DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 – 133 are pending.
Claims 1 – 16, 19, 22 – 23, 39, 42 – 45, 47 – 50, 52 – 53, 58 – 59, 65 – 66, 68 – 69 and 80 are rejected.
Claims 17 – 18, 20 – 21, 24 – 38, 40 – 41, 46, 51, 54 – 57, 60 – 64, 67, 70 – 79 and 81 – 133 are withdrawn.
Election/ Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of (a) method of stimulating an immune response against colon cancer, (b) compound K101-C134801 as the PKC activating compound, and (c) immune checkpoint inhibitor antibody as the second immune stimulating agent in the reply filed on August 4, 2026 is acknowledged.
Compound K101-C134801 is presented below:
.
The compound reads on the structure of compound of formula (I):
, wherein:
A is -NR13R13’, wherein R13 and R13’ are each H,
R2, R11, R17 and R18 are each C1 alkyl,
R3 is =O bonded to the ring carbon when (- -) is a bond,
R4 is -ORb, wherein Rb is H,
R5, R5’, R7, R12 and R14 are each H,
R6 is -OH,
R6’ and R7’ form a bond,
R9 is -ORe, wherein Re is H,
n is 0,
L is C6 alkylene, and
R21 is aryl (phenyl).
Examination: Applicant’s elections read on claims 1 – 16, 19, 22 – 23, 39, 42 – 45, 47 – 50, 52 – 53, 58 – 59, 65 – 66, 68 – 69 and 80. The combination of the species (colon cancer, compound K101-C134801, and immune checkpoint inhibitor antibody) is allowable over the prior art. In accordance with MPEP §803.02, the search has been further extended to include the complete scope of formula (I) and second immune stimulating agent. Subject matter not embraced by the elected embodiment or the scope searched is therefore withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 17 – 18, 20 – 21, 24 – 38, 40 – 41, 46, 51, 54 – 57, 60 – 64, 67, 70 – 79 and 81 – 133 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/ species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 4, line 4: The limitation “soft tissue carcinomas” is grammatically incorrect because it is improperly recited in plural form. The limitation is an alternative group in the Markush language and refers to the “cancer” (singular form). In order to overcome the objection, Applicant may amend the limitation as follows: “soft tissue carcinoma .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 16, 19 and 22 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are directed to a method of stimulating an immune response, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a PKC activating compound.
The present description generically states that PKC enzymes “appear to modulate the immune response”. See, e.g., paragraph [0004]. The PKC modulating compounds “enhance or stimulate immune response against the cancer cells and have implications regarding use of such compounds in the treatment of cancers”. See, e.g., paragraph [0005]. PKC modulating compounds have been shown to possess anti-cancer and cytotoxic activities. See, e.g., paragraph [0002]. However, there is no guidance provided for the method of stimulating an immune response, comprising administering an effective amount of the wide range of all PKC activating compounds. Thus, the scope of the claims is directed towards administering the entire scope of all of PKC activating compounds to a subject in need thereof.
MPEP §2163(II)(A)(3)(a)(ii) states the guidelines for the written description as presented below:
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A) above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B) above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C) above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
While the disclosure broadly states the use of PKC activating compounds in methods of stimulating an immune response, the generic recitation fails to provide sufficient support to show that the Applicant was in possession of administering wide range of all of PKC activating compounds. Therefore, the “representative number of species” standard is used to determine whether the claims are adequately described. MPEP §2163(II)(A)(3)(a)(ii) recites the definition of “representative number of species” as:
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) … The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]." See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.").
