DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response the preliminary amendment filed on 9/22/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because Claim 15 does not exclude transitory forms of signal transmission and are therefore directed to non- statutory subject matter. In re Nuijten, 500 F. 3d.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 2, the limitation “the current sound environment” lacks proper antecedent basis. Regarding claim 3, the following limitations lack proper antecedent basis: “the following”, “the affirmative”, “the range between 1.25V and 1.65V”, “the current sound environment”, “the range between “1.3V and 1.6V”. Regarding claim 9, the following limitations lack proper antecedent basis: “ “the affirmative” and “the range between 1.25V and 1.65V”. Regarding claim 10, the following limitations lack proper antecedent basis: “the current sound environment” and “the range between 1.25V and 1.65V”. Regarding claim 11, the limitation “the steps of” lacks proper antecedent basis. Dependent claims 12-15 inherits the deficiencies of independent claim 11 and are therefore also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b). Further regarding claim 12, the following limitations lack proper antecedent basis: “the further steps of”, “the range between 1.25V and 1.65V”, “the identification of the ear level audio device operating in headset mode”, “the identification of the ear level audio device operating a in high sound pressure level environment”, “the range between “1.3V and 1.6V”, “the identification of an active adjustable vent actuator”, “the range between “1.0V and 1.3V”. Further regarding claim 13, the following limitations lack proper antecedent basis: “the further step of”, “the range between 1.25V and 1.65V”, “the level”. Further regarding claim 14, the following limitations lack proper antecedent basis: “the further step of”, “the range between 1.25V and 1.65V”, “the identification of the ear level audio device operating a in high sound pressure level environment”. Further regarding claim 15, the limitation “the steps of” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegumfeldt et al. (US 2015/0189448) in view of Krogsgaard et al. (US Patent 9344812). Regarding claims 1 and 11, Siegumfeldt et al. discloses (see fig. 2-5) an ear level audio device (50) comprising a power supply source (60), a DC-DC converter (11/12), a power supply rail (connecting line between 10 and 42/43/44/45/48) and a DC-DC controller (controller used in determining which regulated voltage to supply to the power supply rail), wherein the DC-DC converter (11/12) is adapted to provide a regulated power supply voltage (outputs from 11 and 12), wherein the power supply rail (connecting line between 10 and 42/43/44/45/48) is configured to receive the regulated power supply voltage (output from 11 and 12 to connecting line) and to provide the regulated power supply voltage to a plurality of ear level audio components (regulated voltage to 42/43/44/45/48), and wherein the DC-DC controller (controller used in determining which regulated voltage to supply to the power supply rail) is adapted to determine a preferred power supply rail voltage level for the ear level audio device based on identification of a specific operating situation (determination that the hearing aid is powered on, see paragraph 0049-0050) and in response to such an identification control the DC-DC converter (11/12) to provide the preferred regulated power supply voltage (see paragraph 0049-0050). Siegumfeldt et al. does not discloses an ear level audio device comprising an inductive dc/dc converter. Krogsgaard et al. discloses (see fig. 1-2 and 5) an ear level audio device (100) comprising an inductive dc/dc converter (102/500). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Siegumfeldt et al. to include the features of Krogsgaard et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 2, Siegumfeldt et al. discloses (see fig. 2-5) that the specific operating situation is selected from a group of operating situations comprising: a headset mode being active (see paragraph 0049-0050, which states that the hearing aid is fully receiving power), the current sound environment is a high sound pressure level environment, an adjustable vent actuator is active, and only basic functionality is active (see paragraph 0049-0050, which states that the hearing aid is fully receiving power). Regarding claim 4, Siegumfeldt et al. discloses (see fig. 2-5) that said plurality of ear level audio components are selected from a group comprising a wireless link (48), an acoustical- electrical input transducer, an electrical-acoustical output transducer, an Analog-Digital Converter (42), a Digital-Analog converter (44), a digital signal processor (43), and an adjustable vent actuator. Regarding claim 6, Siegumfeldt et al. does not disclose that the inductive DC-DC converter is operated using pulse width modulation. Krogsgaard et al. discloses (see fig. 1-2 and 5) that the inductive DC-DC converter (102/500) is operated using pulse width modulation (operation of 501). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Siegumfeldt et al. to include the features of Krogsgaard et al. because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 7, Siegumfeldt et al. discloses (see fig. 2-5) that the ear level audio device is a hearing aid (50 is a hearing aid). Regarding claim 8, Siegumfeldt et al. discloses (see fig. 2-5) that the specific operating situation is a headset mode being active (see paragraph 0049-0050, which states that the hearing aid is fully receiving power).
