DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the driving pad tooth must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because force application mechanism recited in the claims does not have a reference character in the specification or drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (JP 2002264061 A) in view of Junkers (US 4336727 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Hattori teaches:
a force application system (5A) for placement on and removal from an actuable latch (VH) with a robotic arm (2 & 2a & 2b), the system comprising:
a driving pad (5d) configured for attachment to the actuable latch [0038];
a force application mechanism (5e & 5d) configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040]; and
a frame (5a) for engagement by the robotic arm [0038].
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism is configured to increase an input force to an amplified output force
Junkers teaches:
a force application mechanism (Fig. 1) configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force [abstract].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force taught by Junkers in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 2, Hattori teaches:
an intermittent driving means rotationally fixed to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040];
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism comprises:
a ratchet wheel rotationally fixed to the driving pad;
a pawl engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad; and
a rod coupled to the pawl to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to the input force.
Junkers teaches:
the force application mechanism comprises:
a ratchet wheel (26) rotationally fixed to an engagement means (23);
a pawl (12 & 18) engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad [Column 3 Lines 39-68 & Column 4 Lines 1-20]; an
a rod (10 & 11) coupled (13 & 14 & 15) to the pawl (Fig. 1) to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to the input force [Column 2 Lines 64-68 & Column 3 Lines 1-68 & Column 4 Lines 1-20].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, the force application mechanism comprises: a ratchet wheel rotationally fixed to the driving pad, a pawl engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad, and a rod coupled to the pawl to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to the input force taught by Junkers in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 5, Hattori teaches:
the driving pad comprises a tooth (5b) (Fig. 5) for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038].
Regarding Claim 6, Hattori teaches:
the driving pad comprises at tooth (5b) (Fig. 5) for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038].
Hattori does not teach:
the driving pad comprises a magnet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an engagement member for engaging a ferrous latch member with a magnet to more securely engage the ferrous latch member with the engagement member to prevent accidental disengagement of the engagement member since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that magnets as a securing means for securing implements to ferromagnetic members were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 7, Hattori teaches:
the robotic arm (Fig. 1), wherein the robotic arm comprises:
a platform (1 & 2a) with driving members (1c & 1d) for moving the platform along a surface [0016]; and
an actuator for moving the robotic arm [0017 & 0018 & 0021 & 0028 & 0049].
Regarding Claim 8, Hattori teaches:
A method, comprising:
attaching, with a robotic arm (2 & 2a & 2b), a force application tool (5d) to an actuable latch (VH) on a closure [0038], wherein the force application tool comprises a driving pad attached to the actuable latch [0038], a force application mechanism (5e & 5d) configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040];
applying the input force to the force application mechanism [0038 & 0039 & 0040];
moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position in response to the output force [0038 & 0039 & 0040]; and
moving the closure with the robotic arm to open a pathway (Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism is configured to increase an input force to an amplified output force
Junkers teaches:
a force application mechanism (Fig. 1) configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force [abstract].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of attaching a force application tool an actuable latch on a closure for moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position and moving the closer with the robotic arm to open a pathway utilizing a force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force taught by Junkers in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 9, Hattori teaches:
an intermittent driving means rotationally fixed to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040];
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism comprises:
a ratchet wheel rotationally fixed to the driving pad;
a pawl engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad; and
a rod coupled to the pawl to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to the input force.
Junkers teaches:
the force application mechanism comprises:
a ratchet wheel (26) rotationally fixed to an engagement means (23);
a pawl (12 & 18) engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad [Column 3 Lines 39-68 & Column 4 Lines 1-20]; an
a rod (10 & 11) coupled (13 & 14 & 15) to the pawl (Fig. 1) to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to the input force [Column 2 Lines 64-68 & Column 3 Lines 1-68 & Column 4 Lines 1-20].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of attaching a force application tool an actuable latch on a closure for moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position and moving the closer with the robotic arm to open a pathway utilizing a force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, the force application mechanism comprises: a ratchet wheel rotationally fixed to the driving pad, a pawl engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad, and a rod coupled to the pawl to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to the input force taught by Junkers in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 10, Hattori teaches:
the robotic arm applies the input force [0038 & 0039 & 0040].
Regarding Claim 13, Hattori teaches:
the driving pad comprises a tooth (5b) (Fig. 5) for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038].
Regarding Claim 14, Hattori teaches:
the driving pad comprises a tooth (5b) (Fig. 5) for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038].
Hattori does not teach:
the driving pad comprises a magnet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an engagement member for engaging a ferrous latch member with a magnet to more securely engage the ferrous latch member with the engagement member to prevent accidental disengagement of the engagement member since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that magnets as a securing means for securing implements to ferromagnetic members were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 15, Hattori teaches:
the robotic arm (Fig. 1), wherein the robotic arm comprises:
a platform (1 & 2a) with driving members (1c & 1d) for moving the platform along a surface [0016]; and
an actuator for moving the robotic arm [0017 & 0018 & 0021 & 0028 & 0049].
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (JP 2002264061 A) in view of Tealdi et al. (US 20080223170 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hattori teaches:
a force application system (5A) for placement on and removal from an actuable latch (VH) with a robotic arm (2), the system comprising:
a driving pad (5d) configured for attachment to the actuable latch [0038];
a force application mechanism (5e & 5d) configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040]; and
a frame (5a) for engagement by the robotic arm [0038].
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism is configured to increase an input force to an amplified output force
Tealdi teaches:
a robotic arm (10) comprising:
a forearm (18),
a wrist (22 & 24) connected to the forearm (Fig. 1);
a tool holder (26) rotatable connected to the wrist [0022];
a force application mechanism (29 & 30 & 40 & 46 & 48) configured to increase an input force to an amplified output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to rotate the tool holder [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force taught by Tealdi in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 3, Hattori teaches:
the force application mechanism (5e & 5d) configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040].
