DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the driving pad tooth must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because force application mechanism recited in the claims does not have a reference character in the specification or drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Hattori et al. (JP 2002264061 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Hattori discloses:
a force application system (5A) for placement on and removal from an actuable latch (VH) with a robotic arm (2 & 2a & 2b), the system comprising:
a driving pad (5d) configured for attachment to the actuable latch [0038], wherein the driving pad comprises at least one tooth (5b) (Fig. 5) configured for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038];
a frame (5e) rotationally fixed to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040] for engagement by the robotic arm [0038], wherein the frame is configured to receive an input force from the robotic arm and transmit the input force as an output force to the driving pad [as the frame is connected between the robotic arm and the driving pad all forces that impart movement to the frame by the robotic arm are transmitted to the driving pad].
Regarding Claim 7, Hattori teaches:
the robotic arm (Fig. 1), wherein the robotic arm comprises:
a platform (1 & 2a) with driving members (1c & 1d) for moving the platform along a surface [0016]; and
an actuator for moving the robotic a4, rm [0017 & 0018 & 0021 & 0028 & 0049].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (JP 2002264061 A) in view of Beckman et al. (US 20210393342 A1) and Junkers (US 4336727 A).
Regarding Claim 2, Hattori teaches:
an intermittent driving means rotationally fixed to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040];
Hattori does not teach:
the input force drives a geared force multiplier;
the frame comprises:
a ratchet wheel rotationally fixed to the driving pad;
a pawl engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad; and
a rod coupled to the pawl to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to the input force.
Beckman teaches:
a force application system (1200 & 1702) [0154] for articulation and manipulation of an exchangeable tool (1202 & 1600) with a robotic arm (1210) [0154], the system comprising:
a driven member (1206 & 1602 & 1604) configured for performing work [0107 & 0109 & 0110 & 0132 & 0137 & 0138];
a frame (1218 & 1614 & 1618) rotationally fixed to the driven member [0109 & 0110 & 0139 & 0140 & 0141 & 0142 & 0143 & 0144 & 0145] for engagement by the robotic arm (Fig. 12 & Fig. 17A) [0109 & 0110 & 0154 & 0156], wherein the frame is configured to receive an input force from the robotic arm and transmit the input force as an output force to the driving pad [0109 & 0110 & 0154 & 0156];
the input force drives a geared force modifier (1220 & 1838a & 1938a & 1938b & 2048) [0109 & 0110 & 0146 & 0150 & 0169 & 0170 & 0171 & 0172 & 0173 & 0174 & 0175].
Junkers teaches:
the frame comprises:
a ratchet wheel (26) rotationally fixed to an engagement means (23);
a pawl (12 & 18) engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad [Column 3 Lines 39-68 & Column 4 Lines 1-20]; an
a rod (10 & 11) coupled (13 & 14 & 15) to the pawl (Fig. 1) to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to an input force [Column 2 Lines 64-68 & Column 3 Lines 1-68 & Column 4 Lines 1-20].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the force application system for articulation and manipulation of an exchangeable tool with a robotic arm having a driven member configured for performing work, a frame rotationally fixed to the driven member for engagement by the robotic arm, wherein the frame is configured to receive an input force from the robotic arm and transmit the input force as an output force to the driving pad, where the input force drives a geared force modifier taught by Beckman further modified with the force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, the force application mechanism comprises: a ratchet wheel rotationally fixed to the driving pad, a pawl engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad, and a rod coupled to the pawl to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to the input force taught by Junkers in order to provide an exchangeable robotic manipulator with a force application mechanism driven by a robotic arm drive output, the manipulator having a driving force multiplier for increasing a torque output of the robotic arm drive output to match a required torque of the robotic manipulator in order to provide a variety of manipulators capable of various different tasks to increase the utility of the robot while preventing backlash in the system during advancing operations.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (JP 2002264061 A) in view of Beckman et al. (US 20210393342 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Hattori teaches:
the frame is configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040].
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad.
