DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 1/30/2026. Claims 1-16 and 18-21 remain pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: a comma appears immediately prior to the period at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0379880 A1) (hereinafter Park) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0225472 A1) (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a method implemented in a central unit (CU) of a distributed base station for managing downlink early data transmission to a user equipment (UE) when the UE operates in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources, without transitioning the UE to a connected state associated with the protocol (Figure 30 and paragraph 0321 disclose a base station CU-CP may receive, from a network device, an indication message for a wireless device. The indication message may comprise an information parameter indicating at least one of a size of data or a SDT procedure for the data. The base station CU-CP may send, to a base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. The F1 paging message may comprise an assistance parameter for the SDT procedure of the wireless device. The base station CU-CP may receive, from the wireless device, an RRC request message for the SDT procedure. Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0264 disclose the base station CU-CP may receive, from the network device, the indication message for the wireless device. The wireless device may be in an RRC idle state and/or an RRC inactive state. Paragraph 0221 discloses a small data transmission (SDT) in a wireless network (e.g., LTE, 5G, new radio, NR, etc.) may be interpreted as an early data transmission (EDT). The term of SDT and the term of EDT may be interchangeable to each other. Paragraph 0104 discloses the UE may be the same or similar to the wireless device 106), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a distributed unit (DU) of the distributed base station, an indication that the UE is to initiate a procedure for receiving the downlink data without transitioning to the connected state (Figure 30 and paragraph 0321 disclose a base station CU-CP may receive, from a network device, an indication message for a wireless device. The indication message may comprise an information parameter indicating at least one of a size of data or a SDT procedure for the data. The base station CU-CP may send, to a base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0263 disclose the base station CU-CP may send, to the base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. The F1 paging message may comprise an assistance parameter for the SDT procedure of the wireless device. In an example, the assistance parameter may comprise at least one of: a first parameter indicating the SDT procedure for the data or a second parameter indicating the size of data (e.g., very small, small, medium, large; bits, bytes). Paragraph 0221 discloses a small data transmission (SDT) in a wireless network (e.g., LTE, 5G, new radio, NR, etc.) may be interpreted as an early data transmission (EDT). The term of SDT and the term of EDT may be interchangeable to each other. The early data transmission performed initially for uplink data transmission may be called as a mobile originating early data transmission (MO-EDT), an uplink EDT, an uplink SDT, a mobile originating SDT (MO-SDT), and/or the like. The early data transmission performed initially for downlink data transmission (e.g., initiated based on a paging procedure) may be called as a mobile terminating early data transmission (MT-EDT), a downlink EDT, a downlink SDT, a mobile terminating SDT (MT-SDT), and/or the like);
receiving, from the UE via the DU, a message formatted in accordance with the protocol indicating that the UE has initiated the procedure (Figure 30 and paragraph 0321 disclose the base station CU-CP may receive, from the wireless device, an RRC request message for the SDT procedure. Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0263 disclose the base station CU-CP may receive, from the wireless device, an RRC request message for the SDT procedure. The RRC request message may be based on the F1 paging message and/or the one or more paging messages. The RRC request message may indicate the SDT procedure. The base station CU-CP may receive the RRC request message from the wireless device via the base station DU or the one or more base station DUs);
transmitting, to the UE via the DU, the data in response to receiving the message (Figures 27-29 and paragraphs 0267, 0268, 0270, 0271, 0273, and 0277 disclose after the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the UPF may send the data to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise the NAS message (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the core network node (e.g., AMF) may send the NAS message (e.g., the data, the CP data) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-CP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise at least one of user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the second UPF and/or a NAS message (e.g., CP data) from the second core network device (e.g., the NAS message from an AMF or from an SMF). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the data (e.g., the user plane data and/or the NAS message) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may be user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the UPF. After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-UP may send the data (e.g., the user plane data) to the wireless device via one or more DUs comprising the base station DU. The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-CP may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device (e.g., via one or more DUs that may comprise the base station DU)); and
receiving, from the UE via the DU and during the procedure, uplink data (Paragraph 0274 discloses the SDT procedure may comprise the subsequent data transmission. The subsequent data transmission may be for following data of the data (e.g., the downlink data, the user plane data, the NAS message, the RRC configuration, etc.) for the wireless device. The subsequent data transmission may comprise at least one of subsequent uplink data transmission, subsequent downlink data transmission, and/or the like).
