DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term "HVAC" in line 1 should read "heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC)".
The term “the extension interface (16A) for transmission of electrical power” in line 11 should read “the extension interface (16A) for the transmission of electrical power”.
The term “the external electrical interface (18) for transmission of data signal(s)” in lines 12-13 should read “the external electrical interface (18) for the transmission of data signal(s)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term "HVAC" in line 1 should read "heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC)".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “a base HVAC device block” in line 2 should read “the base HVAC device block”.
The term “a HVAC functional device” in line 4 should read “the HVAC functional device”.
The term “an extension interface” in line 5 should read “the extension interface”.
The term “an external electrical interface” in line 6 should read “the external electrical interface”.
The term “an electronic circuit” in line 8 should read “the electronic circuit”.
The term “the extension interface (16A) for transmission of electrical power” in line 12 should read “the extension interface (16A) for the transmission of electrical power”.
The term “the external electrical interface (18) for transmission of data signal(s)” in lines 13-14 should read “the external electrical interface (18) for the transmission of data signal(s)”.
The term “through an add-on electronic circuit (22) of an add-on HVAC device block (20)” in line 20 should read “through the add-on electronic circuit (22) of the add-on HVAC device block (20)”.
The term “via an add-on interface (26B)” in line 21 should read “via the add-on interface (26B)”.
The term “provide HVAC functionality(s) of a second category” in line 22-23 should read “provide the HVAC functionality(s) of a second category”.
The term “an add-on HVAC device block (20)” in line 24 should read “the add-on HVAC device block (20)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term "HVAC" in line 1 should read "heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC)".
The term “the extension interface (16A) for transmission of electrical power” in line 10 should read “the extension interface (16A) for the transmission of electrical power”.
The term “the external electrical interface (18) for transmission of data signal(s)” in lines 11-12 should read “the external electrical interface (18) for the transmission of data signal(s)”.
The term “provide HVAC functionality(s) of a first category” in line 14 should read “provide the HVAC functionality(s) of a first category”.
The term “provide HVAC functionality(s) of a second category” in line 26 should read “provide the HVAC functionality(s) of a second category”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 17-21 are each objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “The method of operating a base HVAC device” in line 1 should read “The method of operating the base HVAC device”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the transmission of electrical power and data signal(s)” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-7 are rejected based on dependence on claim 1.
Claims 2-3 each recite the limitation “HVAC functionality”. It is unclear if the recited functionality is a different type of functionality from the HVAC functionality(s) of a first/second category or is intended to refer to them. cited in claim 1. The meaning of the term is not clear from the claims or specification.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the HVAC functional device (M/S)” in lines 13 and 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 9-15 are rejected based on dependence on claim 8.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “HVAC functionality is provided”. It is unclear if the recited functionality is a different type of functionality from the HVAC functionality(s) of a second category or is intended to refer to them. cited in claim 8. The meaning of the term is not clear from the claims or specification.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the transmission of electrical power and data signal(s)” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the transmission of electrical power and data signal(s)” in line 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 17-21 are rejected based on dependence on claim 16.
Claims 17-18 each recite the limitation “HVAC functionality”. It is unclear if the recited functionality is a different type of functionality from the HVAC functionality(s) of a first/second category or is intended to refer to them. cited in claim 16. The meaning of the term is not clear from the claims or specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimata et al, US Patent Pub US 20200363092 A1 (hereinafter Kimata).