Satisfactory disclosure of a "representative number" depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406 … Description of a representative number of species does not require the description to be of such specificity that it would provide individual support for each species that the genus embraces. For example, in the molecular biology arts, if an applicant disclosed an amino acid sequence, it would be unnecessary to provide an explicit disclosure of nucleic acid sequences that encoded the amino acid sequence. Since the genetic code is widely known, a disclosure of an amino acid sequence would provide sufficient information such that one would accept that an applicant was in possession of the full genus of nucleic acids encoding a given amino acid sequence, but not necessarily any particular species. Cf. In re Bell, 991 F.2d 781, 785, 26 USPQ2d 1529, 1532 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and In re Baird, 16 F.3d 380, 382, 29 USPQ2d 1550, 1552 (Fed. Cir. 1994). If a representative number of adequately described species are not disclosed for a genus, the claim to that genus must be rejected as lacking adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.”
The present specification does not sufficiently provide support for using a number of species that are representative of the entire genus of all of PKC activating compounds. For example, Kawano discloses 5 species of PKC activating compounds. See, e.g., Kawano et al., Pharmaceutics 2021, 13(11), 1748: pp. 1-27, page 12, Figure 5. The structures of the activators are presented below:
.
There is a significant variation within all PKC activating compounds, and the present specification does not adequately describe any specific examples to resemble the variation within the entire genus of all PKC activating compounds. According to Teuscher 2014, “[a]rea under the curve or AUC is a pharmacokinetic statistic used to describe the total exposure to a drug. More specifically, it is the time-averaged concentration of drug circulating in the body fluid analyzed (normally plasma, blood or serum) … The total AUC or A0-∞ is the area under the curve from time 0 extrapolated to infinite time”. See, page 1, Teuscher, N. (2014 Feb. 24). Extrapolating AUC to Infinity. Certara. Retrieved on September 30, 2026, from <https://www.certara.com/knowledge-base/extrapolating-auc-to-infinity/>. The area under the curve is the combination of the absorption phase and elimination phase of a drug.
While general rules exists, the actual rates of absorption and elimination are unpredictable. For example, according to Revathi, “[a]s a general rule, “the bioavailability of a drug from various dosage forms decrease in the following order: Solutions > Emulsions > Suspensions > Capsules > Tablets > Coated Tablets > Enteric Coated Tablets > Sustained Release Products”. See, page 36, Revathi, J. (2015 Jul. 10). Factors Affecting Absorption. World Documents. Retrieved on September 30, 2026, from <https://vdocuments.net/factors-affecting-absorption.html?page=5>. The unpredictability of absorption and elimination arises from numerous pharmaceutical factors as well as patient related factors. Revathi provides the following list of relevant factors throughout pages 5-7:
Pharmaceutical Factors
Physicochemical properties of the drug
Solubility and dissolution rate
Particle size and effective surface area
Polymorphism and amorphism
Pseudopolymorphism (hydrates/solvates)
Salt form
Lipophilicity
Stability
Stereochemistry
Formulation factors:
Disintegration time
Manufacturing variables
Dosage form
Ingredients (excipients)
Product age
Storage conditions
Patient Related Factors
Age
Gastric emptying time
Intestinal transit time
Gastrointestinal pH
Diseased states
Blood flow through GI tract
GI contents
Other drugs
Food
Fluids
Other contents
Presystemic metabolism by:
Luminal enzymes
Gut wall enzymes
Bacterial enzymes
Hepatic enzymes
The large number of variables affecting plasma concentration of a drug makes the AUC a highly challenging number to predict. In fact, the complexity of many of the factors outlined above creates a substantial challenge to predicting the factors themselves. It would highly unpredictable how each of the factors would affect the overall pharmacokinetic properties of the drugs. A person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that, if given a specific AUC value, the precise formulation and patient profile cannot be deduced. There are simply too many variables that affect the AUC in order to provide a PHOSITA with any reasonable structure-function correlation between an AUC value and specific pharmaceutical and patient profiles. Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the Applicant was not in possession of stimulating an immune response, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of the entire genus of all of PKC activating compounds. Thus, the present claims do not comply with the written description requirement.