Park does not explicitly disclose receiving uplink data without transitioning to the connected state.
In analogous art, Kim discloses receiving uplink data without transitioning to the connected state (Paragraph 0302 discloses the early data transmission may be referred to as a small data transmission. Paragraph 0311 discloses the wireless device may determine small data transmission where the small data transmission comprises one or more transmission of uplink data/packets and/or one or more reception of downlink data/packets while the wireless device stays in the RRC inactive state (or the RRC idle state). Paragraph 0363 discloses based on the SDT configurations/contexts/parameters, the wireless device may transmit uplink data and/or receive downlink data while staying in an RRC inactive state. Paragraph 0388 discloses the SDT may comprise at least one of: one or more transmission of the uplink data in an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state of the wireless device; and one or more reception of the downlink data in an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state of the wireless device).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate receiving uplink data and downlink data while staying in the RRC inactive state, as described in Kim, with receiving downlink data and uplink data in a SDT procedure, as described in Park, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining receiving uplink data and downlink data while staying in the RRC inactive state of Kim with receiving downlink data and uplink data in a SDT procedure of Park was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Kim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Park and Kim to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Park, as modified by Kim, further discloses wherein transmitting the indication includes:
the indication as an element of a CU-to-DU message (Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0263 disclose the base station CU-CP may send, to the base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. The F1 paging message may comprise an assistance parameter for the SDT procedure of the wireless device).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Park, as modified by Kim, further discloses wherein transmitting the indication includes:
transmitting the indication as an element of a paging message addressed to the UE, the paging message included in a CU-to-DU message (Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0263 disclose the base station CU-CP may send, to the base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. The F1 paging message may comprise an assistance parameter for the SDT procedure of the wireless device).
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Park, as modified by Kim, further discloses receiving, from a second base station, the downlink data (Figures 28 and 29 and paragraph 0269 disclose the network device may be the second base station (gNB2)),
determining, based on a volume of the downlink data, to communicate the downlink data to the UE without transitioning the UE to the connected state (Paragraphs 0253, 0258, and 0259 disclose in an SDT procedure, the wireless device may communicate a small amount of data without transitioning to an RRC connected state (e.g., without transitioning from an RRC idle and/or RRC inactive state). Based on the indicated data size, the base station CU-CP may include information of the indicated data size and/or an indication of SDT procedure in a message requesting a base station DU to page a wireless device. Based on the SDT procedure indication and/or the indicated data size in the RAN paging message, the base station CU-CP and/or the base station may include information of the indicated data size and/or the SDT procedure during a paging procedure for a wireless device. Paragraph 0277 discloses the base station CU-CP may determine that size of the RRC configuration is smaller than a threshold size value. Based on the determination of the size of the RRC configuration being small, the F1 paging message from the base station CU-CP to the base station DU may comprise the assistance parameter comprising at least one of: the first parameter indicating the SDT procedure for the data and/or the second parameter indicating the size of data (e.g., very small, small, medium, large; bits, bytes; e.g., 8 bits, 32 bits, 1 byte, 10 bytes, etc.)).
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Park, as modified by Kim, further discloses wherein the message is a second message, the method further comprising:
receiving, from a second base station, a first message indicating that the downlink data is available for the UE (Figures 28 and 29 and paragraph 0269 disclose the network device may be the second base station (gNB2)),
determining, based on the first message, to communicate the downlink data to the UE without transitioning the UE to the connected state (Paragraphs 0253 and 0259 disclose in an SDT procedure, the wireless device may communicate a small amount of data without transitioning to an RRC connected state (e.g., without transitioning from an RRC idle and/or RRC inactive state). A second base station indicates SDT procedure and/or size of received data when sending a RAN paging message to a base station CU-CP and/or a base station for a wireless device. For example, the data notification message and/or RAN paging message may indicate a data size, comprise a data size indicator, and/or indicate that data is suitable for SDT procedure. Based on the SDT procedure indication and/or the indicated data size in the RAN paging message, the base station CU-CP and/or the base station may include information of the indicated data size and/or the SDT procedure during a paging procedure for a wireless device).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Park, as modified by Kim, further discloses wherein:
the CU includes a control plane node and a user plane node (Figure 26 and paragraph 0260 disclose the base station CU may comprise a base station CU-CP (gNB-CU-CP) and a base station CU-UP (gNB-CU-UP)); and
the user plane node determines to communicate the downlink data to the UE without transitioning the UE to the connected state (Paragraphs 0258 and 0259 disclose a base station CU-UP indicates SDT procedure and/or a size of received data when sending a data notification message to a base station CU-CP for a wireless device. The data notification message and/or RAN paging message may indicate a data size, comprise a data size indicator, and/or indicate that data is suitable for SDT procedure. Based on the SDT procedure indication and/or the indicated data size in the RAN paging message, the base station CU-CP and/or the base station may include information of the indicated data size and/or the SDT procedure during a paging procedure for a wireless device).