Beckman teaches:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set (1220 & 1838a & 1938a & 1938b & 2048) [0109 & 0110 & 0146 & 0150 & 0169 & 0170 & 0171 & 0172 & 0173 & 0174 & 0175] with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the tool holder [0109 & 0110 & 0146 & 0150 & 0169 & 0170 & 0171 & 0172 & 0173 & 0174 & 0175].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, where the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad taught by Beckman in order to provide an exchangeable robotic manipulator with a force application mechanism driven by a robotic arm drive output, the manipulator having a driving force multiplier for increasing a torque output of the robotic arm drive output to match a required torque of the robotic manipulator in order to provide a variety of manipulators capable of various different tasks to increase the utility of the robot.
Regarding Claim 4, Hattori teaches:
the frame is configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040]; and
a motor (5e) to apply the input force.
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad.
Beckman teaches:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set (1220 & 1838a & 1938a & 1938b & 2048) [0109 & 0110 & 0146 & 0150 & 0169 & 0170 & 0171 & 0172 & 0173 & 0174 & 0175] with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the tool holder to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad [0109 & 0110 & 0146 & 0150 & 0169 & 0170 & 0171 & 0172 & 0173 & 0174 & 0175]; and
a motor to apply the input force [0108].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force where the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad taught by Beckman in order to provide an exchangeable robotic manipulator with a force application mechanism driven by a robotic arm drive output, the manipulator having a driving force multiplier for increasing a torque output of the robotic arm drive output to match a required torque of the robotic manipulator in order to provide a variety of manipulators capable of various different tasks to increase the utility of the robot.
Regarding Claim 5, Hattori does not teach:
the driving pad comprises a magnet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an engagement member for engaging a ferrous latch member with a magnet to more securely engage the ferrous latch member with the engagement member to prevent accidental disengagement of the engagement member since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that magnets as a securing means for securing implements to ferromagnetic members were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 6, Hattori does not teach:
a gear set supported by the frame, wherein the gear set comprises a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to transmit the output force.
Beckman teaches:
a gear set (1220 & 1838a & 1938a & 1938b & 2048) [0109 & 0110 & 0146 & 0150 & 0169 & 0170 & 0171 & 0172 & 0173 & 0174 & 0175] supported by the frame (Fig. 12 & Fig. 17A & Fig. 17B & Fig. 18), wherein the gear set comprises a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to transmit the output force [0109 & 0110 & 0146 & 0150 & 0169 & 0170 & 0171 & 0172 & 0173 & 0174 & 0175].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, where the force application mechanism comprises a gear set supported by the frame, wherein the gear set comprises a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to transmit the output force taught by Beckman in order to provide an exchangeable robotic manipulator with a force application mechanism driven by a robotic arm drive output, the manipulator having a driving force multiplier for increasing a torque output of the robotic arm drive output to match a required torque of the robotic manipulator in order to provide a variety of manipulators capable of various different tasks to increase the utility of the robot.
