DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claims as amended. Examiner agrees that the previous rejection does not teach all of the newly introduced limitations. Please see the following rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (2022/0279596; Foreign priority 24 Feb 2021), and further in view of Aiba (2018/0368188).
Regarding claim 3, Agiwal discloses a terminal device comprising: (See Agiwal fig. 2; UE (e.g. terminal))
transmission circuitry configured to transmit a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) of a first subcarrier spacing; and (See Agiwal fig. 2; UE transmits MsgA of 2step RA based upon a RACH config for MsgA with an SCS (e.g. a first subcarrier spacing); fig. 17, para. 47; terminal with a transceiver that transmits (transmission circuitry) and receives (reception circuitry); para. 108; SCS for PRACH is signaled in RACH config)
reception circuitry configured to receive a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format using a Random Access-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI) in response to the PRACH transmission, wherein: (See Agiwal fig. 2; part 240, 245; downlink assignment received on PDCCH (e.g. control information in the downlink (DCI) using computed MsgB RNTI (e.g. RA-RNTI); para. 84 RA-RNTI; MsgB is in response to MsgA)
the RA-RNTI is calculated at least based, at least, on a predetermined second subcarrier spacing and an index of a first Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplex (OFDM) symbol of the PRACH, and
the index of the first OFDM symbol of the PRACH is based on the first subcarrier
spacing. (See Agiwal para. 77, 81; s_id is the index of the first OFDM symbol of the PRACH occasion where the UE has transmitted Msg1 (MsgA) (e.g. with the first SCS identified in RACH Config); fig. 2; part 235; RA-RNTI is calculated based upon the subcarrier spacing of PRACH>120 (e.g. a second subcarrier spacing))
Agiwal does not explicitly disclose wherein the DCI has a CRC scrambled with an RA-RNTI. However, Aiba does disclose wherein the DCI has a CRC scrambled with an RA-RNTI. (See Aiba para. 203) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Agiwal to include the teaching of wherein the DCI has a CRC scrambled with an RA-RNTI of Aiba with the motivation being for UE-Specific Targeting and further for efficient blind decoding and further for early detection and faster connection establishment reducing delays and further for security/identification (CRC scrambling with RA-RNTI ensures that only the intended UE can correctly validate the message, preventing other UEs from acting on it).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (2022/0279596; Foreign priority 24 Feb 2021), and further in view of Aiba (2018/0368188).
Regarding claim 4, Agiwal discloses a base station device comprising:
reception circuitry configured to receive a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) of a first subcarrier spacing; and (See Agiwal fig. 2; UE transmits MsgA of 2step RA based upon a RACH config for MsgA with an SCS (e.g. a first subcarrier spacing) to base station (e.g. receive); fig. 18, para. 48; base station with a transceiver that transmits (transmission circuitry) and receives (reception circuitry); para. 108; SCS for PRACH is signaled in RACH config)
transmission circuitry configured to transmit a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format using a Random Access-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI) in response to the PRACH reception, wherein: (See Agiwal fig. 2; part 240, 245; downlink assignment received by UE (e.g. base station transmits) on PDCCH (e.g. control information in the downlink (DCI) using computed MsgB RNTI (e.g. RA-RNTI); para. 84 RA-RNTI; MsgB is in response to MsgA)
the RA-RNTI is calculated at least based, at least, on a predetermined second
subcarrier spacing and an index of a first Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplex (OFDM) symbol of the PRACH, and
the index of the first OFDM symbol of the PRACH is based on the first subcarrier spacing. (See Agiwal para. 77, 81; s_id is the index of the first OFDM symbol of the PRACH occasion where the UE has transmitted Msg1 (MsgA) (e.g. with the first SCS identified in RACH Config); fig. 2; part 235; RA-RNTI is calculated based upon the subcarrier spacing of PRACH>120 (e.g. a second subcarrier spacing))
Agiwal does not explicitly disclose wherein the DCI has a CRC scrambled with an RA-RNTI. However, Aiba does disclose wherein the DCI has a CRC scrambled with an RA-RNTI. (See Aiba para. 203) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Agiwal to include the teaching of wherein the DCI has a CRC scrambled with an RA-RNTI of Aiba with the motivation being for UE-Specific Targeting and further for efficient blind decoding and further for early detection and faster connection establishment reducing delays and further for security/identification (CRC scrambling with RA-RNTI ensures that only the intended UE can correctly validate the message, preventing other UEs from acting on it).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (2022/0279596; Foreign priority 24 Feb 2021), and further in view of Aiba (2018/0368188).
Regarding claim 5, Agiwal discloses a communication method for a terminal device, the communication method comprising: (See Agiwal fig. 2; UE (e.g. terminal))
transmitting a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) of a first subcarrier spacing; and (See Agiwal fig. 2; UE transmits MsgA of 2step RA based upon a RACH config for MsgA with an SCS (e.g. a first subcarrier spacing); fig. 17, para. 47; terminal with a transceiver that transmits (transmission circuitry) and receives (reception circuitry); para. 108; SCS for PRACH is signaled in RACH config)
receiving a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format using a Random Access-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RA-RNTI) in response to the PRACH transmission, wherein: (See Agiwal fig. 2; part 240, 245; downlink assignment received on PDCCH (e.g. control information in the downlink (DCI) using computed MsgB RNTI (e.g. RA-RNTI); para. 84 RA-RNTI; MsgB is in response to MsgA)
the RA-RNTI is calculated at least-based, at least, on a predetermined second subcarrier spacing and an index of a first Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplex (OFDM) symbol of the PRACH, and
the index of the first OFDM symbol of the PRACH is based on the first subcarrier
spacing. (See Agiwal para. 77, 81; s_id is the index of the first OFDM symbol of the PRACH occasion where the UE has transmitted Msg1 (MsgA) (e.g. with the first SCS identified in RACH Config); fig. 2; part 235; RA-RNTI is calculated based upon the subcarrier spacing of PRACH>120 (e.g. a second subcarrier spacing))
Agiwal does not explicitly disclose wherein the DCI has a CRC scrambled with an RA-RNTI. However, Aiba does disclose wherein the DCI has a CRC scrambled with an RA-RNTI. (See Aiba para. 203) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Agiwal to include the teaching of wherein the DCI has a CRC scrambled with an RA-RNTI of Aiba with the motivation being for UE-Specific Targeting and further for efficient blind decoding and further for early detection and faster connection establishment reducing delays and further for security/identification (CRC scrambling with RA-RNTI ensures that only the intended UE can correctly validate the message, preventing other UEs from acting on it).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461