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, Park, as modified by Kim, further discloses transmitting, from the user plane node to the control plane node, a notification message indicating that (i) the downlink data is available for communication to the UE and (ii) the downlink data is to be communicated to the UE without transitioning the UE to the connected state, wherein the control plane node transmits the indication to the DU in response to the notification message (Paragraphs 0258 and 0259 disclose a base station CU-UP indicates SDT procedure and/or a size of received data when sending a data notification message to a base station CU-CP for a wireless device. The data notification message and/or RAN paging message may indicate a data size, comprise a data size indicator, and/or indicate that data is suitable for SDT procedure. Based on the SDT procedure indication and/or the indicated data size in the RAN paging message, the base station CU-CP and/or the base station may include information of the indicated data size and/or the SDT procedure during a paging procedure for a wireless device),
wherein the control plane node transmits the indication to the DU in response to the notification message (Figures 26-29 and paragraphs 0263 and 0264 disclose the base station CU-CP may send, to the base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. The indication message may comprise at least one of: a core paging message; a RAN paging message; a data notification message; and/or the like).
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 6 above, Park, as modified by Kim, further discloses wherein transmitting the downlink data includes:
transmitting, from the user plane node to the control plane node, the downlink data (Figure 29 and paragraph 0273 disclose after the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-UP may send the data (e.g., the user plane data) to the wireless device via one or more DUs comprising the base station DU); and
transmitting, from the control plane node to the UE via the DU, the downlink data ((Figure 29 and paragraph 0273 disclose after the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-UP may send the data (e.g., the user plane data) to the wireless device via one or more DUs comprising the base station DU).
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Park, as modified by Kim, further discloses wherein:
the UE is a first UE and the downlink data is first downlink data (Paragraph 0104 discloses the UE may be the same or similar to the wireless device 106);
determining to communicate second downlink data to a second UE without transitioning the second UE to the connected state (Paragraphs 0258 and 0259 disclose based on the indicated data size, the base station CU-CP may include information of the indicated data size and/or an indication of SDT procedure in a message requesting a base station DU to page a wireless device. Based on the SDT procedure indication and/or the indicated data size in the RAN paging message, the base station CU-CP and/or the base station may include information of the indicated data size and/or the SDT procedure during a paging procedure for a wireless device. Paragraph 0277 discloses the base station CU-CP may determine that size of the RRC configuration is smaller than a threshold size value. Based on the determination of the size of the RRC configuration being small, the F1 paging message from the base station CU-CP to the base station DU may comprise the assistance parameter comprising at least one of: the first parameter indicating the SDT procedure for the data and/or the second parameter indicating the size of data (e.g., very small, small, medium, large; bits, bytes; e.g., 8 bits, 32 bits, 1 byte, 10 bytes, etc.). Paragraph 0259 discloses a second base station indicates SDT procedure and/or size of received data when sending a RAN paging message to a base station CU-CP and/or a base station for a wireless device. For example, the data notification message and/or RAN paging message may indicate a data size, comprise a data size indicator, and/or indicate that data is suitable for SDT procedure. Based on the SDT procedure indication and/or the indicated data size in the RAN paging message, the base station CU-CP and/or the base station may include information of the indicated data size and/or the SDT procedure during a paging procedure for a wireless device); and
the indication further indicates that the second UE is to initiate the procedure for receiving the second downlink data without transitioning to the connected state (Figure 30 and paragraph 0321 disclose a base station CU-CP may receive, from a network device, an indication message for a wireless device. The indication message may comprise an information parameter indicating at least one of a size of data or a SDT procedure for the data. The base station CU-CP may send, to a base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0263 disclose the base station CU-CP may send, to the base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. The F1 paging message may comprise an assistance parameter for the SDT procedure of the wireless device. In an example, the assistance parameter may comprise at least one of: a first parameter indicating the SDT procedure for the data or a second parameter indicating the size of data (e.g., very small, small, medium, large; bits, bytes)).