DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-8 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 6/1/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-8 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention because:
Claim 1 sets forth an intrinsic viscosity that is unitless. For purposes of examination the intrinsic viscosity range will be interpreted as at least 2.5 dl/g as set forth in instant specification [0039].
Claims 2-8 and 16-20 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over EP2729529 to Hafner et al.
Regarding Claim(s) 1-7 and 17-19, Hafner teaches heterophasic polypropylene resin comprising more than 50 wt% [0042] of a crystalline or semi-crystalline propylene homopolymer component (A) [0027] (reading on all components of (A) in claims 1, 5, 6, and 18) and at least 20 wt% [0044] (reading on at least 10 wt% and at least 20 wt% of claims 7 and 19) of an amorphous ethylene propylene rubber component (B) that is dispersed in (A) [0027]. The xylene soluble fraction corresponds to component (B) [0048] and the intrinsic viscosity of the xylene soluble fraction is preferably in the range of 0.1-5 dl/g [0051] (reading on at least 2.5 dl/g and at least 3.0 of claim 4) when measured in decalin at 135°C [0190]. Polymer (B) further has an ethylene content of 21-49 wt% [0045] (reading on at least 15 wt% of claim 3 and at least 20 wt% of claim 17)
Hafner does not particularly teach the properties of more than 1 internal vinylidene unsaturation per chain or more than 2 long chain branches per chain.
However, the structural properties of internal vinylidene unsaturation and long chain branches are functions of the copolymer. Hafner teaches the same composition comprising polypropylene component (A) and ethylene-propylene copolymer (B) in the same amounts, with the same intrinsic viscosity, ethylene content, and MFR set forth in the rejection above. Moreover the product is made in a substantially similar process using a metallocene catalysts [abstract] in a multistage process [0160] comprising a gas phase for component (B) [0162] at temperatures in the range of 60-110°C [0163] wherein instant specification also uses a metallocene catalyst in a multistage polymerization process by using a gas phase reactor, and operating at a particular temperature [Instant specification [0001]] of at least 80°C [Instant specification 0085]. Therefore, the structural properties of more than 1 internal vinylidene unsaturation and more than 2 long chain branches per chain in the heterophasic polypropylene resin of Hafner will be the same structural properties as required by the instant claims. Case law has held that claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position. In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Regarding Claim(s) 8 and 20, Hafner teaches the heterophasic polypropylene resin of claim 5, having a MFR2 of 0.01 to 50 g/10min [0019].
Though the prior art range is not identical to the claimed range of 0.1 to 200g/10min and 0.1-100 g/10min, it does overlap. It has been held that, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim(s) 16, Hafner teaches the heterophasic polypropylene resin of claim 1, to make an article [0001].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20100168267 to Dang et al. (as found on the IDS dated 12/5/2025).
Regarding Claims 1, 3-7, 17-19 Dang teaches an olefin polymer composition [0026] comprising 10 to 60 parts crystalline propylene homopolymer [0027] reading on (A); and about 10-80 parts by weight an ethylene-propylene elastomeric copolymer with an intrinsic viscosity of about 1.5 to about 4.0 dl/g [0029] wherein the elastomeric copolymer comprises 0.5% to about 10% diene [0029] with an ethylene content of less than 70 wt% [0029] reading on (B) with more than 1 internal vinylidene unsaturation per chain.
Though the prior art range is not identical to the claimed range (at least 2.5 of claim 1 and at least 3 dl/g of claim 4), it does overlap. It has been held that, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 2, Dang teaches the heterophasic polypropylene resin of claim 1, comprising a significant amount of long chain branches [0079] thereby reasonably reading on more than 2 long chain branches.
Regarding Claims 8 and 20, Dang teaches the heterophasic polypropylene resin of claim 5, with a melt flow rate of 0.1-100 g/10min [0037].
Regarding Claims 16, Dang teaches the heterophasic polypropylene resin of claim 1 wherein the composition is formed into a product [0014].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 16-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-15 of copending Application No. 18/283,952 (hereinafter 952’). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the intrinsic viscosity range of at least 3.5 dl/g and the LCB per copolymer range of at least 4 of application 952’ differ from instant application ranges of at least 2.5 dl/g and more than 2 long chain branches.
However, although the prior art range is not identical to the claimed range, it does overlap. It has been held that, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
should be directed to Devin Darling whose telephone number is (703) 756-5411. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00-5:00.
/DEVIN MITCHELL DARLING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/ARRIE L REUTHER/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764