DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 were rejected in the Office Action from 04/09/2026.
Applicant filed a response, amended claim 1-2 and cancelled claims 3 and 7.
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-11 are currently pending in the application and are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0181449 and further in view of Greer et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0103600).
Regarding claims 1-2, Han teaches a positive electrode for a lithium secondary battery (i.e., positive electrode for Lithium-Sulfur Battery) (paragraph [0088]-[0089), the positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material layer (i.e., base solid) (paragraph [0089]-[0090]),
wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises a sulfur-carbon composite (paragraph [0045]); which is a positive electrode active material (paragraph [0045], [0089]), a binder (paragraph [0089]), and a metal oxide-based additive (i.e., Iron Oxide-Hydroxide) (paragraph [0088]-[0089).
Han does not teach the metal oxide-based additive comprising niobium tungsten oxide, wherein the metal oxide-based additive is contained in an amount of 3 to 5% by weight based on the total weight of the positive electrode active material layer.
Greer, directed to electrodes (abstract), teaches an electrode (paragraph [0010]) that includes one or more of niobium tungsten oxide, iron oxide, titanium oxide, manganese oxide and nickel oxide in the amount of less than 5 wt% based on the total weight of the electrode (paragraph [0024]). Greer teaches the additive as being conductive (paragraph [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Han to include an additive in the electrode such as one or more of niobium tungsten oxide, iron oxide, titanium oxide, manganese oxide and nickel oxide in the amount of less than 5 wt% based on the total weight of the electrode, as taught by Greer, in order to enhance electrical conductivity of the active material.
Regarding claim 4, Han teaches the binder comprises at least one or more selected from the group consisting of styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR)/carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC), poly(vinyl acetate), polyvinyl alcohol, polyethylene oxide, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, alkylated polyethylene oxide, crosslinked polyethylene oxide, polyvinyl ether, poly(methyl methacrylate), polyvinylidene fluoride, copolymer of polyhexafluoropropylene and polyvinylidene fluoride, poly(ethyl acrylate), polytetrafluoroethylene, polyvinylchloride, polyacrylonitrile, polyvinylpyridine, polystyrene, polyacrylic acid, derivatives thereof, blends thereof, and copolymers thereof (paragraph [0099]).
Regarding claim 5, Han teaches the positive electrode active material layer is formed on at least one surface of the positive electrode current collector (paragraph [0090]).
Regarding claim 6, Han teaches the positive electrode current collector comprises stainless steel, aluminum, nickel, titanium, or sintered carbon (paragraph [0091]).
Regarding claim 8, Han teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising the positive electrode of claim 1, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte solution (paragraph [0105], [0115]-[0116]).
Regarding claim 9, Han teaches the lithium secondary battery is a lithium-sulfur secondary battery (paragraph [0105]).
Regarding claim 10, Han teaches the lithium secondary battery is a pouch-type lithium secondary battery (paragraph [0123).
Regarding claim 11, Han teaches the negative electrode comprises lithium metal (paragraph [0107]).
Response to Arguments
In response to the amendments to the claims, the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections for antecedent basis issues are withdrawn from the record.
Applicant’s argument filed on 05/27/2026 are deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office Action, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to the claims. The new amendments/limitations have been fully addressed above in view of Greer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723