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses a method implemented in a distributed unit (DU) of a distributed base station for managing downlink early data transmission to a user equipment (UE) when the UE operates in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources (Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0263 and 0264 disclose the base station DU may construct, based on the F1 paging message, one or more paging messages for the wireless device and transmit/broadcast the one or more paging message via one or more cells. The one or more paging messages may indicate the SDT procedure and/or the size of data. The base station CU-CP may receive, from the network device, the indication message for the wireless device. The wireless device may be in an RRC idle state and/or an RRC inactive state. Paragraph 0221 discloses a small data transmission (SDT) in a wireless network (e.g., LTE, 5G, new radio, NR, etc.) may be interpreted as an early data transmission (EDT). The term of SDT and the term of EDT may be interchangeable to each other. Paragraph 0104 discloses the UE may be the same or similar to the wireless device 106), the method comprising:
receiving, of the DU from a central unit (CU) of the distributed base station, a first indication that the UE is to initiate a procedure for receiving downlink data without transitioning to a connected state associated with the protocol (Figure 30 and paragraph 0321 disclose a base station CU-CP may receive, from a network device, an indication message for a wireless device. The indication message may comprise an information parameter indicating at least one of a size of data or a SDT procedure for the data. The base station CU-CP may send, to a base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0263 disclose the base station CU-CP may send, to the base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. The F1 paging message may comprise an assistance parameter for the SDT procedure of the wireless device. In an example, the assistance parameter may comprise at least one of: a first parameter indicating the SDT procedure for the data or a second parameter indicating the size of data (e.g., very small, small, medium, large; bits, bytes). Paragraph 0221 discloses a small data transmission (SDT) in a wireless network (e.g., LTE, 5G, new radio, NR, etc.) may be interpreted as an early data transmission (EDT). The term of SDT and the term of EDT may be interchangeable to each other. The early data transmission performed initially for uplink data transmission may be called as a mobile originating early data transmission (MO-EDT), an uplink EDT, an uplink SDT, a mobile originating SDT (MO-SDT), and/or the like. The early data transmission performed initially for downlink data transmission (e.g., initiated based on a paging procedure) may be called as a mobile terminating early data transmission (MT-EDT), a downlink EDT, a downlink SDT, a mobile terminating SDT (MT-SDT), and/or the like);
in response to the first indication, transmitting a paging message including a second indication that the UE is to initiate the procedure (Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0263 disclose the base station DU may construct, based on the F1 paging message, one or more paging messages for the wireless device and transmit/broadcast the one or more paging message via one or more cells. The one or more paging messages may indicate the SDT procedure and/or the size of data);
receiving, from the UE, a message formatted in accordance with the protocol indicating that the UE has initiated the procedure (The base station CU-CP may receive, from the wireless device, an RRC request message for the SDT procedure. The RRC request message may be based on the F1 paging message and/or the one or more paging messages. The RRC request message may indicate the SDT procedure. The base station CU-CP may receive the RRC request message from the wireless device via the base station DU or the one or more base station DUs);
transmitting, to the CU, the message (Figure 30 and paragraph 0321 disclose the base station CU-CP may receive, from the wireless device, an RRC request message for the SDT procedure. Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0263 disclose the base station CU-CP may receive, from the wireless device, an RRC request message for the SDT procedure. The RRC request message may be based on the F1 paging message and/or the one or more paging messages. The RRC request message may indicate the SDT procedure. The base station CU-CP may receive the RRC request message from the wireless device via the base station DU or the one or more base station DUs);
receiving, from the CU after transmitting the message, the downlink data; transmitting, to the UE, the downlink data (Figures 27-29 and paragraphs 0267, 0268, 0270, 0271, 0273, and 0277 disclose after the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the UPF may send the data to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise the NAS message (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the core network node (e.g., AMF) may send the NAS message (e.g., the data, the CP data) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-CP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise at least one of user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the second UPF and/or a NAS message (e.g., CP data) from the second core network device (e.g., the NAS message from an AMF or from an SMF). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the data (e.g., the user plane data and/or the NAS message) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may be user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the UPF. After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-UP may send the data (e.g., the user plane data) to the wireless device via one or more DUs comprising the base station DU. The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-CP may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device (e.g., via one or more DUs that may comprise the base station DU));
