DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This action is responsive to the Preliminary Amendment filed on 09/22/2023, and the “RESPONSE TO RESTRICTION REQUIREMENT” filed on 12/05/2025. Claims 1-4, 6, 9-12, 14-20, 22, 23, 26, & 30 are pending in the application. However, for the reasons noted below (Election/Restriction), claims 9-12, 14, 15, 19, 20, 22, 23, 26, & 30 are withdrawn from consideration. As such, claims 1-4, 6, & 16-18 have been examined on the merits.
Election/Restriction
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-4, 6, & 16-18) in the reply filed on 12/05/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 9-12, 14, 15, 19, 20, 22, 23, 26, & 30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The listing of references beginning at pg. 27, ¶[00118] of the as-filed specification, is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR § 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 17, line 6, the recitation of “Sensing pressure, Sensing strain, Heat generation” should instead recite --sensing pressure, sensing strain, heat generation--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3 & 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0063296 to Ozden et al. (“Ozden”).
8. Regarding claim 1, Ozden discloses a biocompatible yarn comprising:
a conductive elastomeric filament [see ¶[0036] (“the elastic conductive fibers (generally in the form of filaments)”); ¶[0037] (“Elastomeric conductive core 2 may include a single, bare conductive elastomeric fiber”)], the conductive elastomeric filament comprising a
elastomeric polymer and conductive filler [see claim 2 (“said core (2) includes a fiber (4) formed of a conductive elastic material with conductive particles dispersed therein, said conductive elastic material being one of a thermoplastic elastomer and a thermoplastic polyurethane”); & ¶’s [0021]-[0023], [0030], [0033], [0035], [0053], [0062]; claim 8].
9. Regarding claim 2, Ozden discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Ozden further discloses wherein the conductive elastomeric filament has a ΔR/R0 of less than 2.3 for 100% strain, where ΔR is change in resistivity (Ohm•m), and R0 is resistivity at 0% strain [Ozden satisfies this claim limitation in that it comprises the same structure as the claimed device (as noted above in the rejection of claim 1), and would therefore perform in the same manner as the claimed device, and include the same properties thereof].
10. Regarding claim 3, Ozden discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Ozden further discloses wherein the conductive elastomeric filament has a Young's modulus in the range of 1-13 MPa [Ozden satisfies this claim limitation in that it comprises the same structure as the claimed device (as noted above in the rejection of claim 1), and would therefore perform in the same manner as the claimed device, and include the same properties thereof].
11. Regarding claim 16, Ozden discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Ozden further discloses a wearable dry textile [¶’s [0083]-[0085] (“the yarns are used to form various other garments or other apparel or wearable devices. The garments may be worn tightly on the wearer's body. The garments may be suitable as fashion attire or they may be garments with a dedicated used in athletic orthopedic or other medical fields”)] comprising the biocompatible yarn of claim 1 [see the rejection of claim 1 set forth above, which is incorporated herein].
12. Regarding claim 17, Ozden discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Ozden further discloses an electrode comprising the biocompatible yarn of claim 1 [see the rejection of claim 1 set forth above, which is incorporated herein], the electrode configured for at least one of Electrocardiogram (ECG) measurement [¶[0035], electromyograms (EMG) measurement, electroencephalograms (EEG) measurement, Electrooculogram (EOG) measurement, Electrogastrogram (EGG) measurement, Functional Electrical Stimulation (FES), Transcranial Current Stimulation (TCS), High-Frequency Alternating Current Stimulation, Neuromuscular Electrical Stimulation (NMES), Transcutaneous Electrical Nerve Stimulation (TENS), Sensing pressure, Sensing strain [¶[0035]], Heat generation [¶[0035]], and/or creating a tactile sensation [¶[0035] (“The conductive elastomeric materials may function as various types of sensors based on their resistive, inductive, and capacitive characteristics. The conductive stretchable fabric may be used for sensing body movements as a function of dimensional (e.g. diameter of the conductive core) change induced stretching (e.g. elbow and knee regions), i.e. a strain sensor. In some embodiments, the conductive stretchable fabric functions as an electrode, signal path, a heater or various electromagnetic insulating materials. The sensing devices find application in the medical, orthopedic, athletic and other fields. In some embodiments, the stretchable conductive fabric is used to monitor the number of steps a user takes or the speed at which the wearer walks or runs and the stretchable conductive fabric may be used to sense various other body movements. In other embodiments, the sensing devices are used to monitor various metabolic conditions such as body temperature, heart rate, blood pressure and various other conditions. Various processors and other electronic components and devices may be suitably coupled to the conductive fabric so that the c-TPU or other conductive fabric may be used as sensing platform in the wearable electronics field. An example of processor that is part of a garment is disclosed in WO 2017/017260. The coupling with the processor may be through a wire or wirelessly”)].
