DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0199911 A1) in view of Tiantian et al. (CN113651826A, relying on WIPO English translation, attached).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an organic light emitting device (Test Ex. 15, Table 7, para. [0196] – [0198]), comprising: an anode (ITO anode, para. [0196]); a cathode (Al cathode, para. [0198]); and a light emitting layer (para. [0197]) that is provided between the anode and the cathode, wherein the light emitting layer comprises a compound (compound P1-81) of the following formula Chemical Formula 2:
wherein the claimed Chemical Formula 2
A1 is Chemical Formula 2-1
A2 to A10 are hydrogen atoms
Wherein the claimed Chemical Formula 2-1
L’1 and L’2 are a single bond
L’3 is a unsubstituted C6 arylene
Ar’1 is an unsubstituted C12 heteroaryl containing one S atom
Ar’2 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl
In Test Ex. 15, Lee teaches does not specifically teach a second compound that reads on Chemical Formula 1. Lee teaches a second compound in the light emitting layer, compound 3-140, a triazine derivative. Compound 3-140 differs from the claimed formula where one of Y1 to Y7 is N. However, compound 3-140 is a specific compound of Formula 2 (para. [0010] and [0085]) of Lee. In Formula 2, Lee teaches that L4 to L6 may be a single bond, an arylene, or heterocyclic compound. Additionally, Lee teaches that Ar4 to Ar6 may be a heterocyclic group consisting of O and N. Additionally, Lee teaches that compounds of Formula 2 are not limited to those disclosed in their publication.
Tiantian et al. teaches nitrogen-containing compounds of Formula 1 for organic electroluminescent devices that reduces the driving voltage of the devices and improves their performance (abstract). Tiantian teaches that compounds of Formula 1
are used in the organic light emitting layer (pg. 53, line 24). Tiantian teaches that compound 657 as one of the specific compounds of Formula 1. This compounds reads on Chemical Formula 1
wherein in the claimed Chemical Formula 1
Y1 to Y2 and Y4 to Y7 are CR
Y3 is N
R is hydrogen
L1 and L2 are single bonds
L3 is an unsubstituted C6 arylene
Ar1 is an unsubstituted C12 heteroaryl group containing O
Ar2 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Lee, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the triazine compound of Lee with one of the triazine compounds of Tiantian. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as a second host in the light emitting layer of the OLED of Lee and possess the benefits of reduced driving voltage of the devices and improved performance of the devices taught by Tiantian. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select compound 657 of Tiantian, because it would have been choosing a triazine host, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the second host in the light emitting layer of the OLED device of Lee and possessing the benefits taught by Tiantian. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising triazine hosts having reduced driving voltage of the devices and improved performance of the devices taught by Tiantian in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lee further teaches wherein each R is a hydrogen.
Regarding claim 3, modified Lee further teaches wherein L1 and L2 are single bonds, and L3 is
Regarding claim 4, modified Lee further teaches wherein Ar1 is an unsubstituted dibenzofuranyl and Ar2 is an unsubstituted phenyl (since Ar1 and Ar2 are unsubstituted, the limitation of “at least one deuterium” is not required).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lee further teaches wherein the compound of Chemical formula 1 is
which is compound
of instant application (eight compound of page 44 of claim 5 of instant application).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lee further teaches wherein L’1 and L’2 are a single bond and L’3 is a phenylene.
Regarding claim 7, modified Lee further teaches wherein Ar’1 is an unsubstituted dibenzothiophenyl and Ar’2 is a unsubstituted phenyl (since Ar’1 and Ar’2 are unsubstituted, the limitation of “at least one deuterium” is not required).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lee teaches the organic light emitting device of Claim 1 as described above in Paragraph 7.
In test Ex. 15, Lee does not teach wherein the compound of Chemical Formula 2 is one of the compounds disclosed in claim 5.
However, Lee teaches that compound P1-81 is a compound of Formula 1 (para. [0084]), and the compounds of Formula 1 and that any of the compounds of Formula 1 are suitable for the first host of the organic light emitting device (para. [0010]).
Lee teaches compound P1-87
which is compound
of instant application (second compound of page 110 of claim 8 of instant application).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Lee, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute compound P1-81 with compound P1-87. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as the first host in the light emitting layer of the OLED of Lee and possess the benefits taught by Lee. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose compound P1-87 of Lee, because it would have been choosing a suitable derivative, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the first host in the light emitting layer of the OLED device of Lee and possessing the benefits taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising compound P1-87 having the benefits taught by Lee in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Conclusion
/APCV/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789