Regarding Claim 8, Hattori teaches:
A method, comprising:
attaching, with a robotic arm (2 & 2a & 2b), a force application tool (5e & 5d) to an actuable latch (VH) on a closure [0038], wherein the force application tool comprises a driving pad attached to the actuable latch [0038], wherein the driving pad comprises at least one tooth (5b) (Fig. 5) positioned between radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038];
applying an input force from the robotic arm to the frame [as the frame is connected between the robotic arm and the driving pad all forces that impart movement to the frame by the robotic arm are transmitted to the driving pad];
moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position in response to an output force applied to the actuable latch via the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040]; and
moving the closure with the robotic arm to open a pathway (Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism is configured to increase an input force to an amplified output force
Beckman teaches:
a method, comprising:
attaching, with a robotic arm (1210) [0154], a force application tool (1200 & 1702) [0154] for doing work on a target workpiece [0107 & 0109 & 0110 & 0132 & 0137 & 0138], wherein the force application tool comprises a driven member (1206 & 1602 & 1604) configured for performing work on a target workpiece [0107 & 0109 & 0110 & 0132 & 0137 & 0138], wherein the driven member comprises at least one engaging member (1604);
engaging a frame (1218 & 1614 & 1618) of the force application tool with the robotic arm (Fig. 12 & Fig. 17A) [0109 & 0110 & 0154 & 0156], wherein the frame is rotationally fixed to the driving pad [0109 & 0110 & 0139 & 0140 & 0141 & 0142 & 0143 & 0144 & 0145];
applying an input force from the robotic arm to the frame [0109 & 0110 & 0154 & 0156];
increasing, with the force application tool, the input force to a increased output force (1220 & 1838a & 1938a & 1938b & 2048) [0109 & 0110 & 0146 & 0150 & 0169 & 0170 & 0171 & 0172 & 0173 & 0174 & 0175]; and
working the workpiece in response to the amplified output force applied to the workpiece via the driving pad [0107 & 0109 & 0110 & 0132 & 0137 & 0138].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of attaching a force application tool to an actuable latch on a closure for moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position and moving the closer with the robotic arm to open a pathway utilizing a force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the method of performing work on a workpiece utilizing a force application tool for doing work on a target workpiece, the force application tool comprises a driven member configured for performing work on a target workpiece, where the driven member comprises at least one engaging member, engaging a frame of the force application tool with the robotic arm, where the frame is rotationally fixed to the driving pad, applying an input force from the robotic arm to the frame, increasing, with the force application tool, the input force to a increased output force, and working the workpiece in response to the amplified output force applied to the workpiece via the driving pad taught by Beckman in order to provide an exchangeable robotic manipulator with a force application mechanism driven by a robotic arm drive output, the manipulator having a driving force multiplier for increasing a torque output of the robotic arm drive output to match a required torque of the robotic manipulator in order to provide a variety of manipulators capable of various different tasks to increase the utility of the robot.
Regarding Claim 11, Hattori does not teach:
a gear set supported by the frame, wherein the gear set comprises a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to transmit the output force.
Beckman teaches:
a gear set (1220 & 1838a & 1938a & 1938b & 2048) [0109 & 0110 & 0146 & 0150 & 0169 & 0170 & 0171 & 0172 & 0173 & 0174 & 0175] supported by the frame (Fig. 12 & Fig. 17A & Fig. 17B & Fig. 18), wherein the gear set comprises a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to transmit the output force [0109 & 0110 & 0146 & 0150 & 0169 & 0170 & 0171 & 0172 & 0173 & 0174 & 0175].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, where the force application mechanism comprises a gear set supported by the frame, wherein the gear set comprises a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to transmit the output force taught by Beckman in order to provide an exchangeable robotic manipulator with a force application mechanism driven by a robotic arm drive output, the manipulator having a driving force multiplier for increasing a torque output of the robotic arm drive output to match a required torque of the robotic manipulator in order to provide a variety of manipulators capable of various different tasks to increase the utility of the robot.
Regarding Claim 12, Hattori teaches:
a motor (5e) to apply an input force [0038 & 0039 & 0040].
Hattori does not teach:
a gear set supported by the frame, wherein the gear set comprises a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to transmit the output force.
Beckman teaches:
a gear set (1220 & 1838a & 1938a & 1938b & 2048) [0109 & 0110 & 0146 & 0150 & 0169 & 0170 & 0171 & 0172 & 0173 & 0174 & 0175] supported by the frame (Fig. 12 & Fig. 17A & Fig. 17B & Fig. 18), wherein the gear set comprises a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to transmit the output force [0109 & 0110 & 0146 & 0150 & 0169 & 0170 & 0171 & 0172 & 0173 & 0174 & 0175].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, where the force application mechanism comprises a gear set supported by the frame, wherein the gear set comprises a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to transmit the output force taught by Beckman in order to provide an exchangeable robotic manipulator with a force application mechanism driven by a robotic arm drive output, the manipulator having a driving force multiplier for increasing a torque output of the robotic arm drive output to match a required torque of the robotic manipulator in order to provide a variety of manipulators capable of various different tasks to increase the utility of the robot.
