DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/04/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites inter alia “the single-crystal diamond has an average phase difference per unit thickness,” where it is unclear to one skilled in the art the meaning of the phrase “phase difference,” since the phase of a crystal has a different meaning than the phase of light irradiating a crystal sample. This claim is therefore indefinite in scope, and claims 2-7 are dependent upon but do not rectify the issue so are similarly rejected.
Claim 7 further recites “a vicinal growth trace” which is not a common term of the art and is not defined in the instant specification. This phrase is therefore indefinite since one skilled in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the bounds of the invention and therefore would not be able to ascertain infringement of the claimed scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiichi et al. (JP 2014148463 A, cited on the IDS filed on 9/23/2023). A machine translation of Kiichi is provided with this Office action.
Regarding claim 1, Kiichi teaches a single-crystal diamond (0008) wherein the single-crystal diamond has a phase difference of 50 nm or less per 100 μm of sample thickness (0008); this is equivalent to 500 nm/mm or less, which overlaps with the claimed range of 10 nm/mm or less. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art," a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. 1990). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to optimize the value of the phase difference taught by Kiichi in any workable or optimum range overlapping with the claimed range; one would be motivated to do so because Kiichi teaches that perfect crystals ideally have no distortion whatsoever and therefore zero phase difference (0013). Therefore one skilled in the art would optimize the average phase difference to approach zero. Kiichi additionally motivates one skilled in the art to optimize the standard deviation of the phase difference to be zero, since Kiichi discloses that when the variation is high in the phase difference, the resistivity decreases (0026) and this is disadvantageous for the use of the crystal in electronic devices and applications requiring high voltage resistance (0026). Therefore one skilled in the art would arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiichi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sumiya et al. (US 6030595 A, cited on the IDS filed on 9/23/2023).
Regarding claim 2, Kiichi teaches the diamond as applied to claim 1. Kiichi further teaches a nitrogen content overlapping with the claimed range of 0.1 ppm or less (0.01-100 ppm, 0008). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art," a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain the single-crystal diamond as suggested by Kiichi where the nitrogen content is in any workable or optimum range overlapping with 0.01 – 100 ppm as taught by Kiichi including the claimed range in order to obtain a nitrogen content suitable for the diamond.
Kiichi does not disclose a boron content of the diamond. However, Sumiya discloses a single-crystal diamond (claim 1) wherein the boron content is less than 10 ppm (claim 1) which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 ppm or less. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Kiichi and Sumiya by eliminating boron from the diamond taught by Kiichi until the range suggested by Sumiya; one would be motivated to do so because Sumiya teaches that boron presence in several ppm results in defects or strains in a crystal (C2/L50-55) and teaches optimizing the range of boron content to be as minimal as possible in order to achieve a defect-free crystal (C5/L45-48). Therefore one skilled in the art would arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiichi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Twitchen et al. 2009 (US 20090127506 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kiichi teaches the diamond as applied to claim 1. Kiichi does not teach the single-crystal diamond has a dislocation density of 102 /cm2 or less, and the dislocation density is measured in an etching test. However, Twitchen teaches a single-crystal diamond material (0017) wherein the dislocation density is less than 400 /cm2 (“extended defect density,” 0017-0018), which overlaps with the claimed range. It would be obvious to combine the teachings of Kiichi and Twitchen by reducing dislocations in the crystal of Kiichi until the range suggested by Twitchen; one would be motivated to do so because Twitchen teaches that the described density makes it possible to prepare materials of exceptional crystalline quality (0027); since Kiichi pertains to the field of forming crystals of improved quality (0006) it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine these teachings and arrive at the claimed result. Twitchen does not explicitly teach that the dislocation density is measured in an etching test. However, Twitchen teaches that defect levels can be measured by etching (0253) and it would therefore be obvious to one skilled in the art to select this method in order to arrive at the measured value; the courts have held that selection of a solution from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions is prima facie obvious; see MPEP 2143(I)(E) regarding prior art elements which are obvious to try. Therefore one skilled in the art would arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 4, Kiichi teaches the diamond as applied to claim 1. Kiichi does not teach wherein the single-crystal diamond has a first region of 1 mm2,wherein the first region has no defect, and the presence or absence of the defect is determined in an X-ray topographic image of the single-crystal diamond. However, Twitchen teaches a single-crystal diamond material (0017) wherein the obtained crystal has a defect content characterized by X-ray topography and obtains a 3x3 mm2 area where the defect density is less than 100/cm2 (0262), which is equivalent to less than 1/mm2. It would be obvious to combine the teachings of Kiichi and Twitchen by reducing dislocations in the crystal of Kiichi until the range suggested by Twitchen, wherein a density of less than 1/mm2 must necessarily have at least one 1mm2 area wherein no defects occur, since less than 1 must not have 1 defect per mm2 area. One would be motivated to combine these teachings because Twitchen teaches that the described density makes it possible to prepare materials of exceptional crystalline quality (0027); since Kiichi pertains to the field of forming crystals of improved quality (0006) it would therefore be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine these teachings and arrive at the claimed result.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiichi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sumiya et al. 2 (US2020283927A1, priority to WO2019077844A1, cited on the IDS filed on 9/23/2023), referred to herein as Sumiya 2.
