DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, each claim positively recites the term “an electric field” twice. It is therefore unclear whether the same electric field applies to both. The examiner will interpret this limitation as reading on a first and second electric field as set forth in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-10, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pre-Grant Publication 2005/0277887 to Douglas et al. (Douglas hereinafter).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Douglas teaches a piezoelectric actuator comprising: a plunger (80), a frame (45) at least indirectly attached to the plunger, an advance piezoelectric unit (35, 36, 37, see Fig. 5 and discussion thereof in paragraphs 85-88) disposed within the frame, the advance piezoelectric unit comprising a first piezoelectric element (36), wherein application of an electric field to the first piezoelectric element causes the first piezoelectric element to expand along a first axis (horizontal in Fig. 5), and a lock piezoelectric unit (60, 70) disposed within the frame, the lock piezoelectric unit comprising a second piezoelectric element (70), wherein application of an electric field to the second piezoelectric element causes the second piezoelectric element to expand along a second axis (vertical in Fig. 5), wherein the second axis forms an orthogonal angle with respect to the first axis. Regarding claim 15, Douglas teaches that the apparatus is a fluid medication pump (1) generally which has the barrel (10) and actuator as discussed above.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Douglas teaches an orthogonal angle (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Douglas teaches a plunger fitting within a barrel (see e.g. paragraph 76, “plunger 25 positioned in the barrel”).
Regarding claim 9, Douglas teaches a fluid medication delivery method comprising: holding a fluid medication within a barrel (10) of a syringe, wherein the syringe comprises the barrel and a piezoelectric actuator within a barrel (10) of a syringe, the piezoelectric actuator comprising a plunger (80), a frame (45 and/or plunger skin) at least indirectly attached to the plunger, an advance piezoelectric unit (35, 36, 37) disposed within the frame and comprising a first piezoelectric element (36), and a lock piezoelectric unit (60, 70) disposed within the frame and comprising a second piezoelectric element (70); applying a first electric field to the second piezoelectric element thereby causing the second piezoelectric element to expand in a radial direction of the barrel and exert a pressure on an inner circumference of the barrel, clamping the frame in a rear position in the barrel (paragraph 86, “causing… the microactuator 60 to expand and grip the inner dimension of cartridge 10”); while maintaining the first electric field applied to the second piezoelectric element, applying a second electric field to the first piezoelectric element thereby causing the first piezoelectric element to extend along an axial direction of the barrel (paragraph 86, “control processor 200 then provides a stimulus to micro actuators 36 such that the actuator change length pushing the internal slide forward… The stimulus causes the piston 80 to move forward”), orthogonal to the radial direction, thereby advancing the plunger toward a front end of the barrel and pumping fluid medication out of the syringe; while maintaining the second electric field applied to the first piezoelectric element, removing the first electric field from the second piezoelectric element thereby causing the second piezoelectric element to retract in the radial direction away from the inner circumference of the barrel, releasing the clamping of the frame (paragraph 87, “deactivates micro actuator 60… which disengages the gripper from the cartridge”); and releasing the second electric field from the first piezoelectric element thereby causing the first piezoelectric element to retract in the axial direction pulling the frame toward the plunger (paragraph 87, “deactivates the micro actuators 36 causing it to pull the rear end of the piston forward”).
Regarding claim 10, Douglas teaches repeating the method (paragraph 86, “step-and-repeat process”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8, 11-14, and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douglas in view of US Pre-Grant Publication 2011/0251481 to Strobl (Strobl).
Regarding claims 4-5, 11-12, and 18-19, Douglas teaches the invention of the parent claims as discussed above. Douglas is silent as to a piezoelectric stack. Strobl teaches another piezoelectric medication pump generally, and particularly teaches that a piezoelectric actuator (112) in such an application may be a piezoelectric stack (see e.g. paragraph 58). Strobl further teaches that the motion of the actuator may be accurately controlled via voltage (paragraph 58, last sentence). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use a piezoelectric stack as each of the piezoelectric actuators of Douglas in order to allow for accurate control thereof.
Regarding claims 6-7, 13-14, and 20-21, Douglas teaches the invention of the parent claims as discussed above. Douglas does not explicitly teach a circular cross-section. Strobl teaches circular syringes and plungers (see e.g. Fig. 2B). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use known cartridges, such as the circular cartridges of Strobl as the vials (10) of Douglas in order to take advantage of conventional and commercially available medication storage solutions. Furthermore, in so doing, it would have been obvious to arrange the cross sections of the actuators of Douglas to be circular so as to properly fit within and grip such circular barrels.
Regarding claim 22, Douglas teaches radial expansion of the second piezoelectric element (paragraph 86, “causing… the microactuator 60 to expand and grip the inner dimension of cartridge 10”).
Conclusion
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 15 February 2026