The specification does not provide an adequate written description to convey that the inventors were in possession of the claimed methods. The disclosure does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of administering the complete scope of all PKC activating compounds in the method of stimulating an immune response. In order to overcome the rejection, Applicant may amend claim 1 to recite specific PKC activating compound (Compound of formula (I) as claimed in dependent claim 39), that are properly supported by the present specification.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because the specification, while enabling for the method of stimulating an immune response against a cancer or cancer antigen, a precancerous lesion or growth, or a benign tumor (emphasis added) (see, claim 2) in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to said subject an effective amount of a PKC activating compound, does not reasonably provide enablement for the method of stimulating the complete scope of all immune responses, encompassed by claim 1. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
MPEP 2164.01(a) states:
“There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is "undue." These factors include, but are not limited to:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
(B) The nature of the invention;
(C) The state of the prior art;
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor;
(G) The existence of working examples; and
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure”
The Breath of the Claims and Nature of the Invention
The claim is directed to a method of stimulating an immune response, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a PKC activating compound. Thus, the nature of the invention includes the method of stimulating the complete scope of all immune responses.
The State of the Prior Art and the Predictability or Lack thereof in the Art
There is no drug in the prior art that can stimulate all types of immune responses. There has been no success in the prior art in achieving such method as encompassed by the instant claim using a known drug. For example, it is known that PKC activating compound can stimulate or enhance the “recognition and removal of HIV by the immune system”. See, e.g., Kawano et al., Pharmaceutics (2021), 13(11), 1748: pp. 1-27, page 14, 2nd paragraph. Further, Kawano teaches applications of protein kinase C activators in clinical trials as presented below:
.
See, e.g., Table 1, page 15. However, the state of the art does not teach there is a single PKC activating compound known to stimulate every type of immune response.
The nature of pharmaceutical arts is that it involves screening in vitro and in vivo to determine which compounds exhibit the desired pharmacological activities. There is no absolute predictability even in view of the seemingly high level of skill in the art. Thus, the pharmaceutical art is unpredictable since it requires each embodiment to be individually assessed for physiological activity. The more unpredictable an area is, the more specific enablement is necessary in order to satisfy the statute. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 166 USPQ 18 (CCPA 1970).
The Amount of Direction Provided and Existence of Working Examples
The specification teaches that the method of stimulating an immune response against a cancer or cancer antigen, a precancerous lesion or growth, or a benign tumor in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to said subject an effective amount of a PKC activating compound. See, e.g., paragraphs [0002]-[0004], [0008], Examples 67-70, and Tables 4-5 . However, there are no data or guidance that is sufficiently described in the specification or known to a person having ordinary skill in the art to support that the claimed PKC activating compounds can stimulate the complete scope of all types of immune responses in a subject.
The Quantity of Experimentation Needed
The quantity of experimentation needed is undue. One of ordinary skill in the art, without direction, would be unable to stimulate the entire scope of all types of immune responses in a subject using the instant claimed PKC activating compounds.
As a result of the broad and unpredictable nature of the invention and the lack of specific guidance from the specification, it is respectfully submitted that the quantity of experimentation needed to make and use the invention would be great. Note that there must be sufficient disclosure, either through illustrative examples or terminology, to teach those of ordinary skill how to make and use the invention as broadly as it is claimed. In re Vaeck, 947 F.2d 488, 496 & n.23, 20 USPQ2d 1438, 1445 * n.23 (Fed. Cir. 19991). Also, note that the amount of guidance or direction needed to enable the invention is inversely related to the degree of predictability in the art. In re Fisher, 839, 166 USPQ 24. Thus, although a single embodiment may provide broad enablement in cases involving predictable factors, such as mechanical or electrical elements, in cases involving unpredictable factors, such as most chemical reactions and physiological activity, more teaching or guidance is required. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 839, 166 USPQ 24; Ex Parte Hitzeman, 9 USPQ 2d 1823.