Claim 1
Kimata discloses a base HVAC device block (10) comprising: a housing (11); an HVAC functional device (M/S); an extension interface (16A) arranged on the housing (11) (Kimata, para 31-33, 35, 42 – A main body/”base HVAC block”, fan motor and sensors/”HVAC functional device”, and an interface on the casing/housing to provide power and control signals between the system units.); an external electrical interface (18) arranged on the housing (11) for the transmission of electrical power and data signal(s) (Kimata, para 42-45, Fig. 4 refs(11, 22, 23a-b, 37, 45, 55, 83) – An interface on the casing/housing to provide power and control signals between the system units.); and an electronic circuit (12) connected with the HVAC functional device (M/S) configured to provide HVAC functionality(s) of a first category (Kimata, para 32-35, A main board/”electronic circuit” connected with the fan motor and sensors/”HVAC functional device” to provide functionality using sensor data and adjusting air speed with the fan for the main body itself/”HVAC functionality(s) of a first category”.) wherein: the external electrical interface (18) is connected with the electronic circuit (12) and with the extension interface (16A) for transmission of electrical power; the extension interface (16A) is connected with the external electrical interface (18) for transmission of data signal(s) (Kimata, para 42-45, Fig. 4 refs(11, 22, 23a-b, 37, 45, 55, 83) – An interface on the casing/housing of the to provide power and control/data signals between the system units through terminals/”external electrical interface”.); the base HVAC device block (10) is configured: in a first configuration, to connect the external electrical interface (18) with the electronic circuit (12) for transmission of data signal(s) (Kimata, para 42, Fig. 5 refs(11, 22, 23a, 45, 55, 83) – Connecting control/data signals from the between the main board/”electronic circuit” of the main body/”base HVAC block” and system units through the terminals/”external electrical interface”.); and in a second configuration, to connect the external electrical interface (18) with the electronic circuit (12) for transmission of data signal(s) through an add-on electronic circuit (22) of an add-on HVAC device block (20) attached to the base HVAC device block (10) via an add-on interface (26B) of the add-on HVAC device block (20), (Kimata, para 42, Fig. 4 refs(11, 22, 23a-b, 37, 45, 55, 83) – Connecting standard boards/”add-on electronic circuit” of expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” to the main board/”electronic circuit” through its terminals/”external electrical interface” to the terminals/”add-on interface” of the expansion units/”add-on HVAC block”.) wherein the add-on electronic circuit (22) is configured to provide HVAC functionality(s) of a second category. (Kimata, para 42-45, 48, 59 – The standard boards/”add-on electronic circuit” of expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” provide HVAC functions of humidification or adjusting air inlet grilles/”HVAC functionality(s) of a second category”.)
This rejection also applies to claim 16.
Claim 2
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses generating signal(s) for controlling the HVAC functional device (M/S) and/or processing signals generated by the HVAC functional device (M/S). (Kimata, para 35-37, 59, The main board/”electronic circuit” connected with the fan motor and sensors/”HVAC functional device” and/or expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” to provide functionality by processing sensor data signals and generating control signals for adjusting air speed with the fan or adjusting humidity/”HVAC functionality”.)
This rejection also applies to claim 17.
Claim 3
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses HVAC functionality is provided using computer readable instructions executable by a processor of the electronic circuit (12) and/or of the add-on electronic circuit (22). (Kimata, para 70 – Software running on a microcomputer to provide HVAC functionality in the electronic circuits.)
This rejection also applies to claim 18.
Claim 4
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses the external electrical interface (18) and the extension interface (16A) comprise signal connector(s) (S1, Sn) for the transmission of data signals and power connector(s) (P1, Pn) for the transmission of electrical power; the electronic circuit (12) and the power connector(s) (P1, Pn) of the extension interface (16A) are connected with the power connector(s) (P1, Pn) of the external electrical interface (18) for transmission of electrical power; and the electronic circuit (12) and the signal connector(s) (S1, Sn) of the extension interface (16A) are connected with the signal connector(s) (S1, Sn) of the external electrical interface (18) for the transmission of data signal(s). (Kimata, 67-70, Fig. 9 refs(11, 13, 23a-c, 37, 45, 55, 65, 83) – Electrical and expansion interfaces of the standard boards/”add-on electronic circuit” of expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” to the main board/”electronic circuit” through its terminals/”external electrical interface” to the terminals/”add-on interface” of the expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” that provide power and data/control signals between the main board/”electronic circuit” and the expansion units/”add-on HVAC block”.)