Regarding Claim 13, Hattori teaches:
the driving pad comprises a tooth (5b) (Fig. 5) for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038].
Regarding Claim 14, Hattori teaches:
the driving pad comprises a tooth (5b) (Fig. 5) for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038].
Hattori does not teach:
the driving pad comprises a magnet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an engagement member for engaging a ferrous latch member with a magnet to more securely engage the ferrous latch member with the engagement member to prevent accidental disengagement of the engagement member since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that magnets as a securing means for securing implements to ferromagnetic members were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 15, Hattori teaches:
the robotic arm (Fig. 1), wherein the robotic arm comprises:
a platform (1 & 2a) with driving members (1c & 1d) for moving the platform along a surface [0016]; and
an actuator for moving the robotic arm [0017 & 0018 & 0021 & 0028 & 0049].
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (JP 2002264061 A) in view of Beckman et al. (US 20210393342 A1) as applied to Claim 8 above, further in view of Junkers (US 4336727 A).
Regarding Claim 9, Hattori teaches:
an intermittent driving means rotationally fixed to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040];
Hattori in view of Beckman does not teach:
the force application mechanism comprises:
a ratchet wheel rotationally fixed to the driving pad;
a pawl engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad; and
a rod coupled to the pawl to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to the input force.
Junkers teaches:
the force application mechanism comprises:
a ratchet wheel (26) rotationally fixed to an engagement means (23);
a pawl (12 & 18) engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad [Column 3 Lines 39-68 & Column 4 Lines 1-20]; an
a rod (10 & 11) coupled (13 & 14 & 15) to the pawl (Fig. 1) to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to the input force [Column 2 Lines 64-68 & Column 3 Lines 1-68 & Column 4 Lines 1-20].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of attaching a force application tool an actuable latch on a closure for moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position and moving the closer with the robotic arm to open a pathway utilizing a force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori and Beckman with the force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, the force application mechanism comprises: a ratchet wheel rotationally fixed to the driving pad, a pawl engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad, and a rod coupled to the pawl to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to the input force taught by Junkers in order to provide an exchangeable robotic manipulator with a force application mechanism driven by a robotic arm drive output, the manipulator having a driving force multiplier for increasing a torque output of the robotic arm drive output to match a required torque of the robotic manipulator in order to provide a variety of manipulators capable of various different tasks to increase the utility of the robot while preventing backlash in the system during advancing operations.
Regarding Claim 10, Hattori teaches:
the robotic arm applies the input force [0038 & 0039 & 0040].
Hattori does not teach:
applying the input force comprises actuating the robotic arm to apply the input force to a rod coupled to a pawl of the force application tool.
Beckman teaches:
applying the input force comprises actuating the robotic arm to apply the input force to a rod coupled to a geared force multiplier of the force application tool (1220 & 1838a & 1938a & 1938b & 2048) [0109 & 0110 & 0146 & 0150 & 0169 & 0170 & 0171 & 0172 & 0173 & 0174 & 0175].
Hattori in view of Beckman does not teach:
the input force applied to a rod coupled to a pawl of the force application tool.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of attaching a force application tool an actuable latch on a closure for moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position and moving the closer with the robotic arm to open a pathway utilizing a force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori and Beckman with the force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, the force application mechanism comprises: a ratchet wheel rotationally fixed to the driving pad, a pawl engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad, and a rod coupled to the pawl to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to the input force taught by Junkers in order to provide an exchangeable robotic manipulator with a force application mechanism driven by a robotic arm drive output, the manipulator having a driving force multiplier for increasing a torque output of the robotic arm drive output to match a required torque of the robotic manipulator in order to provide a variety of manipulators capable of various different tasks to increase the utility of the robot while preventing backlash in the system during advancing operations.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (JP 2002264061 A) in view of Tealdi et al. (US 20080223170 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Hattori teaches:
the frame is configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040].
