DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 41-60 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2016 with respect to independent claim 41 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner addresses each of Applicant’s concerns in the following response.
a) Applicant argues Yi does not teach or suggest “decode a downlink control information (DCI) format, the DCI format scheduling PUSCH transmissions of a PUSCH repetition Type A in a time domain window” (Remarks, page 6). In support of this argument, Applicant argues Yi configures a time domain window (TDW) and a number of repetitions in higher-layer signaling and not DCI (Remarks, page 7). As is known, the wireless terminal is configured by higher-layer signaling (such as radio resource configuration (RRC) messages), and the DCI contains the control information for scheduling one or more of the received configurations, particular to physical downlink shared channels (PDSCH) data transmissions and physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) data transmission. The DCI contains a format in which each format indicates to the wireless terminal the type of transmission that is scheduled. That is, the DCI controls the scheduling of PUSCH Type A, either in format 0_0 or format 0_1. Examiner agrees Yi does not explicitly disclose the word “decoding”, however, for purposes in anticipating a claim element, the reference prior art is only required to perform the function of “decoding” by a receiving device, in which the receiving device “determines” the format of the DCI. Therefore, Yi discloses decoding a downlink control channel (DCI) format, since all DCI include a format (for PUSCH, formats 0_0 and 0_1 are used), and each device that is operable to transmit according to the scheduling DCI format (either PDSCH or PUSCH) must first decode the DCI. In at least [0091-0095], [0115-0119], and Figure 17 with [0174-0184], Yi discloses that “when a UE is scheduled for PUSCH transmission…”, the UE is required to decode the DCI in order to determine the scheduled PUSCH, and further Yi discloses that “…the UE is scheduled for repetitions of PUSCH transmission in a plurality of slots via DCI format 0_1…”. These two excerpts require a) RRC signaling for configuration information, and b) receiving the DCI for scheduling purposes (thus, decoding). Since the claim does not explicitly recite “decode a downlink control information (DCI) format, the DCI format comprising a configuration indicating a schedule for PUSCH transmissions of a PUSCH repetition Type A in a time domain window (TDW)”, then any reference that includes an RRC configuration and DCI format 0_0 and/or 0_1 is sufficient to read on the claim language.
Examiner maintains Yi discloses “decode a downlink control information (DCI) format”.
b) Applicant argues Yi does not disclose “the DCI format scheduling PUSCH transmissions of a PUSCH repetition Type A in a time domain window (TDW)” (see Remarks, page 7) since the NFOA improperly imports the TDW from the higher-layer signaling into the DCI. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The DCI is the scheduling element, either for PUSCH or PDSCH (see above “a” argument), wherein the UE receives the configuration through higher-layer signaling, but is scheduled to transmit PUSCH via scheduling information in DCI, which is a form of Layer-1 (L1) signaling, as described by Yi in at least [0119]. The Applicant describes how the UE may determine the time domain window size in the published application, particular to [0108] – “…the size of the time domain window may be explicitly configured by higher layers via radio resource control (RRC) signaling.”; [0111] – “…the size of the time domain window may be explicitly configured by higher layers via radio resource control (RRC) signaling.”; and [0124] – “…the size of the time domain window may be configured by higher layers via minimum system information (MSI), remaining minimum system information (RMSI), other system information (OSI), or dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling or dynamically indicated in the downlink control information (DCI) or a combination thereof.” Therefore, the DCI may comprise information for a time domain window size (i.e., a number of slots or repetitions) for PUSCH Type A. Yi also includes this information in a DCI, at least in [0115] – “In addition, in a method of controlling repetitions of PUSCH transmission for joint channel estimation, a value defined/configured in advance (higher-layer) or a value configured via signaling (DCI) between a base station and a UE may be set as one of a symbol/slot length, a gap between PUSCH/PUCCH transmissions, the number of PUSCH/PUCCH transmissions, a time-domain window (ms) in the time domain, and the like, or a combination thereof.”. Since Yi may operate to indicate a time domain window in RRC or DCI, Yi is sufficient to read on the limitation “decode a downlink control information (DCI) format, the DCI format scheduling PUSCH transmissions of a PUSCH repetition Type A in a time domain window”.