This rejection also applies to claim 19.
Claim 5
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses the HVAC functional device (M/S) comprises an electric motor (M) arranged within the housing (11) to drive an actuated part (80) and/or a sensor (S) configured to measure a parameter of an HVAC system (100). (Kimata, para 32-35, The fan motor and sensors/”HVAC functional device” to provide functionality using sensor data and adjusting air speed with the fan for the main body in an HVAC system.)
Claim 6
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses a switching device for switching between the first configuration and the second configuration. (Kimata, para 51-56 - The controller has a function of detecting where or not the main body is connected to each of the expansion units, and transmits operation instructions when connected that allow the system to switch between the configurations.)
Claim 7
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses the switching device is configured to switch the base HVAC device block (10) into the second configuration upon an add-on HVAC device block (20) being attached to the base HVAC device block (10) and/or to switch the HVAC device block (10) into the first configuration upon an add-on HVAC device block (20) being detached from the base HVAC device block (10). (Kimata, para 51-56 - The /”switching device” has a function of detecting where or not the main body is connected to each of the expansion units, and transmits operation instructions when connected.)
Claim 8
Kimata discloses an add-on HVAC device block (20) comprising: a housing (21);
an add-on interface (26B) arranged on the housing (21); and an add-on electronic circuit (22) connected with the add-on interface (26B) (Kimata, para 42, Fig. 4 refs(11, 22, 23a-b, 37, 45, 55, 83) – Expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” with standard boards/”add-on electronic circuit” and terminals/”add-on interface”.) wherein, the add-on HVAC device block (20) is configured, when attached to a base HVAC device block (10): to connect an external electrical interface (18) with an electronic circuit (12) of the base HVAC device block (10) for transmission of data signal(s) through the add-on electronic circuit (22), via the add-on interface (26B) and an extension interface (16A) of the base HVAC device block (10) (Kimata, para 42-45, Fig. 4 refs(11, 22, 23a-b, 37, 45, 55, 83) – Connecting expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” to a main board/”electronic circuit” of a main body/”base HVAC block” through its terminals/”extension interface” to the terminals/”add-on interface” connected to the standard boards/”add-on electronic circuit” of the expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” to provide power and control/data signals between the system units through terminals.); to provide, using the add-on electronic circuit (22), HVAC functionality(s) of a second category to the base HVAC device block (10) (Kimata, para 42-45, 48, 59 – The standard boards/”add-on electronic circuit” of expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” provide HVAC functions of humidification or adjusting air inlet grilles/”HVAC functionality(s) of a second category”.): by generating signal(s) for controlling the HVAC functional device (M/S) and/or by processing signals generated by the HVAC functional device (M/S). (Kimata, para 35-37, 59, The main board/”electronic circuit” connected with the fan motor and sensors/”HVAC functional device” and/or expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” to provide functionality by processing sensor data signals and generating control signals for adjusting air speed with the fan or adjusting humidity/”HVAC functionality”.)
Claim 9
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses the add-on electronic circuit (22) is connected with the add-on interface (26B) for the transmission of electrical power. (Kimata, 67-70, Fig. 9 refs(11, 13, 23a-c, 37, 45, 55, 65, 83) – Electrical and expansion interfaces of the standard boards/”add-on electronic circuit” of expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” to the main board/”electronic circuit” through its terminals/”external electrical interface” to the terminals/”add-on interface” of the expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” that provide power and data/control signals between the main board/”electronic circuit” and the expansion units/”add-on HVAC block”.)
Claim 10
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses HVAC functionality is provided using computer readable instructions executable by a processor of the add-on electronic circuit (22) and/or the electronic circuit (12) attached to the add-on HVAC device block (20). (Kimata, para 70 – Software running on a microcomputer to provide HVAC functionality in the electronic circuits.)
