DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on
applications filed in KR on April 1, 2021. It is noted, however, that the
foreign priority date is the effective filing date of the claimed invention if
a. The foreign application supports the claimed invention under 112(a), and
b. The applicant has perfected the right of priority by providing
i. A certified copy of the priority application, and
ii. A translation of the priority application (if not in English).
In the instant case, the applicant has submitted a certified copy of the priority application, but it is not in English, and the examiner cannot determine if it
supports the claimed invention. The effective filing date of the application is considered to be September 25, 2023, which is the actual filing date of instant application 18/283,854.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because if only one drawing is shown, it must not be numbered, see CFR 1.84(u). “Figure 1” should read as “Figure.” Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: if only one drawing is shown, it must not be numbered, see CFR 1.84(u). “Fig. 1” should read as “Figure” (instant Specification pg 5, 9-10).
Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification contains small, blurry, and difficult to discern chemical structures such as Compound 4 (pg 66). The compound containing phosphorous in Group 5 contains an oxygen atom that does not clearly show the bonding pattern to another atom (pg 53).
Appropriate correction is required.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should only be one paragraph. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 contains a sentence with two verbs when there should only be one. C Claim 1 recites “the second host is higher than a HOMO energy level” and should read as “the second host is higher than the HOMO energy level.” Claim 1 recites “a difference between a LUMO energy level” and should read as “a difference between the LUMO energy level.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 defines a Chemical Formula 2 wherein n is 0 or 1 and when n is 1 the group Z is O, S, CRaRb, or NRc. It is unclear how to form the bonds from the aryl group to group Z when n is 0: for example, the structure may be interpreted wherein (1) the bonds, from the aryl group to group Z, must bond to each other to form a 4 membered ring or (2) the bonds, from the aryl group to group Z, do not bond to each other in order to form a biphenyl structure, shown below.
Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the examiner chooses to interpret the claim as (1) and (2). Claims 2-10 are also rejected as they depend from claim 1 and do not cure the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2019/0036043 A1, hereinafter "Cho").
In the pertinent art of organic light-emitting devices, Cho teaches an organic light-emitting device including a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer between the first and second electrodes wherein the organic layer includes a first compound that is an organometallic compound represented by Formula 1 and at least one second compound (Abstract pg 1).
Cho teaches light-emitting devices including Example 10-1 and Example 10-5 wherein: (1) compound H2-2 is a known and acceptable compound for the first host, (2) compound H2-5 is a known and acceptable compound for the second host, and (3) compound D1 is a known and acceptable compound for the dopant in the light-emitting device of Cho, shown below (Table 10, pg 1058-1064).
The compound D1 of Cho is a compound of instant Chemical Formula 1 wherein:
X1 is N-[(L1)b1-(R10)c1];
B1 is 0;
R10 is substituted C6 carbocyclic group and c1 is 1;
R1-R4, R5, R7-R8 are H;
X3 is O and the bond between X3 and Pt is a covalent bond;
X2 and X4 are N;
X5 is C and the bond between X5 and Pt is a covalent bond;
Y1-Y4 are C;
CY1 is benzene; and
CY2 is pyridine.
The compound H2-5 of Cho is a compound of instant Chemical Formula 2 wherein:
N is 1 and Z is NRc;
NRc is C15 aryl group (diphenyl-triazine);
R19 is a substituted C6 aryl group (indole) condensed to the phenyl;
R20-R21 are H;
L2 is a single bond; and
Ar1 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group.
Note that (1) the attachment site of the triazine to the diphenyl structure, containing (Z)n, is interpreted as any atom in the diphenyl structure, and (2) the * is a linking point is interpreted as a linking point to any substitution pattern.
Cho teaches that the organic light-emitting device of Cho may contain (1) a second compound including a hole transport group and (2) a third compound including an electron transport group for example a triazine (¶ [0399-402]). Therefore, Compound H2-2 contains a hole transport group, and compound H2-5 includes an electron transport triazine group.
Cho teaches the compound H2-2 and H2-5 described above; however, Cho fails to teach the compound H2-5 as a first host and the compound H2-2 as a second host wherein (1) the HOMO energy level of the second host is higher than the HOMO energy level of the first host and (2) a difference between the LUMO energy level of the first host and the HOMO energy level of the second host is greater than 2.505 eV.
Cho teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach the HOMO/LUMO energy relationships (1) and (2) described above. It is reasonable to presume that the HOMO/LUMO energy relationships (1) and (2) is inherent to the compounds H2-2 and H2-5 of Cho. Support for said presumption is found in that instant compounds A-41 and B-5 of Applicant has a substantially similar structure as H2-5 and H2-2 of Cho, shown below (Specification Table 1, pg 69).
