DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The present Office Action is based upon the Applicant’s amendment filed on January 28, 2026. Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 11-14, 17, 18, 21, and 23-26 are now pending in the present application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 11-14, 17, 18, 21, 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AHMED et al. -US 20180105053 A1- (hereinafter Ahmed) in view of Zeine at al. -US 20240072550 A1- (hereinafter Zeine).
Regarding claim 1, Ahmed discloses a capability determination method, performed by a terminal (FIG. 1, par. 0030, for a vehicle computing system located in a vehicle… Such a system may include, but is not limited to, a wireless device (e.g., and without limitation, a mobile phone) or a remote computing system (e.g., and without limitation, a server) connected through the wireless device), comprising:
receiving capability information sent by a base station (FIG. 2B, par. 0057, “the access point broadcasts a set of credentials 201 usable by a vehicle to determine if the access point is appropriate for connection (e.g., if the access point is affiliated with an available, compatible charging pad)” and par. 0051); and
determining a wireless charging capability of the base station according to the capability information (FIG. 3, par. 0064, “based on the received credentials and definitions of one or more charging pads associated with the access point, the vehicle determines if the vehicle charging system is compatible with the advertised charging services 303.”; par. 0006, “The processor is also configured to determine an access point affiliation with a wireless charging pad based on data included in the communication signals, the data also providing charging pad compatibility characteristics.”),
wherein the method further comprises: determining a target base station for cell selection or cell reselection among candidate base stations according to a wireless charging capability of each of the candidate base stations (par. 0048, “a vehicle selects 204 an access point that is believed to be affiliated with a particular charging pad in a parking spot and attempts connection 206 with the access point.”; par. 0046, “Determining compatibility in advance can save a driver time and effort involved in precisely maneuvering a vehicle into position, waiting for an available bay, and/or connecting and re-connecting to a plurality of different access points until a proper utilizable charging pad is discovered.”).
However, Ahmed fails to disclose wherein the target base station provides a wireless charging service for the terminal through multiple antennas of the target bases station.
In the same field of endeavor, Zeine discloses wherein the target base station provides a wireless charging service for the terminal through multiple antennas of the target bases station (FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, par. 0064, “Each wireless power transmission system 101 can include multiple antennas 104a-n, e.g., an antenna array including hundreds or thousands of antennas, which are capable of delivering wireless power to wireless devices 102.”; par. 0077, “As illustrated in the example of FIG. 3, the wireless charger 300 includes a master bus controller (MBC) board and multiple mezzanine boards that collectively comprise the antenna array. The MBC includes control logic 310, an external data interface (UF) 315, an external power interface (UF) 320, a communication block 330 and proxy 340. The mezzanine (or antenna array boards 350) each include multiple antennas 360a-360n.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate multiple antenna for delivering wireless power as taught by Zeine to the access point affiliation with a wireless charging pad as disclosed by Ahmed for purpose of delivering wireless power to the vehicle computing system.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Ahmed discloses wherein the wireless charging capability comprises one of: supporting wireless charging, or not supporting wireless charging (par. 0065, “If the vehicle and charging pad are compatible, as identified from the received information, the process may then determine if the vehicle needs charging 307. In other examples, the charging determination may be the cause of the vehicle looking for an appropriate access point in the first place. This may involve, for example, determining if the vehicle is below a predetermined minimum charge threshold, or, for example, if insufficient charge remains in the vehicle to complete a planned journey. If charging is not “needed,” the vehicle may present a driver with an option to select the charging point for use 309.”).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 2 above, Ahmed discloses determining a wireless charging configuration of the base station according to the capability information in response to determining that the base station supports wireless charging (par. 0051, “the access point will broadcast information relating to compatibility and essentially advertise its services for identification and acceptance by a vehicle… This information can include, but is not limited to, pad status (occupied, reserved, free, etc.), supported protocols, charging services, maximum vertical height(s), payment options, etc. Other information may be designated as lower priority, and may include, but is not limited to, power capabilities (charging speeds), form of payment charge (tariff, time based, flat rate, etc.), charging consortium, etc.”; par. 0054-0055).
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, Ahmed discloses wherein the wireless charging configuration comprises at least one of: a wireless charging power, a wireless charging duration, or a wireless charging frequency (par. 0051).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Ahmed discloses wherein determining the target base station for cell selection or cell reselection among the candidate base stations according to the wireless capability information of each of the candidate base stations comprises: determining the target base station among the candidate base stations according to the wireless capability information of each candidate base station in response to an electric quantity of the terminal being lower than an electric quantity threshold (par. 0065, “the charging determination may be the cause of the vehicle looking for an appropriate access point in the first place. This may involve, for example, determining if the vehicle is below a predetermined minimum charge threshold, or, for example, if insufficient charge remains in the vehicle to complete a planned journey.”).