receiving, from the UE, uplink data; and transmitting, to the CU, the uplink data (Figures 27-29 and paragraphs 0267, 0268, 0270, 0271, 0273, and 0277 disclose after the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the UPF may send the data to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise the NAS message (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the core network node (e.g., AMF) may send the NAS message (e.g., the data, the CP data) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-CP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise at least one of user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the second UPF and/or a NAS message (e.g., CP data) from the second core network device (e.g., the NAS message from an AMF or from an SMF). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the data (e.g., the user plane data and/or the NAS message) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may be user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the UPF. After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-UP may send the data (e.g., the user plane data) to the wireless device via one or more DUs comprising the base station DU. The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-CP may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device (e.g., via one or more DUs that may comprise the base station DU). Paragraph 0274 discloses the SDT procedure may comprise the subsequent data transmission. The subsequent data transmission may be for following data of the data (e.g., the downlink data, the user plane data, the NAS message, the RRC configuration, etc.) for the wireless device. The subsequent data transmission may comprise at least one of subsequent uplink data transmission, subsequent downlink data transmission, and/or the like).
Park does not explicitly disclose receiving, from the UE and while the UE operates in the inactive state during the procedure, uplink data.
In analogous art, Kim discloses receiving, from the UE and while the UE operates in the inactive state during the procedure, uplink data (Paragraph 0302 discloses the early data transmission may be referred to as a small data transmission. Paragraph 0311 discloses the wireless device may determine small data transmission where the small data transmission comprises one or more transmission of uplink data/packets and/or one or more reception of downlink data/packets while the wireless device stays in the RRC inactive state (or the RRC idle state). Paragraph 0363 discloses based on the SDT configurations/contexts/parameters, the wireless device may transmit uplink data and/or receive downlink data while staying in an RRC inactive state. Paragraph 0388 discloses the SDT may comprise at least one of: one or more transmission of the uplink data in an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state of the wireless device; and one or more reception of the downlink data in an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state of the wireless device).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate receiving uplink data and downlink data while staying in the RRC inactive state, as described in Kim, with receiving downlink data and uplink data in a SDT procedure, as described in Park, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining receiving uplink data and downlink data while staying in the RRC inactive state of Kim with receiving downlink data and uplink data in a SDT procedure of Park was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Kim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Park and Kim to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses a central unit (CU) of a distributed base station (Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0264 disclose a base station CU), the CU configured to:
transmit, to a distributed unit (DU) of the distributed base station, an indication that a user equipment (UE) operating in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources is to initiate a procedure for receiving downlink early data transmission without transitioning to a connected state associated with the protocol (Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0264 disclose the base station CU-CP may receive, from the network device, the indication message for the wireless device. Figure 30 and paragraph 0321 disclose a base station CU-CP may receive, from a network device, an indication message for a wireless device. The indication message may comprise an information parameter indicating at least one of a size of data or a SDT procedure for the data. The base station CU-CP may send, to a base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0263 disclose the base station CU-CP may send, to the base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. The wireless device may be in an RRC idle state and/or an RRC inactive state. The F1 paging message may comprise an assistance parameter for the SDT procedure of the wireless device. In an example, the assistance parameter may comprise at least one of: a first parameter indicating the SDT procedure for the data or a second parameter indicating the size of data (e.g., very small, small, medium, large; bits, bytes). Paragraph 0221 discloses a small data transmission (SDT) in a wireless network (e.g., LTE, 5G, new radio, NR, etc.) may be interpreted as an early data transmission (EDT). The term of SDT and the term of EDT may be interchangeable to each other. Paragraph 0104 discloses the UE may be the same or similar to the wireless device 106);
