DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 to 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/100965, as interpreted by the English language equivalent to Sawada et al., US 2022/0002591.
Sawada et al. teach an adhesive composition referred to therein as the adhesive
(A). As can be seen from paragraph 18, this includes polysiloxane (A1) which contains both SiH siloxanes and Si-vinyl siloxanes, as well as a platinum group catalyst (A2). In a similar manner the claimed are directed to an adhesive that includes a polysiloxane (A1) and a platinum catalyst (A2).
Both catalysts (A2) are platinum catalysts that initiate cure between SiH and vinyl siloxanes. As such Sawada et al. anticipate claimed (A2).
Claimed component (A1) requires an SiH siloxane as component (a2). Sawada et al. teach an SiH siloxane as component (a2) in paragraphs 21, 71 and 75, as well as other locations. This meets claimed (a2).
Claimed component (A1) requires an alkenyl containing siloxane as component (a1). Sawada et al. teach an Si-vinyl siloxane as component (a1) and includes combin-ations of such polymers. See paragraphs 55 to 61 and 69 to 77. This generally teaches polyorganosiloxanes that embrace claimed (a1), (V) and the MQ resin.
Of particular importance the Examiner draws specific attention to the composition in Preparation Example 1, paragraph 159. This shows a combination of a vinylated MQ resin having an Mw of 6,900. This meets the “polymer different from the polymer (V)” found in newly amended claim 1. and a polydimethylsiloxane having terminal vinyl units. From this the skilled artisan would have expected this combination of (a1) siloxanes to be a preferred embodiment and would have been motivated to experiment and optimize such a combination.
As such the composition in Preparation Example 1 differs from that claimed in that 1) the linear siloxane meeting claimed (V) does not have a Mw of 60,000 or greater and 2) this does not contain a release agent.
As for the first difference, see paragraph 77 which teaches that the Mw for these siloxanes is in the range of 500 to 1,000,000. This embraces the range of 60,000 or more such that the skilled artisan would have found the selection of a siloxane having an Mw within the claimed range to have been obvious. The Examiner acknowledges that the claimed range is outside the preferred range in Sawada et al. but patentees are neither limited to or by their preferred ranges.
As for the second difference, please see paragraphs 89 to 114 which teaches the addition of a polysiloxane that meets the claimed release modifier which regulates adhesion.
For instance paragraphs 102 to 107 teach polydimethylsiloxanes which meet claimed (B) as well as the structure in claim 6. Paragraph 112 teaches a molecular weight range that embraces the range found in claim 4.
In this manner each of the claimed requirements of claims 1, 4 and 6 are either anticipated by or are within the broader teachings of Sawada et al. As such, the skilled artisan would have found these claims to have been obvious at the time of the instant invention.
For claim 5 note that paragraph 106 teaches a viscosity as high as 2,000,000 mm2/s. While this is not the complex viscosity, one having ordinary skill in the siloxane art would recognize that this reflects a silicone having a gum consistency. Such a gum will necessarily meet the claimed viscosity requirement because it has very limited, if any, flow under ambient conditions. Note that applicants use a siloxane gum as the additive in the instant working examples.
For claims 7 to 9, see paragraph 24 which teaches a semiconductor substrate. See also paragraphs 155 and 156 which teach the method by which the semiconductor is prepared as well as the laminate.
Mgm
4/27/26
/MARGARET G MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765