DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, 12, 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by CN 105355702 A.
The translation provided by applicant is used.
‘702 teaches, especially in paras 36-37, a plasmon device having a layer of graphene on MgF2, formed by CVD.
For claims 9, 20, the underlying substrate 101 can be Si.
For claim 22, a device is depicted.
For claims 23, 24, MgF2 is taught in para 40.
Claims 1, 6, 8, 9, 15, 17, 20, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by CN 103011136 A.
The translation provided is used.
For claim 1, ‘136 teaches, especially in paras 9-15, growing graphene on a substrate by CVD. Several substrates are recited, including MgF2, LaF3and YAlO3.
For claims 6 and 15, LaF3 is taught in para 11.
For claims 8 and 17, YAlO3 is taught in para 11.
For claims 9, 20, the underlying substrate can be Si; see para 25.
For claim 22, a device is taught in para 4.
For claims 23, 24, MgF2 is taught in para 11.
Claims 12, 13, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Chi ‘Journal of Membrane Science’ article.
The article teaches in fig. 1 graphene on YSZ.
While the process of claim 21 is not taught, no difference is seen in the actual product; the Office need not show the process of a product-by-process claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 103011136 A.
‘136, above, does not teach the temperature, however the claimed temperature is obvious to achieve efficient decomposition. See para 20.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 105355702 A.
‘702, above, does not teach the temperature, however the claimed temperature is obvious to achieve efficient decomposition.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12275640, alone or taken with CN ‘136.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common subject matter, noting the recitation of YSZ in patented claim 14. The other supports presently claimed are ‘non metallic’ surfaces as per the patent claim 1, noting also the suitability for graphene growth taught in CN ‘136. For claim 3, using the predominant faces is obvious for maximum area of growth. The temperature of claim 10 is obvious for efficient decomposition.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 16 and 18 are allowed over the prior art because it does not teach the very specific process steps, nor the use of MgAl2O4. For claim 18, a large disordered peak is not obvious for a graphene material, as it is contrary to the properties graphene structure which rely on a continuous ordered plane.
It is noted that YSZ in the claims should be written out in full (‘Yttrium-stabilized zirconia’).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736