receive, from the UE via the DU, a message formatted in accordance with the protocol indicating that the UE has initiated the procedure (Figure 30 and paragraph 0321 disclose the base station CU-CP may receive, from the wireless device, an RRC request message for the SDT procedure. Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0263 disclose the base station CU-CP may receive, from the wireless device, an RRC request message for the SDT procedure. The RRC request message may be based on the F1 paging message and/or the one or more paging messages. The RRC request message may indicate the SDT procedure. The base station CU-CP may receive the RRC request message from the wireless device via the base station DU or the one or more base station DUs); and
transmit, to the UE via the DU, the downlink data in response to receiving the message (Figures 27-29 and paragraphs 0267, 0268, 0270, 0271, 0273, and 0277 disclose after the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the UPF may send the data to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise the NAS message (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the core network node (e.g., AMF) may send the NAS message (e.g., the data, the CP data) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-CP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise at least one of user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the second UPF and/or a NAS message (e.g., CP data) from the second core network device (e.g., the NAS message from an AMF or from an SMF). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the data (e.g., the user plane data and/or the NAS message) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may be user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the UPF. After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-UP may send the data (e.g., the user plane data) to the wireless device via one or more DUs comprising the base station DU. The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-CP may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device (e.g., via one or more DUs that may comprise the base station DU)); and
receiving, from the UE via the DU and during the procedure, uplink data (Paragraph 0274 discloses the SDT procedure may comprise the subsequent data transmission. The subsequent data transmission may be for following data of the data (e.g., the downlink data, the user plane data, the NAS message, the RRC configuration, etc.) for the wireless device. The subsequent data transmission may comprise at least one of subsequent uplink data transmission, subsequent downlink data transmission, and/or the like).
Park does not explicitly disclose receiving uplink data without transitioning to the connected state.
In analogous art, Kim discloses receiving uplink data without transitioning to the connected state (Paragraph 0302 discloses the early data transmission may be referred to as a small data transmission. Paragraph 0311 discloses the wireless device may determine small data transmission where the small data transmission comprises one or more transmission of uplink data/packets and/or one or more reception of downlink data/packets while the wireless device stays in the RRC inactive state (or the RRC idle state). Paragraph 0363 discloses based on the SDT configurations/contexts/parameters, the wireless device may transmit uplink data and/or receive downlink data while staying in an RRC inactive state. Paragraph 0388 discloses the SDT may comprise at least one of: one or more transmission of the uplink data in an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state of the wireless device; and one or more reception of the downlink data in an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state of the wireless device).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate receiving uplink data and downlink data while staying in the RRC inactive state, as described in Kim, with receiving downlink data and uplink data in a SDT procedure, as described in Park, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining receiving uplink data and downlink data while staying in the RRC inactive state of Kim with receiving downlink data and uplink data in a SDT procedure of Park was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Kim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Park and Kim to obtain the invention as specified in claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 18 above, Park, as modified by Kim, further discloses transmit the indication as an element of a CU-to-DU message (Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0263 disclose the base station CU-CP may send, to the base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. The F1 paging message may comprise an assistance parameter for the SDT procedure of the wireless device).
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 18 above, Park, as modified by Kim, further discloses transmit the indication as an element of a paging message addressed to the UE, the paging message included in a CU-to-DU message (Figures 26-29 and paragraph 0263 disclose the base station CU-CP may send, to the base station DU and based on the indication message, an F1 paging message for the wireless device. The F1 paging message may comprise an assistance parameter for the SDT procedure of the wireless device).