The specification fails to provide sufficient support for the broad use of the method of stimulating an immune response, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a PKC activating compound. The prior art also does not provide sufficient guidance and as a result, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the instantly claimed invention is unpredictable and would require an unreasonable amount of experimentation and clinical trials to assess the entire scope of the claimed invention and test whether all types of immune responses can be stimulated by using claimed PKC activating compound as encompassed in the present claims, with no reasonable expectation of success.
In order to overcome the rejection, Applicant may amend claim 1 to incorporate the limitations of claim 2 and recite as follows: “A method of stimulating an immune response against a cancer or cancer antigen, a precancerous lesion or growth, or a benign tumor in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to said subject an effective amount of a PKC activating compound” (emphasis added), that are sufficiently enabled by the specification.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
The claim recites several instances of exemplary language within parenthetical limitations “(e.g., osteosarcoma)”, “(e.g., gliomas, astrocytoma, neuroblastoma, etc.)”, “(e.g., leukemia and lymphoma)”, “(small intestine)”, “(e.g., bronchial cancer, small cell lung cancer, non-small cell lung cancer, etc.)”, and “(e.g., basal cell carcinoma, melanoma, squamous cell carcinoma)”. The phrases “e.g.” and “etc.” are open-ended and interpreted as not being only limited to the claimed limitations. Said phrases are commonly understood as exemplary language and render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In order to overcome the rejection, Applicant may amend to delete each recitation of exemplary language in the parenthetical limitations in the claim.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim recites the broad recitations “bone cancer”, “brain cancer”, “hematologic cancer”, “intestinal cancer”, “lung cancer”, and “skin cancer”. See, page 2, lines 2 and 4 of the claim; page 3, lines 1 and 3). The claim also recites “(e.g., osteosarcoma)”, “(e.g., gliomas, astrocytoma, neuroblastoma, etc.)”, “(e.g., leukemia and lymphoma)”, “(small intestine)”, “(e.g., bronchial cancer, small cell lung cancer, non-small cell lung cancer, etc.)”, and “(e.g., basal cell carcinoma, melanoma, squamous cell carcinoma)”, which are the narrower statements of the range/limitations of each cancer respectively. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the features introduced by such narrower language (in the parenthesis) are (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) required features of the claims.
In order to overcome the rejection, Applicant may amend to delete each of the narrower parenthetical limitations in the claim.
Claim 80 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The instant claim recites “The method of claim 39, wherein the compound is selected from the group consisting of the compounds of Table 1”. Emphasis added. MPEP §2173.05(s) states:
“Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993)”
Table 1 in the instant specification is directed to 55 compounds, which is not considered as an exceptional circumstance. In order to overcome the rejection, Applicant may amend the claim as follows:
Recite the phrase “The method of claim 39, wherein the compound is selected from the group consisting of the compounds K101-C1303 – K101-C134801C2003
Insert each of the 55 compounds separated by commas (,). Insert the term “and” between the last two compounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 9 – 10, 12 – 13 and 22 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Frincke US2011/0009372 A1.
With respect to claims 1, 12 – 13 and 22 – 23, Frincke teaches a compound of general formula 1:
. See, e.g., paragraph [0166].
Frincke specifically teaches compound 16α-bromo-3β-hydroxy-5α-androstane-l7-one (also known as “BrEA”) hemihydrate form:
. See, e.g., paragraph [0146].
Frincke further teaches a method to “enhance the expression of one or more cytokines or interleukins that facilitate Th1 immune responses in a subject… comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of a formula I compound. See, e.g., paragraph [0045]. The compound can “modulate gene transcription, e.g., cause enhanced protein kinase C (a PKC such as PKCα, PKCβ, PKCγ or PKCζ) activity in the cells”. See, e.g., paragraphs [0700], [0915] and [0917]. Frincke teaches that the compound can directly or indirectly modulate the activity and expression of enzymes in cancers or precancers such as cervical cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, breast cancer or benign prostatic hyperplasia
With respect to claims 2 – 5, Frincke teaches the compound can be used as a topical cream formulation and applied locally to primary nevi and primary cutaneous melanomas in human patients suffering from melanoma and melanoma precursor lesions. See, e.g., paragraphs [0624] – [0625].