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Ahmed discloses wherein determining the target base station for cell selection or cell reselection among the candidate base stations according to the wireless charging capability of each of the candidate base stations comprises: determining the target base station among the candidate base stations according to the wireless charging capability and signal quality of each candidate base station (par. 0047, “If the location of a vehicle wireless receiver is also known (the location within the vehicle relative to a charge receptor location), then the vehicle receiver can be positioned at a specific distance from each of multiple access points (determinable based on, for example, received signal strength indicators), and the corresponding relative location of the charge receptor will be positioned correctly. For example, if a positional offset of the wireless receiver relative to the charge receptor is known, the vehicle can position itself such that the wireless receiver is in a location whereby the offset charge receptor is properly aligned.”).
Regarding claim 11, Ahmed discloses a capability indication method, performed by a base station, comprising:
sending capability information to a terminal, wherein the capability information is configured to indicate a wireless charging capability of the base station (FIG. 2B, par. 0057, “the access point broadcasts a set of credentials 201 usable by a vehicle to determine if the access point is appropriate for connection (e.g., if the access point is affiliated with an available, compatible charging pad)” and par. 0051, “certain information that is more critical to ensuring compatibility may accompany a broadcast, which can be received and processed by a vehicle without actually connecting to the access point (handshaking). This information can include, but is not limited to… charging services… Other information may be designated as lower priority, and may include… power capabilities (charging speeds)… charging consortium, etc.”),
wherein the wireless charging capability of the base station is used by the terminal to determine a target base station for cell selection or cell reselection among candidate base stations according to a wireless charging capability of each of the candidate base stations (par. 0048, “a vehicle selects 204 an access point that is believed to be affiliated with a particular charging pad in a parking spot and attempts connection 206 with the access point.”; par. 0046, “Determining compatibility in advance can save a driver time and effort involved in precisely maneuvering a vehicle into position, waiting for an available bay, and/or connecting and re-connecting to a plurality of different access points until a proper utilizable charging pad is discovered.”).
However, Ahmed fails to disclose wherein the target base station provides a wireless charging service for the terminal through multiple antennas of the target bases station.
In the same field of endeavor, Zeine discloses wherein the target base station provides a wireless charging service for the terminal through multiple antennas of the target bases station (FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, par. 0064, “Each wireless power transmission system 101 can include multiple antennas 104a-n, e.g., an antenna array including hundreds or thousands of antennas, which are capable of delivering wireless power to wireless devices 102.”; par. 0077, “As illustrated in the example of FIG. 3, the wireless charger 300 includes a master bus controller (MBC) board and multiple mezzanine boards that collectively comprise the antenna array. The MBC includes control logic 310, an external data interface (UF) 315, an external power interface (UF) 320, a communication block 330 and proxy 340. The mezzanine (or antenna array boards 350) each include multiple antennas 360a-360n.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate multiple antenna for delivering wireless power as taught by Zeine to the access point affiliation with a wireless charging pad as disclosed by Ahmed for purpose of delivering wireless power to the vehicle computing system.
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 11 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 13 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 17, Ahmed discloses a terminal, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store a computer program (FIG. 1, par. 0016 and 0017 for a vehicle based computing system 1 (VCS) with a processor 3 connected to both non-persistent 5 and persistent storage 7 to control at least some portion of the operation of the vehicle-based computing system); wherein the processor is configured to:
receive capability information sent by a base station (FIG. 2B, par. 0057, “the access point broadcasts a set of credentials 201 usable by a vehicle to determine if the access point is appropriate for connection (e.g., if the access point is affiliated with an available, compatible charging pad)” and par. 0051); and
determine a wireless charging capability of the base station according to the capability information (FIG. 3, par. 0064, “based on the received credentials and definitions of one or more charging pads associated with the access point, the vehicle determines if the vehicle charging system is compatible with the advertised charging services 303.”; par. 006, “The processor is also configured to determine an access point affiliation with a wireless charging pad based on data included in the communication signals, the data also providing charging pad compatibility characteristics.”).
determining a target base station for cell selection or cell reselection among candidate base stations according to a wireless charging capability of each of the candidate base stations (par. 0048, “a vehicle selects 204 an access point that is believed to be affiliated with a particular charging pad in a parking spot and attempts connection 206 with the access point.”; par. 0046, “Determining compatibility in advance can save a driver time and effort involved in precisely maneuvering a vehicle into position, waiting for an available bay, and/or connecting and re-connecting to a plurality of different access points until a proper utilizable charging pad is discovered.”).
However, Ahmed fails to disclose wherein the target base station provides a wireless charging service for the terminal through multiple antennas of the target bases station.