The compound H2-5 of Cho is similar in structure to the compound A-41 of applicant wherein a triazine core is substituted with an aryl-substituted indolocarbazole. The compound H2-2 of Cho is similar in structure to the compound B-5 of applicant wherein the two compounds are position isomers at the substitution of a phenyl group. Therefore, compound H2-5 and H2-2 of Cho are expected to have the same properties of the claimed invention of Applicants A-41 and B5 wherein the HOMO of the first host is -5.575 eV, the HOMO of the second host is -5.420 eV, and the difference between the LUMO energy level of the first host and HOMO energy level of the second host is 2.625 eV.
Cho teaches the above; however, Cho does not teach a specific light-emitting device containing compound H2-2 and H2-5 as hosts and compound D1 as a dopant. Cho teaches Example 10-1 contains an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compounds H2-1, H2-5, and D1 in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to substitute the compound H2-1 with the compound H2-2 of Cho in the organic layer with the device structure of anode, organic layer containing H2-2, H2-5, and D1, and cathode as Cho demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
The resulting Modified Device 10-1 of Cho reads on claims 1-3.
Regarding claim 6, the compound H2-2 contains a hole transport group that is a substituted carbazolyl group.
Regarding claim 7, the compound H2-2 is represented by instant Chemical Formula IIA wherein R43-R48 are H; L4-L5 are a single bond; Ar3-Ar4 is a C12 aryl group.
Regarding claim 9, Cho teaches the organic light-emitting device comprising:
A glass substrate including ITO/Ag/ITO as an anode;
An emission layer containing hosts and a dopant;
Mg and Ag forming a cathode (¶ [0700] – [0702]).
Therefore, the Modified Device 10-1 of Cho reads on instant claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Cho teaches the Modified Device 10-1 of Cho may be used in an organic light-emitting device that are self-emissive, produce full color images, have wide viewing angles, high contrast ratios, and short response times (¶ [0003] – [0012]).
Regarding claim 4, Cho teaches dopant D1 which is a compound of instant Chemical Formula 1, as described above, and a compound of instant Chemical Formula 1-1. Cho teaches that the tetradentate organometallic compound following Cho’s Formula 1 may be substituted with a group L4 or R4, as described above. Cho does not particularly limit the substitution of L4 and R4 to the iso-propyl groups seen in dopant D1. Cho defines R4 as selected from deuterium and substituted C1-C60 alkyl groups (¶ [0127]). Cho teaches that groups such as CH3 and CD3 are known and acceptable moieties on the organometallic complex of Cho (¶ [0121]). Cho teaches the organic light-emitting device containing the organometallic complex of Formula 1 of Cho leads to a high efficiency and long lifespan device (¶ [0005]). Cho teaches the above, but does not teach a specific complex containing a deuterium-substituted C1 to C5 alkyl group.
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Cho, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute an iso-propyl group with a deuterated iso-propyl group because Cho teaches the variable may suitably be selected as a deuterated alkyl variant. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as the dopant in the emissive layer of the light-emitting device of Cho and possess the benefits of high efficiency and long lifespan device taught by Cho (¶ [0005]). See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
The resulting Modified Compound D1 of Cho is shown below and reads on claim 4 wherein R6 is a deuterium-substituted C4 alkyl group.
Modified Compound D1 of Cho
Regarding claim 5, the Modified Device 10-1 of Cho teaches compound H2-2 which is a compound of instant Chemical Formula 2 wherein the triazine is substituted by two phenyl groups, as described above. Cho does not particularly limit the substitution of triazine to unsubstituted phenyl groups: Cho teaches that a substituted phenyl group is a known and acceptable group for the compound with a triazine core featuring a fused-carbazole moiety, shown below (pg 317).
Cho teaches the above; however, Cho fails to teach a specific compound wherein the Compound H2-5 contains a substituted phenyl group.
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Cho, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the phenyl group of the compound H2-5 because Cho teaches the variable may suitably be selected as a substituted phenyl. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as the host compound in the emissive layer of the light-emitting device of Cho and possess the benefits of high efficiency and long lifespan device taught by Cho (¶ [0005]). See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
The resulting Modified Compound H2-5 of Cho is shown below and reads on instant claim 5 wherein:
Represented by Chemical Formula ID;
N = 0;
L2 and L3 are single bond;
Ar1 is unsubstituted C6 aryl (phenyl);
Ring B is a ring of Group B;
X8 is NRi;
NRi is C6 aryl group (phenyl);
R41-R42 are H;
R19-R21 and R29-R30 are H.
Modified Compound H2-5 of Cho
Regarding claim 8, Cho teaches the Modified Compound H2-5 of Cho; however, Cho does not teach a specific device containing the Modified Compound H2-5. Cho teaches the Modified Device 10-2 containing an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compounds H2-2, H2-5, and D1 in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to substitute the compound H2-5 with the Modified Compound H2-5 of Cho in the organic layer with the device structure of anode, organic layer containing H2-2, Modified Compound H2-5, and D1, and cathode as Cho demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
The resulting Modified Device of Cho reads on claims 8 wherein the Modified Compound H2-5 is the same as instant A-32 and the compound H2-2 is the as instant B-4.
Conclusion
/L.Q.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786