DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “terminal connected to the thermostat housing with (by) the rivet” recited in claims 1 and 8 must be shown. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: an ungrammatical clause is present: “a solid a [sic] right polygonal prism”. Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant’s cooperation is hereby requested in correcting of any remaining problems and informalities of which Applicant may become aware in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2, 080, 556 to Bolesky in view of CN 1909303 to Zhu Dexiang (hereafter “Zhu”, cite din IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Bolesky discloses a thermostat (Figs. 1-8) comprising a thermostat housing (1, 2), a rivet hole (26) provided in through the thermostat housing, a rivet (8) disposed in the rivet hole, and a terminal (6) connected to the thermostat housing with the rivet; wherein the shape of the rivet hole is polygonal a right polygonal prism-shaped opening through the housing (col. 3, l. 67 to col. 4, l. 3); wherein the rivet comprises a rivet head and a rivet shaft (Figs. 7, 8); wherein, in an uninstalled condition, the rivet shaft is a right polygonal prism sized to closely fit the rivet hole (col. 3, l. 67 to col. 4, l. 3).
Bolesky does not disclose that the material of the thermostat housing is one of ceramic or phenolic plastic; and wherein the terminal is a multi-layer metal construction.
Regarding claim 8, Bolesky discloses high-current thermostat comprising (Figs. 1-8): a thermostat housing (1, 2) made from an electrically insulating and thermally insulating material (see “mica”, col. 2, ll. 8-9); a rivet hole (26) in the thermostat housing comprising a right octagonal prism-shaped opening through the housing (col. 3, l. 67 to col. 4, l. 3); a rivet (8) comprising a head and a shaft (Figs. 7, 8); wherein, in an uninstalled condition, the rivet shaft comprises a solid octagonal prism sized to closely fit the rivet hole, the rivet shaft being disposed in the rivet hole conformed to the size and octagonal shape of the rivet hole (col. 3, l. 67 to col. 4, l. 3); a terminal (6) connected to the thermostat housing by the rivet.
Bolesky does not disclose that the rivet is a brass rivet and that the terminal comprises a multi-layered metal structure including at least two metal layers, wherein a first metal layer comprises steel and a second metal layer comprises copper.
Regarding the claimed materials of the housing and rivet, since all claimed materials have been notoriously known in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected nay suitable known materials for making of said rivet and housing of Bolesky, including as claimed, in order to achieve desired mechanical, electrical, and thermal characteristics of the thermostat, while not exceeding its targeted production costs, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Furthermore, Zhu discloses (Figs, 1-3) a terminal (1) comprising a multi-layered metal structure including at least two metal layers (2, 3, 5, 6), wherein a first metal layer (2) comprises steel and a second metal layer (3) comprises copper for improved mechanical strength and electrical conductivity (see English Abstract of record).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implemented electrical terminals in the thermostat of Bolesky as multi-layered metal structures having at least two metal layers, wherein a first metal layer comprises steel and a second metal layer comprises copper, as taught by Zhu, in order to predictably provide terminals with improved mechanical strength and electrical conductivity (see English Abstract of record of Bolesky). Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Also, alternatively, since enclosures (housings) have been notoriously known in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an enclosure (housing) for the thermostat of Bolesky that would enclose the components of the thermostat, thus providing protection from the environment and enhancing safety, as an obvious design choice. All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Bolesky discloses that the shape of the rivet hole (26) is a right octagonal prism-shaped opening through the housing (1, 2), wherein the rivet (8) shaft is a solid right polygonal prism (col. 3, l. 67 to col. 4, l. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Bolesky discloses that the terminal (6) is bent into a preset angle X, wherein 0º X<180º (Figs. 1, 5-7).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Bolesky as modified by Zhu (references to Zhu) discloses (Figs. 1-3) that the terminal (1) is a two-layer metal construction; and wherein a first layer (2) of the two-layer metal construction comprises steel; and wherein a second layer of the two-layer metal construction comprises copper (see English Abstract of record).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Bolesky as modified by Zhu (references to Zhu) discloses (Figs. 1-3) that the terminal (1) comprises a three-layer metal construction (layers (2-6)) having a first outer metal layer (3), a second outer metal layer (3) and a third metal layer (2) disposed between the first outer metal layer and the second outer metal layer; wherein both the first outer metal layer and the second outer metal layer comprise steel and the third metal layer comprises copper (see English Abstract of record).
Conclusion
The additional prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure, because of the teachings of various thermostats and thermally actuated electrical switches. Furter, the US 6559752 and US 4646051 teach thermally actuated electrical switches comprising electrical terminals and/or contacts mounted with rivets.
/Anatoly Vortman/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2835