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad.
Tealdi teaches:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear (46) for receiving the input force and a second gear (48) rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the tool holder [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, where the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad taught by Tealdi in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 4, Hattori teaches:
the force application mechanism (5e & 5d) configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040]; and
a motor (5e) to apply the input force.
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad.
Tealdi teaches:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear (46) for receiving the input force and a second gear (48) rotationally fixed to the tool holder to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031]; and
a motor (30) to apply the input force.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force where the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad taught by Tealdi in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 5, Hattori teaches:
the driving pad comprises a tooth (5b) (Fig. 5) for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038].
Regarding Claim 6, Hattori teaches:
the driving pad comprises at tooth (5b) (Fig. 5) for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038].
Hattori does not teach:
the driving pad comprises a magnet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an engagement member for engaging a ferrous latch member with a magnet to more securely engage the ferrous latch member with the engagement member to prevent accidental disengagement of the engagement member since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that magnets as a securing means for securing implements to ferromagnetic members were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 7, Hattori teaches:
the robotic arm (Fig. 1), wherein the robotic arm comprises:
a platform (1 & 2a) with driving members (1c & 1d) for moving the platform along a surface [0016]; and
an actuator for moving the robotic arm [0017 & 0018 & 0021 & 0028 & 0049].
Regarding Claim 8, Hattori teaches:
A method, comprising:
attaching, with a robotic arm (2 & 2a & 2b), a force application tool (5d) to an actuable latch (VH) on a closure [0038], wherein the force application tool comprises a driving pad attached to the actuable latch [0038], a force application mechanism (5e & 5d) configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040];
applying the input force to the force application mechanism [0038 & 0039 & 0040];
moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position in response to the amplified output force [0038 & 0039 & 0040]; and
moving the closure with the robotic arm to open a pathway (Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism is configured to increase an input force to an amplified output force
Tealdi teaches:
a robotic arm (10) comprising:
a forearm (18),
a wrist (22 & 24) connected to the forearm (Fig. 1);
a tool holder (26) rotatable connected to the wrist [0022];
a force application mechanism (29 & 30 & 40 & 46 & 48) configured to increase an input force to an amplified output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to rotate the tool holder [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of attaching a force application tool an actuable latch on a closure for moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position and moving the closer with the robotic arm to open a pathway utilizing a force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force taught by Tealdi in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 10, Hattori teaches:
the robotic arm applies the input force [0038 & 0039 & 0040].
Regarding Claim 11, Hattori teaches:
the force application mechanism (5e & 5d) configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040].
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad.
Tealdi teaches:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear (46) for receiving the input force and a second gear (48) rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the tool holder [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of attaching a force application tool an actuable latch on a closure for moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position and moving the closer with the robotic arm to open a pathway utilizing a force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the tool holder taught by Tealdi in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 12, Hattori teaches:
the force application mechanism (5e & 5d) configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad [0038 & 0039 & 0040]; and
a motor (5e) to apply the input force.
Hattori does not teach:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the driving pad.
Tealdi teaches:
the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear (46) for receiving the input force and a second gear (48) rotationally fixed to the tool holder to apply the amplified output force to the tool holder [0026 & 0027 & 0028 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031]; and
a motor (30) to apply the input force.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of attaching a force application tool an actuable latch on a closure for moving the actuable latch to an unlocked position and moving the closer with the robotic arm to open a pathway utilizing a force application system for placement and removal from an actuable latch with a robotic arm having a driving pad configured for attachment to the actuable latch, a force application mechanism configured to transmit an input force to an output force that is applied by the force application mechanism to the driving pad and a frame for engagement by the robotic arm taught by Hattori with the robotic arm comprising: a forearm, a wrist connected to the forearm, a tool holder rotatable connected to the wrist, and a force application mechanism configured to increase an input force to an amplified rotational output force, the force application mechanism comprises a gear set with a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to the tool holder taught by Tealdi in order to provide a force application mechanism capable of providing a driving force to a robot member with a compact motor with a torque rating lower than the required torque of the robot member in order to provide a lightweight driving means with a smaller footprint to reduce stresses on the supporting robotic members.
Regarding Claim 13, Hattori teaches:
the driving pad comprises a tooth (5b) (Fig. 5) for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038].
Regarding Claim 14, Hattori teaches:
the driving pad comprises a tooth (5b) (Fig. 5) for placement between radial spokes of the actuable latch [0038].
Hattori does not teach:
the driving pad comprises a magnet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an engagement member for engaging a ferrous latch member with a magnet to more securely engage the ferrous latch member with the engagement member to prevent accidental disengagement of the engagement member since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that magnets as a securing means for securing implements to ferromagnetic members were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 15, Hattori teaches:
the robotic arm (Fig. 1), wherein the robotic arm comprises:
a platform (1 & 2a) with driving members (1c & 1d) for moving the platform along a surface [0016]; and
an actuator for moving the robotic arm [0017 & 0018 & 0021 & 0028 & 0049].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20230182326 A1, US 4972735 A, US 4507046 A, and US 4684313 A have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: force application mechanisms with at least a first gear for receiving the input force and a second gear rotationally fixed to the driving pad to apply the amplified output force to a tool holder . Patent publications US 20130167679 A1, US 3881361 A, US 4400986 A, US 4018094 A, US 5953958 A, US 0120951 A, US 0083558 A, and AT 358400 B have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: force application mechanisms with at least a ratchet wheel rotationally fixed to the driving pad; a pawl engageable with the ratchet wheel to rotate the ratchet wheel in a first direction to apply the amplified output force to a driven member; and a rod coupled to the pawl to move the ratchet wheel in the first direction in response to the input force.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652