hindsight reasoning to modify Hawley to meet the amended limitations.
Regarding claim 32, the prior art fails to teach that “the railcar transfer apparatus comprises an oval-shaped rail track.” While it is well-known in the art to use circular railcar sorting mechanisms (see, e.g., DE 19740557, Figs. 1-4), it would require an improper degree of hindsight reasoning to modify Hawley in view of DE 19740557 to arrive at this claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 33, the prior art fails to teach that “the railcar transfer apparatus comprises an automated rotating transfer arm.” While it is well-known in the art to use circular railcar sorting mechanisms with a rotating transfer arm (see, e.g., DE 19740557, Figs. 1-4), it would require an improper degree of hindsight reasoning to modify Hawley in view of DE 19740557 to arrive at this claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 34, the prior art fails to teach that “the railcar transfer apparatus at.” While it is well-known in the art to use circular railcar sorting mechanisms (see, e.g., DE 19740557, Figs. 1-4), it would require an improper degree of hindsight reasoning to modify Hawley in view of DE 19740557 to arrive at this claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 81, the prior art fails to teach “a railcar restraint positioned at each dock back from the plurality of dock bays, the railcar restraint at least including: a rail coupler; and a linear actuator having a stationary portion positioned within a cavity in the floor and inward from the wall and a movable portion, the movable portion being connected to the rail coupler, the linear actuator configured to move, with the movable portion, the rail coupler in a linear direction.” It would require an improper degree of hindsight reasoning to modify Hawley to meet these new claim limitations.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Hawley fails to teach the amended limitations regarding “the rail track segments being generally planar” because Hawley teaches “bending the ends 1’, of the rails upward” (page 2, lines 25-27). Examiner responds that the germ “generally planar” is satisfied by Hawley because, generally the rail is planar, with the exception of the ends. The term “generally” broadens the scope of the claim where Hawley may be reasonably interpreted as satisfying the planar nature even though the ends of the rail are an exception.
Regarding claim 8, Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the amended limitation of “a linear actuator being disposed under a floor surface of the terminal building, the linear actuator having a stationary portion and a movable portion.” Examiner agrees and has indicated claim 8 as having allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 18, Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the amended limitations. Examiner agrees and has indicated claim 18 as having allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 30, Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the amended limitations. Examiner agrees and has indicated claim 30 as having allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 44, Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the amended limitations. Examiner responds that it would be obvious to modify Hawley to meet the amended limitations, as outlined in the rejection of claim 44 above.
Conclusion
The references made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because they relate to a railcar transfer apparatus with an oval-shaped track, as recited in new claim 80: US-20130145953-A1 and DE-19749262-A1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY L KUHFUSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615A