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad.
Tealdi teaches:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear (46) for receiving the input force and a second gear (48) rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the tool holder [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, where the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad taught by Tealdi in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 4, Hattori teaches:
the frame is configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040]; and
a motor (5e) to apply the input force.
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad.
Tealdi teaches:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear (46) for receiving the input force and a second gear (48) rotationally fixed to the tool holder to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031]; and
a motor (30) to apply the input force.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force where the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad taught by Tealdi in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 5, Hattori does not teach:
the driving pad comprises a magnet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an engagement member for engaging a ferrous latch member with a magnet to more securely engage the ferrous latch member with the engagement member to prevent accidental disengagement of the engagement member since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that magnets as a securing means for securing implements to ferromagnetic members were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 6, Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad.
Tealdi teaches:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear (46) for receiving the input force and a second gear (48) rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the tool holder [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of attaching a force application tool an actuable latch on a closure for moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position and moving the closer with the robotic arm to open a pathway utilizing a force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the tool holder taught by Tealdi in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 7, Hattori teaches:
the robotic arm (Fig. 1), wherein the robotic arm comprises:
a platform (1 & 2a) with driving members (1c & 1d) for moving the platform along a surface [0016]; and
an actuator for moving the robotic arm [0017 & 0018 & 0021 & 0028 & 0049].
Regarding Claim 8, Hattori teaches:
A method, comprising:
attaching, with a robotic arm (2 & 2a & 2b), a force application tool (5e & 5d) to an actuable latch (VH) on a closure [0038], wherein the force application tool comprises a driving pad attached to the actuable latch [0038], wherein the driving pad comprises at least one tooth (5b) (Fig. 5) positioned between radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038];
applying an input force from the robotic arm to the frame [as the frame is connected between the robotic arm and the driving pad all forces that impart movement to the frame by the robotic arm are transmitted to the driving pad];
moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position in response to an output force applied to the actuable latch via the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040]; and
moving the closure with the robotic arm to open a pathway (Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism is configured to increase an input force to an amplified output force.
Tealdi teaches:
a robotic arm (10) comprising:
a forearm (18),
a wrist (22 & 24) connected to the forearm (Fig. 1);
a tool holder (26) rotatable connected to the wrist [0022];
a force application mechanism (29 & 30 & 40 & 46 & 48) configured to increase an input force to an amplified output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to rotate the tool holder [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of attaching a force application tool an actuable latch on a closure for moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position and moving the closer with the robotic arm to open a pathway utilizing a force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force taught by Tealdi in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 11, Hattori teaches:
the force application tool configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040].
Hattori does not teach:
the force application tool comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad.
Tealdi teaches:
the force application tool comprises a gear set with a first gear (46) for receiving the input force and a second gear (48) rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the tool holder [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of attaching a force application tool an actuable latch on a closure for moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position and moving the closer with the robotic arm to open a pathway utilizing a force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the tool holder taught by Tealdi in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 12, Hattori teaches:
the force application tool configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040]; and
a motor (5e) to apply the input force.
Hattori does not teach:
the force application tool comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad.
Tealdi teaches:
the force application tool comprises a gear set with a first gear (46) for receiving the input force and a second gear (48) rotationally fixed to the tool holder to apply the amplified output force to the tool holder [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031]; and
a motor (30) to apply the input force.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of attaching a force application tool an actuable latch on a closure for moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position and moving the closer with the robotic arm to open a pathway utilizing a force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the tool holder taught by Tealdi in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 13, Hattori teaches:
the driving pad comprises a plurality of teeth (5b) (Fig. 5) to engage a plurality of radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038].
