DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 19: Line 2 of the claim, it appears “the first and longitudinal second grooves” should be --the first and second longitudinal grooves-- for consistency of the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17 and 21-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seiji (JP 2014-70336).
With regard to claim 15: Seiji discloses a floor deck structure (figs. 1-9) comprising:
a profiled metallic sheet (adjacently joined steel decks 10) including at least a first, a second and a third upper portion (horizontal peaks surfaces including 13a, 13c) separated by a first and a second longitudinal groove (valleys of corrugation), each including a base (bottom horizontal surfaces including 14a, 14b, and 14c), a first lateral wall (right inclined surfaces including 15a and 15c) linking the base to one of the first, second and third upper portions (horizontal peaks surfaces including 13a, 13c) and a second lateral wall (left inclined surfaces including 15b and 15d) linking the base (bottom horizontal surfaces including 14a, 14b, and 14c) to an adjacent one of the first, second and third upper portions (horizontal peaks surfaces including 13a, 13c) (figs. 2 and 5; abstract; par. [0026);
a first and a second rebar truss (30) each extending longitudinally in or above, respectively, the first and second longitudinal groove (valleys) (figs. 5-8); and
a plurality of connectors (20 installed at intervals) fastening the first and second rebar trusses (20) to the profiled metallic sheet (adjacently joined steel deck 10) so that relative movement of the first and the second rebar trusses (30) with respect to the profiled metallic sheet (adjacently joined steel deck 10) is prevented (figs. 2, 5, and 7-8; par. [0025]).
With regard to claim 16: Seiji discloses that the connectors (20) include a first and a second side respectively fastened to the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall (figs. 2, 5 and 7-8).
With regard to claim 17: Seiji discloses that the shape of each of the connectors (20) matches at least partially the shape of a corresponding one of the first and second longitudinal grooves (valleys) (figs. 2 and 7).
With regard to claim 21: Seiji discloses that each of the first and second rebar trusses (30) includes a plurality of longitudinal metallic rebars (steel rebar truss) (par. [0015]).
With regard to claim 22: Seiji discloses that each of the first and second rebar trusses (30) has a triangular transverse section (figs. 2, 6, and 8).
With regard to claim 23: Seiji discloses that each of the connectors (20) is designed for, and capable of, being clipped on a corresponding one of the first and second rebar trusses (30) (fig. 8).
With regard to claim 24: Seiji discloses that each of the connectors (20) is unmovingly fastened to the profiled metallic sheet (adjacently joined steel decks 10) (fig. 7; par. [0031]).
With regard to claim 25: Seiji discloses the first and second rebar trusses (30) are unmovingly fastened to the plurality of connectors (20) (figs. 7-8; par. [0031]).
With regard to claim 26: Seiji discloses a composite floor deck (figs. 1-9) comprising:
the floor deck structure as recited in claim 15 (figs. 1-9); and
a concrete structure embedding the first and second rebar trusses (30) and anchored to the profiled metallic sheet (figs. 2-8; par. [0002], [0027], and [0033]).
With regard to claim 27: Seiji discloses a process for assembling a floor deck structure (figs. 1-9), the process comprising the steps of:
providing a profiled metallic sheet (adjacently joined steel decks 10) including at least a first, a second and a third upper portion (horizontal peaks surfaces including 13a, 13c) separated by a first and a second longitudinal groove (valleys of corrugation), each including a base (bottom horizontal surfaces including 14a, 14b, and 14c), a first lateral wall (right inclined surfaces including 15a and 15c) linking the base to one of the first, second and third upper portions (horizontal peaks surfaces including 13a, 13c) and a second lateral wall (left inclined surfaces including 15b and 15d) linking the base to an adjacent one of the first, second and third upper portions (horizontal peaks surfaces including 13a, 13c) (figs. 2 and 5; abstract; par. [0026);
providing at least a first and a second rebar truss (30) (figs. 5-8; par. [0033]);
respectively positioning the rebar trusses (30) in or above the first and second longitudinal grooves (valleys) (figs. 5-8; par. [0033]); and
fastening the first and second rebar trusses (30) to the profiled metallic sheet using connectors (20) so that relative movement of the first and the second rebar trusses (30) with respect to the profiled metallic sheet (adjacently joined steel decks 10) is prevented (figs. 2 and 5).
With regard to claim 28: Seiji discloses a process for assembling a composite floor deck, the process comprising the steps of:
providing the floor deck structure as recited in claim 15, and
pouring concrete on the profiled metallic sheet (adjacently joined steel decks 10) of the floor deck structure in order to encompass the first and second rebar trusses (30) (figs. 2-8; par. [0002], [0027], and [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seiji (JP 2014-70336).
With regard to claim 19: Seiji does not disclose a height dimension between the base of the first and second longitudinal grooves and the adjacent one of the first, second and third upper portions is between thirty millimeters and eighty millimeters.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, as the selected option was one of a finite number of available height dimensions in order to provide desirable properties such as strength and rigidity for a the floor deck structure. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying the height dimension between the base of the first and second grooves and the adjacent one of the first, second and third upper portions to be between thirty millimeters and eighty millimeters Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
The objection of the drawings has been withdrawn in view of the amendment filed 11/17/25.
The previous objection of claims 15-28 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment filed 11/17/25.
The rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn in view of the amendment filed 11/17/25.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Seiji does not disclose “a plurality of connectors fastening the first and second rebar trusses to the profile metallic sheet so relative movement of the first and second rebar trusses with respect to the profiled metallic sheet is prevented.” Applicant submits that as shown in Fig. 8 of Seiji, the mounting jigs 20 each include two jig notches 25a, 25b that receive lower chord members 60a, 60b of reinforcing bar trusses 30, which would allow for movement (sliding) in the longitudinal direction.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, par. [0033] of Seiji describes that “the lower chord members 60a and 60a grip the jig side surface 23a and 23b in direction approaching each other in a state of being elastically deformed.” Accordingly, the lower chord members (60a and 60b) are gripped (clamped) on the sides of the connectors (attachment jigs), therefore being capable of preventing relative movement. Further, Examiner notes that the lattice members (40a and 40b) would appear to engage the connectors in a longitudinal direction (see figs. 2, 4 and 8).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSIE T FONSECA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633