Claim 11
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses a second add-on interface (26A) arranged on the housing (21), the second add-on interface (26A) being connected with the add-on interface (26B) for the transmission of electrical power and data signal(s), wherein the second add-on interface (26A) is configured to be able to receive one or more further add-on HVAC device block(s) (20). (Kimata, para 67, Fig. 9 refs(11-83) – Multiple power and control signal interfaces/”add-on interfaces” allow for multiple expansion units/”add-on HVAC device blocks” to be simultaneously connected.)
Claim 12
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses an add-on external electrical interface (28) arranged on the housing (21) for the transmission of electrical power and data signal(s), the add-on external electrical interface (28) being connected to the add-on electronic circuit (22). (Kimata, 67-70, Fig. 9 refs(11, 13, 23a-c, 37, 45, 55, 65, 83) – Electrical and expansion interfaces of the standard boards/”add-on electronic circuit” of expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” to the main board/”electronic circuit” through its terminals/”external electrical interface” to the terminals/”add-on interface” of the expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” that provide power and data/control signals between the main board/”electronic circuit” and the expansion units/”add-on HVAC block”.)
Claim 14
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses a power interface (29) and a power converter (25) configured to provide electrical power supplied through the power interface (29) for the electric circuit (12) of the base HVAC device block (10) and/or the electronic circuit (22) of the add-on HVAC device block (20). (Kimata, para 44 – A power supply circuit converting a power supply from AC to DC to supply power to the expansion unit/”add-on HVAC device” through terminals/”power interface”.)
Claim 15
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses an HVAC field device (1) comprising: a base HVAC device block (10) comprising: a housing (11); an HVAC functional device (M/S); an extension interface (16A) arranged on the housing (11) (Kimata, para 31-33, 35, 42 – A main body/”base HVAC block”, fan motor and sensors/”HVAC functional device”, and an interface on the casing/housing to provide power and control signals between the system units.); an external electrical interface (18) arranged on the housing (11) for the transmission of electrical power and data signal(s) (Kimata, para 42-45, Fig. 4 refs(11, 22, 23a-b, 37, 45, 55, 83) – An interface on the casing/housing to provide power and control signals between the system units.); and an electronic circuit (12) connected with the HVAC functional device (M/S) configured to provide HVAC functionality(s) of a first category (Kimata, para 32-35, A main board/”electronic circuit” connected with the fan motor and sensors/”HVAC functional device” to provide functionality using sensor data and adjusting air speed with the fan for the main body itself/”HVAC functionality(s) of a first category”.), wherein: the external electrical interface (18) is connected with the electronic circuit (12) and with the extension interface (16A) for transmission of electrical power; the extension interface (16A) is connected with the external electrical interface (18) for transmission of data signal(s) (Kimata, para 42-45, Fig. 4 refs(11, 22, 23a-b, 37, 45, 55, 83) – An interface on the casing/housing of the to provide power and control/data signals between the system units through terminals/”external electrical interface”.); the base HVAC device block (10) is configured: in a first configuration, to connect the external electrical interface (18) with the electronic circuit (12) for transmission of data signal(s) (Kimata, para 42, Fig. 5 refs(11, 22, 23a, 45, 55, 83) – Connecting control/data signals from the between the main board/”electronic circuit” of the main body/”base HVAC block” and system units through the terminals/”external electrical interface”.); and in a second configuration, to connect the external electrical interface (18) with the electronic circuit (12) for transmission of data signal(s) through an add-on electronic circuit (22) of an add-on HVAC device block (20) attached to the base HVAC device block (10) via an add-on interface (26B) of the add-on HVAC device block (20) (Kimata, para 42, Fig. 4 refs(11, 22, 23a-b, 37, 45, 55, 83) – Connecting standard boards/”add-on electronic circuit” of expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” to the main board/”electronic circuit” through its terminals/”external electrical interface” to the terminals/”add-on interface” of the expansion units/”add-on HVAC block”.), wherein the add-on electronic circuit (22) is configured to provide HVAC functionality(s) of a second category. (Kimata, para 42-45, 48, 59 – The standard boards/”add-on electronic circuit” of expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” provide HVAC functions of humidification or adjusting air inlet grilles/”HVAC functionality(s) of a second category”.)
