DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to independent claim 1, the term “a HLB value (a Griffin’s method)” is unclear. Although Griffin’s method is discussed in the specification, it is unclear if any particular calculation is required by the term “(a Griffin’s method)”. Furthermore, the acronym HLB should be spelled out as “hydrophile-lipophile balance” so that the term is written as “a hydrophile-lipophile balance (HLB) value…” or “a hydrophile-lipophile balance (HLB) value obtained using Griffin’s method…”
Claims 2-12 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the constituent" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the constituent" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maejima (US 20190194376) in view of Im (US 20190233788).
With respect to claim 1, Maejima discloses a surface treatment agent comprising a block copolymer. The block copolymer includes a temperature-responsive polymer, which is designated in the reference as the (A) block. See paragraphs [0061]-[0069]. The block copolymer additionally includes a (B) block and a (C) block, wherein the (B) block has cell-adhesive qualities and may include a functional group exhibiting acidity. See paragraphs [0029], [0033] and [0072] (“Examples of the hydrophilic moieties in the repeating unit of each block include…carboxyl group moieties (—COOH)…[and] hydroxyl group moieties (—OH))”. The (C) block is also characterized by cell-adhesive qualities and may include a monomer having a HLB value in a range of 0 to 5.0. For example, Maejima identifies in paragraphs [0097] and [0100] that the monomer in the (C) block may be styrene. It is unclear, however, if the monomers that comprise the (B) and (C) blocks of Maejima may be properly construed to read on the (A) and (B) monomers of the claimed cell-adhesive polymer.
Im discloses a surface treatment agent comprising a block copolymer. Im states that the polymer may include (A) a monomer having a functional group exhibiting acidity, and (B) a monomer having a HLB value in a range of 0 to 5.0. See paragraph [0024] (“the first monomer may be a monomer selected from the group consisting of aromatic vinyl-based monomers (e.g., divinylbenzene, vinyl benzoate, styrene, etc.”, emphasis added) and paragraph [0025] (“the second monomer may be a monomer…having an acidic functional group”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that the Maejima surface treatment agent includes a cell-adhesive polymer including (A) a monomer having a functional group exhibiting acidity, and (B) a monomer having a HLB value in a range of 0 to 5.0. Maejima already teaches blocks of monomers having acidic functional groups and blocks of monomers (e.g., styrene) having a HLB value of 0 to 5.0. Im is further evidence that one of ordinary skill would know to combine these monomer blocks to form a block copolymer (in the event Maejima already does not teach this). Im teaches that such a configuration produces a surface treatment agent suitable for growing cell aggregates and releasing developed cell sheets from a support substrate.
With respect to claims 2 and 7, Maejima and Im disclose the combination as described above. Maejima teaches in paragraphs [0038]-[0041] and [0109]-[0111] that the relative amounts of each block are wide ranging, and that the amount of cell-adhesive polymer may be 1 to 50 wt% with respect to the amount of temperature-responsive polymer. Along similar lines, the concentration of temperature-responsive polymer may be 0.1 to 5.0 wt% (“The ratio of block (A) to the total amount of block (A), block (B), and block (C) constituting the block copolymer of the present invention is not particularly limited as long as it is 1 to 90 mol %”).
With respect to claim 3, Maejima and Im disclose the combination as described above. Maejima expressly states that the temperature-responsive polymer exhibits a lower critical solution temperature with respect to water in a range of 0°C to 50°C. See the Abstract.
With respect to claim 4, Maejima and Im disclose the combination as described above. Maejima states in paragraph [0074] that each block, such as the temperature-responsive polymer of the (A) block, may include repeating units of three or more monomers (“each block constituting the block copolymer of the present invention is a copolymer comprising different monomers (monomer 1, monomer 2, etc.)”).
With respect to claims 5 and 6, Maejima and Im disclose the combination as described above. Maejima teaches in paragraphs [0029], [0033] and [0072] that the functional group exhibiting acidity may be a hydroxy group or a carobxy group having a pKa of -5.0 to 6.0.
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Maejima and Im disclose the combination as described above. Maejima states that the surface treatment agent is applied as a film having a thickness of 1 to 1,000 nm. See paragraphs [0134]-[0135].
With respect to claims 10-12, Maejima and Im disclose the combination as described above. Maejima further states in paragraphs [0012] and [0053] and throughout the reference that a film produced using the surface treatment agent is applied to a cell culture substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Sato (JP 2019085520), Tabata (JP 2018164412) and Sanyal (US 20130280803) references teach the state of the art regarding surface treatment agents for cell culture.
/NATHAN A BOWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799