Regarding claim 21, as applied to claim 18 above, Park, as modified by Kim, further discloses receive, from a second base station, the data (Figures 28 and 29 and paragraph 0269 disclose the network device may be the second base station (gNB2));
determine, based on a volume of the downlink data, to communicate the downlink data to the UE without transitioning the UE to the connected state (Paragraphs 0253, 0258, and 0259 disclose in an SDT procedure, the wireless device may communicate a small amount of data without transitioning to an RRC connected state (e.g., without transitioning from an RRC idle and/or RRC inactive state). Based on the indicated data size, the base station CU-CP may include information of the indicated data size and/or an indication of SDT procedure in a message requesting a base station DU to page a wireless device. Based on the SDT procedure indication and/or the indicated data size in the RAN paging message, the base station CU-CP and/or the base station may include information of the indicated data size and/or the SDT procedure during a paging procedure for a wireless device. Paragraph 0277 discloses the base station CU-CP may determine that size of the RRC configuration is smaller than a threshold size value. Based on the determination of the size of the RRC configuration being small, the F1 paging message from the base station CU-CP to the base station DU may comprise the assistance parameter comprising at least one of: the first parameter indicating the SDT procedure for the data and/or the second parameter indicating the size of data (e.g., very small, small, medium, large; bits, bytes; e.g., 8 bits, 32 bits, 1 byte, 10 bytes, etc.)).
Claims 10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Kim as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0225354 A1) (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, Park, as modified by Kim, further discloses wherein transmitting the downlink data includes: transmitting the downlink data after the DU performs the random access procedure with the UE (Paragraph 0299 discloses the wireless device may transmit the RRC request message via radio resources indicated by the at least one random access response from the base station DU. Figures 27-29 and paragraphs 0267, 0268, 0270, 0271, 0273, and 0277 disclose after the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the UPF may send the data to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise the NAS message (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the core network node (e.g., AMF) may send the NAS message (e.g., the data, the CP data) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-CP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise at least one of user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the second UPF and/or a NAS message (e.g., CP data) from the second core network device (e.g., the NAS message from an AMF or from an SMF). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the data (e.g., the user plane data and/or the NAS message) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may be user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the UPF. After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-UP may send the data (e.g., the user plane data) to the wireless device via one or more DUs comprising the base station DU. The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-CP may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device (e.g., via one or more DUs that may comprise the base station DU)).
Park, as modified by Kim, does not explicitly disclose wherein the DU receives the message from the UE during a random access procedure .
In analogous art, Wang discloses wherein the DU receives the message from the UE during a random access procedure (Figure 19 and paragraphs 0429-0432 disclose Step 1905: The CU broadcasts the second paging message to the UE. The second paging message may include an MT-EDT indication. Step 1906: UE sends an Msg1 to the DU. Specifically, the UE sends the DU the Msg1, namely, a random access preamble).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a UE sending a Msg1 in a random access preamble in response to a MT-EDT indication, as described in Wang, with a UE responding to an EDT indication, as described in Park, as modified by Kim, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a UE sending a Msg1 in a random access preamble in response to a MT-EDT indication of Wang with a UE responding to an EDT indication of Park, as modified by Kim, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Wang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Park, Kim, and Wang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Regarding claim 14, as applied to claim 11 above, Park, as modified by Kim, further discloses transmitting the downlink data to the UE includes transmitting the downlink data after performing the random access procedure with the UE (Paragraph 0299 discloses the wireless device may transmit the RRC request message via radio resources indicated by the at least one random access response from the base station DU. Figures 27-29 and paragraphs 0267, 0268, 0270, 0271, 0273, and 0277 disclose after the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the UPF may send the data to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise the NAS message (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the core network node (e.g., AMF) may send the NAS message (e.g., the data, the CP data) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-CP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise at least one of user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the second UPF and/or a NAS message (e.g., CP data) from the second core network device (e.g., the NAS message from an AMF or from an SMF). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the data (e.g., the user plane data and/or the NAS message) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may be user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the UPF. After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-UP may send the data (e.g., the user plane data) to the wireless device via one or more DUs comprising the base station DU. The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-CP may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device (e.g., via one or more DUs that may comprise the base station DU)).
Park, as modified by Kim, does not explicitly disclose receiving the message from the UE includes receiving the message during a random access procedure with the UE.