Claim 20
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses switching, using a switching device, the base HVAC device block (10) into the second configuration upon an add-on HVAC device block (20) being attached to the base HVAC device block (10) and/or into the first configuration upon an add-on HVAC device block (20) being detached from the base HVAC device block (10). (Kimata, para 51-56 - The controller/”switching device” has a function of detecting where or not the main body is connected to each of the expansion units, and transmits operation instructions when connected that allow the system to switch between the configurations.)
Claim 21
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses driving an actuated part (80) using an electric motor (M) of the HVAC functional device (M/S) arranged within the housing (11) according to signal(s) generated by the electronic circuit (12) of the base HVAC device block (10) and/or by the add-on electronic circuit (22) of the add-on HVAC device block (20) attached to the base HVAC device block (10) and/or processing, by the electronic circuit (12) of the base HVAC device block (10) and/or by the add-on electronic circuit (22) of the add-on HVAC device block (20) attached to the base HVAC device block (10), signal(s) indicative of a parameter of an HVAC system (100) measured by a sensor (S) of the HVAC functional device (M/S). (Kimata, para 32-35, The fan motor and sensors/”HVAC functional device” to provide functionality using sensor data and adjusting air speed with the fan for the main body in an HVAC system through the power and data/control signals between the main board/”electronic circuit” and the expansion units/”add-on HVAC block”.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimata et al, US Patent Pub US 20200363092 A1 (hereinafter Kimata) as applied to claims 1-12, 14-21 above, and in view of Gottschalk et al, US Patent Pub US 20170295058 A1 (hereinafter Gottschalk).
Claim 13
Kimata discloses all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kimata further discloses the add-on interface (26B) is configured for transmission of data signal(s) and transmission of electrical power over same electrical connections: transfer data signal(s) between the add-on interface (26B) and the add-on electronic circuit (22); transfer electrical power from the add-on interface (26B) to the add-on electronic circuit (22). (Kimata, 67-70, Fig. 9 refs(11, 13, 23a-c, 37, 45, 55, 65, 83) – Electrical and expansion interfaces of the standard boards/”add-on electronic circuit” of expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” to the main board/”electronic circuit” through its terminals/”external electrical interface” to the terminals/”add-on interface” of the expansion units/”add-on HVAC block” that provide power and data/control signals between the main board/”electronic circuit” and the expansion units/”add-on HVAC block”.)
But Kimata fails to specify a power supply unit (23) configured to transfer data signals.
However Gottschalk teaches a power supply unit configured to transfer data signals. (Gottschalk, para 65-66 - A power line communications interface that transmits both power and data signals over the same interface line.)
Kimata and Gottschalk are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They relate to HVAC equipment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above HVAC equipment, as taught by Kimata, and incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Gottschalk.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to reduce the amount of wiring required for providing power and communications by incorporating the above limitations.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Crawford et al, US Patent Pub US 20140207290 relates to claims regarding communicating information from a controller for a rooftop air handling unit to a portable electronic device, with a wire terminal for wiring to the controller for the rooftop air handling unit and for receiving a signal comprising information from the controller for the rooftop air handling unit.
Macmillan, US Patent Pub US 20170336770 relates to claims regarding the intelligent control of at least one energy consuming device within a building, and individual connecting panels with power and data conductor interfaces.
Grogg et al, US Patent Pub US 20190203967 relates to claims regarding a control adapter for fastening on a HVAC device with a connector for a cable connection to the HVAC to convert control signals received and to transmit them to the HVAC device.
Deligiannis et al, US Patent Pub US 20120061480 A1 relates to claims regarding a thermostat system with a base thermostat for providing basic thermostat control and a portable information display (PID) unit that is a dockable display that connects to the base thermostat, where the base thermostat may connect to a metering device or an associated utility network or smart grid.
Conclusion
/DAVID EARL OGG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119