Regarding Claim 14, Hattori does not teach:
the driving pad comprises a magnet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an engagement member for engaging a ferrous latch member with a magnet to more securely engage the ferrous latch member with the engagement member to prevent accidental disengagement of the engagement member since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that magnets as a securing means for securing implements to ferromagnetic members were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 15, Hattori teaches:
the robotic arm (Fig. 1), wherein the robotic arm comprises:
a platform (1 & 2a) with driving members (1c & 1d) for moving the platform along a surface [0016]; and
an actuator for moving the robotic arm [0017 & 0018 & 0021 & 0028 & 0049].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 2026/04/15 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s Objection to the drawings:
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive as Fig. 5B does not clearly indicate the feature of the driving pad tooth as described in the specification or the relationship of the driving pad tooth to the actuable latch.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 1, especially as it relates to the limitation of “where the driving pad comprises at least one tooth configured for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch”:
Applicants assertion that Hattori does not teach or suggest that the driving pad comprises at least one tooth configured for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch is not persuasive as Paragraph 0038 of Hattori states “The valve operation work tool 5A is composed of a tool changer slave 5a, five valve operation claws 5b… The valve operating pawl 5b is fixed to the outer shell of the clutch mechanism 5d, is inserted into a hole in the valve handle VH, engages with the valve handle VH, and is used to rotate the valve handle VH”, Paragraph 0039 of Hattori states “the manipulator 2 is operated and the valve operation claw 5b is inserted into the hole in the valve handle VH. Next, the remote control device 8 issues a command to drive the swing actuator 5e, thereby rotating the valve operating claw 5b”, and Paragraph 0040 of Hattori states “the valve operating claw 5b to be inserted into the valve hole, the valve can be operated as long as the valve operating claw 5b can be inserted into the valve hole, and the positioning of the valve operating work tool can be done relatively roughly” in combination with Fig. 5 which shows 5 teeth (5b) extending from the actuating pad (5d) and engaging the valve handle (VH) which has 5 apertures.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 1, especially as it relates to the limitation of “a frame rotationally fixed to the driving pad for engagement by the robotic arm wherein the frame is configured to receive an input force from the robotic arm and transmit the input force as an output force to the driving pad.”:
Applicants assertion that Hattori does not teach or suggest that the frame of Hattori is rotationally fixed to the driving pad for engagement by the robotic arm wherein the frame is configured to receive an input force from the robotic arm and transmit the input force as an output force to the driving pad is not persuasive as Paragraph 0039 of Hattori recites: “Next, air pressure is supplied to the clutch mechanism 5d to engage the clutch. Next, while viewing the images from the overall monitoring camera 6 shown in Figure 1 and the hand camera 5c shown in Figure 5 on the monitors 8b and 8c, the manipulator 2 is operated and the valve operation claw 5b is inserted into the hole in the valve handle VH. Next, the remote control device 8 issues a command to drive the swing actuator 5e, thereby rotating the valve operating claw 5b. Next, the air pressure is released from the flexible body of the clutch mechanism 5d to release the clutch, and then the swing actuator 5e is rotated in the opposite direction to the previous rotation to return to the original state. Since the movable range of the swing actuator 5e is fixed, the valve handle VH cannot be rotated continuously, so the clutch is released while the valve operating claw 5b is inserted into the hole in the valve handle VH, and the swing actuator 5e is returned to its original state. Furthermore, after the clutch mechanism 5d is reconnected, the swing actuator 5e is driven to rotate the valve operating pawl 5b again in the same direction. By repeating the clutch engagement and disengagement, the return of the swing actuator 5e, and the rotation of the valve operating pawl, the valve can be closed or opened.”