In analogous art, Wang discloses receiving the message from the UE includes receiving the message during a random access procedure with the UE (Figure 19 and paragraphs 0429-0432 disclose Step 1905: The CU broadcasts the second paging message to the UE. The second paging message may include an MT-EDT indication. Step 1906: UE sends an Msg1 to the DU. Specifically, the UE sends the DU the Msg1, namely, a random access preamble preamble).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a UE sending a Msg1 in a random access preamble in response to a MT-EDT indication, as described in Wang, with a UE responding to an EDT indication, as described in Park, as modified by Kim, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a UE sending a Msg1 in a random access preamble in response to a MT-EDT indication of Wang with a UE responding to an EDT indication of Park, as modified by Kim, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Wang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Park, Kim, and Wang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, as applied to claim 14 above, Park, as modified by Kim, as modified by Wang, further discloses transmitting, to the UE, a random access response during the random access procedure (Paragraph 0299 discloses the base station DU may receive, from the wireless device, at least one random access preamble for a random access to a cell of the one or more cells of the base station DU. The base station DU may transmit, to the wireless device, at least one random access response (RAR) for the at least one random access preamble. The RRC request message may be based on the at least one random access response. The wireless device may transmit the RRC request message via radio resources indicated by the at least one random access response from the base station DU),
wherein transmitting the downlink data includes transmitting the downlink data after transmitting the random access response (Paragraph 0299 discloses the wireless device may transmit the RRC request message via radio resources indicated by the at least one random access response from the base station DU. Figures 27-29 and paragraphs 0267, 0268, 0270, 0271, 0273, and 0277 disclose after the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the UPF may send the data to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise the NAS message (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the core network node (e.g., AMF) may send the NAS message (e.g., the data, the CP data) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-CP and/or the base station DU). The data may comprise at least one of user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the second UPF and/or a NAS message (e.g., CP data) from the second core network device (e.g., the NAS message from an AMF or from an SMF). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the data (e.g., the user plane data and/or the NAS message) to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the second base station may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device via the base station (e.g., via the base station CU-UP and/or the base station DU). The data may be user plane data (e.g., UP data) from the UPF. After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-UP may send the data (e.g., the user plane data) to the wireless device via one or more DUs comprising the base station DU. The data for the wireless device may comprise the RRC configuration (e.g., CP data). After the wireless device sends the RRC request message to the base station CU-CP (e.g., the base station and/or the base station CU), the base station CU-CP may send the RRC configuration to the wireless device (e.g., via one or more DUs that may comprise the base station DU)).
Regarding claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, Park, as modified by Kim, as modified by Wang, further discloses wherein the message is a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (The base station CU-CP may receive, from the wireless device, an RRC request message for the SDT procedure. The RRC request message may be based on the F1 paging message and/or the one or more paging messages. The RRC request message may indicate the SDT procedure. The base station CU-CP may receive the RRC request message from the wireless device via the base station DU or the one or more base station DUs)).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Veerapuneni (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0031254 A1) (hereinafter Veerapuneni).
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 1 above, Park, as modified by Kim, discloses the claimed invention except explicitly disclosing wherein transmitting the downlink data to the UE includes: dividing the downlink data into data segments; and transmitting the data segments to the UE in separate respective medium access control (MAC) protocol data units (PDUs).
In analogous art, Veerapuneni discloses wherein transmitting the downlink data to the UE includes: dividing the downlink data into data segments; and transmitting the data segments to the UE in separate respective medium access control (MAC) protocol data units (PDUs) (Paragraph 0009 discloses first and second wireless devices 12, 14 may each be any type of device that is capable of communicating via wireless link including, for example, a wireless client device (e.g., a laptop, palmtop, desktop, or tablet computer having wireless networking functionality, a personal digital assistant (PDA) having wireless networking functionality, a cellular telephone or other wireless handheld communicator, etc.), a wireless base station, a wireless access point, and/or others. When the first wireless device 12 transmits data to the second wireless device 14, it may divide up a medium access control (MAC) service data unit (SDU) into multiple MAC protocol data units (PDUs) before the data is transmitted into the channel, in a process known as fragmentation).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate dividing data into multiple MAC PDUs for transmission, as described in Veerapuneni, with transmitting data, as described in Park, as modified by Kim, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining dividing data into multiple MAC PDUs for transmission of Veerapuneni with transmitting data of Park, as modified by Kim, was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Veerapuneni.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Park, Kim, and Veerapuneni to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Considering claim 13, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Park and Kim, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of the first indication further indicates that a second UE is to initiate the procedure for receiving second downlink data; and transmitting the paging message includes: generating a second paging record including a third indication that the second UE is to initiate the procedure in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12, 14-16, and 18-21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Mark G. Pannell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642