13. Regarding claim 18, Ozden discloses all of the limitations of claim 17 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Ozden further discloses wherein the conductive elastomeric filament is knitted and/or woven into the yarn [e.g., ¶[0011] (“The disclosure also provides fabrics formed with the conductive elastic yarns and various garments formed using the fabrics with the conductive elastic yarns. The conductive elastic yarns can be used in both warp and weft directions in woven and knitted fabric constructions”)]; [0021], [0033] (“The elastomeric conductive material may be cast into mono-filaments (preferably) and/or into staple fibers and may be utilized as-is or together with other fibers in a yarn”)], and wherein the electrode is made from the yarn [e.g., ¶’s [0035], [0085]].
14. Claims 1-3 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0207799 to Berndt et al. (“Berndt”).
15. Regarding claim 1, Berndt discloses a biocompatible yarn comprising:
a conductive elastomeric filament, the conductive elastomeric filament comprising a
elastomeric polymer and conductive filler [Abstract; ¶’s [0023]-[0026], [0028], [0044], [0050], claims 1, 4, 5, 11].
16. Regarding claim 2, Berndt discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Berndt further discloses wherein the conductive elastomeric filament has a ΔR/R0 of less than 2.3 for 100% strain, where ΔR is change in resistivity (Ohm•m), and R0 is resistivity at 0% strain [Berndt satisfies this claim limitation in that it comprises the same structure as the claimed device (as noted above in the rejection of claim 1), and would therefore perform in the same manner as the claimed device, and include the same properties thereof].
17. Regarding claim 3, Berndt discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Berndt further discloses wherein the conductive elastomeric filament has a Young's modulus in the range of 1-13 MPa [Berndt satisfies this claim limitation in that it comprises the same structure as the claimed device (as noted above in the rejection of claim 1), and would therefore perform in the same manner as the claimed device, and include the same properties thereof].
18. Regarding claim 16, Berndt discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Berndt further discloses a wearable dry textile [e.g., ¶[0075] (“The strands of the present invention are preferably used for producing textile fabrics, particularly woven fabrics, spiral fabrics, nonwoven scrims or drawn-loop knits”); [0076] (“Textile fabrics comprising the strands of the present invention likewise form part of the subject matter of this invention”)] comprising the biocompatible yarn of claim 1 [see the rejection of claim 1 set forth above, which is incorporated herein].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
21. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berndt in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0297961 to Strecker ("Strecker").
22. Regarding claim 4, Berndt discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Berndt further teaches:
[the yarn] comprising 39%-70% carbon [see ¶[0050] & claim 1 - “c) carbon black”; and ¶[0052] (“5% to 50% by weight of component c)”) and 30-61% elastomer [see ¶[0045] & claim 1 - “b) thermoplastic elastomeric block copolymer”; and ¶[0052] (“15% to 40% by weight of component b)”). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)
Berndt does not, however, explicitly disclose:
wherein the elastomer comprises silicone.
Strecker, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the suitability and preferability of silicone elastomers for use as electrode material [see ¶[0090] (“Silicone elastomers (silicone rubber), which have preferably been made electrically conductive by the incorporation of carbon, are preferably used as electrode material and as conductive material”)].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Berndt such that the elastomer comprises silicone, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
23. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berndt in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0253078 to Wu et al. ("Wu").
24. Regarding claim 6, Berndt discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Berndt does not, however, explicitly disclose:
[the yarn] comprising at least one of carbon polyolefin (CPO); carbon styrene butadiene copolymer (CSBC); Carbon Silicone rubber (CSR1); and carbon silicone rubber (CSR2).
Wu, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches that it was known in the art to utilize a carbon silicone rubber as an electrode material [see ¶[0081]].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Berndt such that the yarn includes carbon silicone rubber, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Conclusion
/Bradford C. Blaise/Examiner, Art Unit 3794