Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on 05/12/2025.
Claims 1, 2 and 13-29 are pending.
Claims 3-12 and 30-34 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, and 13-24 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II and Species A-B in the reply filed on 5/4/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims are dependent on a withdrawn claim. For compact prosecution purposes, the Examiner will examine claim 25 dependent on claim 1 for 103 rejections.
Claim 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second
paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject
matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C.
112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 contains the terms “DOTA" and “NOTA” which is not defined by the claims. Claims must stand alone to define the invention, and should not rely on the description or the drawings to give them meaning (see Ex Parte Fressola, 27 USPQ 2d 1608). Thus, claim 29, at the very least, should define "DOTA” and “NOTA” by its formal name; once "DOTA" and “NOTA” is defined, the terms "DOTA" and “NOTA” may be subsequently recited.
In regard to claim 29, it is unclear why the term “e.g., DOTA-Gd/Mn, NOTA-Gd/Mn, etc.” is in parenthesis. Thus, it is unclear if this is a limitation in the claim or just a preferred embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAIRN (WO 2019/126240) in view of KARANJA (A STING-based fluorescent polarization assay for monitoring activities of cyclic dinucleotide metabolizing enzymes. RSC Chemical Biology. 2020.).
Regarding claim 25 and 26, NAIRN a method of using a composition that uses STING ligands, such as GMP (table 8 and figure 12b), such as:
(Figure 12B), that is administered to target tumors (claim 13), such as cancer (claim 189) and is used to image (claim 188 and claim 193). The imaging agent allows for diagnostic tests which can enhance the use of the therapeutic composition and aid in diagnosis (page 162, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 27, NAIRN teaches the composition can target tumors and comprise an immuno-oncology agent (abstract). The composition has a therapeutic agent that causes a therapeutic effect (page 83, paragraph 0213) and can be further conjugated to a peptide that can enhance the therapeutic effects (page 150, paragraph 0304).
Regarding claim 28, NAIRN teaches the composition can be detected via magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) (claim 195) using a radiolabel (claim 193).
Regarding claim 29, NAIRN teaches the composition can be detected via positron emission tomography (PET), which means it has a MRI imaging moiety.
NAIRN does not teach using a compound that falls into the specific formula claimed.
KARANJA teaches the following compound,
(figure 2), which reads on the formula of claim 1, wherein R10 is am imaging agent. The R Group shown in figure 2 is a fluorescein derivative which is a fluorescence imaging agent (page 209, paragraph 3). The composition can be used for cancer cells (page 206, paragraph 1) and GMP, which is part of the composition, can be used to target cancer (page 206, paragraph 1). The compound shows a high binding affinity to STING (page 210, paragraph 2), which would lead to a high binding of cancer.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the compound from KARANJA. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success because the compound in KARANJA and the compound in NAIRN are functional equivalents of GMP compounds that are used for imaging and for cancer. Furthermore, both are structurally similar.
Conclusion
/S.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1618 /JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618