In the same field of endeavor, Zeine discloses wherein the target base station provides a wireless charging service for the terminal through multiple antennas of the target bases station (FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, par. 0064, “Each wireless power transmission system 101 can include multiple antennas 104a-n, e.g., an antenna array including hundreds or thousands of antennas, which are capable of delivering wireless power to wireless devices 102.”; par. 0077, “As illustrated in the example of FIG. 3, the wireless charger 300 includes a master bus controller (MBC) board and multiple mezzanine boards that collectively comprise the antenna array. The MBC includes control logic 310, an external data interface (UF) 315, an external power interface (UF) 320, a communication block 330 and proxy 340. The mezzanine (or antenna array boards 350) each include multiple antennas 360a-360n.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate multiple antenna for delivering wireless power as taught by Zeine to the access point affiliation with a wireless charging pad as disclosed by Ahmed for purpose of delivering wireless power to the vehicle computing system.
Regarding claim 18, Ahmed discloses a base station, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store a computer program; wherein, when the computer program is executed by the processor, the capability indication method of claim 11 is implemented (FIG. 1, par. 0020 for a cellular tower or a WiFi access point 57 with inherent processor, memory and computer program, “the system 1 uses the BLUETOOTH transceiver 15 to communicate 17 with a user's nomadic device 53 (e.g., cell phone, smart phone, PDA, or any other device having wireless remote network connectivity). The nomadic device can then be used to communicate 59 with a network 61 outside the vehicle 31 through, for example, communication 55 with a cellular tower 57. In some embodiments, tower 57 may be a WiFi access point.”).
Regarding claim 21, as applied to claim 17 above, Ahmed discloses wherein the wireless charging capability comprises one of: supporting wireless charging, or not supporting wireless charging (par. 0065, “If the vehicle and charging pad are compatible, as identified from the received information, the process may then determine if the vehicle needs charging 307. In other examples, the charging determination may be the cause of the vehicle looking for an appropriate access point in the first place. This may involve, for example, determining if the vehicle is below a predetermined minimum charge threshold, or, for example, if insufficient charge remains in the vehicle to complete a planned journey. If charging is not “needed,” the vehicle may present a driver with an option to select the charging point for use 309.”); and the processor is further configured to: determine a wireless charging configuration of the base station according to the capability information in response to determining that the base station supports wireless charging (par. 0051, “the access point will broadcast information relating to compatibility and essentially advertise its services for identification and acceptance by a vehicle… This information can include, but is not limited to, pad status (occupied, reserved, free, etc.), supported protocols, charging services, maximum vertical height(s), payment options, etc. Other information may be designated as lower priority, and may include, but is not limited to, power capabilities (charging speeds), form of payment charge (tariff, time based, flat rate, etc.), charging consortium, etc.”; par. 0054-0055).
Regarding claim 23, as applied to claim 17 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 24, as applied to claim 17 above, the claim is rejected for the same reason(s) as set forth claim 7 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8-10, 25 and 26 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 9 of the Applicant’s remarks, Applicant asserts the amended title is corresponding to the subject matter of the claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
On page 10 of the Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues, “after selecting and connecting with the access point, the vehicle cannot be charged by the access point, and the wireless charging of the vehicle requires the proper alignment of the vehicle and the ground charging coils. It is noted that, the access point of AHMED can merely provide the connection service, while the associated charging pad with ground charging coils provides the wireless charging service.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The access point affiliation with a wireless charging pad, as disclosed by Ahmed, reads on claimed base station and target base station.
Applicant further argues “the target base station as defined in amended claim 1 is configured with multiple antennas, communicates with the terminal for sending information to the terminal (and also receiving information from the terminal) and for cell selection or reselection, and can provide a wireless charging service for a terminal. Accordingly, the target base station as defined in amended claim 1 is different from the access point of AHMED.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated above, the access point affiliation with a wireless charging pad, as disclosed by Ahmed, reads on claimed base station and target base station. Zeine, in combination with Ahmed, discloses the claimed, “target base station provides a wireless charging service for the terminal through multiple antennas of the target bases station”.
On page 11 of the Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues, “AHMED merely mentions "selects 204 an access point that is believed to be affiliated with a particular charging pad in a parking spot and attempts connection 206 with the access point" (seeing paragraph 48). In other words, when selecting the access point for connection, AHMED does not take into account the wireless charging capability of the access point. Also as discussed above, the access point itself is not provided with the wireless charging capability, and thus the wireless charging capability cannot be taken into account. In addition, for a person skilled in the art, attempting connection of AHMED is different from the cell selection or reselection for the terminal, the later one is conventionally related to signal quality.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. The combination of the access point and charging pads considered as claimed base station and target base station. Ahmed in paragraph [0008] discloses, “a computer implemented method includes communicating access point credentials and charging pad compatibility characteristics via the access point, responsive to a determination that a charging pad associated with a wireless access point is available for use.”
Therefore, Ahmed in combination with Zeine disclose the limitations of independent claims 1, 11 and 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Bittner et al. -US 20210195501 A1- disclose Wireless Network Pairing For Wireless Electric Vehicle Charging.
LEE et al. -US 20120231856 A1- disclose MOBILE TERMINAL, METHOD OF CONTROLLING WIRELESS CHARGING THEREOF, AND WIRELESS CHARGING SYSTEM THEREOF.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLAHYAR KASRAIA N/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642