Claim(s) 3, 5, 9-10, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegumfeldt et al. (US 2015/0189448) in view of Krogsgaard et al. (US Patent 9344812) and Pederson (WO 03/026348 A1). Regarding claims 3 and 12, Siegumfeldt et al. discloses (see fig. 2-5) that the that a DC-DC controller (controller used in determining which regulated voltage to supply to the power supply rail) is further adapted to carry out at least one of the following tasks monitoring whether only basic functionality is active (see paragraph 0049-0050, which states that the hearing aid is fully receiving power) and in the affirmative control a DC- DC converter to provide the regulated power supply voltage (see paragraph 0049-0050, which states when the hearing aid is fully receiving power, 12 supplies the regulated voltage). Siegumfeldt et al. does not disclose that the provide the regulated power supply voltage has a level in the range between 1.OV and 1.3V. Pederson discloses (see fig. 1) that a regulated power supply voltage has a level in a range between 1.OV and 1.3V (see pg. 21, lines 12-28). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Siegumfeldt et al. to include the features of Pederson because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claim 5, Siegumfeldt et al. discloses (see fig. 2-5) that the DC-DC controller (controller used in determining which regulated voltage to supply to the power supply rail) is further adapted to carry out at least two of said tasks (in addition to the task mentioned in the rejection of claim 3 above, Siegumfeldt et al. also discloses monitoring whether a headset mode is active (see paragraph 0049-0050, which states that the hearing aid is fully receiving power) and in the affirmative control the inductive DC-DC converter to provide the regulated power supply voltage (see paragraph 0049-0050, which states when the hearing aid is fully receiving power, 12 supplies the regulated voltage). Siegumfeldt et al. does not disclose that the provide the regulated power supply voltage has a level in the range between 1.25V and 1.65V. Pederson discloses (see fig. 1) that a regulated power supply voltage has a level in a range between 1.25V and 1.65V (see pg. 21 line 28-pg 22 line 5). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Siegumfeldt et al. to include the features of Pederson because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claims 9 and 13, Siegumfeldt et al. discloses (see fig. 2-5) that the DC-DC controller (controller used in determining which regulated voltage to supply to the power supply rail) is further adapted to monitor whether a headset mode is active (see paragraph 0049-0050, which states that the hearing aid is fully receiving power) and in the affirmative control the inductive DC-DC converter to provide the regulated power supply voltage (see paragraph 0049-0050, which states when the hearing aid is fully receiving power, 12 supplies the regulated voltage). Siegumfeldt et al. does not disclose that the provide the regulated power supply voltage has a level in the range between 1.25V and 1.65V. Pederson discloses (see fig. 1) that a regulated power supply voltage has a level in a range between 1.25V and 1.65V (see pg. 21 line 28-pg 22 line 5). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Siegumfeldt et al. to include the features of Pederson because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies. Regarding claims 10 and 14, Siegumfeldt et al. does not disclose that the DC-DC controller is further adapted to monitor whether the current sound environment has a sound pressure level above a first threshold value and whether a sound with an estimated sound pressure level above a second threshold is to be provided and in case at least one is affirmative control the inductive DC-DC converter to provide the regulated power supply voltage with a level in the range between 1.25 V and 1.65 V. Pederson discloses (see fig. 1) that a controller is further adapted to monitor whether a current sound environment (noise levels, see pg. 17 line 24-pg 18 line 5) has a sound pressure level above a first threshold value (noise levels, see pg 17 line 24-pg 18 line 5) and whether a sound with an estimated sound pressure level above a second threshold is to be provided (noise levels, see pg. 17 line 24-pg 18 line 5) and in case at least one is affirmative control the inductive DC-DC converter to provide the regulated power supply voltage with a level in the range between 1.25 V and 1.65 V (see pg. 21 line 28-pg 22 line 5). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Siegumfeldt et al. to include the features of Pederson because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chen et al. (US 2010/0148867) discloses an audio unit with a regulator providing a regulate voltage. Wu (US Patent 7482866) discloses an audio system with power-on/off noise suppression. Bergmann et al. (US Patent 10575106) discloses a modular hearing aid.
/JEFFREY A GBLENDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838