c) Applicant argues Yi does not disclose or teach “determine a starting slot of the time domain window as a first slot for a first PUSCH transmission of the PUSCH transmissions” (Remarks, pages 7-8). In support of this argument, Applicant alleges that all the information (cited in [0075-0076], [0093-0095] of Yi) is not sufficient to read on the claim language (Remarks, page 8), wherein Applicant contends that 1) a per-occasion symbol-level start within a slot and 2) higher-layer TDW configuration (referencing a previous argument with respect to decoding a DCI above) are not sufficient for the claimed feature as recited. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Yi discloses that RRC signaling includes the configuration for time domain resource allocation (Yi: [0074], not cited), Yi expressly discloses some features, if not all, for TDRA are signaled in L1 (DCI) signaling. Further, with respect to [0093-0095], TDRA information includes a start symbol for a PUSCH (an uplink channel) and may repeat PUSCH transmissions a number of times, and is signaled by DCI. Therefore, Yi necessarily requires a starting symbol and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a repeated PUSCH transmission. Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection(s).
d) Applicant argues Yi is deficient in teaching or disclosing the limitation “encode data for the first PUSCH transmission in the TDW, the first PUSCH transmission starting at the first slot” (Remarks, page 8). In support of this argument, Applicant contends the features described in Yi at Figure 17 with [0174-0184], along with [0075-0076] and [0093-0095], suggesting that the UE only receives the control information recited in the claims is performed by higher-layer signaling in Yi, and a first slot of a TDW is not identified in Yi. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Yi discloses that RRC signaling includes the configuration for time domain resource allocation (Yi: [0074], not cited), Yi expressly discloses some features, if not all, for TDRA are signaled in L1 (DCI) signaling. Further, with respect to [0093-0095], TDRA information includes a start symbol for a PUSCH (an uplink channel) and may repeat PUSCH transmissions a number of times, and is signaled by DCI. Therefore, Yi necessarily requires a starting symbol and a length of a PUSCH transmission in a repeated PUSCH transmission. Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection(s). Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection(s).
3. Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2026 with respect to dependent claims 42-44 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner addresses each of Applicant’s concerns in the following response.
a) Applicant argues Yi does not teach or disclose the feature “detect an event causing power consistency and phase continuity not to be maintained across the PUSCH transmissions of the PUSCH repetition Type A scheduled by the DCI format” (Remarks, page 9). In support of this argument, Applicant contends the portions cited from Yi ([0065-0072]) only disclose conditions that have to be satisfied in order to maintain continuity/consistency, but Yi fails to disclose detecting an event, per se. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim does not require that the event be anything other than the detection of a condition in which continuity/consistency is not maintained. Examiner respectfully adds, since the continuity/consistency is required across PUSCH transmissions, then each PUSCH transmission, including Type A repetitions (also disclosed), must also adhere to the condition rules. Yi specifically discloses in [0071] – “If at least one of the conditions or a combination of some of the conditions is not satisfied, it is determined (or identified) that the power consistency and the phase continuity of PUSCH transmissions are not maintained.” This is to say, the UE is required to monitor said conditions for the purpose of identifying if and when one or more conditions are not satisfied, in order to maintain continuity/consistency across PUSCH transmissions. Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of claim 42.
b) Applicant argues Yi does not teach or disclose the limitation reciting “configure a last symbol of a PUSCH transmission of the PUSCH transmissions at the end of a TDW, the PUSCH transmission occurring before the event” (Remarks, page 10). In support of this argument, Applicant contends nowhere does Yi disclose symbol-level placement of a last symbol, nor does Yi disclose “event-driven timing” of the last symbol at the boundary (the end of) a TDW before said event, disclosed in base claim 42. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In addition to the citings of claim 42 ([0065-0072]), claim 43 encompasses the portions cited with respect to claim 41 ([0075-0076], [0091-0095], [0115-0119], and Figure 71 with [0174-0184]) along with the added citation of [0135]. The window must necessarily include a last symbol, as well as a starting symbol, for the plurality of slots for said PUSCH repetition. The “last symbol” is not required in determining a condition that must be satisfied in order to maintain continuity/consistency across a plurality of PUSCH repetitions. Further, the claim language only requires that the TDW include an end (where all window sizes require a beginning and an end), and the claim language requires an event to occur based on a required transmission of PUSCH to occur in order to determine said condition. Since the transmission of a PUSCH is required to determine consistency or inconsistency, the PUSCH transmission always occurs before an analysis of the conditions to be met occur. And, since the metrics that include a number of symbols/slot lengths, as well as the time domain window, Yi necessarily requires a transmission of PUSCH after receiving the DCI scheduling said PUSCH (beginning and end; see above arguments with respect to claim 41). Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection.
c) Applicant argues Yi does not teach or disclose the features reciting “the event causing the power consistency and the phase continuity not to be maintained across the PUSCH transmissions is based on a collision with a downlink reception using a downlink slot” (Remarks, page 11). In support of this argument, Applicant argues “collision” equates to an overlap between a scheduled downlink slot and an uplink repetition, and “using a downlink slot” equates to an event tied to a TDD slot format and collision thereof, or with slots configured as downlink in a tdd-UL-DL-Configuration, both of which Yi does not disclose in the cited portion ([0070]). Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim requires an event be nothing more than an uplink transmission (PUSCH) interfering/colliding/overlapping with a downlink transmission. Uplink transmissions occur in slots in the time domain, and downlink transmissions occur in slots in the time domain. Thus, to be inconsistent in terms of power and phase, either a downlink transmission (in a slot) or an uplink transmission (in a slot) cannot be performed with a PUSCH transmission (uplink transmission in a slot), which is consistent with Yi’s disclosure at [0065-0072]. Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection(s).
4. Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2026 with respect to the rejections of claims 45, 55, and 60 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Cozzo have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner notes arguments are not included with respect to 45, 55, and 60, except for Applicant’s contention that Cozzo does not cure the deficiencies of Yi (Remarks, page 12). Examiner respectfully disagrees at least for the reasons provided above with respect to claim 41. Examiner respectfully maintains the rejections of claims 45, 55, and 60.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 41-44, 46, 51-54, and 56-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0224456 A1 to Yi et al. (hereinafter “Yi”).
Regarding Claim 41, Yi discloses an apparatus for a user equipment (UE) (Yi: Figure 18 with [0185-0189]) configured for operation in a Fifth Generation New Radio (5G NR) network, the apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry (Yi: Figure 18, element 1802), wherein to configure physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission repetitions in the 5G NR network, the processing circuitry is to:
decode a downlink control information (DCI) format, the DCI format scheduling PUSCH transmissions of a PUSCH repetition Type A in a time domain window (TDW) (Yi: [0091-0095], [0115-0119] – corresponds to receiving (for the purpose of decoding) a DCI comprising a PUSCH repetition Type A in a time-domain window. See also Figure 17 with [0174-0184] describing the steps performed by a UE in a method for determining joint estimation.);
determine a starting slot of the time domain window as a first slot for a first PUSCH transmission of the PUSCH transmissions (Yi: [0075-0076], [0093-0095] – corresponds to a starting symbol of a slot for a first PUSCH of a continuous repetition.); and
encode data for the first PUSCH transmission in the TDW (Yi: Figure 17 with [0174-0184] – corresponds to the actual transmission of the PUSCH repetition by the UE.), the first PUSCH transmission starting at the first slot (Yi: [0075-0076], [0093-0095] – corresponds to a starting symbol of a slot for a first PUSCH of a continuous repetition, which necessarily requires the UE to send according to the PUSCH repetition schedule.).
Regarding Claim 42, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 41, wherein the processing circuitry is to:
detect an event causing power consistency and phase continuity not to be maintained across the PUSCH transmissions of the PUSCH repetition type A scheduled by the DCI format (Yi: [0065-0072] – corresponds to one or more of conditions that are not satisfied, then power consistency and phase continuity is not maintained.).
Regarding Claim 43, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 42, wherein the processing circuitry is to:
configure a last symbol of a PUSCH transmission of the PUSCH transmissions at an end of the TDW (Yi: [0115], [0135] – corresponds to (for example configuring in a time window two slots (first and last slots) to determine joint estimation.), the PUSCH transmission occurring before the event (Yi: [0115], [0135] – before the actual transmission of PUSCH (see Figure 17, step 1706), the PUSCH repetition scheduling is configured by the base station.).
Regarding Claim 44, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 42, wherein the event causing the power consistency and the phase continuity not to be maintained across the PUSCH transmissions is based on a collision with a downlink reception using a downlink slot (Yi: [0070] – corresponds to condition 5 – “A downlink and another uplink transmission or reception should not be performed among a plurality of PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation.”).
Regarding Claim 46, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 42, wherein the processing circuitry is to:
decode higher layer signalling received from a base station (Yi: [0093-0095], [0169] – corresponds to a number of repetitions and length of a time window (slot/symbol) configured by higher-layer signaling.), the higher layer signalling indicating a size of the TDW associated with the PUSCH transmissions (Yi: [0093-0095], [0169] – corresponds to a number of repetitions and length of a time window (slot/symbol) configured by higher-layer signaling.), wherein the TDW includes a number of slots equal to the size (Yi: [0093-0095], [0169] – corresponds to a number of repetitions and length of a time window (slot/symbol that makes up a time window) configured by higher-layer signaling.), and each PUSCH repetition of a plurality of PUSCH repetitions within the TDW is associated with a same carrier phase and a same transmit power (Yi: [0065-0072] – corresponds to the continuity and consistency of phase and power based on a plurality of satisfied conditions.).
