DETAILED ACTION RCE
This communication is in response to claims filed on 08/13/26.
Claims 1-9 are presented for examination.
Claims 1 & 5-9 are currently amended.
Drawings
6. The drawings filed on 09/22/23 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
9. Claim 1, in part, recites, “….a part of information that was received using the PBCH, the PDCCH, or the PDSCH carrying the RMSI…” In lines 6-8. It is unclear what is meant by “information” because the claim does not previously introduce or otherwise clearly identify the information to which this limitation refers. Accordingly, it is unclear what information, or portion thereof, is subsequently received using “the another channel or signal.”
Additionally, claim 1, in part, recites “the receiving section is configured to “not receive at least one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying remaining minimum system information (RMSI)” in lines 2-5.
However, the claim subsequently recites that the part of information “was received using the PBCH, the PDCCH, or the PDSCH carrying the RMSI” In view of the earlier requirement that at least one of the recited channels is not received, it is unclear which of the PBCH, PDCCH, or PDSCH carrying the RMSI was used to receive the recited information and how the subsequently recited “part of information” corresponds to information previously received through such channel.
10. Claims 5-6 are also rejected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 1.
11. Claims 2-4 & 7-9 are rejected for the same reasons as stated above by virtue of their dependency on a rejected based claim.
For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claims as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liberg et al. (hereinafter referred as Liberg) U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0364489 A1, in view of Luo et al. (hereinafter referred as Luo) US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0243075 A1.
Regarding claims 1 & 5: Liberg discloses a terminal (See FIG. 11 & Para. 0122; a wireless terminal 1100)/a radio communication method comprising:
a receiving section (See FIG. 11 & Para. 0122; a wireless terminal 1100 includes a Transceiver Circuitry 1103) configured to, in an initial access procedure, not receive at least one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and a physical downlink shared channel(PDSCH) carrying remaining minimum system information (RMSI), and receive another channel or signal (corresponding to the synchronization signal (PSS SSS)) in an initial access procedure (See Para. 0106; the wireless terminal synchronizes 620 to a cell via the synchronization channel and reads indication of access barring, for example the Resource Barring Bitmap (RBB), which is signalled in the synchronization channel. The wireless terminal then checks if the coverage class to which it belongs (e.g. class X) is set, according to the RBB. Para. 0080 also discloses In another example the signaling of the indication of access barring, or a change of the same, is performed using a synchronization channel (SCH)), for example, EC-SCH for EC-GSM-IoT, LTE primary synchronization signal or secondary synchronization signal (SSS) for eMTC and other LTE features or the NB Primary Synchronization Signal (NPSS) or the NB Secondary Synchronization Signal (NSSS) for NB-IoT. Thus, the wireless terminal synchronize the cell by using the SCH without receiving PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH RMSI ); and
a control section configured to perform control in the initial access procedure based on the other channel or signal (See Para. 0106; the wireless terminal synchronizes 620 to a cell via the synchronization channel and reads indication of access barring, for example the Resource Barring Bitmap (RBB), which is signaled in the synchronization channel. The wireless terminal then checks if the coverage class to which it belongs (e.g. class X) is set, according to the RBB. Thus, the wireless terminal receives BBB via SCH to determine the coverage class).
Liberg dos not explicitly disclose the terminal receiving a signal without receiving at least one of PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH and wherein the receiving section is configured to receive, using the another channel or signal, a part of information that was received using the PBCH, the PDCCH, or the PDSCH carrying the RMSI.
However, Luo from the same field of endeavor discloses receiving a signal without receiving at least one of PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH (See Para. 0049-0055; UE 304 can decode a data channel carrying the random access response without decoding control channels (i.e., PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH) in order to retrieve the payload information (e.g., temp-RNTI and uplink grant)); wherein the receiving section is configured to receive, using the another channel or signal, a part of information that was received using the PBCH, the PDCCH, or the PDSCH carrying the RMSI (See Para. 0057 & 0062; receive information via PBCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the terminal receiving a signal without receiving at least one of PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH and wherein the receiving section is configured to receive, using the another channel or signal, a part of information that was received using the PBCH, the PDCCH, or the PDSCH carrying the RMSI as taught by Luo in the system of Liberg in order to improved random access procedure for current and future versions of user equipment communicating with base stations (See Para. 0003; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 2: The combination of Liberg and Luo disclose a terminal.
Furthermore, Liberg discloses a terminal, wherein in the initial access procedure, the receiving section is configured to not receive the PBCH, and receives the other channel or signal including at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) index (See Para. 0080 & 0106; the wireless terminal synchronizes 620 to a cell via the synchronization channel and reads indication of access barring. In another example the signaling of the indication of access barring, or a change of the same, is performed using a synchronization channel (SCH), for example the EC-SCH for EC-GSM-IoT, the LTE Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) or Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS)) OR (See Luo; Para. 0052).