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 2, especially as it relates to the limitation of “a pawl engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad”:
Applicant’s assertion that the invention of Junkers is not analogous with the invention of Hattori is not persuasive as Paragraph 0039 of Hattori states: “Next, air pressure is supplied to the clutch mechanism 5d to engage the clutch. Next, while viewing the images from the overall monitoring camera 6 shown in Figure 1 and the hand camera 5c shown in Figure 5 on the monitors 8b and 8c, the manipulator 2 is operated and the valve operation claw 5b is inserted into the hole in the valve handle VH. Next, the remote control device 8 issues a command to drive the swing actuator 5e, thereby rotating the valve operating claw 5b. Next, the air pressure is released from the flexible body of the clutch mechanism 5d to release the clutch, and then the swing actuator 5e is rotated in the opposite direction to the previous rotation to return to the original state. Since the movable range of the swing actuator 5e is fixed, the valve handle VH cannot be rotated continuously, so the clutch is released while the valve operating claw 5b is inserted into the hole in the valve handle VH, and the swing actuator 5e is returned to its original state. Furthermore, after the clutch mechanism 5d is reconnected, the swing actuator 5e is driven to rotate the valve operating pawl 5b again in the same direction. By repeating the clutch engagement and disengagement, the return of the swing actuator 5e, and the rotation of the valve operating pawl, the valve can be closed or opened.” As the motion of Hattori requires the oscillating rotational motion that involves a driving rotation followed by a resetting rotation that does not effect the position of the driven member and Junkers pawl design is intended to provide a means for oscillating rotational motion that involves a driving rotation followed by a resetting rotation that does not effect the position of the driven member therefore the intermittent one-way motion of Hattori would be improved by the non-backlash pawl design of Junkers.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 8, especially as it relates to the limitation of “where the driving pad comprises at least one tooth configured for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch”:
Applicants assertion that Hattori does not teach or suggest that the driving pad comprises at least one tooth configured for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch is not persuasive as Paragraph 0038 states “The valve operation work tool 5A is composed of a tool changer slave 5a, five valve operation claws 5b… The valve operating pawl 5b is fixed to the outer shell of the clutch mechanism 5d, is inserted into a hole in the valve handle VH, engages with the valve handle VH, and is used to rotate the valve handle VH”, Paragraph 0039 states “the manipulator 2 is operated and the valve operation claw 5b is inserted into the hole in the valve handle VH. Next, the remote control device 8 issues a command to drive the swing actuator 5e, thereby rotating the valve operating claw 5b”, and Paragraph 0040 states “the valve operating claw 5b to be inserted into the valve hole, the valve can be operated as long as the valve operating claw 5b can be inserted into the valve hole, and the positioning of the valve operating work tool can be done relatively roughly” in combination with Fig. 5 which shows 5 teeth (5b) extending from the actuating pad (5d) and engaging the valve handle (VH) which has 5 apertures.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 8, especially as it relates to the limitation of “engaging a frame of the force application tool with the robotic arm, wherein the frame is rotationally fixed to the driving pad”:
Applicants assertion that Hattori does not teach or suggest that the frame of Hattori is rotationally fixed to the driving pad for engagement by the robotic arm wherein the frame is configured to receive an input force from the robotic arm and transmit the input force as an output force to the driving pad is not persuasive as Paragraph 0039 of Hattori recites: “Next, air pressure is supplied to the clutch mechanism 5d to engage the clutch. Next, while viewing the images from the overall monitoring camera 6 shown in Figure 1 and the hand camera 5c shown in Figure 5 on the monitors 8b and 8c, the manipulator 2 is operated and the valve operation claw 5b is inserted into the hole in the valve handle VH. Next, the remote control device 8 issues a command to drive the swing actuator 5e, thereby rotating the valve operating claw 5b. Next, the air pressure is released from the flexible body of the clutch mechanism 5d to release the clutch, and then the swing actuator 5e is rotated in the opposite direction to the previous rotation to return to the original state. Since the movable range of the swing actuator 5e is fixed, the valve handle VH cannot be rotated continuously, so the clutch is released while the valve operating claw 5b is inserted into the hole in the valve handle VH, and the swing actuator 5e is returned to its original state. Furthermore, after the clutch mechanism 5d is reconnected, the swing actuator 5e is driven to rotate the valve operating pawl 5b again in the same direction. By repeating the clutch engagement and disengagement, the return of the swing actuator 5e, and the rotation of the valve operating pawl, the valve can be closed or opened.”
