DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takimoto et al. (JP 2015-030803) in view of Kawai et al. (JP 2019-094468).
Regarding claim 1, Takimoto discloses a composition (including methanol – MeOH; page 28, para [0058]) for an antifogging film of a spectacle lens (page 1, para [0001]; page 2, para [0002]) but does not expressly disclose that the composition (page 29, para [0058]) has a viscosity at 15°C of 47 mPa • s or more and 80 mPa • s or less, and a solid content of 10 mass% or more and 25 mass% or less.
However, Kawai discloses a composition for an antifogging film (page 4, para [0009]) having excellent antifogging properties (page 4, para [0009]), wherein the composition has a solid content of 10 mass% or more and 25 mass% or less, such as 20 mass% (page 35, para [0076]), and contains components (A) to (C) (Claim 1):
Therefore before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the composition for an antifogging film of Takimoto with the composition for an antifogging film of Kawai (page 4, para [0009]), wherein the composition has a solid content of 10 mass% or more and 25 mass% or less, such as 20 mass% (Kawai: page 35, para [0076]), and contains components (A) to (C) (Kawai: Claim 1):
in order to obtain the benefits of forming an antifogging film that has excellent antifogging properties as taught by Kawai (page 4, para [0009]). Furthermore, Examiner notes that the composition for an antifogging film of Kawai (Kawai: Claim 1) is the same as Applicant’s composition for an antifogging film (see Applicant’s Claim 4 and Specification pages 11-12, para [0014]), and therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention would have reasonably expected the composition for the antifogging film of Kawai to have the same recited physical properties of Applicant’s composition for an antifogging film having a viscosity at 15°C of 47 mPa • s or more and 80 mPa • s or less, and at a solid content of 10 mass% or more and 25 mass% or less, such as 20 mass% (Kawai: page 35, para [0076]). Therefore, Takimoto as modified by Kawai discloses all the recited limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 3, Takimoto as modified by Kawai discloses a composition with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the solid content is 17 mass% or more, such as 20 mass% (Kawai: page 35, para [0076]).
Regarding claim 4, Takimoto as modified by Kawai discloses a composition with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the composition contains components (A) to (C) (Kawai: components (A) to (C) of Claim 1 of Kawai):
.
Regarding claim 5, Takimoto as modified by Kawai discloses a spectacle lens (Takimoto: page 2, para [0002]) comprising an antifogging film obtained by curing the composition for an antifogging film (Kawai: components (A) to (C) of Claim 1 of Kawai) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Takimoto as modified by Kawai discloses a spectacle lens with all the limitations of claim 5 above and further discloses wherein the antifogging film is an outermost layer (Takimoto: page 29, para [0059]; page 2, para [0002]).
Regarding claim 7, Takimoto as modified by Kawai discloses a spectacle lens with all the limitations of claim 5 above and further discloses wherein the spectacle lens (Takimoto: page 2, para [0002]) has a substrate (Takimoto: page 29, para [0059]), and an antifogging film (Kawai: components (A) to (C) of Claim 1 of Kawai) directly on the substrate (Takimoto: page 28, para [0058]; page 29, para [0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Takimoto as modified by Kawai discloses a spectacle lens with all the limitations of claim 5 above and further discloses wherein the antifogging film (Kawai: components (A) to (C) of Claim 1 of Kawai) is a single layer (Takimoto: antifogging film is coated then cured as a single layer; page 29, para [0059]; page 2, para [0002]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the previously cited prior art references of Takimoto et al. (JP 2015-030803) and Kawai et al. (JP 2019-094468) do not teach or suggest at least the newly claimed feature as presently recited. However, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and notes that Takimoto in view of Kawai discloses all the recited limitations as presented in the new grounds of rejection above. In particular, Kawai discloses an antifogging film (Kawai: components (A) to (C) of Claim 1 of Kawai) that is the same as Applicant’s composition for an antifogging film (see Applicant’s Claim 4 and Specification pages 11-12, para [0014]), and therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention would have reasonably expected the composition for the antifogging film of Kawai to have the same recited physical properties of Applicant’s composition for an antifogging film having a viscosity at 15°C of 47 mPa • s or more and 80 mPa • s or less, and at solid content of 10 mass% or more and 25 mass% or less, such as 20 mass% (Kawai: page 35, para [0076]). Therefore, Takimoto in view of Kawai discloses all the recited limitations as presented in the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871