Regarding claim 3: The combination of Liberg and Luo disclose a terminal.
Furthermore, Luo discloses a terminal, wherein in the initial access procedure, the receiving section is configured to not receive the PDCCH, and receives information related to a resource for the PDSCH carrying RMSI by using the PBCH, and receives information related to resources for a Message 2 PDSCH and a Message 4 PDSCH by using the PDSCH carrying RMSI (See Para. 0053, 0055; the base station 302 can send the random access response yielded by response production component 310 to UE 304. UE 304 can decode a data channel carrying the random access response without decoding control channels in order to retrieve the payload information (e.g., temp-RNTI and uplink grant). The UE derives resource/MCS or other information requiring for decoding Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) through those mapping functions without decoding control channels. the contention resolution message (message 4) yielded by contention resolution component 312 can be transmitted by base station 302 to UE 304, and UE 304 can decode a data channel carrying the contention resolution message without decoding control channels. The location of the data channel containing contention resolution message can be linked to temp-RNTI, sub-frame number, system frame number and/or UE ID or other information know to UE and base station after processing message 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein in the initial access procedure, the receiving section is configured to not receive the PDCCH, and receives information related to a resource for the PDSCH carrying RMSI by using the PBCH, and receives information related to resources for a Message 2 PDSCH and a Message 4 PDSCH by using the PDSCH carrying RMSI as taught by Luo in the system of Liberg in order to improved random access procedure for current and future versions of user equipment communicating with base stations (See Para. 0003; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 4: The combination of Liberg and Luo disclose a terminal.
Furthermore, Luo discloses a terminal, wherein, the receiving section is configured to not to receive the PDSCH carrying RMSI and receive information related to random access channel (RACH) transmission by using the PBCH or the PDCCH (See Para. 0050 & 0053; The base station can convey the RACH sequence and its usage through system information block. The base station may use PBCH payload or through physical signal such as PSS/SSS/PRS/RS. the UE 304 can derive message 2 payload information using preamble of one or more of the RACH sequence, random access-RNTI, Cell ID, sub-frame number, system frame number and Tx antenna information or any other information UE has acquired through downlink channels. This information is already known by UE using SIB, PBCH, PSS, SSS, PRS, RS or any combination signals or channels. Th cited phrases imply that the RACH procedure related to parameters are provided to the UE via PBCH (i.e., RACH sequence and SFN, and corresponding mapping between the RACH sequence and the SFN and other RACH parameters) without usage of RMSI).
Regarding claim 6: Zeng discloses a base station (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0125; a radio network node) comprising:
a transmitting section (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0125; a radio network node includes a Transceiver Circuitry 1203) configured to, in an initial access procedure, not to transmit at least one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a physical downlink shared adj3 channel (PDSCH) carrying remaining minimum system information (RMSI) and transmit another channel or signal (See Para. 0080 & 0106; the wireless terminal synchronises 620 to a cell via the synchronisation channel and reads indication of access barring, for example the Resource Barring Bitmap (RBB), which is signalled in the synchronisation channel. The wireless terminal then checks if the coverage class to which it belongs (e.g. class X) is set, according to the RBB. In another example the signaling of the indication of access barring, or a change of the same, is performed using a synchronization channel (SCH), for example the EC-SCH for EC-GSM-IoT, the LTE Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) or Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS) for eMTC and other LTE features or the NB Primary Synchronization Signal (NPSS) or the NB Secondary Synchronization Signal (NSSS) for NB-IoT); and
a control section (See FIG. 12 & Para. 0125; a radio network node includes a Transceiver Circuitry 1203 includes a Processor Circuitry 1201) configured to perform control in the initial access procedure on a basis of the other channel or signal (See Para. 0106; the wireless terminal synchronizes 620 to a cell via the synchronization channel and reads indication of access barring, for example the Resource Barring Bitmap (RBB), which is signalled in the synchronization channel. The wireless terminal then checks if the coverage class to which it belongs (e.g. class X) is set, according to the RBB. Para. 0080 also discloses In another example the signaling of the indication of access barring, or a change of the same, is performed using a synchronization channel (SCH)), for example, EC-SCH for EC-GSM-IoT, LTE primary synchronization signal or secondary synchronization signal (SSS) for eMTC and other LTE features or the NB Primary Synchronization Signal (NPSS) or the NB Secondary Synchronization Signal (NSSS) for NB-IoT. Thus, the wireless terminal synchronize the cell by using the SCH without receiving PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH RMSI ).
Liberg dos not explicitly disclose the base station not to transmit at least one of PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH and wherein the transmitting section is configured to transmit, using the another channel or signal a part of information that was transmitted using the PBCH, the PDCCH, or the PDSCH carrying the RMSI.