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 8, especially as it relates to the limitation of “increasing, with the force application tool, the input force to an amplified output force”:
Applicants assertion that the combination of Hattori and Tealdi teaches increasing, with the force application tool, the input force to an amplified output force is not persuasive as Paragraph 0038 of Hattori states “The valve operation work tool 5A is composed of a tool changer slave 5a, five valve operation claws 5b… The valve operating pawl 5b is fixed to the outer shell of the clutch mechanism 5d, is inserted into a hole in the valve handle VH, engages with the valve handle VH, and is used to rotate the valve handle VH”, Paragraph 0039 of Hattori states “the manipulator 2 is operated and the valve operation claw 5b is inserted into the hole in the valve handle VH. Next, the remote control device 8 issues a command to drive the swing actuator 5e, thereby rotating the valve operating claw 5b”, and Paragraph 0040 of Hattori states “the valve operating claw 5b to be inserted into the valve hole, the valve can be operated as long as the valve operating claw 5b can be inserted into the valve hole, and the positioning of the valve operating work tool can be done relatively roughly” in combination with Fig. 5 which shows 5 teeth (5b) extending from the actuating pad (5d) and engaging the valve handle (VH) which has 5 apertures. Additionally, Paragraph 0026 of Tealdi states “in greater detail the modalities of installation of each subassembly 27, 29, constituted by the motor 28, 30, a coupling flange 31, a gear reducer 40, and a pinion gear 42, 46. In order to ensure a high transmission ratio, associated to the shafts of the first motor 28 and the second motor 30 are the respective gear reducers 40. Said gear reducers 40, on account of the limitations of overall dimensions and weight that the application involves, are preferably of an epicyclic or harmonic type.” Paragraph 0027 of Tealdi states “Each gear reducer 40 is coupled at one of its ends to the corresponding motor 28, 30 by means of the coupling flange 31. The coupling flange is connected, by means of screws 35a, to the motor 28, 30 and to the gear reducer by means of other screws 35b. At the other end, the gear reducer 40 carries the pinion gear 42, 46 for transmission of the motion, said pinion gear being fixed thereto by means of a plurality of screws 35c. Each subassembly 27, 29 is to be set in the corresponding housing made in the first support 22 or in the second support 24.” Paragraph 0028 of Tealdi states “The first subassembly 27, which comprises the first motor 28, the gear reducer 40, and a bevel pinion 42, is fixed by means of screws so that it bears upon a bottom wall 39 of the respective housing. Set between the bottom wall 39 of the housing and the end of the gear reducer to which the bevel pinion 42 is fixed, is a flange 41 for fixing and adjustment of the play. During testing of the wrist, the bushing 41 is ground in order to bestow thereupon the exact thickness for adjustment of the tangency of the cones generating the transmission. The bevel pinion 42 meshes with the internal toothing of a bevel ring gear 44, and this, being fixed by means of screws (not represented) to the outer ring 34 of the bearing 33, is rigidly connected to the second support 24.” Paragraph 0029 of Tealdi states “The second subassembly 29 comprising the second motor 30, the gear reducer 40, and a cylindrical pinion 46 is inserted in the housing made in the second support 24 and is fixed, by means of screws, so that it bears upon a bottom wall 43 of said housing. The cylindrical pinion 46 meshes with a annular gear 48, which is fixed to the inner ring 38 of the rolling bearing 37.” Paragraph 0030 of Tealdi states “The motion of rotation coming from the motor 28 is converted through the gear reducer 40 and transferred to the bevel pinion 42, which draws in rotation the bevel ring gear 44 rigidly connected to the outer ring 34 of the bearing 33, which is in turn fixed to the second support 24. In this way, the rotation of the second support 24 about the axis V is obtained.” and Paragraph 0031 of Tealdi states “When the second motor 30 is activated, the rotation is transferred through the gear reducer 40 to the cylindrical pinion 46. The cylindrical pinion 46 meshes with the annular gear 48, which is rigidly connected to the inner ring 38 and to the third support 26. In this way, the rotation of the third support 26 about the axis VI is obtained.” Which teaches a geared force amplifying arrangement for increasing the input force of a drive tool for driving the tool.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652