DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on page 4 in paragraph 0022, the term “non-return valve housing 21” should read –non-return valve housing 22—to be consistent with the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 3-4 of Claim 4, the term “the passage opening” should read –a passage opening—since this is the first time this term is being introduced in the claims, and in line 15 of Claim 9, the term “the residual air gap” should read –a residual air gap--, as this is the first time this term is being introduced in the claim set. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the non-magnetic adjustment sleeve" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO document no. WO 2017/178271 to Van Himme et al in view of PG Publication No. 2007/0164244 to Kratzer.
Regarding Claim 1, Van Himme et al disclose a solenoid valve (see Figure 1) for slip-controlled motor vehicle brake systems having most all the features of the instant invention including: a tubular valve housing 17 which conducts magnetic flux and in which a valve tappet 6 is axially movably arranged, the valve tappet 6 being able to open or to close a valve passage in a valve seat 3, and having a magnet armature 5 and a spring element 21 which is arranged in such a way that the valve tappet 6 remains in the electromagnetically non-actuated basic position of the magnet armature 5 in a position lifted from the valve seat 3, and bushing 18, wherein the bushing 18 is positioned in a force fitting manner in the valve housing 17 with an adjustment sleeve 20 (see the Description section of the translation of the reference, 15th paragraph).
However, Van Himme et al do not disclose that the magnet armature is accommodated in a sheet metal sleeve for electromagnetic actuation of the valve tappet nor that the bushing is arranged between the valve tappet and the sheet metal sleeve.
Kratzer is relied upon merely for his teachings of a solenoid valve 40 having a magnet armature 7 which is accommodated in a sheet metal sleeve 6 for electromagnetic actuation of a valve tappet 2 and a bushing 41 which is arranged between the valve tappet 2 and the sheet metal sleeve 6 (see Figure 1 and paragraph 0014).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the magnet armature of Van Himme et al to be accommodated in a sheet metal sleeve for electromagnetic actuation of the valve tappet with a bushing arranged between the valve tappet and the sheet metal sleeve as taught by Kratzer so that the electromagnetic actuation of the valve tappet is ensured.
Regarding Claim 2, Van Himme et al., as modified, further disclose that an end of the bushing 18 facing the magnet armature 5 has an overhang (see Figure 1 of Van Himme et al and the top portion of the bushing 11 nearest element numeral 6), the diameter of the overhang corresponds to the diameter of the adjustment sleeve 20 (see Figure 1 of Van Himme et al).
Regarding Claim 3, Van Himme et al., as modified, further disclose that a residual air gap (see Figure 1 of Van Himme et al and the gap under armature 5 on top of bushing 11) which can be adjusted by the adjustment sleeve 20 is formed between the overhang of the bushing 11 and the magnet armature 5 (see the Description section of the translation of Van Himme et al, 15th paragraph).
Regarding Claim 4, Van Himme et al., as modified, further disclose that the valve housing 17 carries a magnet coil 14, which is accommodated in a yoke plate 19, a passage opening of which facing away from the tubular valve housing 17 is adapted to the diameter of the adjustment sleeve 20 (see Figure 1 of Van Himme et al.).
Regarding Claim 5, Van Himme et al., as modified, further disclose that the sheet metal sleeve 6 and the adjustment sleeve 20 are produced from a material which does not conduct the magnetic flux (see paragraph 0014 of Kratzer and the Description section of the Van Himme et al translation, 15th paragraph).
Regarding Claim 6, Van Himme et al., as modified, further disclose that the bushing 18 is produced from a sintered material which conduct the magnetic flux (see the Description section of the Van Himme et al translation, 15th paragraph and Claim 10 of the Van Himme et al reference).
Regarding Claim 7, Van Himme et al., as modified, further disclose that the bushing 41 has a plurality of longitudinal slots which are distributed over its circumference and extend over an entire length of the bushing 41, which is in force-fitting contact with the valve housing 1 (see paragraph 0014 of Kratzer).
Regarding Claim 8, Van Himme et al., as modified, further disclose that on its end region facing away from the magnet armature 7, the bushing 41 has an inner ring (see Figure 1 of Kratzer and portion 1.1 and the lower ring section of bushing 41 underneath spring 3) through which the valve tappet 2 is passed, with the spring element 3 thereof being clamped between the inner ring and a shoulder on the valve tappet 2 (see Figure 1 of Kratzer).
Regarding Claim 9, see Claims 1, 3, and 4 above.
Regarding Claim 10, see Claim 1 above and the Description section of the Van Himme et al translation, 15th paragraph.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 7,857,282 to Goossens and U.S. Patent No. 9,163,746 to Voss et al both disclose solenoid valves similar to applicant’s.
PAMELA RODRIGUEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/PAMELA RODRIGUEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 01/27/26