DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-3, 6-7, and 9-10 in the reply filed on 07/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-5, 8 and 20-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/08/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the first protrusions". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 2, from which claim 3 depends on, recites “a first protrusion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9-10, 13, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueshima et al. (U.S. Patent 6,335,114) and further in view of Ogata et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0171393).
Regarding claim 1, Ueshima teaches an electrode for a secondary battery (i.e., positive plate 21 and negative plate 22) (C21:L20-28), the electrode comprising: a core member (i.e., collector) (221) (C21:L30-40) (see figure 2); a mixture layer (i.e., active material) (212, 222) (C21:L40-55); and a protective layer (i.e., insulating layer) (216) containing a resin and being insulating (C21:L50-57), wherein
the core member has an exposed part (211, 221) at one end of the core member in a lateral direction (see figure 2) (C21:L30-50), the exposed part in which the mixture layer are not disposed (see figure 2),
the protective layer is disposed on the exposed part (211, 221) at the one end (see figure 2).
Ueshima does not teach the specifics of an adhesive layer disposed on the core member and being conductive and the arrangement of the adhesive layer as recited in the claim.
Ogata, directed to an adhesive layer for a secondary battery (abstract), teaches and adhesive layer can be disposed between a core member (i.e., separator) and an electrode for bonding (paragraph [0044]) and to improve workability in assembly of the secondary battery (paragraph [0040]). Further, Ogata teaches the adhesive includes additives such zeolite and the like (paragraph [0073]-[0074]) which is known as conductive.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode of Ueshima to include an adhesive layer between disposed on the core member and the mixture layer in order to improve adhesion between the core member and the mixture layer, as suggested by Ogata and further, improve workability in assembly of the battery. Disposing the adhesive layer between the core member and the mixture layer of Ueshima would result in the particular arrangement as recited in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 2, Ueshima, as modified by Ogata, teaches the exposed part and the adhesive layer disposed between the core member and the mixture layer, as described above in claim 1. As such, disposing the adhesive layer between the core member and the mixture layer of Ueshima would result in the exposed part at the one end forming a first protrusion protruding from the one end of the adhesive layer in the lateral direction and from one end of the mixture layer in a lateral direction. Further, Ueshima teaches the first protrusion to be welded to a collector plate (213, 214) that collects a current of the electrode for a secondary battery (C22:L13-27) (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Ueshima teaches a plurality of the first protrusions are formed at an interval in a longitudinal direction of the core member.
Regarding claim 4, Ueshima teaches the protective layer is not disposed in a welding area of the first protrusion, the welding area to which the collector plate is to be welded (i.e., collectors are welded in the tips of the protrusions) (C22:L13-27) (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Ueshima, as modified by Ogata teaches the protective layer disposed on the exposed part at the one end is thicker (i.e., thickness of protective layer is 20-100µm) (C11:L40-50 of Ueshima) than the adhesive layer (i.e., thickness of the adhesive layer is 0.0005-100µm) (paragraph [0086] of Ogata) (Example: thickness of protective layer is 100µm, thickness of the adhesive layer is 1µm: 100µm>1µm) and is in contact with an end surface at the one end of the mixture layer in the lateral direction (see figure 2).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Ueshima, as modified by Ogata, teaches the protective layer disposed on the exposed part at the one end is thicker (i.e., thickness of protective layer is 20-100µm) (C11:L40-50 of Ueshima) than a total thickness of the adhesive layer (i.e., thickness of the adhesive layer is 0.0005-100µm) (paragraph [0086] of Ogata) and the mixture layer (i.e., thickness of the mixture layer is approximately 25µm) (C25:L10-20 of Ueshima) (Example: thickness of protective layer is 100µm, thickness of the adhesive layer is 1µm and thickness of the mixture layer is 25µm: 100µm>26µm) and covers a part of an outer surface of the mixture layer (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Ueshima teaches the electrode can include an intermediate layer (i.e., preventing layer) (416) (C36:L15-36) between the end surface at the one end of the adhesive layer and the protective layer (see figure 26). As to the limitation “the intermediate layer having lower conductivity than the adhesive layer and having higher conductivity than the protective layer.”, since the materials of Ueshima and Ogata are substantially the same (given that the materials are not particularly defined in the claims), such would be expected to have the same properties and characteristics including the conductivities.
Regarding claim 15, Ueshima teaches the adhesive layer contains an insulating filler (i.e., alumina, silica which are known to have insulating properties) (paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 17, Ueshima, as modified by Ogata, teaches the adhesive layer contains a conductive agent and a binder (paragraph [0053]-[0058]), and the adhesive layer has a content of the conductive agent of greater than or equal to 50 mass% and less than or equal to 95 mass% (0-50 parts by mass) (paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Ueshima, as modified by Ogata, teaches the electrode including the adhesive layer and the mixture layer. Ueshima does not explicitly articulates the specifics of the volume resistivity. However, since the materials of Ueshima and Ogata are substantially the same (given that the materials are not particularly defined in the claims), such would be expected to have the same properties and characteristics including the volume resistivity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 11-12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In other words, claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form to incorporate either:
all the limitations of claim 1 and claim 6, or
all the limitations of claim 1 and claim 16.
Applicant is encouraged to consider amending claim 1 accordingly to place the application in condition of allowance.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bruder (U.S. Patent 4,621,035).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 18/283,636. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the co-pending application reads on all the limitations of claim 1 and claim 6 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723