DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the center lines of the protruding column" and the “center lines of the connector.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the instances of “center lines,” which introduces ambiguity.
Claim 8-9 are rejected for their dependency on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0231526 A1 to Avirovikj et al. (“Avirovikj”).
As to claim 1, Avirovikj discloses a real-time blood glucose monitoring apparatus, comprising a sensor assembly and an emitter assembly, characterized in that
the sensor assembly comprises a first shell (see Fig 5C, element 120), and a conductive plating (see Fig 5B, element 244B), a blood glucose sensor (see Fig 5C, element 110) and a battery (see Fig 5B, element 234 and [0069] explaining that the battery is removed in Fig 5C) which are arranged on the first shell, and the emitter assembly comprises a second shell (see Fig 2C and 5C, element 102) and a circuit board in the second shell (see Fig 5A, element 544);
the conductive plating is arranged on a shell wall of the first shell and is connected with the blood glucose sensor (see Fig 5C, element 244B and [0044] – “The base contacts 244B may at least partially encircle the tube 228.”) and the battery (see Fig 5A, C and Fig 6 and also [0065]-[0066] explaining how the battery powers both the transmitter unit 106 and the base unit 108 (Examiner notes that the glucose sensor is shown as part of the base unit 108), the conductive plating having at least one first connecting structure (see Fig 5C showing gaps comprising a first connecting structure that allow the upper electrical contacts 244A and the lower electrical contacts 244B to mate);
the circuit board is provided with at least one second connecting structure ([0045] – “The transmitter unit 106 may include transmitter circuitry (e.g., transmitter circuitry 456, FIG. 4A) encased or otherwise located in a structure 258, such as a molded structure or other structure. In some embodiments, the structure 258 may be an overmold of the transmitter circuitry 456.” Examiner notes that this same structure 258 is found in Fig. 5A, which results in an electrical connection between the contacts 244A and 244B that is conveyed via transmitter circuitry encased in structure 258 to circuit board 544);
the sensor assembly and the emitter assembly are clamped so that the first connecting structure and the second connecting structure are connected, and the conductive plating (and the circuit board form a closed-loop monitoring circuit (see [0067] – “Reference is now made to FIGS. 5A-5D, which illustrate embodiments of the transmitter unit 106 and the base unit 108, wherein one terminal of the battery 234 is configured to directly electrically contact a contact in the transmitter unit 106 in response to the transmitter unit 106 and the base unit 108 being coupled together.”).
As to claim 2, Avirovikj further discloses a real-time blood glucose monitoring apparatus according claim 1, characterized in that
the first connecting structure is a protruding column, and a plurality of to-be-connected terminals of the conductive plating are provided on a wall of the protruding column (see treatment above);
the second connecting structure is a connector, a first end of which is connected with the circuit board and a second end of which is provided with an inwardly-concave plug-in recess, and reeds connected to the circuit board are provided on an inner wall of the plug-in recess (see Fig 5A, element 230, 244A, 258, and 544 and Fig 6 showing how the signal is transmitted from the electrical contacts 244A/B to the transmitter circuitry);
when the first connecting structure and the second connecting structure are connected, the protruding column is plugged into the plug-in recess, and the reeds abut against the to-be-connected terminals of the conductive plating ([0044]).
As to claim 3, Avirovikj further discloses a real-time blood glucose monitoring apparatus according to claim 2, characterized in that the plurality of to-be-connected terminals of the conductive plating are distributed along the wall of the protruding column (see Figs 5A-C, element 244B).
As to claim 4, Avirovikj further discloses a real-time blood glucose monitoring apparatus according to claim 1, characterized in that the conductive plating has a first connecting structure, and the circuit board is provided with a second connecting structure (see Figs 5A and 5C, elements 244A/B showing how the structures of each conductive plating interface to mate together).
As to claim 11, Avirovikj discloses a method for manufacturing a real-time blood glucose monitoring apparatus, characterized by comprising:
plating conductive plating on a shell of a sensor assembly (see [0055] – “In some embodiments, the base circuitry 348 is electrically coupled to traces (not shown) or the like that electrically couple to the base contacts 244B. In some embodiments, other components (not shown) may be electrically and mechanically coupled to the base circuitry 348 and electrically coupled to the base contacts 244B.”), and
connecting a battery and a blood glucose sensor to the conductive plating to form a circuit structure in the sensor assembly (see [0037] – “The wearable device 102 includes a transmitter unit 106 and a base unit 108 that are physically and electrically coupled together.”);
providing a first connecting structure connected to the circuit structure, providing a second connecting structure connected to a circuit board of an emitter assembly, and communicating the first connecting structure with the second connecting structure so that the circuit structure and the circuit board are connected to form a closed-loop monitoring circuit (see, e.g., Fig 4A and Figs 2A-B and above cited portions).
As to claim 12, Avirovikj further discloses a method according to claim 11, characterized in that the step of providing a first connecting structure connected to the circuit structure comprises:
incorporating a protruding column onto the shell of the sensor assembly or fabricating a protruding column on the shell of the sensor assembly (Fig 2B, element 228);
arranging a plurality of to- be-connected terminals of the conductive plating on side walls of the protruding column (see Fig 2A-B, element 244A-B);
the step of providing a second connecting structure connected with a circuit board of an emitter assembly comprises: providing a connector with a plug-in recess (see Fig 2A, element 230) on the circuit board, and providing reeds having the same number as the terminals of the conductive plating on an inner wall of the plug-in recess, the reeds being connected to the circuit board (see Fig 2A-B, element 244A-B);
by plugging the protruding column into the plug-in recess, the to-be-connected terminals of the conductive plating abut against and communicates with the reeds, and then the circuit structure and the circuit board are connected to form a closed-loop monitoring circuit (see [0009] – “The method includes forming a cup configured to receive a power source; locating a power source contact at least partially in the cup, the power source contact configured to electrically contact a terminal of the power source in response to the power source being received in the cup; and electrically coupling at least one base contact with the power source contact, the at least one base contact configured to electrically contact at least one transmitter contact of a transmitter unit in response to the transmitter unit and the base unit being coupled together.”).
As to claim 13, Avirovikj further discloses a method according to claim 11, characterized in that the conductive plating is plated on the shell of the sensor assembly by molded interconnection device process and/or laser direct structuring process (see [0053] – such traces are structurally equivalent in that they are formed of thin portions of conductive materials).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avirovikj.
As to claims 5-6, Avirovikj further discloses the real-time blood glucose monitoring apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the conductive plating is arranged on a surface of the first lower shell, and the protruding column is fixedly connected to the surface of the first lower shell (see Fig 5C, elements 228 and 244B).
A difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the first shell comprises a first upper shell and a first lower shell, the edges of which are connected and wherein the second shell comprises a second upper shell and a second lower shell, the edges of which are connected. However, this merely the separation of one shell into two layers, which has been held as obvious as requiring no more than ordinary skill. See MPEP 2144.04(V)(C) and/or MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
As to claims 10, Avirovikj further discloses real-time blood glucose monitoring apparatus according to claim 6, characterized in that an outer surface of the first lower shell is provided with medical adhesive tape (see Fig 1, element 111), and the blood glucose sensor is arranged in a middle portion of an inner surface of the first lower shell, with a detecting end of the blood glucose sensor penetrating out of the first lower shell .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ERIC J MESSERSMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791