Regarding claim 5, Kiichi teaches the diamond as applied to claim 1. Kiichi does not teach that a Raman shift λl cm-1 of a peak in a first-order Raman scattering spectrum of the single-crystal diamond and a Raman shift λ2 cm-1 of a peak in a first-order Raman scattering spectrum of a synthetic Ila single-crystal diamond with a nitrogen content of 1 ppm or less fall between -0.002 and 0.002 according to formula 1. However, Sumiya 2 teaches a single-crystal diamond (abstract) wherein the Raman shift value of the diamond is subtracted by the Raman shift value of a synthetic IIa diamond with a nitrogen content of 1 ppm or less, such value (λl - λ2) falling within the range of ≥ -0.10 (abstract, 0013), which overlaps with the claimed range. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Kiichi and Sumiya 2 by modifying the λl value of the crystal of Kiichi to fall within the range taught by Sumiya 2, according to a standard type IIa crystal as taught by Sumiya 2; one would be motivated to do so because Sumiya 2 teaches that the disclosed invention results in diamond with a high hardness and high chipping resistance (0040), which is advantageous to produce tools for cutting with higher chipping resistance (0054). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art," a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain the single-crystal diamond as suggested by Kiichi and Sumiya 2 where the Raman shift values are in any workable or optimum range overlapping with λl - λ2 ≥ -0.10 as taught by Sumiya 2 including the claimed range in order to obtain a hardness suitable for the diamond.
Regarding claim 6, Kiichi teaches the diamond as applied to claim 1. Kiichi does not teach that the single-crystal diamond has a crack initiation load of 10 N or more. However, Sumiya 2 teaches a single-crystal diamond (abstract) wherein the crystal has a crack initiation load (cracking load, 0047) of 10 N or more (0047). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Kiichi and Sumiya 2 to arrive at a crystal suggested by Kiichi with the cracking load taught by Sumiya 2; one would be motivated to do so because Sumiya 2 teaches that this increased cracking load gives a crystal with excellent strength and chipping resistance (0047), which is advantageous to produce tools for cutting with higher chipping resistance (0047). Therefore one skilled in the art would arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiichi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gsell et al. Crystal tilting of diamond heteroepitaxially grown on vicinal Ir/SrTiO3(001), J. Appl. Phys. 96, 1413–1417 (1 Aug 2004).
Regarding claim 7, Kiichi teaches the diamond as applied to claim 1. Kiichi does not teach the single-crystal diamond has a vicinal growth trace. However, Gsell teaches a method of growing diamond on crystals (abstract) wherein the diamond is grown on a vicinal crystal substrate (abstract) and further teaches that growth on vicinal crystal planes is commonly known in the art (p. 1413 col. 1 pp. 3). It would be obvious to combine the teachings of Kiichi and Gsell to arrive at a single crystal diamond having traces of vicinal growth; one would be motivated to do so in order to optimized homoepitaxial and heteroepitaxial growth, in order to improve structure and quality of the diamond, as Gsell teaches (p. 1413 col. 1 pp. 3). One skilled in the art would reasonably expect success from the combination of teachings since Gsell teaches a vapor deposition procedure of diamond growth (BEN procedure, p. 1413 col. 2 pp. 1) as does Kiichi (vapor-phase synthesis, 0008). Therefore one skilled in the art would arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,571,126. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are directed to a phase difference of a smaller range than the claims of ‘126, where the optimization of such a range to have a smaller phase difference would be obvious to one skilled in the art, since as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, the courts have held that in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art," a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain the single-crystal diamond as suggested by ‘805 wherein the phase difference has an average value and standard deviation within any workable or optimum range overlapping with the claimed range in order to obtain a crystal suitably pure and isotropic.
Conclusion
/Eileen Moudou/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738