Regarding Claim 48, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 46, wherein the event is a collision with semi-static downlink (DL) or uplink (UL) configuration including DL symbols (Yi: [0070] – corresponds to condition 5 – “A downlink and another uplink transmission or reception should not be performed among a plurality of PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation.” Examiner notes a PUSCH includes a plurality of symbols.), a synchronization signal block (SSB) (alternative or dispositive limitation), a control resource set (CORESET) with type 0 common CSS (alternative or dispositive limitation), or invalid symbols (alternative or dispositive limitation).
Regarding Claim 51, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 41, further comprising:
transceiver circuitry coupled to the processing circuitry (Yi: Figure 18 – element 1801 coupled to element 1802.); and
two or more antennas coupled to the transceiver circuitry (Yi: [0082] – corresponds to a number of antenna ports when configured with both sounding reference signal (SRS) reception.).
Regarding Claim 52, Yi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores instructions for execution by one or more processors of a base station, the instructions to configure the base station for communication in a Fifth Generation New Radio (5G NR) and beyond wireless network (Yi: Figure 19 with [0190-0194] – corresponds to a base station; [0195] describes a medium.), and to cause the base station to perform operations comprising:
encoding a downlink control information (DCI) format for transmission to a user equipment (UE), the DCI format scheduling physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions of a PUSCH repetition Type A in a time domain window (TDW) (Yi: [0091-0095], [0115-0119] – corresponds to transmitting (for the purpose of encoding) a DCI comprising a PUSCH repetition Type A in a time-domain window. See also Figure 16 with [0171-0173] describing the steps performed by a base station in a method for determining joint estimation.); and
decoding data from a first PUSCH transmission in the TDW (Yi: Figure 16 with [0171-0173] – steps 1607-1608), the first PUSCH transmission starting at a first slot, and the first slot being a starting slot of the time domain window (Yi: [0075-0076], [0093-0095] – corresponds to a starting symbol of a slot for a first PUSCH of a continuous repetition.).
Regarding Claim 53, Yi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 52, wherein a last symbol of a PUSCH transmission of the PUSCH transmissions is at an end of the TDW (Yi: [0115], [0135] – corresponds to (for example configuring in a time window two slots (first and last slots) to determine joint estimation.), wherein the PUSCH transmission occurs before an event (Yi: [0115], [0135] – before the actual transmission of PUSCH (see Figure 17, step 1706), the PUSCH repetition scheduling is configured by the base station.), and wherein the event causes power consistency and phase continuity not to be maintained across the PUSCH transmissions of the PUSCH repetition type A scheduled by the DCI format (Yi: [0065-0072] – corresponds to one or more of conditions that are not satisfied, then power consistency and phase continuity is not maintained.).
Regarding Claim 54, Yi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 53, wherein the event causing the power consistency and the phase continuity not to be maintained across the PUSCH transmissions is based on a collision with a downlink reception using a downlink slot (Yi: [0070] – corresponds to condition 5 – “A downlink and another uplink transmission or reception should not be performed among a plurality of PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation.”).
Claims 56-59, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claims 41-44, recite similar features as claims 41-44, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 41-44. Please see above rejections of claims 41-44. Yi further discloses the user equipment in at least Figure 18 with [0185-0189].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 45, 55, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0353862 A1 to Cozzo et al. (hereinafter “Cozzo”), claiming benefit to and fully-supported by provisionally-filed application No. 63/181066, filed April 28, 2021.
Regarding Claim 45, Yi discloses the apparatus of claim 41, wherein the DCI format configures a TDW, wherein the repetitions of the PUSCH repetitions may be discontinuous (Yi: Figure 11 with [0143-0146]), but does not explicitly disclose a plurality of TDWs being discontinuous.
However, this feature cannot be new or novel in the presence of Cozzo. Cozzo is similarly concerned with scheduling PUSCH transmissions (Cozzo: [0080-0082], [0090-0094]). Cozzo discloses a plurality of time windows being discontinuous (Cozzo: [0148-0150]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the apparatus of Yi in view of the method of Cozzo to include a plurality on discontinuous TDWs for the reasons of determining a constant phase and power for a PUSCH repetition (Cozzo: [0092-0093]).
Claim 55, dependent upon claim 52, recites similar features as claim 45, recites similar features as claims 45 and is therefore rejected upon claim 45. Please see above rejection of claim 45.
Claim 60, dependent upon claim 56, recites similar features as claim 45, recites similar features as claims 45 and is therefore rejected upon claim 45. Please see above rejection of claim 45.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 47, 49, and 50 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 March 25, 2026