However, Luo from the same field of endeavor discloses the base station not to transmit at least one of PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH (See Para. 0049-0055; UE 304 can decode a data channel carrying the random access response without decoding control channels (i.e., PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH) in order to retrieve the payload information (e.g., temp-RNTI and uplink grant)); and wherein the transmitting section is configured to transmit, using the another channel or signal a part of information that was transmitted using the PBCH, the PDCCH, or the PDSCH carrying the RMSI (See Para. 0057 & 0062; transmitting information via PBCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the base station not to transmit at least one of PBCH, PDCCH, PDSCH and wherein the transmitting section is configured to transmit, using the another channel or signal a part of information that was transmitted using the PBCH, the PDCCH, or the PDSCH carrying the RMSI as taught by Luo in the system of Liberg in order to improved random access procedure for current and future versions of user equipment communicating with base stations (See Para. 0003; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Liberg and Luo disclose a terminal.
Furthermore, Luo discloses a terminal, wherein in the initial access procedure, the receiving section is configure not to receive the PDCCH, and receives information related to a resource for the PDSCH carrying RMSI by using the PBCH, and receives information related to resources for a Message 2 PDSCH and a Message 4 PDSCH by using the PDSCH carrying RMSI (See Para. 0053, 0055; the base station 302 can send the random access response yielded by response production component 310 to UE 304. UE 304 can decode a data channel carrying the random access response without decoding control channels in order to retrieve the payload information (e.g., temp-RNTI and uplink grant). The UE derives resource/MCS or other information requiring for decoding Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) through those mapping functions without decoding control channels. the contention resolution message (message 4) yielded by contention resolution component 312 can be transmitted by base station 302 to UE 304, and UE 304 can decode a data channel carrying the contention resolution message without decoding control channels. The location of the data channel containing contention resolution message can be linked to temp-RNTI, sub-frame number, system frame number and/or UE ID or other information know to UE and base station after processing message 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein in the initial access procedure, without receiving the PDCCH, the receiving section receives information related to a resource for the RMSI PDSCH by using the PBCH, and receives information related to resources for a Message 2 PDSCH and a Message 4 PDSCH by using the RMSI PDSCH as taught by Luo in the system of Liberg in order to improved random access procedure for current and future versions of user equipment communicating with base stations (See Para. 0003; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 8: The combination of Liberg and Luo disclose a terminal.
Furthermore, Luo discloses a terminal, wherein the receiving section is configured to not receive the PDSCH carrying RMSI, and receives information related to random access channel (RACH) transmission by using the PBCH or the PDCCH (See Para. 0050 & 0053; The base station can convey the RACH sequence and its usage through system information block. The base station may use PBCH payload or through physical signal such as PSS/SSS/PRS/RS. the UE 304 can derive message 2 payload information using preamble of one or more of the RACH sequence, random access-RNTI, Cell ID, sub-frame number, system frame number and Tx antenna information or any other information UE has acquired through downlink channels. This information is already known by UE using SIB, PBCH, PSS, SSS, PRS, RS or any combination signals or channels. Th cited phrases imply that the RACH procedure related to parameters are provided to the UE via PBCH (i.e., RACH sequence and SFN, and corresponding mapping between the RACH sequence and the SFN and other RACH parameters) without usage of RMSI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein without receiving the RMSI PDSCH, the receiving section receives information related to random access channel (RACH) transmission by using the PBCH or the PDCCH as taught by Luo in the system of Liberg in order to improved random access procedure for current and future versions of user equipment communicating with base stations (See Para. 0003; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 9: The combination of Liberg and Luo disclose a terminal.
Furthermore, Luo discloses a terminal, wherein the receiving section is configured to not receive the PDSCH, and receives information related to random access channel (RACH) transmission by using the PBCH or the PDCCH (See Para. 0050 & 0053; The base station can convey the RACH sequence and its usage through system information block. The base station may use PBCH payload or through physical signal such as PSS/SSS/PRS/RS. the UE 304 can derive message 2 payload information using preamble of one or more of the RACH sequence, random access-RNTI, Cell ID, sub-frame number, system frame number and Tx antenna information or any other information UE has acquired through downlink channels. This information is already known by UE using SIB, PBCH, PSS, SSS, PRS, RS or any combination signals or channels. Th cited phrases imply that the RACH procedure related to parameters are provided to the UE via PBCH (i.e., RACH sequence and SFN, and corresponding mapping between the RACH sequence and the SFN and other RACH parameters) without usage of RMSI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein without receiving the RMSI PDSCH, the receiving section receives information related to random access channel (RACH) transmission by using the PBCH or the PDCCH as taught by Luo in the system of Liberg in order to improved random access procedure for current and future versions of user equipment communicating with base stations (See Para. 0003; lines 1-2).
Conclusion
14. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Harrison et al. 2022/0394776 A1 (Title: Wireless device, a network node, for determining an identity of a wireless device…) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. NOH et al. 2022/0394755 A1 (Title: Method and device for performing uplink/downlink transmission in a wireless communication..) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Hong et al. 2022/0338291 A1 (Title: MBS data switching method and device) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469