With respect to claim 6, Frincke teaches that the first precancerous lesion is actinic keratosis. See, e.g., paragraph [0648].
With respect to claims 9 – 10, please note the limitations “to induce necrosis of the cancer” and “to induce regression in a non-target cancer locus or mass or a satellite cancer locus or mass” are intended use limitations as governed by MPEP §2111.02(II). Intended use limitations are interpreted based on the structural limitations they impart to the invention. In this case, the intended uses only require the effective amount of the PKC activating compound sufficient to induce necrosis of the cancer and induce regression in a non-target cancer locus or mass or a satellite cancer locus or mass. The intended uses do not impart any specific limitations to the structure. Based on the teachings of Frincke, the effective amount of “BrEA” hemihydrate compound is capable of inducing necrosis of the cancer and inducing regression in a non-target cancer locus or mass or a satellite cancer locus or mass.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 16, 19, 22 – 23, 39, 42 – 45, 47 – 50, 52 – 53, 58 – 59, 65 – 66, 68 – 69 and 80 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 – 7, 9 – 12, 14 – 30, 61 and 69 of copending Application No. 17/763,611. The copending Application US ‘611 has been allowed but a Patent Number has not been issued yet. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 4 in US ‘611 claim a compound of formula (II):
.
Claim 69 specifically claims the compound K101-C134801:
.
With respect to the instant claims, the claims in US ‘611 do not specifically recite the method of stimulating an immune response, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of said compound. The conflicting claims in US ‘611 are being directed to a different statutory class of invention (instantly claimed compounds of formula (I) rather than the method of using the compound), the Federal Circuit, in Sun v. Lilly, recounts its own decisions in Geneva and Pfizer,
In both cases, we found claims of a later patent invalid for obviousness-type double patenting where an earlier patent claimed a compound, disclosing its utility in the specification, and a later patent claimed a method of using the compound for a use described in the specification of the earlier patent. `
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co., 95 USPQ2d 1797 at 1800 (Fed. Cir. 2010).
In reaffirming its holding in Geneva and Pfizer, the Court finds that a "claim to a method of using a composition is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim to the identical composition in a patent disclosing the identical use.” (Id. at 1801, quoting Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363; Geneva, 349 F.3d at 1385-86. The Court reasserts this notion by stating,
[i]t would shock one's sense of justice if an inventor could receive a patent upon a composition of matter, setting out at length in the specification the useful purposes of such composition, . . .and then prevent the public from making any beneficial use of such product by securing patents upon each of the uses to which it may be adapted. Pfizer, 518 F.3d at 1363 n.8 (emphases added); Geneva, 349 F.3d at 1386 (quoting In re Byck, 48 F.2d 665, 666 [9 USPQ 205] (CCPA 1931)).
Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. v. Eli Lilly and Co., 95 USPQ2d 1797 at 1802 (Fed. Cir. 2010).
See also section 804 IIb of the M.P.E.P.
In the instant case, the specification in US ‘611 identifies the utility of the compound of formula (I) for “treating disease and disorders capable of being affected by modulation of PKC activity”, including cancers. See, e.g., paragraph [0004]. The compound is used in a method to activate protein kinase C comprising contacting a mammalian cell with an effective amount of the compound. See, e.g., paragraph [0010]. The compound can be further used in a combination therapy with one or more therapeutic treatments, where the compounds are used at levels that sensitizes the cancer or cancer cell to a second therapeutic agent. See, e.g., paragraphs [0246] and [0263]. The pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound can be administered intratumorally as a single or multiple doses. See, e.g., paragraphs [0269] – [0270]. Since said utility of the compound as claimed in US ‘611 is identical to the utility of the compound claimed in the instant claims, the claims in US ‘611 render the instant claims unpatentable for obviousness-type double patenting.
Conclusion
/Sagar Patel/Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/KAMAL A SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626