DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s reply, filed 19 May 2026 in response to the requirement for restriction mailed 24 March 2026, has been fully considered. As per Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9 are pending under examination and claims 10-15 are withdrawn (see below).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 19 May 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 19 May 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama (US PGPub 2009/0178589) in view of Izu et al. (US PGPub 2010/0015188).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 7, Yoneyama teaches fine inorganic oxide particles which have been surface treated with an organosilane (see formula (I)/(II) at [0048]-[0049]; instant multifunctional silane compound) in combination with a fluorine-containing silane coupling agent (see formula (1)/(2) at [0055]-[0058]; instant fluorine-containing silane compound), wherein the fluorine-containing silane coupling agent is bonded to the surface of the inorganic oxide particles through hydrolysis and/or condensation of the organosilane compound ([0062]), resulting in improved stability and dispersability of the inorganic oxide particles ([0060]-[0062]; [0051]-[0052]). Yoneyama further teaches the inorganic oxide particles have an average particle size of 5 to 100 nm ([0082]) and include cerium oxide ([0080]-[0081]).
Yoneyama teaches the method of surface treating the inorganic oxide particles by combining the particles with organosilane in the presence of water, or other solvents ([0063]), and an acid catalyst and/or metal chelate ([0035]) where the combined use of the orgnaosilane and a fluorine-containing silane ([0052]; [0060]-[0062]) to treat the inorganic oxide is preferred as such will effectively improve particle dispersability ([0052]).
Yoneyama teaches obtaining dispersions of the treated inorganic oxide particles and does not specifically teach either use of a cerium precursor or precipitation of the particles by addition of basic solution (claims 1 and 7) and drying (claim 2). However, Izu teaches methods of obtaining nanosized cerium oxide particles which have been surface modified by a polymeric material (abstract; [0013]-[0014]; [0017]). Izu teaches that the so-produced particles can be in the form of a powder or a dispersion ([0019]; [0021]; [0041]-[0042]) and that powders are readily redispersed ([0022]) and teaches dispersion mediums including water ([0023]). Izu teaches that heating the ceria compound and polymer under reflux is generally suitable for precipitating the modified particles ([0028]-[0030]) which are easily dried to obtain powders (examples), and further teaches that addition of sodium hydroxide or ammonia to the reaction dispersion is also a known method which results in precipitation of the oxide particle ([0045]). Additionally, Izu teaches it is preferred and suitable to use an inexpensive cerium nitrate salt as a starting material instead of cerium oxide or alkoxide as such is more expensive ([0013]; [0043]). Izu and Yoneyama are analogous art and are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely dispersible surface modified cerium oxide nanoparticles suitable for use in films. At the time of filing a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the ceria salt starting materials and precipitation methods of Izu in the method of Yoneyama and would have been motivated to do so as Izu teaches ceria salts are an inexpensive alternative known to be suitable, that precipitation by sodium hydroxide or ammonia is a known alternative to precipitation via heat treatment in forming the particles, and that readily redispersible powders are readily obtained.
Regarding claims 3-6, Yoneyama in view of Izu renders obvious the method as set forth above. Yoneyama further teaches fluorine-containing silane coupling agents ([0051]; [0054]-[0057]) readable over the instantly claimed (claim 3) and teaches organosilane compounds readable over the instantly claimed trifunctional silane (claim 4) and trialkoxysilane (claim 5) as claimed. As claim 6 is further limiting to a non-positively recited optional alternative, the claim is deemed met.
Regarding claims 8-9, Yoneyama in view of Izu renders obvious the method as set forth above. Yoneyama further teaches the organosilane compounds and the fluorine-containing silane are present in a ratio of 99:1 to 1:99 ([0060]). Yoneyama further exemplifies amounts of inorganic oxide (examples; Table3, approx52.6%) readable over the instant range and Izu renders obvious use of ceria salt precursor materials instead (see above).
Correspondence
/JANE L STANLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767